Used 2010 Nissan Xterra Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$10,500 - $15,998

Used Xterra for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Solid SUV...worth a look

Anonymous, 12/08/2010
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

The Xterra is a true off-road capable SUV. We have about 6k miles on ours and it's been great so far. We bought the Xterra because we wanted a true 4wd that could eventually take the place of my aging Toyota Tacoma. We drove a lot of vehicles before deciding on the Xterra. No regrets. Pros- It's fun to drive and well appointed. The V6 is very powerful. Good size, not too big or too small. Cons- It's not fuel efficient. My guess is that 20 mpg is the best you can expect on the hwy, 15 in the city. Interior plastics scratch easily which is a little annoying.

Report Abuse

Solid Versatile Truck for a Good Price

dallas70, 10/01/2014
S 4dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 5A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

Owned for over 4 years and 52000 miles before trading in last year. Rock solid performance and reliability... I wish I had kept it. I'd say it provides more capability and livability for the price than just about any other 4x4 SUV. I paid $23,800 after rebates and I think the only area of the Xterra that reflects the bargain price is some of the interior parts (seat material, hard plastics, cargo area plastic not as tough as I'd like). We made many family trips and commutes with this SUV in all conditions and the only thing I would have done differently is go for the nicer PRO4X model.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Happy with My Xterra

xterras, 11/09/2010
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Wanted an SUV that's powerful, sturdy with reasonable off road capacities. Picked X due to its fair pricing, powerful engine(VQ), solid BoF construction, great outward visibility & the cute look. Have put 5K miles on it so far, incl. a 2500 mile trip in 1 week. Really impressed with the acceleration. Great handling. Tight turn radius. Perfect size for a single guy. I prefer firm seats and find X's very comfortable. Like the high seating position, feel confident. High ground clearance, no need for ramps when changing oil. I felt far less tired driving the X for a full day, than diving a civic (my previous car). Manual is not clear about gas octane, so I use #89 since the engine is VQ.

Report Abuse

Good Buy

ficklest, 09/25/2011
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I purchased the Xterra because I wanted the, up-high road view, safety and comfort of an SUV, but didn't want to spend over $30K. Also, the style of the X has always turned my head; I got the gun metal gray - great looking vehicle. So, I got exactly what I wanted. Nothing fancy about the X, but I have what I need, but no toys. Toys are nice. I miss them, but don't need them. I commute 104 miles per day and find the X to be a comfortable ride - not rough as so many have said. I'm getting 21 MPG on a stop-and-go highway ride - much better than I expected. With gas prices on the rise, I will most likely go back to a small, gas efficient vehicle next purchase, but I am enjoying the X.

Report Abuse

Great Value on and Off Road

xterraoffroad, 09/27/2013
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

I went from a Frontier to upgrading to the Xterra Off Road and WOW. This vehicle is an incredible performer on and off road. It's filled with everything you need like hill-descent assist, locking diffs, 4X4, lots of space and cargo hold, and nothing you don't. The seats fold completely flat, the roof rack has plenty of room for the kayaks, and the awesome 4.0 V6 has more than enough power to tow my 26 ft sailboat. I can't say enough about how smooth this truck rides and how well it conquers terrain off road. Surprisingly, I have been averaging 20mpg. I thought I would have done much worse, but it just makes this rig that much sweeter. Nissan's 4.0L is indestructible. Highly recommend!

Report Abuse

Love it

sockeye, 10/04/2010
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle wanting to have a multipurpose vehicle that could also pull a boat. I looked at the CRV, ford escape, Rav4, 4runner. The first 3 really couldn't do the job of pulling a boat and are really more of a car dressed as an SUV. The 4 runner is nice, but too big to also have in the city and also expensive. So far the Xterra has been perfect. I have taken it on and off road many times and it handles great. Definitely more of a truck ride, but on any half decent road it feels just like any other modern vehicle.

Report Abuse

Great Vehicle

ShadowFox, 11/06/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is amazing. Since I purchased the Off Road version, I figured I was going to compromise ride quality and overall comfort. Nothing could be further from the truth. The ride quality is surprisingly comfortable, the seats sit well, and the Rockford Fosgate system kicks. The utility features of the vehicle are some of the best in the market. I've even done a little of my own testing off road. This thing is amazing in the dirt and rocks. The 4LO and locking rear differential are easy to use and get you out of just about anything. Engine performance is impressive for an SUV. The V6 is plenty powerful, quiet and buttery smooth. I can't say enough good things about this vehicle.

