List Price Range
$17,500 - $18,490

Used Sonata Plug-in Hybrid for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Excellent Car Overall - Big Improvement Over Prev

GD, 05/14/2016
Limited 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

Now that gas is cheap - under $3 in California (of course it won't last) I wanted to update my Sonata Plug In Review. First - FINALLY - Hyundai made good on its promise to add Apple Car Play and Android Auto via a very long and painful software update (3 hrs+). They also fixed an annoying problem on the LCD display in EV mode instead of a big giant battery it now splits the screen in 2 with the battery on the right and the EV remaining distance on the left (previously only seen in the instrument cluster display) So, there's that. Also something was fixed with Bluetooth, my Samsung phone now pairs very fast and remembers the last App playing audio and starts automatically but it STILL will not stay in Shuffle mode if you have an ipod or iphone, so everytime the car is started its about 50 clicks to go back to shuffle/random play mode sigh. So, the Truth is I have only bought 16 gallons of gas in 5,800 miles of driving, I think that speaks for itself. Even with cheap gas -- I am paying nearly zero to drive all over the place. Since gas is so cheap, I tried 91 instead of 89 and it made a HUGE difference in the engine's performance. Seriously a big improvement, and I don't know why because Hyundai says do not use 91 so whatever. The gas mode is much more responsive and smooth on 91. Also, not explained well in the manual, the CHG MODE will recharge the EV battery with 380 volts on the highway in about 30 minutes. The engine is also much more responsive in the mode, but of course there is no hybrid mode working so I only use it on the highway where I can keep a consistent speed. One other weird thing I have experienced, the ventilated front seats (AC) are not very good or mine are defective. I have tested them in a Dodge Charger V8 and they are way better, more air flow and cooler. Hyundai probably just went with a cheap version. I STILL MUST complain about the awful Blue Link Mobile App. Why Hyundai??? The app is still slow, slow, slow, doesnt connect much of the time, and it should be free! So I can still see charge info but I cannot start the car -- lol because they want me to pay for it. no way I have owned this car for one month, and 1,543 miles. I have not bought gas once. The free full tank from the dealer is about 1/2 full, the only time it uses gas is on my way home from work (Toll Road) in Southern California and it switches silently into Hyb mode. But, understand it still has battery left for hybrid mode and its then begins charging the battery. Unfortunately, my Sonata Plug In (Limited) always shows incorrect battery info. For example, 30% battery remaining but only 2 miles of all EV mode available. Hyundai needs to fix this and the "stupid" battery gauge under the speedometer. It has blue and white lines but its so confusing even the Service Manager couldn't figure it out! Vehicle is really nice, and drives great. HOWEVER -- the BlueLink Mobile App and Service are TERRIBLE! Most of the time the service is "unavailable" or some other useless error message. When it does work it takes 10-15 minutes to reach my car with the App - Unacceptable Hyundai. I decided to Lease this time because no matter how great a Hyundai vehicle is, their resale value is the worst in the auto game. I know, I had 2 Sonata hybrids and had to pay to get out of them both. The 2015 lost 50% of it value in 10 months!!! So beware - only lease this car so you can give it back at the end. One additional comment about charging. You would think in Southern CA where Hyundai is headquartered there would be EV charging stations everywhere -- Nope. They are a nightmare to find and when you do, every Tesla is town is plugged-in for hours. Also, the charging stations are not free. There are several different ones Charge + and others that you have to sign up for in advance and get a card to use them. It's really a hassle. Unlike Nissan, Hyundai will NOT allow you to charge your car at their dealerships - really bad PR Hyundai. Overall I enjoy the car a lot. But no Apple OR Android App integration means old bluetooth for your phone. And, Hyundai bluetooth is soooo slowwwww to connect to my iPhone and Samsung S7, I usually end up listening to my old iPod I have plugged in. The XM sound quality is horrible, so I wouldn't even bother signing up for a subscription. One other weird thing, the radio keeps playing after turning off the car (can be configured) but the power windows stop working...lol very weird. The car needs a usable Mobile App and to charge faster (9 hrs in my garage on a standard outlet and the cable gets very hot too. Sometimes the fan under the hood kicks on while its charging..hmm) Lastly, on a new model with all this technology - -why did Hyundai put plain old bulbs in the license plate holder (and the dome lights). I mean that just seems really like an oversight in my view. I replaced them with Sylvania White LEDS from Amazon but I dont think I should have needed to.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

End up buying a hybrid-plugin

Herman E. of San Jose, 05/12/2016
Limited 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I am presently leasing a Nissan all electric leaf car and my lease is expiring so we started to do research on which car to get to replace the Nissan leaf. My main goal is to have a car to be able to use HOV lanes here in northern California(San Jose). I wanted to get into the higher range(200+mile) electric vehicle such as Tesla, Ford Energi, Chevy Bolt and new Nissan Leaf but all wont be available till next year(forget the Tesla model 3). I started to review all the specs of cars then a friend told me to look on the all-new 2016 Hyundai plugin hybrid, I was glad that I did! was so surprise of the car handling and features, its no difference from driving my BMW and Mercedes E class. interior has more luxury features and room! Ride and comfort is same as a luxury car. Of coarse its not as fast as BMW and Mercedes, but I am not going to race the car and unfair to compare 4 cylinder to six and eight cylinder but and I said but, look on the technology setup, its a hybrid-plugin technology which gives you the torque and speed(202hp) enough to make you happy. Getting 40+ mile to a gallon is just the icing in the cake. People says its still a Hyundai, well go look and compare it yourself. I ended up buying a Hyundai plugin limited and looking forward to enjoy it on HOV lanes. Not to forget the longest warranted car in the automotive industry.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

No real competition in a full size plug in

Charles, 02/18/2016
Limited 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

I stumbled across the Sonata Plug-in Hybrid while researching the Chevy Volt and and Ford Fusion Energi. I'm glad I did! Hyundai did their homework with this car. It's spacious, quiet, refined with a well laid out interior with high quality materials and intuitive easy to use controls and electronics interfaces. The Limited version has a luxury feel to it with a myriad of features that rival our S Class Mercedes. Though only rated at 27 miles of battery range, I have been consistently getting 30-35 miles over the last two weeks before reverting to hybrid operation, where it gets an average of just over 40 MPG. On a 1000 mile trip combining interstate and secondary highways, it averaged about 41 MPG, which isn't bad considering we were going 75-80 on the freeway sections. On one 70 mile section of Highway 1 in northern California it actually did 48 MPG. The comfort level is high with excellent ventilated seats, an extremely smooth and controlled ride, and a noise level that's about as quiet as any car I've been in. The navigation/information/media system is outstanding with loads of information and easy to use. The price at $39,000.00 seems high, but rebates and dealer discount brought the price down over $5,000.00. In addition, the California rebate of $1,500.00 and Federal tax credit of $4,900.00 (?) drops the net price down below $28,000.00, which is a screaming deal for a car with this content and capability. It has more electric range than the Ford Fusion and a vastly bigger interior than the Volt. The adaptive cruise works very well, as do the electronic driving assists. There just aren't any glaring flaws or shortcomings I've discovered yet, other than the trunk is a smallish 10 cubic feet due to the battery pack. Hyundai hasn't just established itself as an equal competitor. With this car, it leads the pack. UPDATE 8/18/17 Car broke down on 7/26/17 with hybrid warning lights on the dash. Had to be towed to nearest dealer, where it has been sitting since it stopped. They were not able to analyze the problem, and after finally replacing a part which didn't fix the problem, now say the hybrid battery needs replacement. Problem is, the battery is not available and they don't know when it will be! I had an initial contact with Hyundai customer care, and was promised they would look into it and get back to me. That was 12 days ago and I have heard nothing back, despite leaving 5 messages which weren't returned. Customer service seems non-existent. I am definitely done with Hyundai, and this will probably end up as a California Lemon Law claim. Buy one of these at your own risk! UPDATE NUMBER 2 2/21/18 Hyundai purchased the car back from me, paying back all of my costs less a fair pro-rated amount for miles driven. In the end Hyundai was fair and did the right thing. Shame. I really liked the car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

