Used 2012 Chevrolet Traverse Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$5,000 - $13,400

Used Traverse for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

This engine holds a bad secret

Domonic Webster, 04/14/2018
LTZ 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
93 of 96 people found this review helpful

While this vehicle has many great features it hides a bad thing that will sink you. The engine has timing chains that have a known defect. I wish I knew this before I spent my money. The repair cost is a new engine which will cost about $5,000 and takes about 8-15 hours to replace. When all is said and done you will spend $10,000 to repair. If you own a earlier version 2007-2009 it’s covered. If you buy a 2012 it will not be.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Just Another Traverse Horror Story

HJP, 01/31/2019
LT 4dr SUV w/2LT (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

Words will fail to express the complete disappointment we have for this vehicle and for GM's unwillingness to do anything about it. Bought it used in the Fall of 2014. Gave us some hiccups over the 4 years and e.g., @ ~50K miles we drove it e.g., power steering pump failed completely (not uncommon for these vehicles). Otherwise great car up for the spouse. Good size, handled well in modest snow. MPG was horrible but an overall smooth, quiet comfortable ride. She loved it.....Up until the transmission failed catastrophically and w/o warning late in the fall of 2018 @ ~115K miles. As described in other posts and throughout the web the car - again w/o power warning decelerated the dash lit up with all types of warning messages and pretty little lights. Door locks began to lock and unlock and warning chimes started sounding. Was not sure if the car needed a mechanic or a priest to perform an exorcism. This car has been faithfully maintained with the same dealer for all 4 years. Was initially told the original battery may have done bad things to the transmission control unit which in turn smoked the tranny. Replaced the battery since that was the recommendation ~$450!. Yup - tranny was smoked. Still owed 18 mos on the loan so - after much deliberation and saving for the repair - we elected to replace to the transmission. Some headaches with the install - getting the new TCU to talk to the main computer. They get that solved and dealer tech takes the car out on the road to test the repair and the motor seizes up! Again no warning, nothing!. Mechanic tells me he is sorry and is sympathetic and advises me to call GM.... something about how the transmission must have streessed the motor even though there was not data to support the engine over revving or otherwise being stressed. I am now $4K into a repair with nothing to show for it and now looking at another $7K to replace the motor... and, oh, we still owe $6K on gthe original loan. So, all in, looking at $17.5K on a 7 year old vehicle. BTW $17K was was we paid for it in 2014!!!! Not holding out hope that my good friends at GM Customer Service (the incident is now at Tier 2 Cust Service) will do anything - why would they, right? I am a 5 time Chev owner - just bought a Silverado from them.... There is just now way that a vehicle at this age and miles should have failed so completely - not in this day and age. GM should be ashamed!

Performance
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Traction DANGER!!!

Cece, 09/10/2018
LS 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
34 of 36 people found this review helpful

Today 9/9/2018 I was on my way to church this morning. I get not even a third of the way there and my car takes me from 45 mph to a quick 15 mph without warning!!!!!!!!!!!! I pulled over and just shut my car off because I was scared. This is not the first time that this has happened to me. The last time it happened I was on the highway coming back from chemotherapy and I had my kids in the car. THIS IS NOT SAFE!!!!! Whenever I did call my dealership and took it up there for them to see, I could not duplicate the issue. I do not feel safe in my car and I honestly don't want it anymore. I need to have a car that I can depend on to get to my appointments. I have already had to fight one HUGE monster with my health, I surely don't need anything else to happen to me or my children.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

2012 Traverse 30-Day Review

nurseratched, 07/08/2012
LT 4dr SUV AWD w/1LT (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
58 of 63 people found this review helpful

This is my daily commuter from the mountains to the city. The Traverse is exceptionally comfortable to drive and handles the steep and curvy mountain roads with ease. Plenty of passing power and, despite some of the other complaints, I think the visibility to the side and rear is fine. I've never been in a quieter car...little to no road or wind noise. Everything is within easy reach and the interior is cavernous! Even though there is seating for 8 I don't use the 3rd row. The rear is strictly used for cargo and comes in handy with monthly trips to Costco! I looked at several other models and decided the Traverse topped them all.

Report Abuse

After One-Year, Very Happy w/Purchase

murdoughnut, 04/01/2013
LT 4dr SUV w/1LT (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
39 of 42 people found this review helpful

The Good: Space (lots of it). Have fit five adults, two infants in car seats, a dog and a stroller in the car before. Cargo area is plenty big, even with the third row up; While heavy on acceleration, actually turns quite nimbly for its size; Comfortable ride in every seat - third row can accommodate a small adult for normal trips, and a larger male for short trips. Bad: Gas mileage (~17), cargo door not very wide/tall Overall: Would definitely buy again; this car fit my exact needs for something safe for my infant twin sons, large enough to carry their stuff, but stylish enough for a 32-year old man who refused to own/drive a minivan. Gas mileage sucks, but didn't buy for that.

Report Abuse

GM should be embarrassed.