Report Abuse

Love My Xterra

BStanky, 12/07/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I had my eye on the Xterra after buying an Altima for my wife last year. This year I traded in my old Explorer and after considering the smaller Escape, I drove over to the Nissan dealership and am glad I did. I love this vehicle. The performance from the 4.0L 6cyl engine is superb. The ride is smooth thanks to the 17" wheels and tires, comfortable beyond belief. I wish fuel economy was better, but I am getting 20 MPGs. As the Edmund's model review notes, the brakes take a little getting use to as they are a bit mushy. I love the Rockford/Fosgate audio system with XM, 6CD disk, 9 speakers and blue tooth. This is a very well built vehicle, no rattles or squeaks, and a pure joy to drive.

Report Abuse

2010 xterra

hondaf1, 04/03/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I really dont know what everyone is talking about. This truck does not have a rough ride quality. Trans shifts smoothly and overall first impressions are great

Report Abuse

I was wrong

Josh, 05/25/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I wrote a poor review on my new off road X back in December. I had a couple of rattles but Nissan fixed them. The rattles in the dash are only when it was cold and the dealer came through. The more I drive my X the more I love it. The power of the v6 is great and you really get use to the stiff ride. It actually handles great for a truck and very sporty. Overall a great vehicle. I have to admit me first impressions were way off. I really enjoy my x and it was good choice.

Report Abuse

Great driving SUV

Clobber, 06/13/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Replaced a 97 4Runner with a 2010 Xterra. Had my doubts initially, but after 3 months I am sold! I'm 6'5" and fit comfortably. Lots of cargo room. Great visibility, and really responsive steering. More fun to drive than the 4Runner was. At 178" it is easy to park and maneuver in tight surroundings. Smooth transmission, smooth ride, and quieter than I was expecting. Love the fact that the rear seats fold flat. No regrets.

Report Abuse

Paved or not, this beats them all!

sailorman, 08/01/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We love our new Xterra. We have a Ford Escape and were going to get another one but after one drive in the Xterra we couldn't go back. I still grin when I have to load cargo into the massive trunk or crawl over rocks effortlessly. The huge windows all around offer a wonderful view and safer lane-changing. I spend the week commuting and this bulky SUV is surprisingly comfortable. On the weekends, it dominates off-road and I've never doubted if it could take me where I want to go. This is a great all-around vehicle for me and my growing family.

Report Abuse

Great durability - light on design

Ensign, 06/06/2010
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have been buying Nissans since 1981 mostly for their engines. Generally they tend to be superior on durability but light on comfort and convenience. My Xterra is the first SUV I have owned. I bought the X model because I wanted a manual transmission but did not want to buy the more expensive off road. As usual the engine and transmission are excellent but poor design on comfort and convenience. I could not believe there is no side mirror control and no map light. No mirror or light in the visor. The storage compartments are poorly designed. These little things are not expensive but are very much appreciated by consumers. Nissan designers - get a clue!

Report Abuse

Back to the X

X247, 12/01/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I had a 2003 xterra and after 2 years I trade for a Pathfinder, The X was underpowered. Now I'm back to the X, its an improvement to the older model and rides just as good the Pathfinder. For the money is a great SUV, LOADED which is nice. I went for an off road but the SE is what I found. I'm keeping it till it dies!

Report Abuse

Great off road vehicle

jp, 12/09/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great SUV. This Suv can handle any conditions. I love driving in the snow and the stability control is great. The ride is great in town and off road. It's a bit bumpy on the highway but accelerates great when passing. The arm rests are very poorly placed and you really have no where to put your arms. My gas mileage is horrible but the dealer says the engine is still breaking in. If anyone else has an off road, please tell me it actually gets 15mpg when it breaks in? I am getting like 13mpg city/highway right now. I am not sure if they tested the off road package accurately with the bigger tires? I wish they would do away with the plastic cargo area. It scratches and is worthless.

Report Abuse

Not a daily driver

bill, 01/01/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

When I purchased my off road x. I drove it around town and very little highway. Big mistake. It is not a highway or road trip vehicle. The stiff suspension is great in town and off road but you pay a price for a rough travel car. It's like riding a jack hammer. Like a jeep wrangler, it does poorly on the highway and at high speeds on the snow, it slips very easy! Not the best ski trip vehicle but great in town and off road.

