Skip to main content

Used 2011 Dodge Caliber Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$13,998 - $14,599

Used Caliber for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...7

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2011 Caliber, so we've included reviews for other years of the Caliber since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

2011 Dodge Caliber Heat

Chris B, 04/30/2016
updated 11/19/2018
2011 Dodge Caliber Heat 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
42 of 43 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for about 3 years and it has not been a problem (so far). I had expected more mileage from the car being as small as it is-it is a daily commuter and 20 minutes one way and I am about 6' tall and slightly cramped while driving. If you want great reduction in road noise this car requires the best made tires in order to get it, I installed Michelin Defenders and it made the noise acceptable level. Rear hatch has modest areas for groceries but you will need to get creative in the placement of the boxes in order to do a full days shopping with it if you leave the rear seats up while using them. I like the 120volt outlet the car offers in the middle console for utility purposes. I put 225mm Michelin width tires all around the car and it handles like it is on rails and rain and snow are much better now as opposed to the slightly skinnier tires they recommend. Albeit the mileage took a hit some but that is worth the trade to me. Overall, I think the mileage is somewhat unacceptable for the size and weight of this car. That is my biggest complaint about this vehicle. Other than that I have no problems-so far. The mileage of the car is affected by the heat of the outdoors-it gets much better mileage when its cold. UPDATE 3 years from review above: * I average 29mpg on summer blend gas with the tire pressure running 34psi around all tires. I notice on winter blend the gas mileage go back to 26.5->27i'sh for some reason. I also had a temporary issue with the throttle body indicator light coming on the instrument panel and running rough after changing the battery. This was resolved after I removed the battery again (terminals) and let the capacitors empty out and the EPROM reset while pressing the gas peddle to the floor all the way up and down to teach the computer the limits of the throttle. This solved the rough idle issue and made the warning light go out...after reconnecting the battery. Plan on keeping the car after I realized how sensitive it is with mid to low tire pressure. Keep about 35psi in the tires and it will average almost 30 if you keep the RPM below 3500. *Update 2018: the car has been going without a problem (so far) and nothing to note at 68976 miles. Considering getting a Dodge Avenger due to having the same 2.0 liter motor which has proven to be dependable. The car has the same motor as 2003 Dodge Neon I had and it never gave me a problem either. I would like to mention that the 2011 Caliber runs MUCH better after I installed new NKG spark plugs (new type) with fancy tips on them. The Caliber has the same motor as the dependable Dodge Neon -A 2.0L steel timing chain equip motor (not belt) which makes this car much more dependable.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

High Caliber Hatchback

Kevin V, 05/17/2017
updated 05/21/2018
2011 Dodge Caliber Uptown 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl CVT)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

We do a lot of hunting, fishing and outdoor activities and were looking for a vehicle that could get our gear too and from the woods and then take me too and from work during the week, while still getting decent gas mileage. The Caliber fit the bill!!! It averages around 24mpg and has hauled hunting gear to Utah, Colorado and Missouri without any issue. It handles well, fits my 6' frame and is still comfy for my 5'1" wife. The transmission and gearing work great in the snow and we've been more than happy with it after 52k miles, and look forward to another 100k! At 120k and the Caliber is still kicking and doing a great job. I'd still recommend it for any outdoormen, looking for a do-it-all vehicle.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

it ended to soon.

Anthony, 01/04/2016
2010 Dodge Caliber SE Fleet 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
38 of 40 people found this review helpful

There is a problem that causes these to shut off while you are driving on the hwy., my niece had the same problem, something about a cooling sensor keeping the transmission from overheating. And this should have been a recall issue.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Good car

Kayla, 01/05/2019
2010 Dodge Caliber SXT Fleet 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I very much enjoyed this car for the space- I fit some odd things in this car. It's not a car for going fast and mpg is okay- it's not a really a gas saver compared to my previous car (Chevy Cobalt) but it's not ridiculous. The only reoccurring issue I had with this car was the sway bar kept coming loose it sounds really bad if you don't know what it is- and it makes the ride a little bumpy. Other than that it was really reliable. It sits up high enough that you don't really have to duck down to get in. I had a lot of spontaneous trips and would sleep in my car somtimes there's enough space to sleep two people comfortably as long as you have some pads to lay on and I've fit three small people.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

2.38 out of 5 stars

Car broke with 300 miles already

norm, 09/09/2010
2010 Dodge Caliber Mainstreet 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl CVT)
20 of 22 people found this review helpful

Bought new caliber on Sunday the first Thursday it broke down had it towed to dealer they told me it was battery they charged it and said it was fixed picked it up Friday drove car to store Monday dead again took back to dealer says they cant find anything wrong so come and get it. I don't know what to do?

Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page: