Used 2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$17,075 - $19,597

Used Ioniq Hybrid for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best Hybrid on the Market

Irv Haas, 05/04/2017
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
78 of 79 people found this review helpful

Having owned 3 previous Prius vehicles, I was looking for a less expensive hybrid alternative. I found it in the Hyundai Ioniq. It has a better MPG rating of any hybrid out there and it drives much like a non-hybrid. After driving it pff the lot in a week, I am still getting 57 MPG. The seats are quite comfortable, but could use lumbar support offered on the top trim level, the Limited. Most new cars offer low mileage tires, but the Ioniq has tires with a 50,000 mile tread life. The technology built into the Ioniq is terrific. Controls are all digital and easy to navigate. You have both a traditional dial speedometer or a digital one. The Ioniq beat the Prius in several areas, but most dramatically in price--about $2500 to $3000 less! if you're looking for a solid car that is also a hybrid, seriously consider the Hyundai Ionic.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

A PRIUS BEATER

Gene Temel, 04/20/2017
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
67 of 68 people found this review helpful

I own a Ford C-Max and have test driven a Prius Eco 2. I took a Hyundai SEL Ioniq for a test drive yesterday. I drove it for 15 to 20 minutes in mixed traffic with speeds of 60 to 35 mph. I was impressed by how it rides and handles. It does not have the get up and go of the C-Max, but it will be okay on the roads in Florida. It sure beats the C-Max in handling, fuel economy and in cargo space. It also drives better than the Prius that I test drove. The Ioniq seems a little quicker, and it sure handles better than the Prius. The interior seems more like a car than a space ship. My wife would be lost in the Prius. It also beats the Prius in appearance. Before we left the lot we reset the MPG indicator, and at the end of the test drive it showed an average of 76 mpg. It was all level driving and I didn't have it in sport mode at any time. But a vehicle like this is perfect for Florida driving. Finally the MSRP for the vehicle I test drove was less than a equivalent equipped Prius 2. When my lease is up on the Ford next summer I will definitely purchase an Ioniq. Little over a month ago, I purchased an Ioniq. Recently my wife and I along with our 50+ pound took a 2 week road trip with a load of luggage. We traveled from central Florida to North Carolina. Then from North Carolina up over the Mts of Virginia and Kentucky to Lexington. The next part of the trip was Kentucky to Western PA. Then we traveled back to North Carolina, and our final travel was back to Florida. We put on 2,961.6 miles and used 56.016 gallons of gas which averaged out to 52.87mpg. The best average on our trip was from Kentucky to PA (633.1 miles) was 56.59. The next best was PA to NC (661.5 miles) 53.128 miles. Considering the terrain we traveled, the load we had in the vehicle, and 85% interstate (65-70 mph), I thought that we got great gas mileage. I never felt we were under powered. We kept up with the traffic and the mountains were never a problem. I read the latest Consumer Report, and I can't believe it rated the Ford C-Max over the Ioniq. The 2 C-Maxs, that I previously owned, had less cargo space, lousy gas mileage (42mpg average), and uncomfortable seats. During interstate driving I had to constantly fiddle with the steering wheel on the C-Max to keep it on a straight path.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Former Prius Lover

Barbara, 07/01/2017
Blue 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
40 of 40 people found this review helpful

I have driven my 2007 Prius for the past 9 years and have absolutely loved that car. When I decided to sell it to my son, I just assumed I would get another Prius. The Hyundai dealer is across the street from the Toyota dealer, so I thought I'd take a peek at the Ioniq before paying $4000 more for a Prius. All I can say is that it was an easy decision from the first test drive. Smoother, quieter ride. Sleeker interior with controls that are intuitive and attractive yet not in your face like the Prius. I have driven the car for a week and am averaging an incredible 66 mpg (only averaged around 50 mpg in the Prius under similar driving conditions.) Better warranty than the Prius and the back cargo area holds my golf clubs and cart with space to spare. I honestly have nothing negative to say about this vehicle. If you own a Prius and are thinking about buying another, check out the Ioniq first. (Inventory in my area was pretty limited. Hopefully that will change as word gets out that this is the car to buy.)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The car I didn't know I wanted

PJ, 06/26/2017
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
39 of 39 people found this review helpful

I've driven a scion xb for 13 years. I was convinced I wanted a Lexus RX or other suv...the opposite of what I had been driving! Although every time I wrote out my actual needs, it seemed like a Prius was the best choice, I still wanted an suv. I visited the Hyundai dealership to compare the Tucson against the Honda CR-V and Mazda CX-5. On my way out, I asked about the ioniq and the salesman started to gush....I soon saw why. It had a smooth ride, a nice interior and exterior, and the mileage I was looking for. Also, it's not a common car on the roads (yet). I chose the select trim to get blind spot detection. I am happy with mileage (of course!) as well as the price and warranty. With all of the marketing and articles I've read, it's honestly hard to choose the car I need vs fulfilling a long list of wants. It's a great car for someone with a long commute, and the trunk is huge enough to handle occasional road trips. I also love that it has Android auto. I can update with performance once I have more experience, but I do understand the non-cvt transmission is a big deal. Finally, my insurance only went up a small amount, and I was able to secure 0% financing.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best hybrid available in 2017

John Calhoun, 09/09/2017
Limited 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
29 of 29 people found this review helpful

My other choice was a Prius. For the same basic set of features, the Ioniq has slightly better mileage, slightly lower price point, and better styling. Furthermore it seats 5 comfortably and has much better covered luggage capacity. It also provides AC/heat to the rear seats that is not available in a Prius. It also handles better than a Prius and is more fun to drive and I say this as someone who owned SAAB's for 30 years. I live in a hilly neighborhood where I do most of my driving so my overall mileage is slightly below 50. On longer, highway trips I get over 55. Of course this is affected by the seasons. It gets about 15% lower mileage in winter same as other cars.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Hyundai's Answert to the Prius has FINALLY Arrived

Randall Scott, 06/20/2017
Blue 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
50 of 52 people found this review helpful

BEFORE buying this car PLEASE drive a Prius! Then you'll have an accurate comparison, and you'll still buy the Ioniq! Something not included in "reviews" is the fact that Hyundai lays on a 10 year, 100K mile warranty, with a LIFETIME warranty on the hybrid battery...and, when you take your car to a Hyundai dealer for any kind of work (because you won't likely be getting warranty work done since they seldom have a problem), you'll be pleasantly greeted and treated like you matter. Hyundai is committed to delivering a warranty that clearly makes the likes of Toyota squirm and look away as they rely heavily on past reputation not supported by current manufacturing. Hey, if Toyota won't bump their puny 3/36 warranty to match Hyundai's 10/100, there MUST be a reason...and it's an obvious one! Beyond the warranty, Hyundai is building solid, reliable, well-performing cars for nearly unrealistic prices...or is is prices that make you question why Toyota and Honda can't seem to build a car with the same feature for similar pricing? I've owned nine Hyundais over the last 20 years and just one required warranty repair of the paddle shifter. Not ONE ever had a transmission problem, or electrical problem, or any other problem! The Ioniq I own is now headed for 3,000 mile of driving over less than two months of ownership. This means I've been driving this car nearly everyday, under a variety of conditions from early morning temperatures in the low 50's F. to mid-afternoon temperatures above 105 degrees F! The car works perfectly, and more, being a Hyundai hybrid, when sitting in traffic with the engine stopped, the air conditioning keeps working a full power thanks to the hybrid system! So not sweating in traffic while moving slow like one does when driving a car that runs the AC off the engine! Acceleration is what YOU decide for it to be...if you are trying to be "eco" then expect to accelerate more slowly while trying to use battery only. On the other hand, a quick flip into "Sport Mode" and the car has a different demeanor altogether...it takes off quickly and accelerates briskly up to 45-50 mph in city traffic! In normal drive mode, the car will normally operated in full EV mode up to 50 mph, and in fact, stoplight driving is where this car really shines! It can easily push mpg figures UP during city driving! Imagine sitting at a stoplight with the AC keeping you super-cooled, noting your "mpg" number is static because there is no gasoline being used! A quick acceleration to 45 mph, relax, and now the car is running purely on battery all the way to the next light! Let off and coast and the car goes into regeneration to recover energy that would otherwise have been lost. Also, the Internal combustion engine (ICE) uses the Atkinson cycle which makes it 40% thermally efficient - about 40% more efficient than a standard ICE that lacks a motor for down low torque assist. The Ioniq is a great looking, "small" car that is about twice as big on the inside as it looks. Even the "Blue" model is nicely equipped and once "the new wears off" the Blue is the model to own! Never mentioned in advertisements is that with Apple Car Play one no longer needs an expensive, static, on board navigation system, because upon connecting one's iPhone with a USB/charging cable, the maps function with full turn-by-turn voice navigation is right there! The car is large enough inside to allow a rather large driver, plus three people seated across the back. It has a nice, open, airy feel inside. I really like the hatchback feature because with the seats folded it can hold an amazing amount of stuff! Even seats up my wife was surprised at how many bags of groceries easily fit in the "trunk." Operationally speaking, you get in the car, push the start button and all you hears is a chime as the instrument lights come to life. Driving at speeds below 20 mph is almost always on motor alone unless it's a cold morning and the ICE is running to warm the battery pack. Speaking of battery packs, Hyundai realized that if one has a monster drive battery, why have a separate, super-heavy, totally inefficient 12V accessory battery? So they tossed out the lead-acid anchor and replaced it with a tiny 12V LiION accessory battery that can be "jumped" from the traction battery if it ever goes flat! WHAT? Exactly. Pretty smart people working over at Hyundai. Due to the dual clutch, 6 speed automatic transmission, the car feels just like any other car during normal driving. One thing a little different is that it doesn't downshift when adding throttle unless the cruise is engaged, or perhaps one is really pushing down on the pedal. The car so far has been averaging 55 mpg based on actual, calculated mpg at fill-up, but of course it will record "trip" mpg well into the 70-80 mpg range once running warm and properly driven. For the price/warranty/value...excellent buy!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

