Used 2012 Scion tC Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$5,900 - $10,995

Used tC for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great for the money!

reconmac, 11/10/2011
64 of 64 people found this review helpful

Bought this car for it's reliability and good looks, and it delivers all that I wanted and then some. Keyless entry/ignition is awesome and the shiftable 6-speed automatic livens things up. Great ipod integration and a decent sound system.

Report Abuse

Love my yellow tc!

urbandk8, 08/15/2013
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

We love our TC! It is fun to drive, easy on the eyes, and has all the safety features that we were looking for. I love that the backseat is large and that the passenger and driver seats move all the way to the dashboard for easy entrance and to and from the back seat. My husband loves to drive this car and also loves the fact that he is 6'9 (all legs) and fits comfortably!

Report Abuse

love my scion!

scionlover, 08/09/2012
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

Ive owned a 2006 release series 2.0 and recently decided to upgrade to the 2012 scion tc..and i LOVE it! i bought the base model with an manual transmission and i have been getting inbetween 31-33 IN TOWN. no exageration on that either. the new model has much more room, in the front and back and has a sleeker look. It has Plenty of horsepower for a car that only cost me $18500! great reliability and great design. i recently added foglights which i love and a K&N intake and it gives the engine a good bark! long story short, couldnt be more happy with my purchase and i recommend this car to everyone!

Report Abuse

scion2012

scion12, 08/08/2012
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Traded 2003 RSX Acura. Have had it since Sep. 2012, have driven it 9000 miles. Best bang for the buck considering the 180hp smooth reving engine. incredible value: panoramic sunroof, 300 watts blue tooth pioneer, 18in alloys, flat bottom thick steering, six speed auto...Very comfortable, roomy inside, leg room is incredible in the back, cargo room huge, comfortable ride for a coupe, handling is prdictable and sharp. huge brake calibers. This car is begging to be driven cross country. looks expensive, you donn't see many on the roads. Yes the interior is plasticy as others have mentioned, but it's only $20k.

Report Abuse

Good First Car but Wish I Had Taken a Different Route

bigzman95, 08/15/2014
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

I have had this car since the day it hit the lot back in September of 2011. While there are a lot of things I love about my car, there are also things that I don't. Overall it's a pretty good car but I wish I had done more research before buying it. For instance, by the time I added some options onto my car, the purchase price was well into the upper $20k range. For that amount of money I honestly wish I had went with something like the Subaru WRX, which is faster, AWD and has four doors. Scion makes lots of attractive points to buyers, but honestly the cars are a bit overpriced in my opinion. If you want a car for a new driver I'd look at the Dodge Dart or Subaru Impreza.

Report Abuse

Love my tC!

smccarty17, 06/25/2012
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I work at a Toyota/Scion dealership and after a few months, I purchased my tC. I absolutely love it! It's fun to drive, great stereo, comfortable interior, love the moonroof. I'm getting an average of around 30 mpg in my manual transmission tC. I had a civic si before and the tC is a lot more comfortable and just all around feels better. I love that it has 8 air bags and is an IIHS top safety pick. I'm definitely happy with my car.

Report Abuse

Super TC

scaleman2, 07/01/2012
9 of 20 people found this review helpful

This is one of the most fun cars I have ever driven. I have owned BMW Infiniti and a host of others and the TC holds up to the more expensive brands. I have had this car over a month and it is excellent. Gas mileage so far is 27 mpg which is excellent. It is superb in handling, acceleration and overall performance. My friends cannot believe the quality of this car for a small price, it looks more expensive than it is. People don't believe me when I tell them the price. Scion has a winner with this car.

Report Abuse

Young mans perfect car

Ramesses Magee, 01/09/2018
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is great. Its really spacious and has plenty of cargo space for a 2 door. For the sporty look it is inexpensive but quality. Its not as gas effecient as i would have thought unless you really watch your throttle control but delivers on the 23 city, 30 highway MPG. Highly recommended for young guys who spend lots of time in their vehicle like myself 👍.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2012 tC is my Baby Boy, Hoss!

QueenGhidorah, 11/14/2019
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 4cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I'm a 25 year old girl& a new mom I am in LOVE my 2012 Scion tC! His name is Hoss ❤️ I got him @30k miles &I'm the 2nd owner. We've been through A LOT! Best car for my $$ for sure! Long story short; I've driven cross country, up&down mountains, through snow&ice, Hot&cold weather, Slept in it, Ran it out of gas, Drove 130mph in an emergency, Ran over a boulder in it, Drove on the rim for 30miles, and even wrecked it..this car saved my life & after 130k miles, he is still going strong! I get decent gas, average @25mpg with a lead foot Lol I typically drive a little fast&hard... When I drive nice I get better gas. I have been on MANY 20hrs+ road trips, blasting that thumping stereo system all the way! This car is so comfy with a surprisingly spacious interior&trunk, I actually have never even had to get hotels! I can sleep in the front seat or even put down the back seats and make a bed in the trunk and since the whole top of the car is glass, it's almost like sleeping under the stars Lol. 130k miles on it& all I've had to do, besides obvious basics(oil, tires, brakes) Is change the battery! I've yet to have to do any 'real' mechanical repairs. But am I scared to work on it? NOPE! It's set up in a convenient way where you can easily work on/modify almost anything on your own! But most of us already know Toyota is pretty good about engine bay access😉 Also..super fun to drive!! Of course it's not a Subaru STI or something but Honestly, it's still pretty quick! Especially from a complete stop, I've had a lot of fun with people at stoplights...& a couple speeding tickets too Lol. It has excellent steering and can turn on a dime. I love how the steering wheel looks but FYI you will never be able to find a steering wheel cover without ordering it online. Now that I'm a mom, everyone told me I would hate my 2door....well I STILL LOVE IT! There is plenty of room in the back +the front seat leans all the way back so even if you have a baby, still super easy. I actually think it's faster to lean back &get a baby in a 2door vs a 4door &having to get in&out to put your kid in. Last thing, during my wreck, This car kept me SAFE. I was by myself and slid off the road(completely my fault for speeding on the poring rain) into a cement barrier@55mph on the passenger side...I was able to put a tire on it and drive home! NO INJURY. Had to get new rims&the dents fixed but Hoss is still going strong and I will do everything I can to keep him that way!❤️

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Worst car ive ever driven

Rob Foster, 03/05/2019
Release Series 7.0 2dr Hatchback (2.5L 4cyl 6M)
0 of 6 people found this review helpful

This car was constantly breaking down and always had a new issue. I am so happy I don't have this car anymore and was able to get rid of it before I got hurt because of it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great value for a fun car!

Brad Luterbach, 06/23/2019
Release Series 7.0 2dr Hatchback (2.5L 4cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Love the interior and exterior. Got a 2012 used with 100,000 miles on it for under 8k out the door. This is the first car that the dash wraps slightly toward the driver for easier radio and climate controls. They call it cockpit seating and I love it. Purchased from a Toyota dealership and had been detailed plus new tires, fluid check, oil change and full safety inspection. Standard dual sunroof and long hatch gives the car tons of natural light and a roomy feel. So far so good for this TC owner.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050