Used 2002 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$7,513 - $15,178

Used Silverado 3500 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Sad to part with old friend

rick194, 02/06/2011
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

It is now time to trade in the Duramax/Chevy. I have not pulled a trailor in the last 18 months so I am getting something smaller (Suburban). I have over 230,000 miles on it, averaged 17 mpg, pulled trailers from TX to 36 states. It brokedown twice. The alternator went out at 200K+ and a wire rubbed in two shorting out the electrical system at 180k+. The injectors were replaced under warranty and that was it, other than routine wear items, brakes, belts, hoses, ball joints. Do not need a truck like this any more but have kept it for 18 months because it is such a good one.

Report Abuse

DuraMax

Ray Gaskill, 02/07/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I tow a 18,000 lb trailer to all the Nascar events and love this truck. I originally drove Fords, but after looking at the numbers and talking to another DuraMax owner (who also had a Powerstroke and swithed to Chevy), I order the DuraMax and leave Fords and Dodge in the dust!

Report Abuse

Good truck

doug, 07/20/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had all three brands of trucks. This one hauls and rides the best. As far as reliability, I have been more than pleased. GM hit the right cue when putting this truck together. Duramax/Allison, best combination. I tow a 44 ft trailer @ 26000lbs and get 10-11.5 mpg. I will be hard pressed to go back to a different brand. Great work GM!

Report Abuse

3500 DURAMAX DIESEL dually 4x4

Nemecek, 03/09/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

after having Dodge diesel for couple years, this new Chevy truck has huge power when used to tow boat or move building materials, but is very friendly inside with a lot of every day features to make anybody happy.

Report Abuse

A lot of truck for the money

Kyle Rodrigue, 05/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Duramax diesel is worth the option price!

Report Abuse

Chevey beat's Dodge counterpart

ThomasWilson, 02/27/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought this truck to replace our 2000 Dodge Ram 3500 & there is NO comparison - the Chevy wins hands down! We had desiels on both trucks - the Chevey is much smoother & quieter

Report Abuse

2002 3500 SILVERADO

evy, 12/09/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

What an improvement over my '98. This Duramax engine and Allison trans really make a trailer puller, and so nice to drive.

Report Abuse

Chevy stuff

nmn.strabel, 11/08/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After accepting delivery of my expensive 2002 3500 duramax equipped Chevy truck I was very disappointed to discover that my 1 ton dually truck came with the cheapest steel wheels that are made. After only a few thousand kilometers there were rust spots appearing on them. After going as far as I could with GM Canada and getting nowhere, I ended up sanding and repainting myself. Ford & Dodge do not have this problem. A $50,000 truck with 10 cent wheels. The rest of the truck is pretty good.

Report Abuse

BIG BLOCK DUALLY

Craig C., 06/06/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This has been a great truck. It has plenty of power with the 8.1 motor and the Allision transmission. I am thinking of tradeing it in only to replace it with the same truck but with the Duramax diesel. I wish that the gas motor would do a little better on MPG. I can get around 12 MPG on the high way not towing. If I pull my 10,000 lb. trailer the best it can do is 8.5 MPG. I have talked to owners of the duramax and they can get 20 MPG!!! I like my big block and it has plenty of power but, gas is over $2.00 a gallon now so what can I do? I did not want to spend the extra $6000 for the diesel when I bought my truck.

Report Abuse

Big power

Kurt J., 10/26/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This has been an allaround great truck. I use it for roadside service along with my firefighting duties and let me tell you i run this truck hard. Weather its passing a hemi (LOL) with the 8.1l engine or towing cars and boats with the Allison 5spd, it just dosent get any better. Add a few lil performance mods to the engine and holdon for ride (seems odd to others that i have a dually racing by them) i can tow anything ive been told to with no lag on this truck it always give the same great ride.

Report Abuse

Awsome Truck

Travis Hendew, 06/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I like my truck.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050