Report Abuse

A nice truck based SUV

Hoss, 01/28/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I did a lot of research before buying the Xterra, I looked a the FJ , the Wrangler, as well as some trucks. The X has the perfect blend of creature comforts and ruggedness. I traded an Audi for the X, and I do miss some of the luxury, but the X makes up for it in other ways. The gas mileage is OK, I get 13-15 in town, and 19-20 on the freeway. The seats are leather in the SE, but they are low grade leather and not heated. The stereo sound good, better than the Bose unit in my old Audi. Its very easy to see out of, and my kids think its great to sit up high. Im glad I bought the X, The Portable GPS is great, better than built in units.

Report Abuse

A Four-Wheeled Swiss Army Knife

Paul, 03/05/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is a great old-school SUV blending a sophisticated and smooth engine and transmission with an overbuilt frame (based on the frame used on the mammoth Nissan Titan pickup)and strong and straightforward suspension. Last week, my area was struck with a blizzard that left over 12" of snow on the ground, and the Xterra was virtually unstoppable. The ride is pretty firm, so drive before you buy, but if you want a solid, truly versatile all-weather vehicle large enough to handle 4 passengers and cargo, yet small enough to maneuver and park in an urban environment, look no further.

Report Abuse

Very satisfied so far

Subadude, 04/24/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Had my SE for about a month now. My likes definitely outweigh my dislikes. Very powerful engine, getting good fuel economy 18 - 20 overall, but driving it easy in the break in period. Seats seem very comfortable, good support, wish they were heated. RF Sound system is awesome for stock. Surprisingly quiet even on rough pavement, but it does have a firm, choppy ride. It's not a car though, so I can live with that. Great no-nonsense SUV that will handle my towing chores, and get 5 skiers or backpackers where they need to go with all their stuff. Got one drive in the snow, and had no trouble blasting through a foot and a half of light powder.

Report Abuse

Nice simple truck

Tyler, 05/20/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We have had the Xterra for 6 months now, and it has been great. It has great power for an SUV, and is pretty roomy inside for my family of 4. I get around 16 mpg in town, and around 20 on the freeway. I am 6'3" and have plenty of leg room. While it is plenty quiet on the pavement, when you get on a dirt or gravel road, the it resonates and is quite loud. I have the tow package, and have towed a small trailer once, it did great.

Report Abuse

'06 Wrangler Rubicon Replacement

Nimrod, 05/27/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After Telluride last year and Moab this year I decided it was either Big $$ to upgrade the Rubicon or stop and go in another direction. Here in Northern NM mountains, the Xterra has very capable attributes. I've had it on one of the roughest off-roads in the area with no problemes at all. The ground clearance is better than a stock '06 Rubicon and the stock tires are taller. The extra wheel base gives the Xterra an edge over the Rubicon for comfort. Cargo space is a huge winner and the power sealed the deal. The AT takes some getting use to in 4WD as I now drive with the brake rather than the gas/clutch. I'm 6'4" and the fit is perfect. Family's 9th Nissan w/wife's current '09 Pathfinder

Report Abuse

My bad a** xterra

jjabb, 06/06/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Loving my xterra out here in the Arizona desert. It is the SUV you want. Nice clearance and great power to get you through any terrain.

Report Abuse

Love to drive it!

x-terra girl x 2, 06/27/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I replaced my 2000 x-terra (213,000 miles) with a 2010 x-terra off road. Loved my old buddy very much. I went from Manual to Automatic, which was good in some instances; tho I miss shifting. I travel in snow (sometimes up to the grill-with good tires) and travel off-road all year long and could not ask for a better SUV. "Sam" was a great truck, and now "SamSon" (yes I name my cars) will hopefully be with me 10 - 12 years. I highly recommend the X-Terra line.

Report Abuse

From Old to New

hirosfca, 07/30/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Upgraded from my 2002 Xterra 4x2 to the 4x4 Off Road package. I actually use this vehicle for the road trips, on and off road. Sometimes, I would venture onto a path or pseudo-road that turned off road and regret that I only had a 4x2 so this new addition of the total off road capability is very nice. Now I wont be worried about getting stuck or stopping our adventure short due to the vehicle's off road capability. I love the sparse easy to clean interior and the tough chunky looks. I have the 100,000 mile bumper to bumper warranty and that is a great piece of mind to know that Nissan will back up the reliability of the vehicles they make.

