Used 2010 Lexus RX 450h Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$13,800 - $15,995

Used RX 450h for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Very pleased with this car after nearly 8 years!

Happy Lexus Owner, 04/08/2018
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
26 of 26 people found this review helpful

We bought our RX450h new and have driven it daily since. It is not a car for the performance oriented driver. It is a room, comfortable cruiser that gets impressive gasoline mileage in town. On the highway it is smooth and quiet. The hybrid drive has worked great, and we've had no problems with the system. After 70K miles, I can report only one significant mechanical problem, which could very well have been catastrophic. An oil hose burst and the car leaked oil all over our garage a driveway. Fortunately, I discovered it in time before the car was driven a significant distance. The local Lexus dealer replaced it for free. This was not an isolated incident with the model... there are quite a few similar cases posted on internet forums. Why the Lexus dealer didn't recall and replace it earlier is a mystery. If you own this car or buy one used, make sure your mechanic checks all of the oil hoses! Otherwise, it's a great (if boring) car. We will pass it down to our teenage daughter soon.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Loving the Lexus

S Hodgson, 10/01/2015
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
38 of 39 people found this review helpful

I've been driving my RX 450H for around 7-8 years and love it. I spend a tremendous amount of time driving for work and wanted something nice/comfortable. We purchased the extra maintenance plan and at nearly 200,000 miles, so far I've done nothing but the scheduled oil/maintenance, tires and a battery. More importantly, I love driving it. I concur that milage is contingent upon driving style. I average 26 mpg even hitting 80mph with highway driving, by avoiding quick acceleration and taking my foot off the accelerator when I know I'm braking soon. My only frustration is the USB port location is inconvenient which they've changed in newer models. I leave the connector plugged in so rarely have to access it the port. My Lexus dealership couldn't be more accommodating during maintenance, with a loaner if reserved beforehand, shuttles to the mall across the street if desired, and a nice set up at the dealership where I can work or watch TV in designated lounges. (Johnson Lexus, Raleigh NC) I highly recommend this car and wouldn't hesitate to buy another lexus after this experience.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love it.

LuckyMe, 11/02/2016
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
38 of 39 people found this review helpful

The great thing about this SUV is that the body changes so little each year that the car seems like new, at about a third of the price of a new one. I don't like the big new grilles Lexus has been making anyway, I think they cheapen the look. I prefer the more refined grille of the 2010. Despite that mine had somewhat high mileage, it was extremely well maintained by the previous owner and seems like new. I have had no problems with it thus far except I occasionally get a little carriage squeaking on overpasses for some reason, but not on regular paved road. However, otherwise, the ride is as smooth and quiet as silk. My favorite things about this car are the cushy interior and the high ride so that you can practically walk in and out of the car. No having to bend way down to get into the car. The quality of the interior is great, soft leather, nice wood on steering wheel and other locations. The only things that are cons for me are that the charger outlet and usbs are not in a good place. You have to remove a storage bucket in the front center console to get to them. It would be more convenient to have them in the dashboard area. However I guess it allows you to store things that are being charged or played out of sight. Heated seats are very nice. I like the auto lights and being able to talk on the phone handsfree via bluetooth connected phone. Mine is silver (tungsten pearl, to be precise; it is a little different than silver, I've noticed) with black interior and some light gray around the window area. I love it. Sometimes after I get out of it and walk away, I look back at it just to admire it. I am getting good mileage, averaging about 29 mpg thus far, and that's on 87 or 89. By all means, buy the luxe car a few years later at a fraction of the price!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Surprised at low resale

Steph G, 05/25/2016
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
31 of 32 people found this review helpful

We have taken very good care of our 2010 Lexus RX450H the past 3 years (second owner). Low miles, no accidents, garaged....ect. We have been looking at the value of our 450H on Edmunds and Kellys.....shock that we are already under loan value. And we put down several thousand at purchase to cover the gap. Very disappointed. And this Hybrid never met it's promised mpg's either.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2010 rx 450h hybrid

cosgrove6345, 06/02/2012
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
26 of 28 people found this review helpful

I bought this car after careful review from all the usual sources. I am very pleased with my new red car. Comfort package and all the bells and whistles. I studied the reviews and surmised that the way you drive the car dictates the mileage you will get. So no quick starts and using the cruise control when ever possible and averaging 28 mpgs! I live 6 miles from work and drive to mountain bike on the weekends and am getting over 400 miles per tank. You really have to take it easy and enjoy the car to get this but it is achievable .Love the complete voice activation for everything. Just read the manual and you are on your way. Very comfortable and a joy to drive.

Report Abuse

Superb car for the past 6 years

chaise, 12/27/2018
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I purchased in 2012 on an early lease turn-in.Overall,it has been an excellent vehicle for the past 60k miles. Handling, low noise/vibration, and very stout safety features are its hallmarks. A few small issues: acceleration could be snappier(tho I cannot quibble with the 31net mpg tradeoff) from this AWD premium pkg. model; radio comes on "spontaneously"sometimes on a bumpy road; nav system database was outdated from the time of purchase & despite paying dealer $400 for an upgrade, it still cannot find common locations ; cumbersome mouse/menu; ergonomically poor design of center console. Memphis area dealers charge alot for routine stuff like a $400 oil change.Starter battery was replaced this year(~$200). I am hoping that future resale will reflect the quality & excellent reliability. *Make sure you avoid buying any Lexus product with unrepaired Takata shrapnel in its airbags!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love this car!

miss_mija, 06/02/2015
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
24 of 26 people found this review helpful

Overall great car. We were looking for a luxury family car with a quiet cabin and this vehicle suits our needs. The ride in this car if very comfortable and the cabin is quiet. It's a smaller SUV which suits me and my family fine. I only have one small child and found it easier and more practical to install the car seat behind the passenger side. Putting a car seat in the middle limits the space for another passenger. Also love that the vehicle if relatively low maintenance.

Report Abuse

Lexus RX 450 H

fyr1, 12/28/2013
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

Without a doubt the finest car I have ever owned. After 80,000 miles the car has only had oil changes tires and brakes 3000 miles ago. Car has averaged 25.5 mpg to date. Less than what is stated but not uncommon. I live in a very hilly area. The cost of the hybrid over the RX 350 has been met and I am now reaping the reward of buying this car rather than the non hybrid model which gets 30 % less mpg. I am kind of bummed at the residual value which is less than half of what the car cost. this car will cruise to 250,000 miles easy with the proper maintenance. While this is a great car I would like to see it a diesel RX suv

Report Abuse

Just an owner for over a month, but what a car!

Dorkyman, 11/28/2016
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

Bought a 2010 RX450h from the Portland, Oregon Lexus dealer a month ago. We've taken it on several 4-hour trips and I've driven it every day on suburban roads with some freeway. Overall about 26mpg regular or premium, so we'll stick to regular gas in the future. I've noticed that I can nurse the mpg up to perhaps 28mpg by babying my acceleration and braking, but I prefer to drive in my normal fashion; anyway, gas is cheap and saving gas money wasn't the motivator. Pros: beautiful and luxurious. Surprisingly economical. Like a gorgeous woman who still loves tacos and beer. Minuses: Has middle-grade stereo, boomy bass at about 100Hz, (I'm an audio engineer, this really bugs me but what the heck), unknown future battery replacement cost (but other Prius hybrids have lasted for 200k+ miles, plus it's a Toyota/Lexus). UPDATE December 2016: Now that it's cold outside, it takes ~10 minutes before the engine's toasty warm, and meanwhile the fuel economy is lousy. So if my trips are just 10 minutes every time, I get more like 22mpg. I would assume the EPA tests are done with a fully-warmed-up engine, which is why there is such a large discrepancy.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

It's everything you want in a luxury car

new450, 08/12/2009
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

The car has everything I was looking for -- the SUV seating, the car like ride, the Lexus luxury, the MPG, and a high tech toy. This is my first hybrid and the transition is indictable. Other than watching the screen, you can not tell when you are using gas or electric. It's amazing. This is a very high tech vehicle and you need to be prepared to study the manuals. It's hard to appreciate touching the car door and it opens, then having the seats conform to your driver position, and then touching the start button only to hear the silent sound of the A/C working. Oh yes, and your phone was also connected in the process. This is an amazing vehicle!

Report Abuse

Comfortable Ride

From Denver, 08/23/2010
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

This is my first SUV and I love being high up. I love the ride; quiet, smooth like glass, cushy seats. Mileage so far is a disappointment. I am averaging just under 25 mpg. The interior of the car, other than the fine leather seats, is also a disappointment. Too much plastic. Even the wood appears cheap. The gadget technology (phone, nav, audio, etc) is unsophisticated and lacks elegance. Placement of the dashboard and other interior gauges can be in hard to find places making it necessary to take your eyes off the road. The glove box is a joke. I expect more from a $50,000 plus luxury car. I am counting on Lexus' reputation for high reliability to make this a worthwhile purchase.

Report Abuse

Ipod disatifaction

Larry Gathings, 08/23/2010
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle Sept 2009. I very much enjoy the vehicle. The mileage is great. I don't like the connection ports. The usb ports are very hard to reach. The main problem I have is my ipod will not play. The ipod will play intermittently. I have addressed this problem to the dealership as well as Lexus. Neither have solved this problem .

Report Abuse

Scoop on Mileage

His and Hers, 05/12/2010
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

My wife and I both drive this car, and I wanted to let people know our experience about gas mileage. My wife drives the car just like she always has driven any vehicle. She routinely averages about 25 to 26 MPG. I have found that, if I deliberately drive to maximize mileage (no jackrabbit starts, stay at 70 on the interstate, take it easy in general, but nothing extreme) I can consistently average 29 or 30 MPG. I would stress that these are AVERAGE mileage. Often people (and car ads) talk about the highway mileage as though that is the mileage. The really strong suit of these hybrids is their combined mileage. An SUV that can average 30 MPG if driven calmly is pretty impressive to me!

Report Abuse

Love it!

NoDuplicates, 11/17/2009
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I went from a Lexus IS350 to the RX450H AWD. I was hung up on performance, but there is no comparison. Utility with MPG was my need for the long term. I got a lot more. The car drives like a dream. There is plenty of power for normal city and highway driving. However, don't expect to floor it at a light and whip ahead of the car on your left. It's not built for this but it can do it if you want to shoot the MPG to hell. On the highway, throw the trans left into manual and downshift to 4th gear for extra passing power. Comfort is king, fit and finish are perfect. Good ergonomics, handles well with 19" rims on curves. Instrumentation beautiful and relevant.

Report Abuse

1st Hybrid, previous Lexus owner

Jim M., 09/24/2009
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Had my previous '03 RX in for an oil change and drove the 2010 RX350. I went ahead and placed the 1st order with money and got the exact car I wanted on the 1st delivery. What a technological marvel !!! I truly don't believe there is 'any' competition in it's price class with this much performance, luxury, safety, features, and economy. I plan on keeping this car till the batteries fail, probably about 10 years.

Report Abuse

Lives up to high expectations

Dave, 10/30/2010
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

With 5,000 miles on the car now, I'm averaging about 28mpg. The lowest tank average occurred driving through the mountains on vacation with a loaded car at about 25 mpg and I have gotten around 30mpg on normal driving around town. I had very high expectations for this car when I chose to buy it and it has really beaten my expectations with pure comfort, exceptional ride quality and enough technical gadgetry to keep me occupied on long drives. It certainly is not a sports car, but for it's size, the handling is very good and the engine and CVT transmission is a perfect match. I also live in a very dark area and the adaptive headlights are bright and extremely helpful at night.