An Absolute Dream to Drive

Sarah D, 08/10/2017
Limited 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
34 of 35 people found this review helpful

I've been driving a used 2005 Honda CR-V for the past six years. When it finally crossed the 240,000 mile mark, I wanted to upgrade my car. I no longer needed a big car since I'm usually the only person in my car, but I wanted a car that has a hatchback since I frequently have a lot of gear in my car. I was also looking for a car that would get at least double the poor mileage I was getting in my CR-V. I considered a Prius but have always been super turned off by the interior. A friend of mine was gushing to me about his Hyundai Elantra, so I took a look to see if any of Hyundai's cars were offered as hybrids. That's how I discovered the Ioniq. I test drove it twice at two different dealerships, one test drive included highway driving and the other didn't. I had a good sense for how the Ioniq acted in mixed driving and I was in love. The acceleration was smooth and the ride quality was so much quieter than my CR-V. I was impressed at the fact that I could get up to 55 mpg in the limited trim, which was the trim I wanted since it had leather seats and a host of safety features. I was able to secure a great deal on the car with 0% financing for 5 years. I've had the car for almost a month now and since I drive a lot for work, I'm about to hit 1,000 miles. I've had absolutely no problems with the car so far. One thing I love is the fact that the AC can be on full blast when the gasoline engine is off - it's a dream when I'm sitting in traffic during a hot summer day knowing that I don't need to choose between sweating my a** off or getting good MPG. I can honestly say my driving has also gotten a lot better because I drive more economically to get the best fuel economy possible, so I feel more relaxed behind the wheel. I'm also thrilled with the safety features like blind spot monitoring and the rear view camera, to name a few. They've been a huge upgrade for me from a 2005 car. I also bought the ultimate package with the limited trim which includes smart cruise, HID headlights with light bending technology, automatic braking and a premium infinity stereo with clarifi technology (to restore sound quality on radio stations), among other things. The headlights are so useful at night and actually do bend with you when you're turning on a windy road - the visibility is fantastic. I'm also a huge audiophile and with a little tweak of the bass/treble settings on the stereo system, I'm very impressed with the sound quality of the Infinity Stereo system. It's much better than any stereo I've heard in any other sedan. I use Apple CarPlay on a daily basis as well which eliminates the need for me to be fumbling with my phone while I'm driving. No longer do I need to worry about texting and driving. With Apple CarPlay, you can text anyone with Siri and ask Siri to get you directions to anywhere using Apple Maps, another huge plus. Finally, I've been averaging around 52 MPG and am projected to go 600 miles on one tank of gas; coming from a Honda CR-V that barely made it to 230 MPG, this is a dream for me. Hyundai really did think of everything with this car and it's fun to drive. If you're in the market for a Hybrid and you're not a fan of the Prius, the Ioniq just might be the car for you.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Great Freshman Year Effort!

Craig Baumgartner, 01/21/2018
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
48 of 51 people found this review helpful

*** Updates at end of review *** I decided to wait until I had a good feel for the car before writing a review, so after three months and 9,000 miles, here is my take on the 2017 Hyundai Ioniq mid-level SEL… Pros – Much smoother ride compared to my Honda Civic, Ford Escape, Toyota Prius-C, and Chevy Silverado. Stellar gas mileage, but with caveats. Comfortable seats. Roomy interior. Very nice infotainment system. Generous cargo space behind passenger seats. Cons –Wanders all over the road when it’s windy. Engine takes a long time to warm up to provide heat. Speedo not accurate (+2 mph). The MPG - The car is rated at 55mpg combined city/highway MPG. My driving is about 75% highway and 25% city. I live in Northern Indiana, where the roads are relatively flat. In optimal driving conditions (70 degrees, no wind), I can achieve 65mpg without trying to. If I really try to hyper mile, I can approach 70mpg. Two factors seriously hinder gas mileage on the Ioniq: Wind and cold. Expect about a 10% drop when it’s windy (15+mph). We’ve had a cold winter here in Indiana, and I’ve obtained the much less MPG considering the following temperatures: When it’s below 20 degrees, I get 45mpg combined. When it’s between 30-55 degrees, I get 55mpg. Over 55 degrees is where I can get the best gas mileage. The lowest I’ve ever gotten was 43mpg where it was below zero and windy. I’m thinking that the cause of the lower mileage in the winter is because (1) different formulations in gasoline during the winter (2) denser air in the winter, harder to “plow” through (3) the Ioniq has to keep the engine running more often to provide heat for the cabin (4) Less battery performance in colder weather. The Acceleration – It’s a hybrid. Treat it as one and don’t expect it to be something it’s not. You have to give to get, and in this case, you give performance to get MPG. Normally those rules ring true with hybrids, but the Ioniq has a sneaky secret – “Sport” mode. Flip the gearshift to the left, and you enter the auto-manual Sport mode. Fun factor increases but MPG decreases. Again, give and take. Brakes – Some fine tuning may be in order for the Sophomore year of production. Thanks to deer that bolt out in front of me, I can assure you that panic stops are predicable. It’s the “in-between” braking (not hard, not soft) that can be distracting. It feels like the car needs to be tuned a little better to handle the trade-off between regenerative braking and normal braking. It can be harsh sometimes and the nose can dive when you don’t expect it to for the amount of pedal pressure you’re applying. Infotainment – Nice. I have both an iPhone and an Android phone, so I’ve been able to test both CarPlay and Android Auto and they both work great. Nobody has complained about holding a phone conversation with me using the hands-free mode. Drivetrain – Great first-year effort. I like the six-speed dual clutch transmission. It feels more communicative than a slushy CVT. When it is cold outside, you can feel the switch from EV/Engine mode more than what you do in warmer temperatures…just a little blip. Climate Control – Works as advertised. I like the way it automatically switches on the front windshield defroster when needed. Doo-dads – The rear-cross traffic alert combined with the rear-view camera is the best option-combo to me. The electronic dash is nice, but if the sun is directly behind me and shining on it, it can wash out. The lack of a rear-windshield wiper is a non-issue…I haven’t missed it yet. **** Update 08/2018 **** I now have 31,000 miles on it. During the summer, I'm getting 70+mpg on several fill-ups (and over 700 miles per tank) but I don't drive on the interstate. Driving the interstate gets me 55mpg in the summer, 45mpg or less in the winter. Still in love with this car and it's holding up well. **** Update 02/2020 **** I now have 80,000 miles on it. A few more observations - I don't like the headlights, hard to see at night. The stereo doesn't get loud enough to listen over the wind noise of an open window. Mileage has gone down, probably because this car is so pokey and I need to press the accelerator more. I still have original tires on. Car still looks brand new except for paint on the wheels is peeling off. Brakes are OK once you realize how they work. I would not recommend this car for interstate driving, only for 65mph and below roads because of the way it handles. **** Update 02/2021 **** I’ve got 106K miles now. My daily route has changed to where I now drive 25% interstate and the MPG is going down. During the cold of winter, I struggle to get 40MPG. The car is comfy, and I still like it. No problems with it and it feels like it will go 200K by doing prescribed maintenance. Outside of some paint flashing off the wheels due to a powerful carwash, the body has held up without any issues.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Car Ever- Getting 65- yes 65 MOG!!

MAG, 10/07/2017
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

This car is amazing! I just turned over my first 1500 miles. I'm getting 65MPG! It's beautiful, rides wonderful, nice instrumentation. Safety features are incredible. Love the smart cruise control! It seriously almost drives itself when in this mode. I set it to stay 3 car lengths behind a car and if the carg in front of me goes slower than what I set it for, it will automatically slow down, and speed up. No need to put on break and have to reset cruise! I love this car! My husband is amazed by it too. Always trying to drive it!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

95mpg

Mark, 08/16/2017
Blue 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
24 of 25 people found this review helpful

So far in rush hour traffic the base model has achieved 95mpg+ TWICE and the current average is 70mpg. LOVE THIS CAR!!! Ok, seeing how other reviews are more detailed maybe I should do the same. I had test driven a prius a few years back. I'm over 6 feet and I had room enough in the car but the front hood was so short I felt like I was in a SmartCar not feeling so smart. When I read about the Ioniq earlier in the year, I was impressed because it just a little shorter than the Elantra. The only problem I had with the car was FINDING one. There were maybe 6 within 30 miles but most of them were the SEL or EV. I found one base and bought it within a few weeks. The front was roomy with quite a few storage options. The display was similar to the Sonata and in a few cases better (AndroidAuto). Of course we had the customary 3 months of XM radio. There was no spare which I understand but the dealer offered a tire replacement service for a few bucks/month. This is my first hybrid and they're a great balance between performance and economy. I put the car in sport mode a few times and it just FLIES. Hyundai employee pricing promotion saved me about $5,000 PRO: Lifetime warranty on battery. That will probably save me a few thousand, AutoAndroid, button locks on doors on driver and passenger side (requires key) CON: No spare, no digital fuel guage, center display could be an inch closer (34 inch arms and I still have to reach)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ioniq is Cool

Dave, 12/31/2017
Blue 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I am almost 4 years into owning this car.. It has 69,000 miles. It has had all its basic maintenance and still runs well. I have the original tires and will be replacing them soon with similar tires, preferably the Michelin Defender, an 80k tire. The mileage has dropped off over the years. I assume much of that is related to tire wear. Otherwise all its primary functions continue to work well. No repairs have been needed. The two biggest issues, which are about as minor as one would hope for in the grand scheme of things: The driver door still wants to close on my leg and the rear view mirror is still an issue as it has to be continuously raised up. I have the seat as low as it will go and it is still not low enough. Overall I would highly recommend this car. It is my daily driver. It cools quickly on the summer and warms up quickly in the winter. Overall a great high mileage car. Maybe after i get new tires, the MPG rating will get closer to 55mpg. Now it's about 50mpg. Which is still amazing to me.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Far better than expected all around

Tom, 05/19/2017
Blue 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

I was interested in this for the good gas mileage and reasonable price. I was blown away with the value. It's got all the modern bells and whistles and it drives great. Much better pep than I expected. Considering the efficiency, the amount of interior and trunk space is amazing. Hyundai is hungry and looking to compete, and they are bringing their "A" game for sure. I've put about 450 miles on the car already, and according to the dashboard I still have more than 200 miles left before I need to fill the tank. It says I am averaging over 60 mpg and I think it is correct. I just can't get over the value, really couldn't be happier so far.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Just went over 7000 miles on mine

T Hayes, 10/22/2017
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

With the Prius the car felt clumsy in tight turns and with the Ioniq it feels natural in tight corners. The mileage has slipped on my Ioniq and this will be the first tank below 50MPG which sucks. After almost a year I would give the same exact review as I did before but the milage is averaging about 53MPG now

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my Electric Blue Iconic Blue !

Kevin , 01/31/2018
Blue 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

My first impression of this car, was a very good one, I have been a loyal Toyota customer for years, but Toyota styling has not easy on the eyes, Plus Prius is thousands of dollars more. Finally someone has beat Toyota at their own game, this car has so many standard features like keyless ignition, Satellite radio, and fantastic mileage that actually beats Toyota Prius, 57mpg City, and 59 highway. Have been looking for months, and found a 2017 certified ionic blue for an amazing price thank you superior Hyundai Conway, for treating me so well, no pressure, dealership, straightforward and I would recommend this dealer to anyone. So far my first tank, I average 63 miles per gallon, and yes I am a previous previous previous owner.

Report Abuse

A great car that just happens to be a hybridbrid

BOB, 06/17/2018
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Great looks. Really turns people's heads. I have the sel mofel and average 62 to 63 mpg!. I have the active safety package and it has really improved my driving attentiveness and safety. It has lots of cargo space. I am a gardner and had no problems hauling bags of topsoil and other supplies. The instrmentation is modern and user friendly. I love the fact that it looks and drives like a regular car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

Super car !

Kaushal, 06/08/2018
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have refueled this car twice so far and each time it has given me over 60 miles per gallon ! I own the hybrid (not plug-in) and love the car for its driver seat legroom, smooth drive, mileage and cargo room. Its an amazing hybrid car from Hyundai !

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Money Pit

Jamie, 09/01/2019
Blue 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2017 Ioniq - first one sold in New Mexico. Two years later this car stopped working. Literally STOPPED working. It has been in and out of the shop for over 4 months. They have replaced everything and have no idea what’s wrong with it. I have a case manager with the national office who essentially said all they could do is pay for my rental. Most recently, the car was in the shop for almost a month. I drove it to dinner and back and it almost broke down on the way home. While driving it shuts down. That’s right... imagine driving in a busy street and your car just shuts off! Completely unsafe. It’s a miracle I haven’t been in an accident. I’m terrified to drive it. I can’t take the highway. This car is terrible. I bought it new and two years later it isn’t drivable. I still owe 15K on the car and Hyundai doesn’t care. This is the worst financial decision I’ve ever made. Please please please do not buy this car. Hyundai does not stand behind their vehicles and in no way do I feel valued as a customer. Not to mention, one day I will stall in the middle of an intersection (again) and this time one of the other drivers won’t be able stop. I hope my family holds Hyundai responsible. Save yourself, save a friend, buy any other vehicle from any other manufacturer.

Report Abuse

Two Weeks' Impression

Rudy, 01/15/2018
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
12 of 14 people found this review helpful

I bought my Ioniq about two weeks ago as a replacement for my `02 VW Golf TDI. I would have gone with another TDI, but I can't get a brand new one due to the emission scandal. My `02 TDI consistently hit low 50's mpg, or better, when temps were above 32 F. It hit 305,000 miles before I decided to replace it. I'm hopeful the Ioniq will make me forget my love affair with TDIs. I chose Ioniq because of the mpg, longer warranty, and 0% financing. I live in Minnesota and picked my Hyundai up just before New Years day. It's been at 0 degrees F or lower and my Ioniq is averaging 40 mpg in the first few tank-fuls in this cold weather. My biggest problem/concern is the windows fog/frost up, even when it's just me in the car. Cracking a window or two helps, but doesn't eliminate it. The heater just doesn't seem to "put out" like my TDI did. It reminds me of an old `83 Honda Civic I once owned ... had to carry a window scraper to keep the insides of the windows clear. The low mpg's when cold and this window frosting are big disappointments for me. I can get by with the low mileage during the winter months, as long as it jumps to the upper 50s-low 60s when winter eases ... like everyone else seems to be getting. I've read about the frost build-up. Sounds like it could be "new car" moisture that may ease with time. Another site suggested using Rain-X on the inside of the windows (haven't tried it yet). I gotta be able to see out to feel safe, so this better be treatable, or I'll be eager to move on to something else sooner, rather than later. I like the car otherwise. I like the ride, how it handles, and the inside feels roomy for a small car. Head-room looks like it would be an issue, but everyone in my family is under 6' tall so it works well. It would be a problem if I were a little taller, though! I don't have a smart phone, so the technology side of the options don't mean much to me. The heater controls will take time to get used to ... I have to look down and taggle through the options frequently. This pulls my eyes off the road. I liked my VW because everything stuck out like Braille, so I could do it without even looking down. The finger-tip controls on the wheel for the radio and monitoring the mileage/driving economy/etc is nice. It makes me wonder ... can the heater controls be put on the wheel too? Overall, I like the car ... but haven't fallen in love with it yet. Time will tell ...

Report Abuse

This car ROCKS!

Carrie A., 10/08/2017
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I can’t say enough about this vehicle. Loaded with features, incredible gas mileage, and at a reasonable price for all that you get. My only issue is I’m having trouble getting the navigation to work. Probably user issues.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Gas miser!

Raymond, 04/19/2018
Blue 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought car new. Storage, ride and drivability better than expected. Just returned from an out of state trip. Went 622 miles, 10 hrs of driving on 1 tank of gas! Was cheaper and the warranty much better than competitors. Very happy with purchase. Now have 10,000 miles on car, still 60+ mpg. Hasn’t let me down yet. 2 vacations loaded with gear and kayaks. Plenty of room could still see out back window. With load mpg dropped to 48 still great 30,000 miles. Still over 60 mpg in summer. 50 mpg in winter. No problems, great car

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

So Edmunds reviews as a 3.5 because it's a hyunda?

Carlos G, 05/30/2018
Blue 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I love this little thing no doubt I'm going to get it, it handles very well, everything looks to be in the right place, why rate it bad if it's the most fuel efficient car in place

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

First foreign car and the best car I have ever had

Sonya Liebendorfer, 01/27/2018
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

If you live in Georgia, go to Southtowne in Newnan and ask for Chad. He LISTENS to what you want and puts you in the car that meets your needs. I was a muscle car lover. No more. The Ioniq Hybrid drives like a dream. It has the get up and go when you pull out in traffic. It will surprise you if you love muscle cars like I do. It also is easy to get a super speeder ticket because you don't realize how fast you are going it drives so smoothly. The suspension is awesome, because it is like you are riding on a cloud. I love the blind spot detectors on the mirrors, they make an alert noise to stay put is someone is in your blind spot. Same in reverse, if you don't see someone it will alert you by making a noise to not back up because there is something you aren't seeing yet. I have had it three days now, still have not had to get gas and I am going on 500 miles!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Surpassed my expectations!

DM, 04/16/2018
Blue 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have had this car for 10 months now. I am surprised by how much I like this car. I was commuting about 1 hr. Hwy and decided to invest in this car and it has been great. I am surprise for how smooth a ride it is. I have been really happy. I currently have 16K miles on it so far with absolutely no issues.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Cerulean ionic blue

Kevin Henry , 01/28/2018
Blue 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I must say that Hyundai did their homework when they created that ionic hybrid, I have always been a loyal Toyota Buyer, but I looked at this car and for the money they actually have a beatToyota at their own game. For the money you get a blue model ionic,for $3000 less then a comparable Toyota Prius, with a much better warranty, a lifetime on the hybrid battery which is a first for a hybrid. And a nice bonus you get XM satellite radio at no additional charge on the blue model, cannot get that on a Toyota package to you have to jump to a package three to get that. So tonight I drove home a 2017 Hyundai ionic blue model, it was a certified preowned Hyundai with only 6500 miles on it, it was a deal I could not pass up, Hyundai of Conway Arkansas did everything possible to make this happen, got an amazing deal that left me smiling all the way home, 100 mile drive, and on top of it I got 60.2 miles per gallon, truly amazing, highly recommend this car to anyone shopping for a gas miser with style.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great car

Vip59, 10/23/2017
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Excellent mileage. Love car play..a year later and 20,000 miles added and still loving it

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A few issues, but overall a great car

jcountstx, 07/06/2020
Blue 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This Ioniq is my 4th Hyundai. I had a 2002 Accent that I bought used in 2004, then I traded it in late 2011 to lease a 2012 Accent, and then a 2014 Elantra GT after that, and now the 2017 Ioniq. I am coming to the end of my lease very soon. For the most part, I love the Ioniq. The gas mileage is excellent and can definitely exceed the EPA estimates if you drive relatively gently. I do mostly regular street driving and not much freeway, so my average hovers around 57-58mpg, though sometimes I can get in the low 60s. It takes a little hit in the winter, but as I live in Houston where it doesn't get terribly cold, it's not too big of a difference. I love that this base trim comes with Android Auto, and this was my first car with a backup camera, which has been nice to have. I have found the ride to be pretty comfortable, and for all the mention of road noise in the review, I've never found it to be bothersome. I can't give it 5 stars, however, because I have had a few issues with this car, which I guess can be chalked up to first year kinks. For the first 2 years, I hadn't had any trouble at all, but then I started having a problem with the air conditioner. I had to take the car in 3 times before the problem was properly diagnosed and fixed. Thankfully it was under warranty and didn't cost me anything. The problem was that the evaporator had gone bad and had to be replaced. Another minor but annoying issue that I had was that the interior cladding (not sure if that's the right word) on the driver side A pillar started falling out of place. It was fixed, but it seems to me that this and the A/C thing shouldn't be happening in a 2 year old car, and I didn't have these problems with previous Hyundais that I've leased. The most recent thing I ran into has (so far, I hope) turned out to be not so much a real problem as just a quirk to be aware of. I started occasionally getting a warning while I was driving that would say "Check Hybrid System" and then say "Turn Off Engine". I would pull over and turn the car off, but then I'd sit for a minute and then turn it back on, and it would just run again like nothing happened. It wouldn't happen every time I drove - just every once in a while. I took the car in to have it checked out, and the techs could see the error codes in the computer but couldn't replicate the issue. The service people at the dealership thought there could be a wiring problem, but they went to Hyundai tech support, and tech support said that the errors that were showing up in the computer indicated that I wasn't driving the car enough and keeping a good enough charge on the battery. I have been working from home due to the pandemic, so I haven't been driving every day, but I didn't realize this would be a problem since it wasn't like the car was sitting idle for weeks on end. But since then, whenever I drive, I watch the battery level more closely, and so far I haven't gotten the warning again. I had originally thought this was the car I was going to buy out at the end of the lease, but I've had *just* enough issues with it that I'm not so sure that this is the one to keep. I may check out a 2020, though.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great car, in theory.

TradedQuickly, 01/03/2019
Limited 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I owned a 2017 limited hybrid. Was sold on the features and value for the money. Two days after I drove the vehicle home, the car nearly died on the interstate, which was terrifying. Vehicle stayed in the shop the first five months I owned it. I’ve driven every Hyundai loaner in my area because of it. Literally. Thank god for the great warranty though! Ride was ok. Fit and finish decent. Once you own it, you see where the cuts were made for production. Fantastic head unit on the entertainment system. Terrible std speakers. The car had a large amount of mechanical issues. Hyundai offered to buy it back, I should have let them. Months after the problem was “fixed” they sent ioniq owners another recall notice, with no resolve at the time. Not a drivers car, floaty like a Lincoln and suspension was very squishy. Which is surprising as I had the limited. When the car wasn’t in the shop the vehicle was stated to have gotten over 50. I returned 43 on a regular basis in eco mode and a light foot. Seats are a little too firm as well but support was good. Backseat room decent, but the roofline made all of my family and friends bump their heads on the door frame. No std spare tire left me stranded. The blue link customer service lost my vehicle for about an hour and had no idea who picked the vehicle up. The blue link representatives leave much to be desired. Also, dealing with Hyundai corporate in California was a nightmare. I got a valley girl fresh out of college with little to no experience. She rarely knew what she was doing then misquoted my current states law to me, which ultimately got me forwarded to a manager and the buy back offer that I mentioned earlier. I refused because I thought they could resolve the problem. The problem was never resolved. When it rains water got in the seal of the drivers door causing it to squeak really loudly. One year and a month later I have now traded for another vehicle and won’t look back. All of the problems were well known on the American Facebook forum for the ioniq so I know it wasn’t just mine. Multiple people on the forum had some of the same issues. Hopefully they have worked out the kinks because the idea of the ioniq is GREAT, follow through was... less than desirable. Which is why I traded for another vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Will NEVER buy another Hyundai

Never, 02/22/2018
Blue 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
13 of 25 people found this review helpful

Don’t believe the mpg rating. Was lucky if it hit 43. Very cold blooded car. Does not drive well in rain or snow. Update: Got rid of this car as soon as we could. In the 2 months we had it, it Never got the mpg it was supposed to, plus it developed a loud rattle in the back. Will Never by another Hyundai after owning that thing.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Piece of Junk

Desiree, 11/24/2017
Blue 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
10 of 20 people found this review helpful

Well the fist time car was on the freeway and lost total power. Almost killed us. The second and third time the car was lurching forward. My daughter has had the car a total of 14 days since July 18 and just now Nov 22 Hundia after arguing with the lady for a half hour about how long they have had the car they want to buy the car back. Making the payments for this long and we will see what they offer. Such unprofessionalism from a company!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Don't pass this one by

revron, 11/24/2018
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned Prius, Mazda, Ford, and others, and the Ioniq beats every one of them. I love driving, with all the safety features, driving has become fun again. The ease of getting in and out, the layout of the console, the colors of the dash, area ll inviting. The price for all the amenities you get is fabulous. Make sure you drive this one before you buy that Prius.

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

Still great

Marc G, 01/28/2019
Limited 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I looked at this because Prius doesn’t have dual climate conttol. So for the same price as a Prius three with 15k more miles, this has leather, heated seats, blind spot detection, sunroof and Apple CarPlay. I only had one test drive of each car on different but similar stretches of road and highway. On the Ioniq, The acceleration was more responsive, steering was tighter and overall comfort, sound buffering and handling were much better. Over 70 the Prius felt a little less stable, the Hyundai feels secure and easily gets up to highway speeds and faster and without roaring noises and floor vibration, as was the case with the P3. For the 5+ thousand dollar premium you pay for Toyota reliability, you can buy an ext warranty for 1500 dollars in case anything actually goes wrong. But as far as I can tell the car that vibrates less should hold up longer. Maybe the p3 was not representative of the Prius line. But the Prius options and style did not match my needs as well anyway. Update:70k miles and runs great. Mpg 50-55. Paint holds up well. No repairs. I would buy another

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

A lot for a little!

Barry Hobbs, 02/24/2019
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We have owned this 2017 SEL for four months and couldn't be happier. We bought this used with about 12,500 miles on it, but looks brand new. The mileage is outstanding, consistently getting 55++ on the highway. A couple of times we averaged over 65 mpg! My wife and I are in our mid 70's and find the ride quite comfortable. Freeway onramp acceleration is quite satisfactory as well. We are easily at full speed when entering and merging with traffic. Though not at mach 3 when passing, we've had no problems with that, either. The ONLY issue I have had is that the car sits a bit low, making entering and exiting the vehicle a bit harder for me.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fast fun long distance driving enjoyment

VeronicaLeadFoot, 05/12/2019
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I was test driving Prius cars looking for a deal and none of the Toyota dealers would budge on the price. I found a 2 year old Prius Persona fully loaded for sale quite inexpensively at a Hyundai dealer and I was really tempted except for the 2 nasty "door ding" dents in the drivers side door. My OCDs would not permit me to buy a car with 2 dings in it. So the dealer asked me to try the Ioniq. More comfy, roomy cockpit, better instrumentation, faster, more nimble, more fun to drive, better mileage, lane departure warning, blind spot warning/detection, automatic emergency braking, power/heated seats, the list of stuff that I love about the Ioniq made me a believer. Within 4 months of purchase: I paid the car off and decided to keep her. 2 years later: she is still so fun to drive and I drive LONG distances between my 2 homes and various job sites with bumping Sirius XM (also standard on the SEL). I did get my first ticket at 96mph on Angeles Crest Highway. Honestly it didnt feel like I was going anywhere near that fast: I was gliding along and saw blue and red lights and pulled over to let the emergency vehicle go by and was quite surprised when he pulled behind me. Gotta watch these things; speed is effortless and the electric motor is silent, all that you hear is tires squealing until the gas engine kicks in. Even lead foot driving she gets me around 50mpg. I could get to around 57 if I granny it, but where is the fun in that? Enjoy the drive: especially when you have a car that wants to run.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Just about perfect !

Geoff, 06/24/2019
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My last review of our 2017 Hyundai "Ioniq" gas-electric hybrid was one year ago. Since then, we've added another 14,000 miles of mixed "city errand" and multiple long-distance trip travel. This car continues to deliver virtually PERFECT performance, with a consistent average of between 55 and 65 miles per gallon -- whether city or country/interstate driving -- with NO issues at all. Dealer service is friendly and thorough, enhancing confidence in Hyundai's good customer support. We did opt for addition of a mini-spare tire in the trunk (instead of relying on call-in highway support visit in case of a flat, and no spare in the trunk), but have never had a tire failure on long travel with the stock Michelins, or any other issues. Car is a comfortable road machine for the driver and front seat passenger and can deliver a 500-mile interstate day on cruise control at 70 mph, with 100 miles left to spare on one tank of fuel, and no aches and pains for my 5-foot 7-inch frame. Pandora over an iPhone and blue-toothed to the car's sound system provides 'free' selection of music and news while on the highway, so there's no need for the pricey XM radio option that came with the vehicle. The 8-way adjustable seat for driver, with variable lumbar support provides any needed comfort ajustments. All the 'little things' crafted by Hyundai into this design -- from adjustable side mirrors; to heated front seats in winter; to the non-intimidating instrument panel; the comfort of the suspension and solid steering; rear and side traffic alerts; good braking; roomy and adjustable interior (fold-down rear seats); etc. make this vehicle Hyundai's true "hidden secret" among their broad stable of steeds. The industry-leading extended B-to-B warranty on the car and its lifetime battery coverage (no parts or labor cost!) make confident ownership a no-brainer. I will likely replace our Ioniq with a new one when the time comes, but suspect that will be years in the future, unless full electric vehicle options offer 800-mile ranges between charges and sell at affordable sales and service price points by then.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Stylish Gas Sipper that’s gonna save you $$

Zach, 08/09/2019
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

One thing about the Ioniq is the styling...it is was more conventional that its direct competition (the Prius). Bought a CPO SEL in Florida and I live in PA. Drove it up on I 95 and got over 56 mpg! Also the smart cruise control, lane departure and autonomous emergency braking make the car almost drive itself (just need input from the steering wheel). Definitely a car to consider if looking at hybrids and want the best bang for the buck!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great features and gas mileage

SG, 02/05/2020
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am loving the gas mileage on the car as well as the safety features. The car rides smoothly once it gets going but is a but the pickup lags a little which is to be expected as I drive it in ECO mode.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Happy so far

Cbader52, 12/20/2020
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Have had the car 2 weeks. Getting used to it. About 50 mpg in mostly urban driving. Has all the features we need, nice ride for its size, handles well, plenty of power.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

2017 Hyundai hybrid

B. Eidson, 01/14/2021
Blue 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Loving the great gas mileage!! Also, this car actually has a very smooth ride. Very happy with purchase so far.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050