Report Abuse

Xterra nightmare

Lisa Gardner, 06/21/2017
X 4dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Have already had to replace the ABS system and it's only 7-8 year old car with 80000 miles m. Also has been stalling and they can't figure out the problem and a lot of break noise and loud sounds when over bumps, not a smooth ride. Very unhappy with the Xterra.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Xterra that I owned

DJ Wilson, 06/07/2018
S 4dr SUV (4.0L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased it 15 months ago and it’s been a really good vehicle. It wasn’t what I wanted at the time but it performed perfectly and drove well! Didn’t have to do much to it to keep it running perfectly. If you buy one watch the value on them it drops quite quickly and the dealerships know this and try to low ball you

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

avoid nissan!

bob508, 10/29/2012
8 of 29 people found this review helpful

i'm a older woman with a disability, yet they sold me this lemon without disclosing it has a major defect. the cooling line from the transmission into the radiator ruptures and fills the trans with water. did not happen yet, but nissan acted incredulous when asked to remedy the defect. the last straw was when the dealer went to fix a flat on the xterra, and let me drive it for several days with 70 pounds of air in the tire. the dealer and nissan have not only caused a financial hardship for me, now they've risked life and limb as they continue to ignore my complaint.

Report Abuse

rattles aready ?

Josh, 12/07/2009
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I traded my 08 pathfinder in for a brand new xterra off road. I was hoping to get away from the rattles and thought it would be good to go for a off road vehicle that I thought would hold up. I have only had my xterra for a month and it is rattling bad in door panels and the dash. I hope my warranty will cover this? Not too impressed for a new vehicle to rattle like this. I had a 2000 pathfinder that rattles less. Hope they can fix it but if not it will be my last Nissan purchase for sure.

Report Abuse

Ugly car

Kodak black, 03/29/2017
S 4dr SUV (4.0L 6cyl 5A)
0 of 25 people found this review helpful

My parents just suprised me with this car and I have a couple of complaints. It does not have an outlet where you can plug in your phone to play music. The car just looks really weird. I'm a guy and I've only seen girls drive this car which is kind of annoying. People always tell me that I drive a chick car.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Very Nice SUV for the Money

Mark, 11/03/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2010 Xterra S 4X4. The X is a ruggedly built vehicle with plenty of power. The seats are very comfortable and the X drives like a truck - no luxury ride here!!! The downsides to the X are mileage and you will do well to get 19 MPG. I'm not worry about the resale, but I plan to keep it until it dies and I only have 500 miles on it now. Great stopping power and acceleration, along with decent gas mileage for the size of the car. it drives so smoothly. It is good on gas and for the price (compared to other SUV's in the same category) you just can’t go wrong with it! I would recommend that anyone buy this car as I couldn't have picked

Report Abuse

It was just a rental

Eric, 11/12/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

While on business in Fort Lauderdale, the rental company gave me a 2010 Xterra because they we're out of Town Cars. I LOVE driving it. I have a Mercury Mountaineer back home and am considering trading it for an Xterra. Its high up (which helps in Miami traffic) and sporty and very comfortable. I would recommend it to any executive traveling. Definitely not your typical "soccer mom car".

Report Abuse

Best Ride Yet From Nissan

JTCKC, 11/13/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my second Nissan Xterra. I went in to the dealership for my regular maintenance and decided to trade up. Leather, GPS, xm radio, 4.0 v6 17" wheels with rims. Man this is a fantastic upgrade. I loved my 2007 Xterra, but they bought it for more than I owed and got me in a new one for a better payment. I'll never drive anything else. I love everything about it. You'd be crazy to pass one up. I never had 1 issue with my 2007 and this one outshines the 2007 by far. I look forward to driving this for a long time to come!!

Report Abuse

Great SUV for the money!!

Rico, 11/29/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my first new Nissan and my first SUV. I mainly brought this Xterra because it fit my active lifestyle. I do a lot of mountain biking and camping and the Xterra has a lot of factory installed equipment that helps me move my gear along without any problems. The Xterra is a guy SUV it is clean and simple and has the right amount of options inside and out. If you are looking for great SUV with great reliability and safety features check out the Xterra.

Report Abuse

Most fun vehicle I ever purchased

fuzzman, 12/10/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

While I have only had this vehicle 1 wk. It by far is most fun to own out of the dzns of cars/truck I have had. We just had a big snowstorm come thru town and this rig drove thru it like nothing! Plenty of power & lots of style. My only disappointment is the cheap sound system that I will have to upgrade! Other than that the best way to sum it up is great fun!

Report Abuse

I got a good deal on a 2010 OFF ROAD

Hardy, 12/20/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A week or so back I feel that I got a good deal on a OFF ROAD package. I got them down to $23,600. Out the door was about 27,700. I'm 6'4 and I find the Xterra comfortable. I have not had the chance to take it off road yet but cant wait to. One of the selling points was the rear locking diffand the offroad lights. Its nice to see that comes stock for the offroad package. Also my wife loves the Bluetooth, portable Garmin navigation system and the Rockford Fosgate stereo. Buy one if you can find one at a good price

Report Abuse

Great SUV with minor issues

towens, 01/24/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Traded in an 08 Toyota Rav4 and we only had it for 2 days but my wife and I are very pleased with it. The leather, xm radio, ride, performance and handling are great. The optional navigation is cool and hides easily. There is a few items that we'll have to get used to such as no automatic headlights, accessories don't automatically shut off when you turn the vehicle off, unusual placement of the tire jack. We also noticed that the trip computer is faded and will need to be returned for a replacement.

Report Abuse

A great all weather vehicla

ChrisR, 04/02/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My previous car was an 07 Saturn Vue. I looked at Toyota,Honda & Kia before going for the XTERRA. I am so pleased that I did. It is excellent for the money. first Nissan I have ever owned. A day or so after I purchased it we had the worst snow in NJ for many years followed by heavy rain storm and high winds. The X performed excellently in all conditions. It has an excellent heater. Very good visibility all around. Steering a little heavy when maneuvering in 4WD but not an issue really. It provides and excellent feeling of security in bad weather conditions.

Report Abuse

A traditional truck based SUV

gman, 04/19/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Had this traditional truck based SUV for the past 2.5 months and have been impressed by its all weather and cargo hauling capabilities. Two snow storms in February and two rain storms in March provided a great opportunity to test the 4WD system and ground clearance. 1.5 feet of snow was not a problem. Test drove Ford Explorer, Toyota 4Runner and FJ Cruiser before buying the Xterra on price and amenities. Good size vehicle for maneuvering in urban streets and traffic. Gas mileage is comparable to other truck based SUV's in class.

Report Abuse

Striking vehicle

WranglerDriver, 05/09/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Driven my Terra for several months now. Great acceleration and fairly smooth compared to my Durango and of course, Jeep Wrangler. Have not taken it off-road but great on heavy snow with 4x4 enabled. It is a truck so not as smooth as a crossover, but I prefer the toughness of the build and the Off-road version gives extra protection underneath and better tires.

Report Abuse

Tough

cbw, 05/14/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

If you want to increase your mileage, toss in a K&N filter. I am getting 19 in town with the air on. I can't complain too much since I did upgrade from a car. Sure you are going to burn a little gas, but it's worth it for a compact SUV with a fully boxed frame. The ride is quiet even @ 80,90, 100, it's a rock.

Report Abuse

My Xterra

cbw, 05/15/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was looking around for a new truck. I was waiting on the new F-150, but Ford make them so big now, it wouldn't fit in the garage. So, I went the SUV route. The Xterra is one of the few built on a fully boxed truck frame for better strength. Sure it may use a little more gas than the others but it's a rock and it will run when you need it. I only have 800 miles on it and so far very impressed. I just hope it will get better when it's broken in. I tossed in a K&N panel filter and I am getting 19 in town. For those who don't know, Nissan rates it @ 15 in town.

Report Abuse

Love My Little Beast!

Outlaw Blondie, 07/14/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have always been a truck/lrg.SUV person and planned on buying another GMC, but they seem to make all these new Make/Models so ridiculously bulky that I debated for 2 years. I looked at every truck and SUV, it was like Goldilocks and The 3 Bears. This one is to small, this one is to big, this one is too sissy, this one is too boring, then finally Ah this one feels just right. I went shopping with my son who bought an Xterra. Within a week I loved it so much I bought one, and within a week after that my brother-in-law loved ours so much he bought one. Now we are planning some kewl family Off-roading trips. The SE is fun and sporty, yet classy enough for a night out on the town. I Love it!

Report Abuse

Bouncing Beatty

Johnny, 03/18/2019
S 4dr SUV 4WD (4.0L 6cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Gas mileage is greedy but the power makes up for it. Beatty can climb a pretty steep hill and not get hung up like Toyota’s. Highway she is smooth and quite. She turns on a dime and brakes hard when needed.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2010 Xterra X 5A with 122K miles

Dan, 09/07/2020
X 4dr SUV (4.0L 6cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

So far so good. Hasn't left me stranded on the road yet. Did the radiator bypass when I bought the car in 2015 with about 53K miles just in case. Had to replace the cam and crankshaft sensors at around 95K miles. Others than that just regular maintenance - fluids, filters, tires and brake pads change. Average around 19.3 mpg. Hope to keep this car til 250K miles.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050