Used 2017 Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$17,075 - $19,597

Used Ioniq Hybrid for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best Hybrid on the Market

Irv Haas, 05/04/2017
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
78 of 79 people found this review helpful

Having owned 3 previous Prius vehicles, I was looking for a less expensive hybrid alternative. I found it in the Hyundai Ioniq. It has a better MPG rating of any hybrid out there and it drives much like a non-hybrid. After driving it pff the lot in a week, I am still getting 57 MPG. The seats are quite comfortable, but could use lumbar support offered on the top trim level, the Limited. Most new cars offer low mileage tires, but the Ioniq has tires with a 50,000 mile tread life. The technology built into the Ioniq is terrific. Controls are all digital and easy to navigate. You have both a traditional dial speedometer or a digital one. The Ioniq beat the Prius in several areas, but most dramatically in price--about $2500 to $3000 less! if you're looking for a solid car that is also a hybrid, seriously consider the Hyundai Ionic.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

A PRIUS BEATER

Gene Temel, 04/20/2017
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
67 of 68 people found this review helpful

I own a Ford C-Max and have test driven a Prius Eco 2. I took a Hyundai SEL Ioniq for a test drive yesterday. I drove it for 15 to 20 minutes in mixed traffic with speeds of 60 to 35 mph. I was impressed by how it rides and handles. It does not have the get up and go of the C-Max, but it will be okay on the roads in Florida. It sure beats the C-Max in handling, fuel economy and in cargo space. It also drives better than the Prius that I test drove. The Ioniq seems a little quicker, and it sure handles better than the Prius. The interior seems more like a car than a space ship. My wife would be lost in the Prius. It also beats the Prius in appearance. Before we left the lot we reset the MPG indicator, and at the end of the test drive it showed an average of 76 mpg. It was all level driving and I didn't have it in sport mode at any time. But a vehicle like this is perfect for Florida driving. Finally the MSRP for the vehicle I test drove was less than a equivalent equipped Prius 2. When my lease is up on the Ford next summer I will definitely purchase an Ioniq. Little over a month ago, I purchased an Ioniq. Recently my wife and I along with our 50+ pound took a 2 week road trip with a load of luggage. We traveled from central Florida to North Carolina. Then from North Carolina up over the Mts of Virginia and Kentucky to Lexington. The next part of the trip was Kentucky to Western PA. Then we traveled back to North Carolina, and our final travel was back to Florida. We put on 2,961.6 miles and used 56.016 gallons of gas which averaged out to 52.87mpg. The best average on our trip was from Kentucky to PA (633.1 miles) was 56.59. The next best was PA to NC (661.5 miles) 53.128 miles. Considering the terrain we traveled, the load we had in the vehicle, and 85% interstate (65-70 mph), I thought that we got great gas mileage. I never felt we were under powered. We kept up with the traffic and the mountains were never a problem. I read the latest Consumer Report, and I can't believe it rated the Ford C-Max over the Ioniq. The 2 C-Maxs, that I previously owned, had less cargo space, lousy gas mileage (42mpg average), and uncomfortable seats. During interstate driving I had to constantly fiddle with the steering wheel on the C-Max to keep it on a straight path.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Former Prius Lover

Barbara, 07/01/2017
Blue 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
40 of 40 people found this review helpful

I have driven my 2007 Prius for the past 9 years and have absolutely loved that car. When I decided to sell it to my son, I just assumed I would get another Prius. The Hyundai dealer is across the street from the Toyota dealer, so I thought I'd take a peek at the Ioniq before paying $4000 more for a Prius. All I can say is that it was an easy decision from the first test drive. Smoother, quieter ride. Sleeker interior with controls that are intuitive and attractive yet not in your face like the Prius. I have driven the car for a week and am averaging an incredible 66 mpg (only averaged around 50 mpg in the Prius under similar driving conditions.) Better warranty than the Prius and the back cargo area holds my golf clubs and cart with space to spare. I honestly have nothing negative to say about this vehicle. If you own a Prius and are thinking about buying another, check out the Ioniq first. (Inventory in my area was pretty limited. Hopefully that will change as word gets out that this is the car to buy.)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The car I didn't know I wanted

PJ, 06/26/2017
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
39 of 39 people found this review helpful

I've driven a scion xb for 13 years. I was convinced I wanted a Lexus RX or other suv...the opposite of what I had been driving! Although every time I wrote out my actual needs, it seemed like a Prius was the best choice, I still wanted an suv. I visited the Hyundai dealership to compare the Tucson against the Honda CR-V and Mazda CX-5. On my way out, I asked about the ioniq and the salesman started to gush....I soon saw why. It had a smooth ride, a nice interior and exterior, and the mileage I was looking for. Also, it's not a common car on the roads (yet). I chose the select trim to get blind spot detection. I am happy with mileage (of course!) as well as the price and warranty. With all of the marketing and articles I've read, it's honestly hard to choose the car I need vs fulfilling a long list of wants. It's a great car for someone with a long commute, and the trunk is huge enough to handle occasional road trips. I also love that it has Android auto. I can update with performance once I have more experience, but I do understand the non-cvt transmission is a big deal. Finally, my insurance only went up a small amount, and I was able to secure 0% financing.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best hybrid available in 2017

John Calhoun, 09/09/2017
Limited 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
29 of 29 people found this review helpful

My other choice was a Prius. For the same basic set of features, the Ioniq has slightly better mileage, slightly lower price point, and better styling. Furthermore it seats 5 comfortably and has much better covered luggage capacity. It also provides AC/heat to the rear seats that is not available in a Prius. It also handles better than a Prius and is more fun to drive and I say this as someone who owned SAAB's for 30 years. I live in a hilly neighborhood where I do most of my driving so my overall mileage is slightly below 50. On longer, highway trips I get over 55. Of course this is affected by the seasons. It gets about 15% lower mileage in winter same as other cars.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Hyundai's Answert to the Prius has FINALLY Arrived

Randall Scott, 06/20/2017
Blue 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
50 of 52 people found this review helpful

BEFORE buying this car PLEASE drive a Prius! Then you'll have an accurate comparison, and you'll still buy the Ioniq! Something not included in "reviews" is the fact that Hyundai lays on a 10 year, 100K mile warranty, with a LIFETIME warranty on the hybrid battery...and, when you take your car to a Hyundai dealer for any kind of work (because you won't likely be getting warranty work done since they seldom have a problem), you'll be pleasantly greeted and treated like you matter. Hyundai is committed to delivering a warranty that clearly makes the likes of Toyota squirm and look away as they rely heavily on past reputation not supported by current manufacturing. Hey, if Toyota won't bump their puny 3/36 warranty to match Hyundai's 10/100, there MUST be a reason...and it's an obvious one! Beyond the warranty, Hyundai is building solid, reliable, well-performing cars for nearly unrealistic prices...or is is prices that make you question why Toyota and Honda can't seem to build a car with the same feature for similar pricing? I've owned nine Hyundais over the last 20 years and just one required warranty repair of the paddle shifter. Not ONE ever had a transmission problem, or electrical problem, or any other problem! The Ioniq I own is now headed for 3,000 mile of driving over less than two months of ownership. This means I've been driving this car nearly everyday, under a variety of conditions from early morning temperatures in the low 50's F. to mid-afternoon temperatures above 105 degrees F! The car works perfectly, and more, being a Hyundai hybrid, when sitting in traffic with the engine stopped, the air conditioning keeps working a full power thanks to the hybrid system! So not sweating in traffic while moving slow like one does when driving a car that runs the AC off the engine! Acceleration is what YOU decide for it to be...if you are trying to be "eco" then expect to accelerate more slowly while trying to use battery only. On the other hand, a quick flip into "Sport Mode" and the car has a different demeanor altogether...it takes off quickly and accelerates briskly up to 45-50 mph in city traffic! In normal drive mode, the car will normally operated in full EV mode up to 50 mph, and in fact, stoplight driving is where this car really shines! It can easily push mpg figures UP during city driving! Imagine sitting at a stoplight with the AC keeping you super-cooled, noting your "mpg" number is static because there is no gasoline being used! A quick acceleration to 45 mph, relax, and now the car is running purely on battery all the way to the next light! Let off and coast and the car goes into regeneration to recover energy that would otherwise have been lost. Also, the Internal combustion engine (ICE) uses the Atkinson cycle which makes it 40% thermally efficient - about 40% more efficient than a standard ICE that lacks a motor for down low torque assist. The Ioniq is a great looking, "small" car that is about twice as big on the inside as it looks. Even the "Blue" model is nicely equipped and once "the new wears off" the Blue is the model to own! Never mentioned in advertisements is that with Apple Car Play one no longer needs an expensive, static, on board navigation system, because upon connecting one's iPhone with a USB/charging cable, the maps function with full turn-by-turn voice navigation is right there! The car is large enough inside to allow a rather large driver, plus three people seated across the back. It has a nice, open, airy feel inside. I really like the hatchback feature because with the seats folded it can hold an amazing amount of stuff! Even seats up my wife was surprised at how many bags of groceries easily fit in the "trunk." Operationally speaking, you get in the car, push the start button and all you hears is a chime as the instrument lights come to life. Driving at speeds below 20 mph is almost always on motor alone unless it's a cold morning and the ICE is running to warm the battery pack. Speaking of battery packs, Hyundai realized that if one has a monster drive battery, why have a separate, super-heavy, totally inefficient 12V accessory battery? So they tossed out the lead-acid anchor and replaced it with a tiny 12V LiION accessory battery that can be "jumped" from the traction battery if it ever goes flat! WHAT? Exactly. Pretty smart people working over at Hyundai. Due to the dual clutch, 6 speed automatic transmission, the car feels just like any other car during normal driving. One thing a little different is that it doesn't downshift when adding throttle unless the cruise is engaged, or perhaps one is really pushing down on the pedal. The car so far has been averaging 55 mpg based on actual, calculated mpg at fill-up, but of course it will record "trip" mpg well into the 70-80 mpg range once running warm and properly driven. For the price/warranty/value...excellent buy!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

An Absolute Dream to Drive

Sarah D, 08/10/2017
Limited 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
34 of 35 people found this review helpful

I've been driving a used 2005 Honda CR-V for the past six years. When it finally crossed the 240,000 mile mark, I wanted to upgrade my car. I no longer needed a big car since I'm usually the only person in my car, but I wanted a car that has a hatchback since I frequently have a lot of gear in my car. I was also looking for a car that would get at least double the poor mileage I was getting in my CR-V. I considered a Prius but have always been super turned off by the interior. A friend of mine was gushing to me about his Hyundai Elantra, so I took a look to see if any of Hyundai's cars were offered as hybrids. That's how I discovered the Ioniq. I test drove it twice at two different dealerships, one test drive included highway driving and the other didn't. I had a good sense for how the Ioniq acted in mixed driving and I was in love. The acceleration was smooth and the ride quality was so much quieter than my CR-V. I was impressed at the fact that I could get up to 55 mpg in the limited trim, which was the trim I wanted since it had leather seats and a host of safety features. I was able to secure a great deal on the car with 0% financing for 5 years. I've had the car for almost a month now and since I drive a lot for work, I'm about to hit 1,000 miles. I've had absolutely no problems with the car so far. One thing I love is the fact that the AC can be on full blast when the gasoline engine is off - it's a dream when I'm sitting in traffic during a hot summer day knowing that I don't need to choose between sweating my a** off or getting good MPG. I can honestly say my driving has also gotten a lot better because I drive more economically to get the best fuel economy possible, so I feel more relaxed behind the wheel. I'm also thrilled with the safety features like blind spot monitoring and the rear view camera, to name a few. They've been a huge upgrade for me from a 2005 car. I also bought the ultimate package with the limited trim which includes smart cruise, HID headlights with light bending technology, automatic braking and a premium infinity stereo with clarifi technology (to restore sound quality on radio stations), among other things. The headlights are so useful at night and actually do bend with you when you're turning on a windy road - the visibility is fantastic. I'm also a huge audiophile and with a little tweak of the bass/treble settings on the stereo system, I'm very impressed with the sound quality of the Infinity Stereo system. It's much better than any stereo I've heard in any other sedan. I use Apple CarPlay on a daily basis as well which eliminates the need for me to be fumbling with my phone while I'm driving. No longer do I need to worry about texting and driving. With Apple CarPlay, you can text anyone with Siri and ask Siri to get you directions to anywhere using Apple Maps, another huge plus. Finally, I've been averaging around 52 MPG and am projected to go 600 miles on one tank of gas; coming from a Honda CR-V that barely made it to 230 MPG, this is a dream for me. Hyundai really did think of everything with this car and it's fun to drive. If you're in the market for a Hybrid and you're not a fan of the Prius, the Ioniq just might be the car for you.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Great Freshman Year Effort!

Craig Baumgartner, 01/21/2018
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
48 of 51 people found this review helpful

*** Updates at end of review *** I decided to wait until I had a good feel for the car before writing a review, so after three months and 9,000 miles, here is my take on the 2017 Hyundai Ioniq mid-level SEL… Pros – Much smoother ride compared to my Honda Civic, Ford Escape, Toyota Prius-C, and Chevy Silverado. Stellar gas mileage, but with caveats. Comfortable seats. Roomy interior. Very nice infotainment system. Generous cargo space behind passenger seats. Cons –Wanders all over the road when it’s windy. Engine takes a long time to warm up to provide heat. Speedo not accurate (+2 mph). The MPG - The car is rated at 55mpg combined city/highway MPG. My driving is about 75% highway and 25% city. I live in Northern Indiana, where the roads are relatively flat. In optimal driving conditions (70 degrees, no wind), I can achieve 65mpg without trying to. If I really try to hyper mile, I can approach 70mpg. Two factors seriously hinder gas mileage on the Ioniq: Wind and cold. Expect about a 10% drop when it’s windy (15+mph). We’ve had a cold winter here in Indiana, and I’ve obtained the much less MPG considering the following temperatures: When it’s below 20 degrees, I get 45mpg combined. When it’s between 30-55 degrees, I get 55mpg. Over 55 degrees is where I can get the best gas mileage. The lowest I’ve ever gotten was 43mpg where it was below zero and windy. I’m thinking that the cause of the lower mileage in the winter is because (1) different formulations in gasoline during the winter (2) denser air in the winter, harder to “plow” through (3) the Ioniq has to keep the engine running more often to provide heat for the cabin (4) Less battery performance in colder weather. The Acceleration – It’s a hybrid. Treat it as one and don’t expect it to be something it’s not. You have to give to get, and in this case, you give performance to get MPG. Normally those rules ring true with hybrids, but the Ioniq has a sneaky secret – “Sport” mode. Flip the gearshift to the left, and you enter the auto-manual Sport mode. Fun factor increases but MPG decreases. Again, give and take. Brakes – Some fine tuning may be in order for the Sophomore year of production. Thanks to deer that bolt out in front of me, I can assure you that panic stops are predicable. It’s the “in-between” braking (not hard, not soft) that can be distracting. It feels like the car needs to be tuned a little better to handle the trade-off between regenerative braking and normal braking. It can be harsh sometimes and the nose can dive when you don’t expect it to for the amount of pedal pressure you’re applying. Infotainment – Nice. I have both an iPhone and an Android phone, so I’ve been able to test both CarPlay and Android Auto and they both work great. Nobody has complained about holding a phone conversation with me using the hands-free mode. Drivetrain – Great first-year effort. I like the six-speed dual clutch transmission. It feels more communicative than a slushy CVT. When it is cold outside, you can feel the switch from EV/Engine mode more than what you do in warmer temperatures…just a little blip. Climate Control – Works as advertised. I like the way it automatically switches on the front windshield defroster when needed. Doo-dads – The rear-cross traffic alert combined with the rear-view camera is the best option-combo to me. The electronic dash is nice, but if the sun is directly behind me and shining on it, it can wash out. The lack of a rear-windshield wiper is a non-issue…I haven’t missed it yet. **** Update 08/2018 **** I now have 31,000 miles on it. During the summer, I'm getting 70+mpg on several fill-ups (and over 700 miles per tank) but I don't drive on the interstate. Driving the interstate gets me 55mpg in the summer, 45mpg or less in the winter. Still in love with this car and it's holding up well. **** Update 02/2020 **** I now have 80,000 miles on it. A few more observations - I don't like the headlights, hard to see at night. The stereo doesn't get loud enough to listen over the wind noise of an open window. Mileage has gone down, probably because this car is so pokey and I need to press the accelerator more. I still have original tires on. Car still looks brand new except for paint on the wheels is peeling off. Brakes are OK once you realize how they work. I would not recommend this car for interstate driving, only for 65mph and below roads because of the way it handles. **** Update 02/2021 **** I’ve got 106K miles now. My daily route has changed to where I now drive 25% interstate and the MPG is going down. During the cold of winter, I struggle to get 40MPG. The car is comfy, and I still like it. No problems with it and it feels like it will go 200K by doing prescribed maintenance. Outside of some paint flashing off the wheels due to a powerful carwash, the body has held up without any issues.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Car Ever- Getting 65- yes 65 MOG!!

MAG, 10/07/2017
SEL 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

This car is amazing! I just turned over my first 1500 miles. I'm getting 65MPG! It's beautiful, rides wonderful, nice instrumentation. Safety features are incredible. Love the smart cruise control! It seriously almost drives itself when in this mode. I set it to stay 3 car lengths behind a car and if the carg in front of me goes slower than what I set it for, it will automatically slow down, and speed up. No need to put on break and have to reset cruise! I love this car! My husband is amazed by it too. Always trying to drive it!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

95mpg

Mark, 08/16/2017
Blue 4dr Hatchback (1.6L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6AM)
24 of 25 people found this review helpful

So far in rush hour traffic the base model has achieved 95mpg+ TWICE and the current average is 70mpg. LOVE THIS CAR!!! Ok, seeing how other reviews are more detailed maybe I should do the same. I had test driven a prius a few years back. I'm over 6 feet and I had room enough in the car but the front hood was so short I felt like I was in a SmartCar not feeling so smart. When I read about the Ioniq earlier in the year, I was impressed because it just a little shorter than the Elantra. The only problem I had with the car was FINDING one. There were maybe 6 within 30 miles but most of them were the SEL or EV. I found one base and bought it within a few weeks. The front was roomy with quite a few storage options. The display was similar to the Sonata and in a few cases better (AndroidAuto). Of course we had the customary 3 months of XM radio. There was no spare which I understand but the dealer offered a tire replacement service for a few bucks/month. This is my first hybrid and they're a great balance between performance and economy. I put the car in sport mode a few times and it just FLIES. Hyundai employee pricing promotion saved me about $5,000 PRO: Lifetime warranty on battery. That will probably save me a few thousand, AutoAndroid, button locks on doors on driver and passenger side (requires key) CON: No spare, no digital fuel guage, center display could be an inch closer (34 inch arms and I still have to reach)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050