This is the best car I have ever owned

James Thomas, 04/12/2016
Limited 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I went to the dealership to test drive a Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. They had a PHEV in stock and I hesitated because it was a few thousand more than the hybrid but I decided to give it a drive anyway. And boy, am I glad I did. This car is AMAZING. It is silky smooth on roads of all types, quiet as a mouse (particularly in electric mode). The interior is very well appointed and every day it seems I find something new it can do that I didn't know about. I could read the manual included but it's fun just discovering stuff. As an example, I was adjusting the mirrors and didn't put it back into Neutral mode. When I switched into reverse, the side mirrors angled down and made it very easy to see what was on my sides (the backup camera takes care of what's behind me). I've always been a terrible parallel parker but this car makes it easy. I have been using the car to go to and from work primarily, though I took it out this weekend into the mountains for 160 miles. I'm sitting at 770 miles since my last fill up and I still have about 40% of the tank left. Talk about amazing! I also find that it's made me a better driver, simply because I have so much information at hand and I want to maximize the mileage. It even has a screen that tells me how aggressive I'm being, which my wife appreciates. Don't let the cost of the car hold you back. Even at gas costing $2.20 per gallon, it's still saving money. It costs me about $0.70 to recharge the battery every day. The car I replaced was getting about 30 miles per gallon, so it was costing me about $1.70 or so per day. So I'm saving net $1.00 per day, which is about $30 per month. When gas gets back to $4 per gallon (and I have no doubt it will), then I'm suddenly saving $3 per day. Plus it's environmentally and geopolitically responsible to use as little fuel as possible. It has a tremendous amount of cabin space and all three of my kids fit in the car nicely. I had the sales guy sit behind me after I adjusted the car for the way I drive and got out and looked at his seating arrangement. He is 5'11" and he had about 3 inches of leg room, which is more than enough to sit comfortably. It's a fantastic midsize sedan.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Better than my Genesis

Mike, 10/10/2016
4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

So, I am coming off a 2013 Hyundai Genesis and I am impressed with how much Hyundai has improved their product from their last generation products. I purchased the plug-in Sonata in base trim. This is my first EV/Hybrid experience and I think it would be hard for me to go back to gas guzzling cars again. Just on Battery alone, I am regularly getting 30 miles before battery runs out. I hardly use gas at all on this as my avg MPG on the computer has been 99.9 mpg since I brought the car home. And on freeway where gas engine was running I was averaging 55 mpg as long as I kept the speed to 65 mph or below. I am also impressed with how the car rides so smooth and quietly. It rides much better than my Genesis and noise level is equivalent. With new techs like Android auto, blind spot monitoring, back up camera's, etc. this car has all the gadgets I will ever need. With the plug in being eligible (hybrids are not) for Federal and State rebates ($6400 total in California) this car can be very affordable. I don't know why they don't sell as many as this car is great. Only negative I had is in base trim they don't offer leather seats. Now plug-in base trim MSRP is around $35,000 and I think for $35K, the car should come standard with leather seats (even though I did not pay near MSRP). And interior and exterior color choice is limited. Only color I saw available was plain gray which I thought looked very cheap.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Features - Horrible Reliability.

Disappointed Sonata Owner, 10/28/2017
Limited 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

(1) Has been in for the check engine light 11-13 times. (2) Broke down on highway for a hybrid system failure and has been at dealer over 3 weeks. UPDATE at 37000 mi. The car was eventually recalled for the above two items and has not been a problem since.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Awesome Car

