Used 2003 Honda Civic Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$873 - $1,952

Used Civic for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...13

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best Car I've Ever Owned!

energist, 07/08/2012
49 of 49 people found this review helpful

I bought the car new in 2003 and it's been great. I see many complaints about gas mileage, but mine averages 49 MPG with snow tires on. This has been the most trouble free and economical car I've ever owned, and it's fun to drive.

Report Abuse

Status Report- 2003 Honda Civic Hybrid After 200K

auburngbb, 05/19/2011
32 of 33 people found this review helpful

Total 2003 HCH Cost- HW Items purchased from 79k to 200k miles as follows: 2 sets of tires 1 speed sensor (drove thru deep puddle) 1 set of spark plugs 1 set of ft brake pads 1 fuel filter Fluid change maintenance from 79K to 200k miles as follows: * Several 0-20W/0-30W oil/filter changes (8k mile intervals) * Two CVT fluid changes noting I assumed to change oil every 100K miles until I noticed the transmission was slipping and read my OEM operators manual stating to change trans. oil every 30K. After changing the oil the first time THE TRANSMISSION QUIT SLIPPING and I make sure to change this fluid at recommended intervals. * One Antifreeze change Car runs good(mildly abused)

Report Abuse

2.5 years of love for my ep3

kingchristo, 10/11/2014
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

My Civic Si looked new when I bought it 2.5 years ago with 55K (totally stock). It's now at 90K, and it's been really great. The handling is a dream, it's comfortable as can be up front, and I get 30MPG+ even while having some fun on the mountain roads I drive daily. Its quick enough to be fun, though there are *now* a lot of faster cars for everyday use. I had to replace an O2 sensor and a door lock actuator (both of which are relatively easy to do yourself, luckily, and thus done for < $300 total). The backseat is a bit tight, but much better than what many similar cars have. The biggest shortcoming of this car is the lack of a 6th gear. 5th at 75mph=3700rpm.

Report Abuse

Decent but not great

McSteve, 05/09/2010
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

This vehicle has been a pretty good day to day driver but the attention to detail is been lacking. Fuel economy is great and 7 years later feels tight and drives like new - but it is not without its issues. After two weeks of ownership, the interior fabric fell off the doors and need to be reglued. Stabilizer links failed at 80,000 km. Air conditioner failed at 90,000 km (55,000 miles). Exhaust manifold was cracked at 100,000 km (63,000 miles).

Report Abuse

Buy one for reliability

carterpuma, 06/19/2013
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

I struggled with constant repairs on domestic cars for years before purchasing this car. WHAT A DIFFERENCE. Bought at 47K miles in 2007 and now have 120K. In that time only ONE thing has ever gone wrong and that was a sensor that only cost $150. It just blows my mind how reliable this thing is. This car is such a smart choice and can be found for under $5K atm. Will be one of the best vehicle investments you ever make.

Report Abuse

Not worth the premium

kamikiaze, 06/02/2011
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2003 Honda Hybrid new. All told I think it was $35k. Paying a premium on the car because it was a hybrid, the tax deduction and the gas savings would make up for the extra cost; right? Well, for the past year it has been sitting in our driveway with a busted transmission. $4500 to replace it. This is the latest in a long string of recalls/replacements on this car. Luckily, our other fixes have been covered by Honda; but this fix is not. We look at the blue book value of this car, and seriously question if it is worth fixing especially when we read other reviews of cars that have gone through multiple transmissions and other fixes. For the price, I expected better.

Report Abuse

Beware: Battery goes right after warranty

formerhondafan, 02/07/2011
18 of 20 people found this review helpful

Just a warning to those looking at this car. I bought in 2002 (2003 model) and have been the only owner for just over 8 years. Five months past the warranty, the battery failed and now I have to pay $3000 to have it replaced. The car has less that 80,000 miles, but because I've owned it over eight years, the warranty has expired. This is simply too much of an expense to be reasonable or fair. It certainly doesn't justify the gas savings. I am very disappointed in Honda and will not buy another one, because of this experience.

Report Abuse

The battery is a disaster!

loring, 08/24/2013
38 of 44 people found this review helpful

The IMA Battery on the 2003 Civic Hybrid is/was a flawed product. My first battery failed at 42,000 miles ( at 7 years) and was replaced under warranty. The second battery has failed with less than 27,000 miles ( at 11 years) and the dealer says it will cost me $3,684 to replace it with a rebuilt battery with a 3 year, 36K warranty. So far, Honda and I have spent more on batteries than I have on fuel for this car. With a 3 year warranty on a $3,684 battery, I'm planning on $1,000 per year battery cost going forward.

Report Abuse

Honda reliability is just a catch phrase

stingrey13, 12/06/2016
EX 4dr Sedan (1.7L 4cyl 4A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Unfortunately, this car's motor went out despite my meticulous maintenance of the car. Also, it burned a significant amount of oil. It might have been lack of care from the previous owner. The car was great while it ran. This was my 4th Civic (2 of which including this one had motor issues), all of my Civic's owned burned oil. I thought it was normal for older cars to burn oil but my 2005 Ford Focus and 1999 Ford Escorts do not burn oil at all. Plus they run great aside from electrical issues in the Ford Focus. Despite all it's praise and glory, I don't think I'll ever own a Honda again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Still running with new parts

Bigtaka1, 05/17/2010
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought my civic used in 2005 with 37K miles and now have 158K. I have been a stickler with scheduled maintenance and have averaged between 33 and 38 mpg. I go on long drives once a month and it does well, but the seats are uncomfortable and you feel every pebble and crack and on the road. I replaced the ignition coils at 120K, the clutch at 153K and the head gasket replaced at 155K, which was hard to diagnose as the symptoms lead you to think the issue is elsewhere (overheating and heater malfunctioning), and the dealership was clueless. Otherwise it has been good to me. I would recommend buying this car, but if the miles are high look for one with new head gasket!

Report Abuse

Love it still

civic man, 08/10/2010
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I got my 03 civic in may of 03. My car now has 145,000 miles on it and the only thing I have done is change the tires, brakes, and batt. The power lock does not lock my driver door anymore but not to worried about that. I still get about 32 mpg in town and 40 on the road. I could not ask for a better first car, after 7 years I would not even think of trading it. Amazing car!

Report Abuse

Good car

manfrombklyn23, 08/10/2010
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Great car! After 7 years of owning this car, I have only replaced the struts, mirrors, gas cap lid cable, change draw spring and replaced washers underneath driver seat to stop it from rocking back and forth. Besides that I have done 1 tune up, change tires twice and the obvious oil changes. I figure thats all pretty normal stuff considering I am at 93,000 miles. This car has never stalled out, overheated or not started up. I would def purchase a Honda again.

Report Abuse

A Convert

Lockemup, 10/27/2010
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I recently purchased a 2003 Honda Civic Hybrid, though I had to get rid of my ever so fun to drive G35 the car is remarkable with respect to fuel efficiency. The layout of the car is simple, just like all Hondas. The power is on the low side, but lets face, we buy these cars for one reason and that's fuel economy. I wouldn't care if I had to get out and push the car up a hill (which it almost seems like I have to do living in Upstate NY), as long as I'm getting my 50 MPG let every other car pass me on the road. I'm purchasing a new set of Cooper GFE (LRR) tires and I'm hoping to eek out a few more MPG.

Report Abuse

Great car for the money

mattshu, 07/17/2011
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I've owned my 2003 Civic Hybrid for 2 years now and so far its been a great car with only a few minor problems. The Good: Handles great Luxurious interior (compared to other non-luxury cars) Extremely quiet 45mpg The bad: Transmission fluid needs changing every 2 years IMA battery will start to degrade after 7 years Seats are very stiff, its like sitting on a bench Overall the car performs well as a daily driver, and if you aren't looking to set Nurburgring lap records you'll be satisfied with its performance. Even though it is less reliable than a standard civic the blue book value is lower, making it a better value when you factor in the better gas mileage.

Report Abuse

Best Reliable car I've had!

Chris, 09/09/2016
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (1.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

Battery sucks...had battery issues before I reached 100K miles and Check engine light went on because of it. However, I wasn't going to pay 3K for replacment batteries and just ran the car without the extra HP the batteries would have given me. I still get 50 mph, and 200K miles later its still going strong. I have 310k miles on it now and runs great! Haven't really replaced anything on it except tires, oil, and struts. Everything on it is pretty much original!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Canadian SE Special Edition model

duke_wa, 05/03/2013
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Just bought this Civic 5-speed manual transmission SE model. It seems very practical and comfortable. Everything works and the car is 10 years old. Seating is comfortable, driving view is excellent, power is adequate with the manual transmission. This one was in excellent condition and I hope to keep it for the next 5 years. I really like the biege and brown interior. The dash is a nice quality, it doesn't look cheap. Also easy to park and the rear seats fold flat. The clutch is very intuitive as well.

