Used 2001 Volkswagen Jetta Consumer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
397 reviews
List Price Estimate
$1,560 - $3,936

Used Jetta for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...8

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.88 out of 5 stars

2002 Wagon rocks!

MarkAS, 02/27/2002
GLS 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
183191 of 183193 people found this review helpful

Bought a 2002 Jetta wagon in Oct 2001 and I love the car. I got the 2.0 liter 5-speed manual transmission and this car has no problems accelerating with one person. The cornering is excellent and the ride feels like a sports car. The interior looks and feels great (esp. at night). Small size makes parking easy. The wagon gives you almost as much cargo space as a small SUV with much better gas mileage.

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

The real review on a jetta

jarren1, 04/25/2011
GLX VR6 4dr Sedan (2.8L 6cyl 5M)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Germans use nothing but quality when it comes to their cars. VW are a well designed machine you have to do regular maintenance. I had my jetta for well over a year and a half No problems. I even went to basic and ait, the car sat for 8 mnths. got back jumped the battery and she was still in good condition. Oh and when it come to quality. They took the time have the mirrors self adjust when u put the car in reverse, a safe fail feature on ur windows if anything obstucts the window from going up. Not to mention i got stuck in the snow and no choce but to floor it at over 8,000 rpms for over 5 mins to get free. It makes me mad when someone talks down on a perfectly good car. The jetta is a Go.

Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

Can't get a better Drivers' car for the money.

matthew32, 02/23/2013
GLX VR6 4dr Sedan (2.8L 6cyl 5M)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

Have owned this car for about three years. It had 94k mi when I bought it and now has 118k. Have done a lot of repairs, but not any more than for the multitude of 100+ k mi vehicles I have owned in the past. The car came with service records and is in excellent condition for the age and mileage. I have done brakes, alternator, clutch, suspension, front susp bushings and ball joints. Unexpected repairs were: Fan Control Module, PS Pressure hose, timing chain. The TC broke at 117K, causing damage to 5 valves and an injector. Cost of repairs were around $4500, but still worth it considering that I have a 12 yr old car with 118k mi that looks, runs and drives like a new car.

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

Highly Recomended

dmo1860, 03/14/2015
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This car is outstanding. I have 250,000 miles on her and she still drives like she has 80,000. She has the 2.0L and is extremely reliable. The engine is paired with the 5 speed manual gearbox and is an absolute joy. I have no doubt that this car will make it another 250,000 miles! And it has been a hard 200K miles on it too (driven by a teenage boy.) If one is for sale and its in good condition, I highly recoment getting it. Wether it's for a first car, or a car for your kid. if you take care of it, it'll take care of you. It is the most solid car I've ever driven and I hope I'll Never have to get rid of it.

Report Abuse

4.38 out of 5 stars

awesome car

dbanda51, 10/19/2012
GLS Wolfsburg Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

this is my 2nd vw. i had a 99.5 jetta 2.0 as my 1st car and loved it except for it was to slow.great on gas though. i later got a bmw 323i and kind of liked it but not as much as the jetta so i got rid of it. and finally found the 01 jetta Wolfsburg. it had everything i needed, 5 speed, sport seats, turbo, 4cyl (for great mpg).i have owned it for about a year and a half.has never let me down.previous owner kept everything tight and said he never got check engine light, as of today i haven't either. i have also added coilovers, APR tune (making 215hp!), forge dv valve (makes the psshh sound), 17' rims, and a Nav system, i have put about 20k miles on it without a prob. this car is awesome!!!

