Used 1997 Chevrolet C/K 1500 Series Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,655 - $3,483

Used C/K 1500 Series for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...6

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

234,000Miles and going Strong!

stnrphilip, 01/20/2014
C1500 Cheyenne 2dr Extended Cab Stepside SB
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I picked up a 1992 Chevy Cheyenne 1500 Full size pickup about two years back and am amazed at the quality, and workmanship put into these old beast's. Mine had 145,000 miles on her when i got it and she now has passed 234,000!! No major issues of any kind at this time. I do know i will need to replace the leaf springs and shocks and will add new tires in the spring when weather permits. Yet still she runs great. Mine has the 4.3L V6 engine married to a 5 speed manual tranny. New brakes, brake lines, clutch stage two kit, alternator, radiator, water pump, and oil pump. All that being done as a preventative. I sincerely recommend these trucks, especially the older ones 1992-97

Report Abuse

1997 Chevrolet silverado 1500

ramirezc, 01/04/2013
C1500 Silverado 2dr Extended Cab LB
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I bought my 97 silverado summer of 2002 with 50xxx. I still have the truck with 125xxx and runs excellent. definitely worth what i payed for. With no problems until today besides the maintenance. The only thing that i had problems these couple of months is that is has a bit of a hard time to start in the morning, other than that an excellent and fun truck to drive

Report Abuse

Old Reliable

jvyoung, 01/07/2004
C1500 Cheyenne 2dr Extended Cab SB
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Sense purchase, my C1500 has been very reliable. I bought the truck for what a truck is built for, work. It's used for hauling, towing, and getting the kids to school. At 115k miles, it's still going strong. Only major repair has been a new clutch. This truck has served us well.

Report Abuse

11 years strong!

ChevyMan75482, 05/23/2008
C1500 Cheyenne 2dr Regular Cab LB
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I've had this truck since 97 and since then I've put on 378,794 miles on it. I've never had a problem with the engine. The only major thing were the cruise control, and the fuel pump went out 2-3 times. This thing towed my boat better than my friends Dodge Ram v8. Never going with Dodge again after that. I have the 4.3 liter v6. Next vehicle will definitely be another Chevy.

Report Abuse

Old Reliable

big_blue97, 03/14/2011
K1500 Cheyenne 2dr Extended Cab 4WD LB
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Bought this truck new in Sept. '96. Used as a daily driver in a rural area with plenty of high way driving as well. Used extensively and driven hard off road. Added a 6" lift and 35" tires, still drives like stock. With an aftermarket exhaust and programmer, I'm still averaging 15mpg. No major problems. Replaced the transmission but was under warranty. Had the A/C system replaced as well as radiator.. but there is also 140,XXX miles on the truck

Report Abuse

The heartbeat of America

dukes, 12/11/2007
C1500 Silverado 2dr Extended Cab SB
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've only had my truck for about a year and bought it with 129,000 and it now reads 144,000 and I have already had to put brakes, tires,alternator, intake gaskets and fuel pump in that period of time but other than that my truck runs strong.

Report Abuse

Very Good Truck

YELLOW450, 01/05/2004
K1500 Cheyenne 2dr Extended Cab 4WD Stepside SB
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Overall this truck has lived up to the GM reputation. Other than basic wear mechanical failure such as alternator, brake pads, water pump, and things of the, there have been no serious problems. Its firm suspension and connected steering give you awesome communication with the road and is actually extremely nimble for a large truck.

Report Abuse

Awesome Z71

Tino, 06/13/2006
K1500 Silverado 2dr Extended Cab 4WD Stepside SB
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought my Z71 truck in July of 2002. At first I was hesitant because the truck already had 150,000 miles on it. But test driving and having my mechanic inspect the truck and the great deal I got, I took it. Aside from the gas mileage I get but what can you expect from the 5.7 workhorse? Four years later and the truck about to hit 200,000 miles happy to say I have not had any major problems with the truck. Everthing is still working and it runs like a champ.

Report Abuse

97 CHEVY

koryharper, 12/27/2005
C1500 Silverado 2dr Extended Cab SB
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Good at first, had to change brakes and rotors, fuel pump, and intake manifold in first 1 1/2 yr. After that no problems then had to change tranny shift modulator. But other than that truck runs well with scheduled maintenance.

Report Abuse

Lucky

Ron, 06/11/2006
C1500 Cheyenne 2dr Extended Cab Stepside SB
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

From looking at the other reviews I should consider myself lucky to have only replaced the altenator & battery @ 36k miles,Power Steering pump @46k, Rear Axle @ 54k and the water pump @ 75k. The rotors lasted until the 3rd set of brakes @ 88k.The Uniroyal Tiger Paws tires were junk from day one they pulled like the front end was out of alignment.The problem fixed itself when I had the tires replaced @ 32k. They were not worn out-i just couldn't take them anymore.Windshield Wiper Controller is defective according to NHTSA id# 03V159000 and has the potencial to affect 1,755,876 1997 Chevy trks-BUT NOT mine.I had the same symtoms that caused 1.7M trks 2b recalled-but my trk was not covered.

Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page:
51050