Report Abuse

Reprieve for AWD

NoDuplicates, 11/05/2009
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

I wrote the "Great Car but Performance Lacking" review on 10/3/09. This is an update based on new info. In the prior review the RX350 and RX450h were both FWD. I went back and "put-the-pedal-to- the-metal" on the AWD versions of both cars. Only when "Eco-Mode" was turned off (RX450h only), RX450h acceleration from standstill was nearly as good as the RX350 - a significant improvement. The RX450h engine does roar at first as it seems to lag in realizing you want to lead-foot it. On the highway, there is no difference. With Eco-mode on, you cannot get away with such rude behavior. This mode was probably on in my first review. Also, realize that with Eco-mode off, mpg will be less.

Report Abuse

Disappointed mpg

gored, 12/28/2009
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

I am very disappointed in our fuel economy. After 8500 miles we average 25.5 mpg. Suburban/rural Ohio mom running a 5 teen family. No special driving of any sort. Quite a bit different from the 29 combined mpg we were represented with. Not worth it.

Report Abuse

very snow worthy

Carla Berman, 02/10/2010
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle in the cash for clunkers program to replace a 5.9 L Jeep Grand Cherokee that was my vehicle to get to work in deep snow. Recently the Northeast got 24" followed by 20". I live in a rural area and was very pleased by the vehicles ability to easily navigate under adverse conditions. Of course in good weather it is a dream vehicle.

Report Abuse

Rx 450

Al, 08/07/2009
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

We bought the 450h awd w, nav, 19 rims and a few packages. Great decision. We drove it 2000 miles to Canada last week and got 31.5 mpg cruising with a full car of kids and gear. We have no complaints. Smooth and not able to tell when the motor transitions. Tested all gas and hybrid suvs and only one other came close: the highlander. This has more power, better mileage, and cvt. We like the style, comfort and handling. 3000 miles so far and no trouble.

Report Abuse

My first Lexus

Duiwee, 02/26/2010
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is my first Lexus and it will not be my last. The RX450h is not a performance machine, it more like a family car. It’s fun to drive, very conformable. I have driven the LS460 and this RX450h is more comfortable then the LS (IMO). The RX have a quite cabin in city driving, but on highway driving is also quite but it can be better. The interior feels a little cheap for a 50k luxury SUV. I would prefer Lexus would pay more attention to the quality of the interior. The exterior is superb (IMO). I know there are mix reviews out there about the exterior styling of this RX. To me I like it. If you are looking for a luxury crossover don't miss this RX. Comfortable, safe & Fun to drive

Report Abuse

A great second generation hybrid

reeveswilson, 02/27/2010
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought the Rx450h after leasing the Rx400h, buying it off lease and giving it to our son. While the Rx400h was great, the Rx450h is a great improvement with even better mileage. The size is perfect - larger than the 400h but still small enough to be nimble in town and larger enough to feel roomy on the road. We get 28mpg+ (about 1mpg better than the Rx400h). I love the improved comfort, the ventilated/heated seats, the technology plug ins; did I say it was great throughout the last 3 snowstorms that hit Washington, DC? The technology and interior design are improvements over the the rx400h. I loved the RX400h I bought he RX450h when the 400h lease was over.

Report Abuse

Love my Lexus

Barbara Piccola, 03/20/2016
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is by far the best car I ever owned. Would highly recommend it. Bought another certified pre owned 2015 Lexus 450h. Couldn’t change the year in this survey below.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Bay Area Commuter

Michael, 09/13/2009
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Commute 160 miles a day and make on average 27.5 mpg hanging with traffic, 29 mpg set on 65, and and 33 mpg on the 101 from San Jose to L.A. north or south. 2 others in my car pool sleep to and from work, all pay $10 each so virtually no gas bill...one has had back surgery and claims seat is the most supportive comfortable seat he has ever sat in...fantastic sound with the model just below Mark Levinson...usually keep the radio off and marvel at how quiet and relaxing the drive is. Power when you need it...stays in electric only babying the gas up to 45 mpg...26mpg in and around Carmel, Gilroy, Tahoe.