Report Abuse
2.25 out of 5 stars

Throttle body problems

Dawn, 12/05/2004
GL 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

Problems with throttle body within months of purchase. Car on third throttle body. Extreme loss of power on freeways and uphills. Two near accidents. In last 4 months, it has been in an authorized repair shop 5/6 times with thousands of dollars worth of repairs. Contacted VW corporate 5 times. Never asked for new car or rental for inconveniences, just requesting a safe reliable car (like mine). V. disappointed with VW customer service more so than vehicle.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

A True REVIEW

lovemyjetta4, 11/29/2011
GLX VR6 4dr Sedan (2.8L 6cyl 4A)
25 of 31 people found this review helpful

I just Bought My 2001 Volkswagen Jetta VR6 GLX it has 173,000 miles, usually this many miles will scare a typical buyer away. this car has been nothing but reliable, it does have a little sputter problem but im willing to fix this car. I came from a Saturn L200 and it was way more expensive than this car to fix (MOST PARTS) When most people buy a Volkswagen or ANY import for this matter, they think they can run the crap out of it and not have to repair it. Germans are GENIUS Engineers and this is my 3rd Jetta since 18 and im sorry, but NOTHING beats a VW. they do have issues but ALL cars do, usually anyone complains when they have to spend money. for any new buyer dont be afraid of VW's

Report Abuse
2.88 out of 5 stars

Good When It Works, Which is 10% of the Time

ME, 03/14/2007
GLS TDI 4dr Sedan (1.9L 4cyl Turbodiesel 5M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This car is great when it works. It has good handling, and a nice feel, but it is the biggest pile of junk I have ever owned. I have spent more money in one year on repairs than all the other cars I have owned put together. I will never buy another and am trying to get rid of it. So don't ever buy a VW! Most people I have talked to have similar experiences.

Report Abuse
3.38 out of 5 stars

I know you might love it, but please DON'T buy it!!!

tsheanance, 02/22/2011
GLX VR6 4dr Sedan (2.8L 6cyl 5M)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

Dear potential buyer of a VW Jetta, I have a 2001 VR6 GLX. I absolutely loved the looks of it, but almost as soon as it 100k miles, the car has started to fall to pieces! Everyday it's like a part is needed to be repaired. In my car I have replaced the serpentine belt, air pump, back break light...my radiator is still leaking coolant and I need a transmission control module chip ($950) since it shifts hard into third gear. The bumper is WAY too low to the ground and I actually broke it off twice (once at Petsmart parking lot...talk about embarrassing). Also, the car is cheap on the inside. The radio button is currently unraveling. You touch it, it breaks. LESSON LEARNED.

Report Abuse
2.5 out of 5 stars

Hate it!

megan_724, 06/29/2005
GL 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Never will I buy a VW again. I've had to replace the brake sensor twice, all spark plugs, and numerous other "small" repairs that total thousands of dollars. My car dies when I am driving down the road, with no explanation. The interior fabric is crap. The bumper falls off for NO reason. I would never recommend a VW, even to my worst enemy. Whatever you do, buy a Honda or Nissan.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

I love this Car

VR6BeautifulCAR, 11/09/2010
GLX VR6 4dr Sedan (2.8L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have owned the 2001 VW Jetta GLX VR6 for a year now. This car is quick, comfortable and fun to drive. The only things I have replaced is a camshaft position sensor and since VW's are known to have problems with the coilpacks I converted the coilpack over to a GM Style MSD pack (this conversion can only be done on the VR6). I really don't why people give this car gets poor reviews I have been good to this car with regular maintenance and in turn it has been good to me. Also keep in mind this is a VR6 which means if you are looking for a car with good gas mileage you better look else where. VR6 means POWER not ECONOMIC!!

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

Not really worth it.

bj789, 07/17/2012
GLS 1.8T 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I owned my Jetta for almost 3 years. It was initially fun, but as I put miles on the car the check engine light became a familiar occurrence. Took it to independent mechanics to save a little on repairs but it seemed like I'd leave just to have another issue crop up. Started taking it to the local dealer so of course I paid through the nose for repairs (like all German cars). While not quite as expensive as my Mercedes to maintain, it still felt weird paying a premium for maintenance on a non-luxury badge. There were the enjoyable times with the car, it was loaded with great features and it was quiet and quick. But in the end, the bad outweighed the good.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