Report Abuse

Adequate Car for the initial cost

hardfire454, 03/31/2011
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

I have never been one to be impressed by Hondas, but this hybrid was in my price range so I bought it. Overall, it was cheap in every way, you get what you pay for. This car on various occasions wouldn't start, so I'd wait a half hour, and it would start. This is by far the most uncomfortable car that I have ever owned, the battery was just replaced for free by the dealer. The car's transmissin also has needed expensive repairs many times. If you need good mileage, and don't have any money, this is the car for you.

Report Abuse

It has survived me so far with 200k+

C Read, 03/11/2010
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I've enjoyed driving the car, mileage is great, especially since I drive a lot of miles, but I have had my problems with the car: alternator went at 90k, the trans had a bearing go at 135k (replacement required), paint started peeling at year 4, ECCM (computer) went at 197k, the fabric on the doors started coming off (glue degraded). The engine is still. Though this car hasn't been as worry free as hoped, but with the high mileage accumulated as quick as it was, I would say it has handled as well could be expected with any car, I'll compare my next car when I get one, until then.

Report Abuse

Love my EP3

tomjaaahallo, 01/02/2013
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my Si in may 2012 with 140k and now it has 154k. This was the first car I've bought with my own money, and I am extremely satisfied. The 2.0L 4 has just enough hp to have fun but still is capable over over 30 mpg highway. The shifter is very easy to use and the handling is very responsive. Most of all, this car is extremely reliable. I have only needed brakes put on the car after purchasing, other than that no problems have surfaced. The best way to sum up this car is deceptively quick, deceptively room y (especially the rear seat), and deceptively reliable. I will definitely look at another Si when the time to get a new car comes, but for now I am extremely happy with my '03!

Report Abuse

2003 Civic Hybrid

Mark C., 04/28/2002
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The Hybrid is here to stay! After waiting about two weeks to get the color I wanted, I finally brought home my new Honda Civic Hybrid.I have only driven it for a few days, but every time I drive it, I love it more and more.It is everything that I expected.This makes Honda #5 for me and it is the only brand vehicle that I will ever own. Thanks Honda!

Report Abuse

More car than I expected

adscurry, 06/03/2002
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This car is not what I expected. It is more powerful than I expected and far more fun to drive. Even with 3 adults and the air on I have more than enough power for highway driving. Dash blue lights, with some digital read outs, are beautiful and climate control works great. I am 6' 2" but find it has plently of head and leg room. I enjoy the driving experience and how slowly the gas gauge drops. I have never owned a small car but after adjusting to sitting low to the ground, I am completely confortable. Lots of safety features, a smooth ride, and loaded with options without adding any to the sticker.

Report Abuse

Mixed review

mixed review, 07/09/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought new in 9/03. Front passenger strut failed at approx 4k. Clutch started making squeaking noise at 25k. At 60k had clutched inspected, not an issue that has to be fixed but would cost $600 to eliminate the squeak. Driver door lock worn out at around 60k making it embarrassing when trying to get in the car if I actually locked the door. Cheap paint chips and scratches easy. Dents really easy. Not having ABS is a little dangerous, and the car for being so lite weight lacks breaking power.

Report Abuse

CVT transmission - Good luck

Unhappy customer, 07/27/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Transmission died on a busy highway at 34K almost killed myself trying to get off the road. Honda had it for 12 days saying it needed a new trans and then gave it back saying nothing was wrong. Had it in again at 36K 50K 61K 81K and finally at 110k brought it in for a oil change and they finally checked my mileage saw I was over 100k and admitted something was wrong with the slipping transmission. Honda Care could care less and the case manager told me they weren't willing to pay a dime for the $4600 trans the dealership said they would take 10% off for my trouble. This car should have been recalled day one. Please don't buy this car. It is a danger to drive. I have some advice sell it quickly.

Report Abuse

Great, Reliable Hybrid

Radar, 08/06/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my Civic Hybrid new, and after six years have put in almost 89,000 miles. The mileage is great: I average 42-44 mpg with a mix of city and highway driving, and on long freeway trips I often get my mileage up to 51 mpg or better. I have only had two issues with the car so far: 1. The chrome covering on the door handles started peeling off and have cut my fingers on it a couple times. 2. In the last 6 months the car has started shuddering when I take off from a stop- -a common problem in Honda sedans from this year I hear? Still, the mileage is great and it has been otherwise very reliable. I'm keeping this for one more year, and seriously considering a new one to replace it again.

Report Abuse

93,000 miles and counting

UncleTurbo, 03/15/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought my Civic new with the intention of keeping it until either it goes or I go whichever comes first. I was just short of 55 at the time and in very good health so I wanted a car with staying power, that was sporty, fun, and economical. So far, perfect choice. The Civic delivers super gas mpg, I get over 40 mpg on expressway trips and always over 30 mpg, and generally average 35 mpg. No repair issues; one strut replaced under warranty ages ago, front brakes at 75K miles, and otherwise regular maint. Handles great, VTec motors hits with more power above 3,500 rpm, a budget sports car. It can take 4 people anywhere in comfort with their luggage. Just a practical and enjoyable car.

Report Abuse

The best car ever

nick869, 08/30/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My honda is the best compact car that feels like I'm driving a sport. Safe, fun (drifting ha ha), and great fuel economy.

Report Abuse

Best Car Owned

crdavis, 12/22/2012
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought new in 2003 and never had to replace a thing other that a couple headlights, main starting battery. Has 250K miles on it and finally the IMA has an issue, but still drives great without it! Someone rear ended me the other day, totaled his car, but only scratched my rear bumber.

Report Abuse

The way a Honda should be

honda4311, 03/01/2012
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The seashore mist metallic coupe now has 120,000+ miles on it and still runs great. It uses a negligable amount of oil, and the oil stays clean between the changes. I just changed all of the belts, thermostat, plugs, brake rotors, and tires. The car runs like new except for a little belt screach when it's cold and/or wet. I'm really anticipating getting 200,000+ out of this car. My wife however, not so lucky. A 2002 Honda Accord SE with the same mileage riddled with oil consumption problems (1/2 quart week) and a transmission that is holding on for dear life.

Report Abuse

Over 271000 miles and still going strong!

Zach, 04/26/2018
DX 2dr Coupe (1.7L 4cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought this car around 2012 with 120000 miles on it. Best decision I ever made. As long as you keep up this car it will take care of you. The transmission fluid is still the color it needs to be and the Engine oil doesn't have have a burnt smell. I've only had a couple of electrical problems out of the alternator and battery cables. I changed the catalytic converter cause it was bad with the manifold sense both pieces are actually attached together which is great cause you replace two major components for the price of one. The car is pretty simple to work on which is a plus also. Heat and Air still work great also and tires seem to last forever on this car. All in all this car has been great for me.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Exactly what I needed!

Carole Burger, 05/18/2018
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (1.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This car served me well for over 15 years, from the day I drove it off the lot brand new in 2003, to the day I traded it in on a new Honda Fit. Never had a breakdown, and as a single working woman for most of that time, reliability was its most important virtue. This vehicle held up well and the interior showed little wear considering how long it was driven. I kept up on the maintenance, following the suggestions of a local mechanic. When the hybrid batteries reached the end of their life in 2014, my mechanic suggested that a Honda dealer would be the best place to get them replaced. It cost $1900 instead of the anticipated $10,000 which would have been a deal-breaker. Honda stands behind their vehicles and their value holds up.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

best car i've ever owned, BY FAR

thwipp89, 05/08/2013
8 of 12 people found this review helpful

bought my EX automatic new in '03 and have 125k miles after 10 yrs. after having a few american cars that were unreliable money pits, this car has been spectacular for me. wish i would've bought a honda sooner than i did. over 10 yrs, i've spent about $1k in non-maintenance repairs- mostly emissions/exhaust related, most of which has been at the 10 yr mark. i did need to replace the alternator after about 9 yrs. i average 30 MPG combined (about 65% city) but i have a very heavy foot.

Report Abuse

Watch Out For That Tranny

Adam, 11/10/2010
EX 2dr Coupe (1.7L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

We take good care of our car. We put low miles on it every year. At 65,000 miles the transmission should not fail. To make it worse, Honda has no interest in making it right. Be very cautious when buying this car. There may not be many complaints about the '03 transmission now, but they're about to come of age. Do a search for '01 transmission problems and start saving for the impending rainy day. Don't say you weren't warned.

Report Abuse

2003 Civic Hybrid Many Problems

Scott, 07/27/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have 180000 miles. Changed all fluids religiously. Had to replace clutch, transmission in Feb 08' and now IMA battery dying. $7000 worth of repairs. Very bad engineering solution for folks who care about the environment. Stay away from this vehicle...

Report Abuse

Great Car But Has Transmission Issues

tinkbot, 08/12/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have a 2003 Civic and currently have 83,000 miles on it. I do all maintenance and oil changes as recommended in the owners manual. About 6 months ago I noticed the automatic transmission was having problems shifting from 1st to 2nd gear and from 3rd to 4th. Transmission is now having major issues accelerating and going over 60 mph. My mechanic says the transmission is slowly dying and has to be replaced. Cost will be around $3,000. WHAT!?! This car is only 6 years old. A transmission shouldn't have to be replaced before 150,000+ miles and especially not on a Honda. Honda what's happened to you? Buyer beware!

Report Abuse

Love my Honda!

RMartinez717, 11/09/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Well I had my 2003 Honda civic for about 4 or 5 months now and I have to say I am very glad I decided to go with a Honda for my first car. Not only is it dependable and of a high quality, it's not overpriced and has great fuel economy so I could do what I love best and drive wherever I please without constant stops to the gas pump. I look forward to driving my car ever time it's tons of fun and sporty! And I've only had to do an oil change, new air filters and spark plugs since I got it cuz I don't know how the other owner took care of the car but so far seems he did ok.

Report Abuse

Hybrid - A Great Car

emcclend, 06/15/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Car sales are slow, the buyer can make incredible deals. Edmunds TMV is the sticker price. I purchased this car for about $1700 less than sticker. I got price quotes from 4 dealers in the DFW area (there are @30 dealers in this area). After visiting each of the four dealerships, I sent an email out with the best offers to all 4. Within hours of the email, I got competitive responses from 3 of the dealers. The 4th dealer did not even try to compete and would only go as "low" as the sticker price. It has plenty of power and rides great on the interstate. I drive 50 miles one way to work and the car rides smoothly, and has great visibility.

Report Abuse

No complaints here

JF, 02/28/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought used in 11/2008 with 42k miles. In the first year I put 26k commuting to work 60 miles round trip and a couple of trips to the beach. This car has taken a beating the way I drive it and it has not let me down once. Needless to say, its dependable...that's why I bought it in the first place. For a small, 4cyl sedan, I couldn't be happier. No clicking, rattling or odd noises/smells at any time. All parts/side moldings still holding strong. Transmission always shifts smoothly. The abrupt downshift when braking is actually the"automatic brake assist" a good safety feature but can be annoying at times. Overall...I love my Civic.

Report Abuse

Still love my Civ

Zigger1962, 08/11/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought new in July 2003, have put 110k miles on in the last 7 years. Perfect little car for a guy like me looking for a reliable economical commuter. 36- 38 mpg on 50 mile round trip commute. 2- 3 times a year I travel to Tennessee and I always get 41-43 mpg on the trip, traveling 75-80 mph. That makes me happy, has been fairly trouble- free. Shop been saying for the last 3- 4 years that the front struts need to be replaced, but way too expensive, letting it go for now. Had to have the thermal protector for the a/c compressor replaced, wasn't too expensive. Front brakes done last year, rear brakes still pass inspection. Due for the 110k timing belt replace ($$$) : ( but overall a great car!

Report Abuse

Satisfied Owner

RC101, 10/09/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I switched from my Dodge to a Honda mainly because of it's reputation. The car's mileage is only slightly better and as far as ride and performance. I sacrificed design for reliability. There is a very minor rattle somewhere in the dash which kept me from giving it a 10 in both the "Build Quality." I also gave it a 9 in "Reliability" since I haven't owned the car for too long, but my neighbor did have problems with her brakes when she first got her Civic two years ago. For the higher price I paid I really didn't want to here any rattles. I'm satisfied with my purchase and I'm expecting it to pay off in the long run since it holds it's value well.

Report Abuse

This car worth the extra cost

Cool Canuck, 11/01/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I drive the Hybrid in the city and on long trips. Gas mileage is fantastic, although I lose the Autostop when the outside temp is below 32F. Recent trip through Cdn and US Rockies was impressive for handling and fuel consumption. The electric boost is great for passing, but on long mountain climbs the battery does run down so you are left with the gas motor alone. Haven't had any really cold weather so will have to see how it does in minus 30

Report Abuse

i like my honda!!!!

himtngrl, 07/11/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

this is my first ever honda, after 3 toyotas. the toyotas are great for hard driving, they seem to thrive on high rpm shifting. the honda likes more gentle driving, gas mileage suffers with hard driving, so in that regard the toyota is better for me. i've been dissapointed with the quality control of the honda. lots of small things, sun visor drooped, one window is very slow, dealer says it can't really be fixed, weather striping around windshield is not smooth, etc. mechanically, its great, good accel (get the 5 spd)sound system is fine, love the turn radius!

Report Abuse

Buy it

mrmas, 02/09/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Outstanding car. Plenty of power, great stiff ride, German feel, good fuel econ. about 27mpg avg. I have had this car since it was brand new, and I will drive it until the wheels fall off. Of the cars in this class, this is the best one. Hatch is handy. Deceptively roomy. Great seats and steering wheel. Brakes are better than average for Honda.

Report Abuse

My two cents

jen, 09/27/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my first Japanese car and my first manual shift car. I bought it used (31000 miles) from a private party because I was looking for a used 2-door hatch-back gas saver with low mileage and light color (very specific am I?). GTI and Civic Si were my only options. GTI lost out in fuel economy (heavier car) and was mostly sold by dealers. I got lucky to find this babe. 8 months later I can say that I made a great choice! The reasons: 1. fuel economy (not at Prius level but kind enough to my wallet) 2. you don't see many of them on the road, unlike the Civic 4-door sedan 3. smooth and fun to drive 4. hatch-back (why don't they make hatchback anymore?)

Report Abuse

Hybrid

List Family, 05/21/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The performance and fuel economy on this car make it a commuter's dream come true. It has all the important features the gasoline-only models have, but allows 500 to 600 miles between fill ups. So, you can drive to your heart's content, and feel good knowing that you're not causing a major negative impact on the environment. And, it has the same auto body as the traditional honda -- nice. The digital design of the cockpit is so much fun to watch that you might need to remind yourself to watch the road. This is both a reliable, environmentally concious car and a fun drive.

Report Abuse

Heavenly Hybrid

Kim, 04/05/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car, primarily for the "Green Factor," but I have been amazed how reliable it has been. Even now, I still get about 50 MPG on the highway, and I will never commute in anything else. Here in Virginia, hybrids bought before 2006 are allowed on the HOV lanes, which is an extra bonus. I will be driving this car until it will no longer run, which seems likely to be many years from now. Aside from a rattle in the dash that comes and goes, this car is quiet, smooth, and makes me feel a little like a race car driver with its quick shift 5-speed manual transmission. I love this car!

Report Abuse

Honda is the Best

hondaisbest3, 11/02/2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have been told million times how good Hondas are. I have experienced it myself now. I purchased 2003 Honda Civic in 2004, It has been 7 years now with 172,000 mileage and this CAR still runs like brand new. Civics just don't break. I have been driving this car ALOT but still it's really good. NO serious/Major Problems. After driving Honda Civic, I will never ever think of buying anything but Honda. All my friends who purchased Fords had too many engine & transmission problems with their cars. Honda is the Best.

Report Abuse

Best Car I Ever Owned

techgromit, 03/19/2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I owned my 2003 Honda Civic LX for 8 years now, it's given me the least amount of problems compared to every other car I ever owned. True it's also the first new car I ever owned, but I've has far more problems with other used cars with less mileage. Parts last longer than other cars I've owned, from tires, to struts to breaks, they all need to be replaced less often, at least that's been my experience. The transmission does slip a little when it cold out until the car is warmed up, replacing the transmission fluid twice did little to improve it, but so long as I let the car warm up before doing any drag races, it runs fine.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Jason, 11/30/2010
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought the car new May of 03. I have 155,000 miles on it currently gas mileage has always maintained 33-34 no matter the driving environment.I have had all the schedule maintenance done by the dealer. I have replaced tires, battery etc... No problems what so ever!!! The interior material could have been a little better the paint is thin and the bumper paint is peeling like acid was poured on it.

Report Abuse

A good car

luis, 03/28/2002
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

good car

Report Abuse

165,000 mile review

abigcess, 07/30/2009
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

i purchased it new back in '03. i now have a little over 175,000 miles on it. it's been the most dependable car. i still drive it hard... dirt roads, 120 degree heat, 1200 mile trips in 8 yrs. few yrs ago, i was rear-ended on the freeway resulting in some extensive damage, but still runs strong despite virtually no maintenance work on it.. so far, I've changed brake pads once, spark plugs once, air filter twice, and last few times, I've gone over 9000 miles between oil changes. haven't done any tune ups, alignment, radiator flushes, or clutch work done yet. I'm averaging 32-34 miles with 70/30 city/freeway driving.

Report Abuse
12345...13
Items per page:
51050