Kevin Jay, 01/24/2018
4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for a year and a half. When shopping, I compared it to the Chevy Volt, and the Ford Fusion Hybrid Plug In. I went with the Hyundai because it had more electric range than the Ford (just enough to finish my daily commute on all electric), and was more roomy and comfortable than the Volt. Overall, I think Hyundai hit it out of the ballpark. At work, one of my friends is always complaining about how much gas he puts into his SUV. I respond by complaining about how I just had to complete my "seasonal" fill up. It's not far from the truth. I drove from the first week of September until the last week of November on a single tank of gas. I commute about 25 miles rt, and I can complete the commute on just an overnight charge. I've got solar panels, so the charge costs nothing (I've reached break even on the panels themselves). I am leasing the car, and with the Federal and State rebates (and some negotiation), the monthly cost is two sixty five (I have the base model), which is not far off from a similarly equipped hybrid sedan. I think Hyundai's estimate of 27 miles to an electric charge is pretty accurate, but I live in the Northeast, and in the winter months the electric range drops slightly. I should say that my commute is fairly level, and YMMV if you drive on uneven terrain. When using the gas engine, the economy is still very good. I average between 42 and 44 mpg when using gas. Pure highway driving is slightly better. We took my daughter for a tour of prospective colleges, driving from Massachusetts to Virginia by way of Pennsylvania. The gas consumption was just over 50 mpg overall for that trip, even with quite a bit of mountain driving. I love the freedom the hybrid plug-in offers. My daily commute is all-electric, but I can go on a long trip without worrying about where to charge. That trip was a pleasure with this car. The roominess is excellent - better than my last car which was a Camry. I find the fit and finish of this car to be surprisingly good. I was not expecting that with a Hyundai. The cockpit and back seats are laid out with thought. There are plenty of cup holders and everything is easy to reach. In the front cabin, seat comfort and adjustability is excellent. I don't miss the leather seats that I have had on previous cars. The cloth seats come with heaters as standard equipment. My daughter reported the back seat was very comfortable too. Visibility is excellent, although at night, the headlights leave a bit to be desired. The dashboard is simple. Controls, including the Nav/Entertainment system, are logical and easy to use. This was a selling point over the Ford. Hyundai did an amazing job of cramming in the battery and hybrid technology without skimping on interior space. As to the cargo capacity, it is slightly less than you would find on a standard hybrid, but still quite good. We had no problem packing the trunk with enough luggage for three people on a seven day road trip. No need to take up space in the back seat. The sound system is very good, with the exception of satellite radio (see below). The Android Auto system works pretty well. We recently got Waze support, so that Waze can run on the dashboard screen, though it isn't fully functional. It will accept a destination, but then the map won't update once the car starts moving. I'm hoping a software update will resolve this. This car is not going to win any races, but it can cruise effortlessly at 80mph. Acceleration is adequate for passing, even on a grade, although there is a slight lag when you floor the pedal. The ride is very comfortable at any speed, and the car feels quite stable around turns. My car is white, and I think the exterior is very sharp. The car is not without problems. I've had the dealership look into a persistent check engine light 4 times so far, and it remains to be seen whether the dealership has fixed it for good. During the last visit, the technician suggested that it was a problem with my Level 2 charger. That seems unlikely. What's more likely is that the hybrid plug in system is quite complex, and Hyundai hasn't fully debugged it. Thankfully, I've never had the hybrid system problems some others have reported here. I've also had persistent problems with Sirius XM on the entertainment system. It takes a long time for it to find stations, particularly on cloudy days. For a long stretch of time, it wasn't working at all. Even so, I sometimes don't get reception until the end of my commute. The heating system is poor. The heated seats help a lot, and heat up quickly, but the climate control system is slow to heat the cabin, and it has trouble doing so when running in EV mode. The gas engine kicks in to help, and then it takes a good ten to fifteen minutes to get going. Even so, I don't have to fill the tank more than once a month during the winter. I really like this car - it's almost perfect and I'd buy it again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Do NOT buy the 2016 Plug-In

Danielle, 05/15/2018
Limited 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The 2016 Plug-Ins have a faulty hybrid battery. There was a recent recall regarding this. My car also cut off on me on the freeway. It was terrifying!! That was the 5 or 6th time my car was in service. Last year they had my car in service for over a month. Hyundai has agreed to do a repurchase of the vehicle. I absolutely loved the vehicle, too bad they are faulty.

Safety
Performance
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

I love this car

Oliver Thurman, 06/15/2016
Limited 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
10 of 19 people found this review helpful

I've had it for almost a year now. Aside from the unusual drive system (plug-in electric, with backup gasoline engine) it's basically a very mainstream midsize passenger sedan. Since I'm not a high-mileage driver, most of the miles I have put on the car have been in pure-electric mode. In this mode, which lasts for 27 miles or so, the car is just incredibly quiet and smooth, giving you a real sense of luxury in a non-luxury car. A curious side-effect: the near-silence of the car at low speeds makes traffic jams (I live in LA) seem less awful! Or so I feel. I'm also quite happy not to bother visiting gas stations -- I use about about one tank every six months. The engine *does* turn on if you need to accelerate onto a freeway, or for that matter if you're just feeling in a hurry and use a lead foot. When you do this, you'll get 200 h.p., plus the extra torque that electric drive offers. But in most circumstances I find it relaxing to exercise just a bit of self-restraint and accelerate so that electricity alone suffices. I got the fancier version and enjoy the bells and whistles that come with it. There are discrete warnings about lane departure, etc., that make driving safer, and the sound system keeps me, a finicky listener, quite happy (having no engine noise to compete with the music helps too.) Seats are really comfy with lots of legroom both front and back. Visibility is good all around. It's true that by buying this car I've lost a certain amount of trunk room (space is needed for the huge battery). But it's actually easier retrieving grocery bags from the smaller trunk (a little short of 10 cubic feet) than it was from the cavernous trunk of my former car. If I need to carry something big the huge back seat will usually be enough. Sadly, I have never, ever, spotted another Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid on the road -- I'm totally alone in my preference! Too bad; I think other buyers would enjoy this car very much if they only gave it a try. The 2017 model is pretty much just the same as the 2016 I have, so this review probably holds good for the 2017 version too.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very happy

Anne French, 09/18/2016
4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is the best kept secret! Luxury car with longest electric range in its class. I easily get over 30 miles on a charge. The regenerative electric charging is amazing.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050