2019 Volkswagen Atlas Consumer Reviews

MSRP Starting at
$30,895

Compare dealer price quotes
Select your model:
12345...6

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

don't get technology if you need a hitch...

Ken Rossman, 01/14/2019
V6 SE w/Technology 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
25 of 40 people found this review helpful

Atlas SE w/technology is a great all around SUV, however its hitch with a lift for a mobility scooter is incompatible with adaptive cruise control(ACC). even just the lift installed throws the front sensor out of the range it can be adjusted. IMO it would probly do the same trailering a boat etc. or even with a heavy load in the trunk. The ACC cannot be disengaged to allow regular cruise control. I wish I had leased an SE w/o technology

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

So far So great!

Tami E. , 08/17/2020
V6 SE w/Technology 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle in Jan. 2020 and have had it for 7 months. I really like the smooth ride, spacious interior and tech features. It is wonderful to be able to place all of my groceries trunk space with the third row up. The design of the Atlas is also a plus because it doesn’t look like it has so much room. The gas mileage is not great. But with prices low, I am able to fill the tank for around $27.00! I can’t wait until we can travel again and really enjoy all that this vehicle has to offer. It you are wondering, give it a test drive. You won’t be disappointed.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Base Value - Premium Underachiever

R.A., 09/28/2019
V6 SEL 4MOTION 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
11 of 21 people found this review helpful

CONS: Memory seat automatic recall opposite from driver needs. Electronic dashboard is non-intuitive and poorly organized Surround camera misses the mark in terms of auto-activation Voice activated functionality is amateurish at best Owner's Manual is completely useless, videos misleading Sharp edges on doors can be painful Mileage ratings are "optimistic" at best Car-Net app functionality lacking PROS: Great size/value for families Wonderful highway manners Convenient Adaptive Cruise Control Fabulous auto up/down window operations Incredible panoramic moonroof operation

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Ad
2020 Volkswagen Atlas S
Select Color: 

Very disappointed! Would not buy/ lease it again

ShlomNJ, 06/27/2019
V6 SE w/Technology 4MOTION 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
25 of 58 people found this review helpful

we leased this car in April and it had been for almost a month in service. Apparently, VW doesn't even provide a loaner car and leaves you to the mercy of the dealership (we didn't receive one). It is the least reliable car I ever witnessed. True, it has advanced features and is roomy inside, but the reliability (and VW service) doesn't justify even 1 star. It is a very heavy (and long) car, doesn't have a strong performance; Driver seat mechanism already squeaking. Generally, the car doesn't seem like it will stand time well. For a $45K car and the awful service you get from VW - do yourself a favor and go someplace else!

Report Abuse

Atlas shrugged

Brad Ganzer, 11/25/2019
V6 SE 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

What a blast to drive ... checks out positive in every area. I went from a GTI to the Atlas and what a difference but both have their value. I am happy with my purchase.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Loving this car!

Kay54, 03/01/2020
V6 SE w/Technology R-Line 4MOTION 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

We have a lifted (3 inches) 2019 Atlas with R-Vision, 4-motion, Technology, and light bar on the front bumper. This car is very roomy, holds a ton of cargo and gets a lot of attention! It accelerates quickly, handles snow well (a little difficult on unexpected ice the first time , but slowing to a reasonable speed corrected this), and we love the lane control and automatic slowing with cruise control use. It took a few times out to get used to the side mirrors showing when a car was in your blind spot and making sure not to confuse it with the turn signal lights, but we love this feature now. I say "We", but I think my husband has only put maybe 50 miles on it. ;) The dealership also gave us 7/125K, instead of the 6/72K warranty. We haven't needed any work of any kind and have had nothing go wrong other than having to repair a rock chip in the windshield. The only thing that could be better is the size of the gas tank (only 18.6) and better mileage, averaging 19.2 (but we live at almost 4,000 feet and it's 35 miles to the closest town; the return half of the trip is all uphill). Still, we have had two Suburbans and the best mileage with either was 14/17 and they were FWD, not AWD.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Atlas

Xxxxx, 01/08/2020
V6 SEL Premium 4MOTION 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
10 of 23 people found this review helpful

Please don’t buy this car you going to regret Check reviews before so many problems

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

No Reliability; Poor Customer Service

Jhall, 12/02/2019
V6 S 4MOTION 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
6 of 14 people found this review helpful

We bought a new 2019 Atlas in August. It needed a new catalytic converter at 1400 miles. It’s in the shop now (December) for the THIRD time with a check engine light. VW will text me, but then claim they don’t have my phone number to call me.

Report Abuse

Large 3-row SUV, but underwhelming interior

Tom D, 06/22/2019
V6 SE 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
12 of 30 people found this review helpful

I briefly considered the new for 2019 VW Atlas when purchasing a 3-row crossover/SUV this spring. Early reviews weren't very strong and given that it's an all new build I didn't want to risk being a guinea pig in testing this new vehicle. Had the opportunity recently to rent one for a week in the SE trim and have to say I wasn't overly impressed. The V6 is has plenty of vigor and pulls strongly through the gears but you'll pay for it at the pump. Brakes felt overly sensitive and grabbed unexpectedly with less pedal pressure than you would have thought necessary to get that result. The exterior styling is handsome and make no mistake; this is a very large vehicle. There is ample cargo space in the rear especially if you fold the 3rd row down and bountiful cabin storage up front. Maybe higher trim levels are more luxurious but the SE is a bit of a penalty box, gloomy all black surfaces, lots of cheap plastic and an instrument cluster that looks like it came from my VW Scirroco circa 1987. The infotainment system was bewildering and just changing the radio station was a challenge- I'm sure more time to familiarize with it would help. Overall the Atlas might suit large families on a budget who aren't fussy about upscale interiors or gas mileage.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Brake Squeal and Emergency Brake Issues

bp1b, 06/02/2019
V6 SE w/Technology 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 8A)
17 of 49 people found this review helpful

I would definitely NOT purchase this car again. I have about 9000 miles on my 2018 Atlas. About 1000 miles in, the brakes began squealing when backing out of the driveway. Dealer said it was due to cold weather. Then it was described as a “feature”. Metallic brakes that “clean themselves off”. Contacted VW America and only one solution was offered...”drive fast on a country road and slam on the brakes.” Unreal. Make sure you search for owner reviews online before purchasing.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page:
51050