Skip to main content

2021 Hyundai Veloster Consumer Reviews

MSRP Starting at
$18,900

Save as much as $1,653
Select your trim:
12345...6

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2021 Veloster, so we've included reviews for other years of the Veloster since its last redesign.
5 out of 5 stars

A Thunder Butt thrill of a car !

Richard B., 10/05/2019
updated 05/25/2021
2020 Hyundai Veloster Turbo Ultimate 3dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
39 of 39 people found this review helpful

Bought a 2020 Veloster 1.6T (turbo) Ultimate in Thunder Gray Metallic, Black roof and cream /red trim interior and I could not be more pleased with it. Am a car nut from the 1930,,s (89 years old) and restored antique cars as a hobby thru the years, so am supposed to know a thing or two about automobiles, and this little package of fun beats the pack ! First , it is a sheer blast to drive, ( I do not RACE an automobile like some nutcake, but now and then do like to take some kid at the light for a few blocks down the road )......guess some folks look twice when they see an old codger get out from the Veloster , but I just smile and move on...... love the exhaust note, dual clutch 7 speed trans works smoothly in normal mode, electronics are superior to most offerings in the sport car field, the price was unbeatable for a fully dressed product that gets 34mpg ,and the Hyundai 5year 60 K , 10 year 100 K Power train Warranties are the leader in the field of warranties..........what I cannot understand is the lack of publicity this little package of dynamite gets in the Auto News publications. (Fake News in the auto mags., anybody??)

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Exactly what I wanted

Ron Fox, 10/15/2018
2019 Hyundai Veloster Turbo 3dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
47 of 48 people found this review helpful

This car gets left out of a lot of interesting comparisons for some reason. Maybe it's because Hyundai hasn't had the reputation like some of the other manufacturers, or because the third door puts it in between a sedan and a coupe. It doesn't matter, this is a really great car that I'm guessing most people won't find. I chose it over the Mazda 3 because for the same price, it had far more options, was more efficient and had way more pop on the throttle. I also felt that the interior quality was much higher particularly at the the joints and seams of the trim. The warranty was also out of this world. Actual driving usage puts this car much higher than EPA estimate MPG ratings. I routinely get 39mpg in mixed traffic on normal driving mode. Smart (eco) sees even higher efficiency numbers at the expense of acceleration. Sport mode is just a blast. I do not fully understand how to drive this car with the paddle shifters, however. This car is my commuter and provides great comfort for me (a larger guy) and enough room to comfortably fit (and access) a child seat in the back for morning school drop off. All of the doors shut with a very solid, sealing, "thunk" akin to german car manufacture and quality. The Inifinity stereo system is perfect in this car with a high degree of clarity across multiple genres of music and audio indications. Blind spot monitoring is far less spastic than other cars I've driven, maybe 10 -15' zone of interest rather than 40'. I think the thing that you're not going to see in a lot of these reviews is the fact that this car has absolute soul. When you sit in the driver seat, you feel in total control - completely connected to the car. You're in a cockpit designed to give the driver everything you need. Some of it is modern convenience. The rest of it is feel. I love the red accents, from the bottom air scoop in the front of the car to the seat trim, to the steering wheel. The leather is high quality, firm to the touch. The plastic (which gets highly criticized in reviews) on the door panels is hard and firm - it does not bend when you push it even in the broad areas. The DCT with the turbo provide instantaneous power when passing on a highway. I find myself still waiting for the downshift and still being surprised when it just happens without the delay. Android auto on the 8" touchscreen is great - you can actually split screen the thing to look at two things at once. The rear visibility is probably the worst thing about the car - on the highway it's not an issue, but backing out of my driveway, I feel like I can't see much. The backup camera does a great job of providing a broad field of view however, I'm just not used to it yet. Otherwise, I wish it had a built in garage door opener.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

I get compliments everywhere....

Matthew Hutchinson , 10/08/2019
updated 04/12/2022
2020 Hyundai Veloster N 3dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
27 of 27 people found this review helpful

I traded in a 2017 veloster turbo, and could not be happier. The veloster N rips, I loved my turbo but the N is on another level completely. Buy one, you will love it

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

My new grocery getter

Lou Kirchner, 12/24/2018
updated 12/30/2019
2019 Hyundai Veloster Turbo Ultimate 3dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

I have always been a car nut from before I even knew how to drive. I have probably owned more cars than any sane person would. I presently have a large premium German sedan and a 1965 Shelby Cobra ( makes a lot of sense for a man my age?). I recently purchased a 2019 Velositer Turbo Ultimate. I still can"t get over the value, fit and finish, drive characteristics and comfort in a car of this size and price. People have no idea as to what kind of car this is and it does draw quite a few second looks. I will use the car for local driving and errand hopping but so far it is my favorite go to car. Great value and a heck of a lot of fun!!!

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing value

Jusden, 12/18/2019
2020 Hyundai Veloster Turbo R-Spec 3dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

Balance of fun, performance, and utility. Nothing this good, this cheap on market.

Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page: