Used 2001 Hyundai Accent Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$914 - $2,119

Used Accent for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

utilitarian with character

ben223, 06/29/2012
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

This is the second car I've owned and the first I've come to love. Bought it with 135,000 miles and still starts and runs great at 147,000 miles. Have only had to replace manual window regulator, and do routine maintenance. I love to drive this car! It gets great gas mileage, is very reliable, and with rear seats folded is capable of holding LOTS of stuff. I frequently go on camping and road trips and i'm easily able to fit all my gear in the back hatch (and often times a canoe on top too). I am 6'6" tall and 275lbs and I easily fit in the interior, and am also able to climb in and out of the rear seat when front is folded, a difficult task in my other friends coupes.

Report Abuse

Fun small car, but loud!

reddotblackdot, 05/15/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car used in 2005, and therefore all the 'warranties' on it were void. it had 30,000 miles. It now has 92,000 and the transmission blew out. It is a $2,000 repair as the whole transmission needs to be replaced. That is almost the worth of the whole car so I am just going to buy another car. It is not a bad car, it is small and that is what i like. It is also quite zippy, i think, however it costs me $22 to fill up and i have to fill it up about every week and a half. I have a 20 min. ride to work from where i live. So you do the math. It is a good used car but i wouldn't pay too much for it.

Report Abuse

Tiny and Perfect

Tiana, 03/09/2006
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I got this car in Feb. when if first started to snow. It really was easy to drive in all types of weather. This is a great first car. And for all shorter people (like myself) its easier to see then some other bucket seat cars! I love this car!

Report Abuse

Catalytic Converter - Horrible

Tony Burns, 03/17/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Overall my car was a fun and reliable car with very few issues. Last year I could not pass the emission test and the problems began. The check engine light would not go off and the codes said that the engine was under load even in low idle. The there was also a code for a new converter. On most vehicles the converter is under the car and may cost a couple hundred dollars. The converter on this vehicle is attached to the exhaust manifold and cost over a thousand dollars. I would have loved to keep the car but I was so upset with the outrageous price and location of the converter that I had to let it go. Good car, bad converter location!

Report Abuse

not to bad

tom434, 04/05/2002
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

great gas milage the rides not bad for a small car and the price was great considering toyota,honda and such wanted much more for basically the same thing.The engine performs well it has alot of zip manuvers well doesnt strain a bit even in the mountains.

Report Abuse

Ol' reliable

florencejeanne, 08/14/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This has been a generally great little car. It is not very peppy when you first take off, but it is great once it gets going. I get 33mpg in town and 36 mpg on the highway. Mileage with ethanol is lower. It is unbelievable how much this can carry with the rear seat folded down. This car was in an accident about 5 years ago. I t-boned a Ford LTD that ran the light. I hit their center support column and their car was a loss, not mine. The crumple zone did its job and nothing farther back than the battery was touched. I had no major injuries. The car went for years with only oil changes. In ten years, besides belts and hoses, I have only replaced the computer and the water pump.

Report Abuse

awesome car!! I love it!!!

Synka, 10/07/2005
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have never had a problem with my Accent. I commute back and forth to school, and this car does the trick. I have left it stock, except for some changes to the interior. This car is also used for drag racing, in which it does pretty well. It is consistent, as well as responsive. Like I said, this a great car, for a great price. And that's not even mentioning the fuel economy!

Report Abuse

Great cheap car

beman, 04/15/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have now driven this car more than 35,000 miles and nothing has required a trip to the shop. My Neon had been in the shop 5 times by then. I bought this car for the warranty and have never regretted my decision. It has performed so flawlessly that I think my next trip to Hyundai will be to purchase my next Accent when this one uses up the warranty.

Report Abuse

cute & fun

liss, 04/30/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I got a manual & have soo much fun driving it. I get good pick-up cause its a light car & passing is easy. Mine has a spoiler which makes it unique & stylish.

Report Abuse

Energizer Bunny

parmelade, 07/21/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

...keeps going and going.... I love my little Hyundai, bought it new in 2001. It has saved me tons in gas over the years and has never once broken down. At 135,000 miles and 8 years old, I am now reluctantly selling it to my son. I will miss its peppy style and easy parking. The fold-down hatchback trunk holds so much, I will have to borrow it from my son the next time I rent 2 banquet tables and 12 chairs, which fit in it just fine. I am glad my Hyundai is staying in the family.

Report Abuse

Proud Hyundai owner

erikgonzalez90, 12/19/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I owned a few older Hyundai's and they were crap before 99' I got my 01 accent and I love it, I get my usual oil change I had bought it from the original owner at 96,000 I have put 10,000 miles since aug of 09 it has good power with the a/c off, fuel up with less than 25, it takes the abuse I throw at it, recommend Hyundai for life, at 107,000 the serpentine belt squeaks

Report Abuse

college car

joec, 08/08/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car as a college car for the economy, and it has yet to stop impressing me.

Report Abuse

great car at great price

ozhan akman, 09/18/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The car is excellent. Affordable, reliable and a great warranty.

Report Abuse

Go with Hyundai for your first car!!!

tyler, 10/21/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My little Hyundai Accent is awesome! It is so fun to drive, It handles very well, And it has great power for such a small engine! I have no problem merging into traffic, the catch is you must be in the right gear at the right time. The interior is cheap, but hey, what do you expect for $9,500 bucks. Their isn't too much you can complain about on a car that cost's ten grand! Not a bad car at all, I will definitely buy a Hyundai again! I highly reccomend one.

Report Abuse

impressed

venus, 11/28/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car as a gift for mom, from a dealer in New Jersey. Car had 11,000 miles and is in excellent condition. This is where the depreciated value is a good thing. I walked away for $5,000 cash, and the warranty. wow! This little car is excellent on turns and is very responsive to the road at all speeds. The stick shift was a breeze to drive. Gas milage is excellent as long as you stay around 55-60. Above that you are really using it up. All in all I highly recommend this car.

Report Abuse

Hyundai Accent: A Quality Vehicle

Rich Landau, 07/14/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

When in the winter of 2000 my 1989 Honda Civic clamored for yet another exhaust system repair (can you say "poor design"?), I'd had enough! My only knowledge of Hyundai was of the Excel back in the 1980's. A real POS! Recent commentary on the brand revealed that times had changed; that Hyundai was now manufacturing quality vehicles at VERY affordable prices, backed by the industry's best warranty. A few months worth of research (Honda, Toyota, Nissan, Mazda, et al) and several test drives led me to buy a 2001 Hyundai Accent GS (hatchback) at a bargain price. $4,000-$6,000 less expensive than any comparable car in its class.

Report Abuse

Couldn't Get Better Than This!

Beth, 06/29/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car with the intention of only having it for a few years, until I could afford something better. Well, five years later, this car has only had one minor problem: the recirculation/fresh air knob popped off. THAT'S IT! Of course, I take care of it... get regular oil changes, get tune-ups, etc. Overall, I am VERY satisfied with my purchase. Especially since I only paid $8,000 for it brand new. Perfect car for young people who cannot afford much, but want a reliable car.

Report Abuse

Suprised!

MRC, 03/12/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car almost 5 years ago. I don't really have any major complaints about the car. I have been very surprised & impressed with the performance. It's quite peppy when needed. The gas mileage is fabulous, I drive 50 miles a day to and from work in rush hour traffic and still average 32-35mpg. I recently had a kid so it is way too small for me now. And it deppreciates so much, I've been upside- down since the get-go.But if you're looking for a small commuter car that you are going to keep for a long time this is the way to go. I've never had any mechanical problems.I wouldn't recommend it if you are a larger person (I'm 5'2 and my husband is 6'1 and we constantly bump each other.

Report Abuse

Reliable, safe

Survivor, 01/26/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought the car new and kept up with maintenance religiously. The car has never not started and I live in a place where it gets REALLLLY COLD! Gas mileage is good, ranging from 30-36 depending upon the brand of gas. The body dents easily and the interior is ugly. Enough room for things like cups, napkins, etc, but no room for cell phone on dash/console. Car handles well in the snow with four studded snow tires. With the all-season tires, it slides easily. I was involved in a roll over accident in this car and walked away with only a small scratch. The windshield was all shattered, but didn't cave in at all. The accident was not due to the car, it had to do with the weather.

Report Abuse

Junk

Laura, 10/10/2005
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car is junk. If you want a car that crumbles like a ball in a minor collision from a company that does not back they warrenty (especially on paint) than this is the car for you. If you would like something that will hold up in accidents from a company that backs their merchandise, I suggest you RUN far, FAR away from this companys and any of their cars. If you do chose this car, good luck to you, I suggest you invest a helmet and a great insurance company.

Report Abuse

Great Car till 84,000 Mile Mark!!!!

xphyscokittenx, 07/21/2009
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car gave me little problems at first bought it at 30,000 miles then at 80,000 the speed sensor went and then at 84,000 the whole transmission went could not reverse only go forward cost me 23000 to fix !! Cars should not die this early and in addition the body of the car is so weak that the littlest bump will destroy the body of your car, not safe in more serious accidents im sure.. things begin to fall apart quickly on this little car .. great new .. not great used. Plus Hyundai service department was rude and offered no sympathy that my car died so early even though they promise it will last till 140,000

Report Abuse

Only had to change oil every 3,000 miles

ecd, 11/09/2010
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Only had to change oil every 3,000 miles and just changed plugs water pump and all belts at 108,000 miles, the most reliable car I have had

Report Abuse

Lemon

HyundaiLemon, 07/26/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had this car into the dealer 30 times and 50 some days for 5 problems. The Service stinks.

Report Abuse

Horrible Car for Kids

Hopkins, 02/20/2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This was my first Korean car as well as my last. Although on highway speeds, steering is not so good. One bad thing with this car is that the shifting in automatic is horrible. I got stuck in the middle of an intersection many times because the shift gets stuck in between gears, leaving you helpless until it shifts in. Other than that it is a fun car to drive- until you have a accident. This car was hit offset and it looked just fine. However even with not that high of a speed the car was totaled- the whole frame bent and it became almost impossible repair to repair. Do not buy this car if you are worried about your life or you have a brain.

Report Abuse

hyundai is korean for

Jason7562004, 03/20/2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Two days after purchasing, the brakes started making a high-pitched squeeling sound. One week later, the clutch makes a grinding sound. A month later, the driver-side windshield wiper stopped moving. Fortunately for Hyundai, their 10 year, 100,000mi warranty only applies to the drive-train. Nothing else is covered, as the dealer politely pointed out after charging me $110 to tell me there wasn't a problem. If I bought the car from some guy selling snake oil at a freeway off-ramp, I wouldn't be surprised, but I had it inspected before buying, I did a carfax check, it only had 27,000 miles, and it's only a few years old.

Report Abuse

Hyundai Review

T.J. Kahler, 12/07/2004
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

It has no power. It has like 105 horses and you also can find hardly any racing parts for it if you go to a part store.

Report Abuse

Poor quality, poor service

Erik, 11/14/2005
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've owned this vehicle for two years. I've needed to replace two head gaskets, two oxygen sensors and the exhaust pipe. The engine burns oil, but the dealer says this is normal for a Hyundai, even with less than 40K. The brakes grind and squeal and the clutch is going, but the dealer says that there is no problem. They have also hung up on me when I complained and refused to pay for costs supposedly covered under their warranty.

Report Abuse

Piece of junk

jeremy, 01/06/2007
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had this car for a year and a half and have at best put 5000 miles on it. I have had to replace 02, mass-air intake, and tps sensors, a lifter, and now the timing belt went out with possible valve damage or some bent rods (still yet to be determined). Iv'e decided to just get rid of this car and not bother fixing it anymore. It seems that the check engine light was always on. Stay away from this car, it gave me nothing but problems.

Report Abuse

great car for the money

dashingwave, 07/29/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for almost 7 years and its been very reliable. The only repairs : the power steering pump had to be replaced and the exhaust pipe was replaced. I think the power steering pump went because I turned the wheel a lot after the car was turned off ( turned to put the crook lock on ) . Other then these repairs and normal maintenance, I've had no trouble with this car. Starts up everyday and runs great. And its still under warranty 7 years after I bought the car in 2001 . You can't beat Hyundai's warranty ! If you buy an old car , check to make sure the timing belt is good. If the timing belt breaks it'll ruin your engine and cost you at least $1500 to repair.

Report Abuse

Not bad

KoryuKitsune, 10/07/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's not really that bad of a car. It ran great until the Transmission blew (THat or the head gasket we're not sure what on yet). Only got in one wreck in it and that person's license plate numbers are indented in the car and that's it. Its a Sturdy car. I really wanna fix it up.

Report Abuse

The Best Car Ever

Valerie, 12/02/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I came from a Mercedes to a Hyundai. My car had 6 miles when I purchased it. It now has 228,000+ and I have EVERY original engine part. Only changed the timing belt and brakes and did my oil change every 3000 miles. My car has NEVER broken down on me or ran out of gas. She has been 100% reliable to me! My tranny just went and YES....I am putting a new one in. I know the car and trust it. It's worth it to me. So if anyone is thinking about getting one....just make sure you change your oil ON time EVERY time its suppose to get changed. I love my Hyundai Accent and when I decide to get another it will be the Hyundai Azera.

Report Abuse

It's a great little car. :)

Halle, 04/29/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've only been driving the car myself for two years, but it's been our daily driver [and through hell and back it's been] for 8 years as of this september. The only major thing we've ever had to replace is the transmission which went one day in the winter a couple years back. Other than that, the car has had such minimal maintenance done to it since we're unable to afford to pay a mechanic when we should be buying food. Times are tough but we're still only paying about 11-13$ to fill it up from being 3/4ths empty. I have a lot of dream-cars, but I wouldn't trade this one for any of them. Not only do I really like it enough not to give it up easily, I always beat my friend's V6 up big hills.

Report Abuse

Hatchback Heaven

maddelin711, 06/04/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought the car with 54,000 miles and had no problems with it until it hit about 82,000 miles and the reverse drum went out causing the transmission to need replacing. I figured it was worth it for $1300 because I really had no other problems with the car and thought a new tran would last. Now that I've had the new tran it's driving great. I love the car it handles well and as long as you keep up with oil changes it will do fine. It does have a very slow acceleration off the line, but what do you expect right? it handles well and I'm very surprised that it still performs in the winter. I have heard from passengers that sitting in the passenger seat the car seems to be flying, but it's not!

Report Abuse

NOT BAD HYUNDAI, NOT BAD AT ALL!!!

TYLER, 10/11/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I LOVE MY LITTLE HYUNDAI ACCENT!IT IS FUN TO DRIVE,ESPECIALLY ON THE BACK ROADS. THE ENGINE POWER IS MORE THAN ENOUGH TO SCOOT AROUND THE LOW 2,280 POUNDS OF A CAR.I BOUGHT THE CAR USED FROM MY UNCLES DEALERSHIP IN MARYLAND,AND EVERY THING SO FAR HAS BEEN GREAT! FIRST GEAR IS DESIGNED PERFECTLY TO PULL YOU INTO TRAFFIC QUICKLY, BUT NOT EXACTLY EASILY.IT TOOK SOME GETTIN' USED TO BUT I'VE GOT IT DOWN.IT REALLY SUPRISED ME THAT A 105 HP ENGINE DID SO WELL.IT IS VERY FUN TO DRIVE,AND I WOULD HIGHLY RECCOMEND ONE!!!

Report Abuse

Accent GS: Perfect Town Car

cathipb, 09/30/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Our 2 year old Accent had only one mfg defect which was promptly fixed by the dealership. It handles well, gets great mileage, easy to park, a perfect town car.

Report Abuse

Good for the money

KJW, 12/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Solid car for the money. I drove the new corolla and civic, this car feels just as tight. One minor problem with a shift linkage that was fixed with no problems at the dealership. Couldn't pass up the good price, great mileage.

Report Abuse

Delivers much more than it costs

TimAv, 10/14/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have run my fully loaded GS for over two years as a spare car and it is worth every penny. That is all you spend on this car is penny's. Even with the bigger engine the oil capacity is just 3.5 qts. Oil changes are cheap! It is actually fun to drive and decently engineered. I'm 6'2" and it fits me ok. The body rolls a little more than I like but the ride is good for a small car and you can hustle it around and it responds. A really good value.

Report Abuse

A whole lot of ok

Dan, 02/28/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Accent is a tough little car; it handles me, which is a feat. You get little by way of comfort but if you want a cheap car that'll get you there, then it's hard to beat. I've used the warranty already. Twice for wheel bearings that became loud, an exhaust leak, and a leaky valve cover. With all that in mind, it kept running and never gave me that "it's gonna die" feeling. I wouldn't buy this car new, I would find one as cheap as possible and go with it. Be careful of the dealer, they are very good at slipping in costs that you might not be aware of, slick little suckers they are. I'm off moving from 0-60 in 15.2 seconds.

Report Abuse

What a Great Little Car!!

Okie, 03/27/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've put over 110,000 miles on this Accent and it has been the best car I've ever owned. Would like to have about 10hp more, but for $9500, it's really been fantastic. Gets 40mpg on the highway. Reliability is great; had a lifter making a little noise at 98,000 miles and Hyundai honored their warranty with no problem.

Report Abuse

little money and a good reliable car

Zach, 05/29/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This hyundai accent i got for $5400 cash with 30k miles. My dad got this for me as a gift, so I can get to and from northern illinois to indianapolis. 4 hour trips, the trip alone there and back is 550 miles. I can do the trip for just 40 bucks. (50 if you include chicagos ridiculous toll rates) great car, just dont hit the gas at 60 otherwise you will hear and feel the transmission.(not suggested. Keep the plugs and wires fresh, oil changes, and get fresh tires every 25k and the car rides smooothly. I've kept up with high speed traffic on I-65 going just over 100mph. I am 5'9 200 lbs and the car is fairly comfortable with the armrest. Get a 25 dollar cd player for your tape deck. KEEPER!!!

Report Abuse

2001 Accent GL Hatchback

Mike, 08/25/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this car used for a song. On the interstate coming home, it got 42.5 miles to the gallon. Around town with the AC on, it averages about 33-34. The original tires were replaced due to one developing a bulge. Overall, very efficient, and cheap if you buy them used. I would recommend it to someone on a budget that needs good gas mileage. Lacks some power with the AC on, but is peppy enough with it off. The original sound system could use some improvement, but at this price, I'm satisfied.

Report Abuse

Dan B.'s Gray Accent

Lou Garou, 02/22/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This Accent has given almost 39 MPG on an extended trip of over 250 miles. It handles great and it has enough power to get me on to the Capital Beltway. Its air conditioner and heater work great!

Report Abuse

The little car that could

Okie PhD, 06/29/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in '02 from original owner at 25k miles, now has 70k miles. I have only done regular maintenance, no problems. Gets around 35mpg, good drive to work car. Everything is manual, but that is why it is so inexpensive. Very dependable so far. I bought the car to help out a friend and to replace my 125k fix/repair daily '89 Honda Civic (!) now I will seriously consider Hyundai with other dependable cars on my next purchase.

Report Abuse

Cute, but Costly

Josie, 08/08/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I really liked this car, but ever since i got it i had to do repairs! first things that was replaces was the trans! after 104000 the trans went. then now the converter is falling off. which sounds like somethings draggin if i go over 20 mph. i like this car cuz its cute and easy to drive but wayyyyy to costly

Report Abuse

Much more than you'd expect for the $

mcmfb, 07/11/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car has been great. The only headache I've had with it was caused by a service tech error. I got 90m on it now. It had a small oil leak about 10m ago but it was covered under the warranty. Suggestion to future Hyundai buyers. Dont get the EXTENDED bumper to bumper warranty. Use that $ instead to do the scheduled maintenance.

Report Abuse

Very impressed

n8d1, 03/13/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Well I bought this car used for a comuter car, with only 12,500 miles on it for only $6900. It has been very good on gas mileage (about 30/gal) and get about 250 mi/tank (only 8+ gal). Very peppy with the 5-speed and has lots of features I didn't expect from one of the least expensive cars on the market...even the stripped down model I bought. I am very pleased with it and will most likely keep it untill it dies, which will be 10yrs/100,000 mi. or more...

Report Abuse

a decent size car that's decent on gas

drew, 06/04/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the first Hyundai I've owned and I can say I may very well own another in the future. This S.Korean company has made many improvements since the infamous Excel, but this little coupe has good pickup and good handling in the rain. (unlike a Mustang) Turns are a different story, esp. at a roundabout but it is very good on gas and when pushed the right way has good acceleration on the highways. The 4 cyl engine lacks some horsepower but it is a small car so don't expect the performance of a Miata.

Report Abuse

I love my Hyundai

kaybeggz, 11/29/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has taken me on many a cross- country road trip and has never steered me wrong. I have had only minor repairs in the four years of ownership. It is the first car I have ever owned, and the car that I learned how to drive on. I love the way it drives, it is the perfect size to drive. It fits into almost any parking space. All of my friends love it. It's really the perfect car, I couldn't ask for anything more.

Report Abuse

accent

kim, 07/30/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Good handling, not alot of road noise like in alot of small 4 cylinders. Drove by 6foot 250lb husband for 4 years in confort. Passed to son in 2005. Very few repairs only regular maint. Safety, safety, safety. Was back into by a cement truck once with very little damage. Also, total when my 18 year old son T-boned a ford explorer driven by a 15yr old who ran a stop sign. There were 3 people in the accent, all with only minor scrathes or bumps. My son had back injuries, but nothing the accent could have prevented. The car with stood the impact unbelievablily. The dash, stirring column, glove box, nothing came in on them. This was a 45 mph impact and the car proved capible to with stand.

Report Abuse

Good little car

Phil, 09/16/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got my Accent in May 2006 as a replacement car after I wrecked my cheap (price-wise) Aveo and got about $4,000 insurance from it. I did not expect the interior quality and engine reliability to be so good for a cheap, 5 year old car with 85,000 miles on it. With the 5-speed manual, it is a fun, peppy little car to drive and it delivers exceptional gas mileage. I average from 34-38 mpg combined city and highway driving. I never have any problems with the car. The only thing I notice is the brakes are kind of lou and I've even had them looked at, but it doesn't really bother me that much because they still stop the car well. I would recommend it over any 2001 Cavalier or the equivalent

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050