Jeff Chyko, 02/01/2019
LS 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I purchase vehicles for long term. I am currently driving my second Chevy 2500 series truck with over 200k miles. Could never say anything bad about the trucks. So, I had no problem agreeing to purchase our 2012 Traverse as certified pre-owned from a dealer in 2013 with under 20k miles with the hopes of driving it to 200k miles. Not the case. Well before 100k miles we loose AWD and have to replace the entier rear end. We opted for a 7000 mile salvage rear end ($1800) over the dealers (chevrolet of Wasilla)($3600) rear end. Work is done by Chevrolet of Wasilla with salvaged rear. Before a year goes by my wife comes home from a dealer oil change with a $3500 estimate to replace the entire power steering system. I’ve never had to replace an entire steering system on any vehicle, pump maybe. Come to learn this is a common defect in GM vehicles dating back to 2009. GM does a “hush” special warranty but our vehicle is not covered even though the system is still garbage. 10 months and 13,000 miles after our rear end replacement, the new one is leaking fluid. Not covered becuase it’s 1000 over the warranty. Facing $7000 of repairs, I refuse to put any money to such a bad vehicle. Starting to learn Traverses have a bad reputation as money pits. I’m really hoping the dealer will step up to help us out of the vehicle and into a Tahoe. Also hoping that Tahoe’s are still reliable. Shame on GM for producing such garbage and not standing behind it. Is that the thanks tax paying citizens get from a company who needed a bail out to keep going? You can’t produce a vehicle that can make 200k miles with regular maintenance and minor repairs.? When you design a bad steerign system you don’t attempt to correct it? Embarrassment to America, nice job.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2012 Traverse LTZ AWD

jimmymacd29, 08/09/2012
LTZ 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
29 of 33 people found this review helpful

I have not owned this car a long time, but the time I have had with has been a very enjoyable experience. I also own a 2011 Chevy Silverado Crew Cab 1500 LTZ and swap off between the two. The Traverse model I have is loaded, so that also adds to the enjoyment. This is not a brag but a reason why I might enjoy it more than a base stock model. It came with 20 inch wheels, so it may also ride different than one with smaller tires.

Report Abuse

2012 Traverse

jla1466, 08/07/2013
LT 4dr SUV AWD w/2LT (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Overall, I am very pleased with the purchase of this vehicle. However, there are a couple of things that I have found perplexing to say the least. First, the check engine light continues to come on at various times. It does not stay on continuously, but will remain on for a day or so then not come on at all for a day or more. The Chev service department keeps telling me it must be the gas cap since nothing else is showing up when they run the diagnostics. Another issue has been the power steering, which becomes difficult when making the initial turn after backing up. Again, Chev maintenance has been unable to determine why this is happening and attempts to fix have been unsuccessful.

Report Abuse

Lemon

Sebron34, 06/22/2017
LTZ 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

We bought this car in 2013. It was one year old and had 15,000 miles on it. Soon after we bought it we started noticing a noise. It was a grinding noise. After several times going into the dealership for repairs they determined it was the drive train that had gone out. luckily it was under warranty. The previous owners had taken the remote to the entertainment system and all but one set of headphones. Now we have never figured out how to make the movie play to the internal stereo it only plays to the headphones. The seat warmer on the drivers seat will turn on but turns off 1 min later and wont turn back on. The glove box connector broke making it so the glove box falls out onto the floor now. Then a year ago the alternator went out freezing up the car so we couldn't even jump start it. For some reason there is a anti theft system that kicks in when the battery is dead and you have to take it to the dealership to get your key out of the ignition. Then also a year ago the air in the car started blowing really hot air on the drivers side and cold air everywhere else when the A/C is on. Now the car has 75,000 and the computer just went out on it. The alternator also died again. I put my key in the ignition last night and the car ate my key and I had to tow it to the dealer to have everything fixed. This is a car that they don't want you working on, but yet it is broken all the time.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Done with Chevy/GM

Mike, 12/21/2017
LS 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle certified pre-owned with 12,000 miles on it. The vehicle met expectations and had been reliable for the amount of driving I do. I put on 15-20,000 miles a year of mostly highway miles. The vehicle was well maintained and I kept up with the regular maintenance on it. Last week I was driving and suddenly seemed to lose power. The vehicle would not shift into third gear and when I made it home I also realized there was no reverse gear. I did a lot of research on the internet and quickly realized that this had been an issue on the 2007-2009 models with the wave plate. GM had actually extended the warranty on the models for those years to 120,000 miles. I took mine to the dealership and they agreed that it sounded like the same issue with the older models. I contacted GM and they said they would inquire with the dealer. When I heard back they offered to cover a mere 30% of the $5,000 repair. I didn't expect the repair to be done for free (maybe I should have because that's what they did with the older models with more mileage than mine), but there resolution was a slap in the face. This is obviously a manufacture defect that they don't want to take accountability for. At this point I'm looking to trade this lemon in and switch to a brand that will be a little more reliable.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050