My experience

Norma Rubin, 06/04/2005
GLX VR6 4dr Wagon (2.8L 6cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have 87,000 miles on my 2001 Jetta VR6 wagon. So far I have had the mass air flow sensor replaced, which VW refunded part of the money. And the coil also was replaced, but what really flip me out was that the rear brakes had to be completely replaced at 25,000 miles that cost $1000. I love the way the car performs, but not so crazy with the fuel economy; highway 22 to 25 mpg city 15 to 18. What I don't see other owners talk about is the stereo, I think it is the best car stereo a car manufacturer has installed in a car in its class. I also notice that with this five year old car that the imitation wood trim is cracking and it will need to be replaced

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

2001 Wolfsburg Edition

Q_200Hp, 03/21/2002
GLS Wolfsburg Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2001 Wolfsburg Edition Jetta a year ago and I absolutely love it. The 1.8 Liter turbo provides plenty of power, the sports suspension is great, and the breaks are incredible. With a 1/4 inch stainless steel exhaust down pipe including the CAT and a wideband O2 sensor ($300 part alone!!!!! Most cars only have a $50 part). I don’t know any other car with those stock components. I have tunned my car putting in a strut bar and increasing the boost. It was a lot of trouble to do so, but well worth it. Now I have 200hp and can take on a VR6.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Great commuter car

Phlonet, 01/27/2004
GL TDI 4dr Sedan (1.9L 4cyl Turbodiesel 5M)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

In the first year I was driving 120 miles per day and was getting between 50-55 mpg. My commute lessened considerably, and now I'm only getting mid 40s, though on longer trips its back up around 50. While the TDI doesn't have quite as much pep as a 1.8T or a V6, its still sportier than many other "economy" commuter vehicles. Takes a little bit longer to start when its below zero, but have never had it fail to start. Only one mechanical issue related the glowplugs that was misdiagnosed at first, but then fixed properly on a subsequent visit. I wholeheartedly recommend this car to anyone who has to drive any sort of distance.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

'01 Volkswagen Jetta 1.8L Wolfsburg Ed.

Andrew, 06/19/2008
GLS Wolfsburg Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I just recently bought my 2001 Jetta. I have heard of all of the problems and concerns they have. I did my research and in my opinion it is worth it. If you buy a Volkswagen you must realize that one; it is an ALL GERMAN MADE VEHICLE. Most cars on the road, whether it be Toyota, Honda, Subuaru or Audi, most of the parts are made in America. Excluding 2008 models, VW's are exclusively made in Germany, especially engine parts, hoses, etc. I have had to put some work and money into it but for the gas mileage, performance, handling and safety, I love it. Plus I enjoy learning about my car and how to fix it. It has flaws, all cars do, and VWs take a bit extra work, but to me it is worth it!!!

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Satisfied and Secure Jetta Owner

nywvblue, 08/15/2012
GL 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my car from its original owner, a retired couple, with 75,000 miles on it and at 6 years old. It had some strange wear in the interior (the arm rests on the doors in the front were half peeled away), but otherwise it was in perfect condition. It lived with me in NYC for the next 2+ years and, aside from a nagging CEL situation due to the MAF sensor failing every 8 months or so as well the mechanism in one side window suddenly failing, it has been a super, reliable car.

Report Abuse
3.88 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive, slowly falling apart

Tiznow80, 03/13/2010
GLX VR6 4dr Sedan (2.8L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

It's strange with this car. I really enjoy driving it but I've had issues with it for a long time. I had to replace all 6 engine coils about 3 years ago that cost me $800. Various other things have broken as well (glove box, arm rest - 2 places, rear ash tray, turn signal - twice and front bumper coming off. Saying all of that, it's a fun car to drive with a lot of great options.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

A Nice Ride

Goodriver52, 05/31/2010
GL 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My Jetta GL has 128,000 miles on it now and still has the original front brakes, exhaust system and clutch. The 2.0 liter 4 gets excellent gas mileage and the 5 speed manual trans is fun to use. I take it to the dealer for servicing every 5000 miles. Maintenance is expensive but well worth it. This car has been trouble free and I hope to get at least 300,000 miles before letting her go. Even tho the 2.0 is not a muscular engine it is very smooth. This car's handling is tight and very maneuverable.

Report Abuse
3.88 out of 5 stars

Still like to drive it after 11 years

fixit58, 07/11/2012
GLS 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought new in 2001, now @ 160k mi. Averaging 31 mpg. Love the versatility of the wagon and the roof rack. Engine is anemic, despite very short final drive ratio of transmission, but car cruises comfortably at 80 mph. Engine has always used 1 qt of oil per 1500 mi, more in commuting, less with long distance travel. Everything is original except most sensors, timing belt, water pump, coil pack, plug wires (2x), horns, consumables like lamps, plugs, filters, brake pads (rear only). Had a few recalls, water intrusion into interior, the lower engine cover has taken many beatings from scraping on curbs, and that's about it. Enjoying a reliable car with no further depreciation.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable I ever owned

autowolf, 04/04/2014
GLS Wolfsburg Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned the car for 3 years and to this day it has been in more close calls than any other car I have owned, but never let me down. I had to pull over on hwy I89 for over heating once, the problem was a leaking seal at 160k miles and it was an easy fix. Off the road one icy dirt road in the winter, thanks to the car's design I was safe in a ditch unfortunately, but safe from scratches on the paint and I was only shocked a little by the event, driver error and winter conditions. I have been kept safe on the winter roads thanks to this car and it has been the most fun car in it's year and class that I have ever driven.

Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

20001 Jetta Wagon

Tim Hastings, 12/22/2002
GLS 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I am very pleased with to car overall. The car has a smooth comfortable ride and is very dependable. The only thing I don,t like about the car is the fact that when we put our baby's car seat in the back, you have to put the front seat up close to the steering wheel to fit it in.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyed this car

Christian Wade, 12/28/2015
GLS 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I owned my 01 Jetta Wagon for years and really enjoyed it. It was pretty trouble free but there was some maintenance that had to be done to keep it that way. The gas milage was great and it was fun to drive. Lots of room in the back of the car and that was great since I have a very large dog. I thought that the rear seat was fine for kids but tall adults would have a tight fit. Some of the coating on the interior parts was weird. It was rubbery and would scratch off. I also found that the sunroof drains are a constant trouble. They aren't hard to fix in the front but the rear are a pain. If you buy one of these cars know when the timing belt was done. Very important. I sold this car recently as I bought a Vanagon and didn't need two cars.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

VR 6 the only way to go

Justin, 03/30/2017
GLX VR6 4dr Sedan (2.8L 6cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

For what it is its great. Fun to drive it defiantly gets out of its own way and after you hit the apex of a corner just punch it and let the snappy vr6 with traction control launch you through. All the while riding in a rich fully loaded luxury class cockpit The more I do the better it gets.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3.25 out of 5 stars

Fun at the start but not when needed!

dubvhill, 06/18/2010
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used and heard nothing but good things about VWs. I thought i was getting a dependable car that would last a long time. I was wrong, but must say it hasn't died completely. About a year into my purchase the check engine light came on. Being a poor college student, making it on his own, didn't have money to fix right away. Long story short 4years $7k in and the check engine light is still on. Making money now to fix, but tired of the circling fuel system of death. I am waiting for this car to die to buy a new car. My luck will be this car goes forever with the check engine light on. At the end of the year I will donate to train fire fighters, so the misery will die.

Report Abuse
2.75 out of 5 stars

Worst Car Ever Owned

John Doe, 08/27/2010
GLS Wolfsburg Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

The Jetta ia a popular car and I know why. It is fun to drive. Good power. HOWEVER, he car has been in the garage being fixed more than it has been on the road. In two months over $2,000 of repairs and now they say the turbo is going bad - $2,500+ This car is immaculate and a piece of junk. Buyer beware - the turbo generates a lot of heat - causing lots of little problems. The engine will not last.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

165,000 miles strong

pendii, 07/21/2012
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

My husband and I got this car certified used in 2005. It had 60,000 miles on it at the time and was still in great shape. It's been 7 years and we've put an additional 100,000 miles on it. It's still going strong! It's a very comfortable car and very fun to drive. Sunroof and heated seats are great. The only thing you have to know before you buy a VW is they are more expensive to repair and maintain because they require special tools. Some mechanics have even refused to work on my car, saying they don't do VWs. The car is showing it's age a bit now. It does eat oil in its latter years. As long as we keep oil full, the engine's still great.

Report Abuse
2.75 out of 5 stars

Please stay away, please, you won't even able to sell it

jzmsewa, 06/24/2015
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
7 of 12 people found this review helpful

I purchased a car from a dealer, with very clean carfax,140k miles, nice looking. However, the radiator start leaking within 30 days, so dealer covered it. After that,3 light bulb gone in 2 weeks, and 1 starter, 1 ignition coil gone. I am a student working as a food delivery man part time. The car make me quit the job 2 times because it stopped on street, or start shaking badly for the ignition coil. The the driver's side door close sensor gone, make my car anti-thief working at night in garage and drain my battery, and at the same time, the warning ding will keep honing until 2 mins you start the car( the sensor thought you drive with door open).Then the glove box and the trunk release

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

i love my wolfsburg 1.8t jetta

terry, 09/03/2015
GLS Wolfsburg Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
5 of 9 people found this review helpful

i got the car on a trade with my explorer. with a slight exhaust leak the car still pick up and go's pretty good I have only got it up to 120 but then I had to slow down. it handles the turns like it is on rails. I have only had it about 2 weeks now but on the high way I smoked a Honda civic with some mods like it was standing still

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

Never, ever again!

Bass_Baller, 08/30/2016
GL TDI 4dr Sedan (1.9L 4cyl Turbodiesel 5M)
4 of 8 people found this review helpful

What haven't I replaced in this lemon, besides the frame and the engine? Hmmmm.... let me think... Not the manual transmission, clutch, A/C condenser, power steering drive, fuel injector pump... nope, all of those, I had to replace. Power windows and power locks-- the ones without broken switches-- are unreliable. Cheap plastic knob for mirror control broke off with no effort. Trunk latch even broke. And, of course, it leaks. And then there's the melted crayon smell of the interior (dashboard, mostly)-- which, if you happen to brush against, will smudge and ruin your clothes. Fun to drive, but do yourself a favor and lease it instead of buy it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
2 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
2.5 out of 5 stars

Don't Buy a VW, Too Many Problems

Fabby, 04/22/2008
GL 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This car is a headache. There is always some kind of electrical problem going on. It burns oil at about 1 quart per 3000 miles. Terrible car, highly do not recommend it.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

2001 Jetta GLX VR6

Christie Howard, 12/01/2003
GLX VR6 4dr Sedan (2.8L 6cyl 5M)
11 of 30 people found this review helpful

Anyone that is looking for a fast, fun car, the Jetta VR6 is the way to go! People tend to shy away from this car because it is so small, but that is what makes it so amazing; a V6 engine in a car like this is great and damn does it move, but yet it doesn't kill your gas mileage.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

awesome

zach032, 09/16/2008
GLS 1.8T 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for almost a year and the only thing that I've replaced is the brakes. I've put on a lot of extras with the motor and the visual details. i've loved this car since i've had it. i also has 95,000 miles on and the dealer gave me all the service records witch he told very good car of it. basically if you can take care of the car, you will love it

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Love/ Hate Relationship

Laura, 01/15/2008
GLS VR6 4dr Sedan (2.8L 6cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My Jetta and I have a love/hate relationship. It is super fast with great pick up and acceleration. I also have a BMW 330ci and the Jetta performs just as well. I have had a lot of transmission and electrical problems associated with my Jetta. There is always something that has to be fixed and at 50,000 miles the catalytic converter was replaced (it was under warrenty). It is not very reliable but has excellent handling. It does great in the rain and snow. I have to use premium gas which it eats up. Bad gas mileage for a small car.

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

fun reliable turbo

artcwike, 01/30/2010
GLS Wolfsburg Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought a manual 2001 Wolfsburg edition in the fall with a ton of miles (130,000). Downsized from a newer jeep liberty for better milage/no payments. The small 1.8 liter engine is amazing on gas, while the turbocharger adds plenty of zip. While driving more conservatively, I went about a month on one tank. But it's hard to resist redlining that turbo from time to time. Reliable so far with the biggest problem being a burnt out turn signal. Miserable driving on snow or ice. Interior smells like crayons (read that its the fire retardent foam under the carpet). Large trunk and plenty of room for carseats. Would recommend

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Plastic Water Pump Impeller Failure

gorvcamping, 05/18/2010
GL 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just in case your 2.0 Liter-powered VW (not sure of other engine designs) develops unexplained overheating with no external coolant leaks, it is most likely a internally shattered PLASTIC (yes you read that correctly) impeller that has failed. Unfortunately, it is about a 4-hour shop job to replace the impeller, since it is driven by the timing belt. So most of the front part of the engine must be dismantled in order to get to the impeller! COST: about $600-$750 parts & labor. If you are mechanically knowledgeable, parts (impeller, timing belt, tension pulley, and thermostat) will cost you about $210. When buying a replacement impeller, be sure to specify an ALL METAL replacement!

Report Abuse
2.5 out of 5 stars

VW FAIL.

Josh, 06/30/2010
GLS 1.8T 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I financed this Jetta used for around $11k and ended up spending over $13k in repair receipts over the short lifetime of this car. Every possible part on this car had to be replaced at least once, and it was constantly towed to the shop. We just got rid of this for a reliable Honda.

Report Abuse
3.63 out of 5 stars

THIS is a Volkswagen?

FarFromSatisfied, 07/19/2010
GLX VR6 4dr Sedan (2.8L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car was a gift from my parents, as a first car. At first I was thrilled; the car was fun to drive, it had great features and it looked great. So far, Ive had the car about a year and a half, and the car has been in the repair shop about 5 or 6 times for major repairs, including: the transmission, alternator, head gasket, a/c compressor, power steering, water pump, and a few others. I don't have a lead foot, so its not my driving thats causing these problems. Not to mention I average 16 mpg, if that. Nevertheless, the car has great features. I just expected more from Volkswagen, especially with the car being one of their "Certified 'Pre Loved' Cars".

Report Abuse
2.5 out of 5 stars

Keep on searching

KariD, 08/14/2010
GLS 1.8T 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car was a gift from my parents for graduating college. I feel really bad that I insisted on buying a VW. I wouldn't be happy until I got the darn thing, huge mistake. Ignition coils, trunk, windows, glove box, interior (poorly made), front bumper, center console, clutch, brakes, speakers, I could go on forever. It really breaks the bank, and you have to go to someone who knows VW's, and be prepared to spend some cash. I had a bonus misfortune buying this car new. the dealer was repainting the car because birds had ruined the paint, but they crashed it, and placed a refurbished sticker on it. the dealer doesn't have to report it if the repair job is under $1000. Sweet.

Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

Great Reliable Car

herbz, 12/03/2013
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

164,000 miles and running great. Reliable as can be. Good on gas, MPG has dropped slightly as the car aged but still gets 30mpg city easily. Massive trunk for a small car. Other than ground clearance it is a very good winter car. Only issue is an intermittent CEL related to an emissions issue that comes and goes. Dealer says its not worth chasing as the car runs perfect. Definitely will consider another Jetta or VW product.

Report Abuse
3.38 out of 5 stars

Call it a VW Lemon Instead

ajm220, 11/03/2002
GL 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I'll like my Jetta but here's why I'm selling it: Month 3: the rear brake lights blew out (look around at Jettas others are driving, you'll notice the same in most). Month 4: O2 sensor blew out. Month 6: O2 sensor I replaced blew out. Month 10: engine wouldn’t start (something about some fuse?). Month 16: left back brake worn out, grinded the rotator Month 23: front right signal and left front head lamp blew out at the same time -- Folks, the repairmen gave me the parts that blew out and they were BURNED TO A CRISP Month 24: I’m selling the car

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

A super car for the money. Great value

billiebob, 12/11/2002
GLS Wolfsburg Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've already submitted a longer review on the Jetta in general. No other car maker offers such a combination of features for the price. How else could you get: sport suspension with top of the line touring tires gorgeous german BBS wheels 4 wheel disc ABS 6 airbags sport seats interior leather accoutrements 6 disc CD changer sunroof A fast turbo engine The list goes on and on! the audi A4 has the same features (plus leather) for almost 8000 more! Forget it and buy the Jetta. I've had NO problems in 35000 miles!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

We love our 2001 GLX VR6

D. Graham, 02/28/2002
GLX VR6 4dr Sedan (2.8L 6cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The car is solid and handles very well. The VR6 has plenty of power but seems to really come on-line at higher speeds and RPM's. The leather interior is of superior quality and the Monsoon stereo really cranks and has many features. The sport package really helps the car handle well even at speeds in excess of 100 mph and the 17" wheels really set off the appearance and stance of the car. This car has been often mistaken for a BMW with good reason and is a cousin of the Audi A-4.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Driver Found

notpostal, 02/13/2003
GLS Wolfsburg Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I'm right at 21,000 miles on my Wolfsburg 1.8t 5spd and have not had any real problems. My dealer replaced the window stops at my 20k checkup..they had a tech bulletin on to replace them although mine hadn't failed. The car is more comfortable and fun to drive than my Acura. I get 27+mpg in town and 31+ on the highway. This is the first VW I've owned and the experience has been wonderful. I plan to replace it next year and will get another Jetta 1.8t but I will check out the triptonic auto. The 5 spd is a lot of fun and easy to operate, but at 58 years of age, I'm getting a little lazy.

Report Abuse
3.5 out of 5 stars

2001 VW Jetta Wlfbrg

shell110909, 08/29/2003
GLS Wolfsburg Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sure, my car is fun to drive and during the cold midwest winters, I love the heated seats! But I have found this car to be fairly unreliable....and true to German manufacturing, everything from the windsheild wipers to the bumper, it is way overpriced.

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Perfect Balance between Sport & Comfort

jddaigle, 09/03/2003
GLS Wolfsburg Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I got my Jetta because I wanted a car that would be comfortable and fun to drive on my 70-mile round trip highway commute, but would also be a good car to toss around on back roads on the weekend. For me its suspension and ride are the perfect balance between being sporty and comfortable. The turbocharged engine is also a great design, giving smooth, ample power and good fuel economy. I don't mind the small rear seat area because I seldom carry more than 1 passenger & the short wheelbase makes for better handling.

Report Abuse
2.63 out of 5 stars

Never Again

Erica Bardan, 07/17/2003
GL 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Glad to see I'm not the only one with oil consumption problems! I too was told it's 'normal' for the car to use a quart of oil per 1,000 miles. How can that be? My dipstick is dry before each oil change-and I go every 3-4,000 miles. I've been told by the dealer + corporate that they won't do anything about it-it's not using enough oil to be a problem. This has been happening since my first oil change 10 months ago. Also,it's essentially a 2 seater since the back seat is so uncomfortable, there's rattling in the doors-I have to open all windows to avoid hearing, + the fact that my best lint brush can't get a hair off fabric..will never buy a VW again!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding

ihristov, 07/20/2003
GLS Wolfsburg Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Everything you can expect from a German car. A bit spartan, but everything is though-out to the minuscule detail. I love it. A fun car to drive. I would recommend it for everyone that likes to drive a little sportish. Excellent handling. In 2 years and 30,000 miles have not had any problems.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Love it!

PMeyer, 12/22/2003
GLS Wolfsburg Edition 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I had a '97 Jetta before purchasing my '01 Woflsburg in March of '03. I love it! I bought it with 20,000 miles on it....Only problem I had is that the senor for the hazard lights/turn signals had to be replaced at 22,000 miles...the clutch needs to be lubricated once in a while because of it squeeking. Other than that, I've had no problems (keeping my fingers crossed)

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

jetta safety

tinajetta, 01/21/2004
GLS 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

i was involved in a horrific accident wherein my jetta rolled over three times. i had my seatbelt on and walked away from the accident unharmed. i have loved this car from the day i bought it. after i totaled it in this accident, i went a bought another one.

Report Abuse
12345...8
Items per page:
51050