Report Abuse

Mercedes to Lexus Leap

C Smith, 08/17/2009
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Purchased my 450H about 3 weeks ago. Drove ML320 for 200K and fully expected to get another one, but after test driving the 450H I was sold on the ergonomics, fit and finish, and the gas mileage (twice that of my ML). Navigation system, design and ease of use, comfortable, quiet. I loved my Mercedes and it was a great car; but the mileage, design and comfort of the Lexus won me over. Would not change a thing, except maybe the price. But, compared to similarly equipped cars of this quality, was not too painful. BTW, don't seem to lose a thing in the acceleration. Handling and cornering a little soft, but you still get a sense of the road. Lot of great little features I haven't even tried yet.

Report Abuse

Love my Lexus

John Harvey, 08/20/2009
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is my first Lexus. I bought the hybrid because I keep my cars at least 10 years. Gas prices probably will at least double in 10 years. Also the Rx 450h probably will have outstanding reliability like its predecessor. So far the car is fun to drive and it really encourages you to drive for mileage. In the first 900 miles we are averaging 27.5 miles per gallon in mostly highway driving.

Report Abuse

Miles of Smiles

Tom McLaughlin, 08/21/2009
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Previous to this purchase I have always been a Toyota man. So, this is my first Lexus. I have only owned it a couple of weeks and have 950 miles on it. However, knowing how competent Toyota is I am sure I will get years of good service on this Lexus. It's the most fun I have had driving a car since the first miles on my old '93 Land Cruiser which I traded in on the Clunker program. However, that Land Cruiser was anything but a clunker! My wife has an 08 Toyota Highlander which we also love. Still, the Lexus has it over the Highlander and I'm glad I bought it.

Report Abuse

Initial impression

Burt10, 10/27/2009
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Very impressed with the RX450h. Excellent comfort and fun to drive. Takes a while to get familiar with all the capability but basic operation is easy and intuitive. Very good dealer service.

Report Abuse

Very impressive vehicle

dorene, 12/24/2009
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

We are so impressed with our 450h. The handling is excellent; it glides and flies down the road. The steering is tight and the car responds with little effort. We took a trip with our two adult children and a 14 year old; the middle seat is a bit tight, but it handles full capacity comfortably for the most part. Tech features are fun and mainly intuitive. The mouse is fun and useful. Voice navigation has limits but reads well. We love the heated/cooled front seats and classy interior; love the interior lights. Don't like the park assist; it over reacts and is annoying; other downside is it tends to be a little underpowered at times, but nothing major. Overall a total winner!

Report Abuse

RX450h

W.Yao, 01/04/2010
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Quiet and smooth is the obvious feeling when driving. The exterior shape is awesome. Interior has a lot of space and is very luxury and comfortable. However the gas pedal is sluggish. My first tank of gas only gives me 24.6 mpg which I drove about 240 miles highway (60~70 mph) and about 160 miles city (25~45 mph). I was expecting at least 29 mpg in this drive pattern. Hopefully next tank of gas would give me better performance.

Report Abuse

Good 1st Impression

dalav8r, 04/08/2010
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've owned an AWD 450H for about 2 months now Overall I'm impressed. Well built, supple ride, handles well, and quiet...all things you'd expect from a Lexus. So far I'm averaging 27.5 MPG which is actually fairly close to the EPA estimate. The math doesn't pay for the hybrid though. I recommend it if you want to be eco friendly, but if it is just a straight $ decision, purchase the 350.

Report Abuse

Good Performance

Apogeelam, 05/05/2010
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

I am leasing the RX450h for almost a year now. so far, I like it, but it would be good if Lexus have the service for unlock the door for you if you are the owner and you lock out. I went shopping once at 40 miles from my home, and my key dropped on the seat quietly. I called the dealer, and they told me the only thing they could offer is to come pick me up to get my spare key at home. (but I know even have my home key.) The media USB ports are not convenient to reach. Since the dealer is 38 miles away from my house, I am not sure if a local oil change service could do the oil change for me.

Report Abuse

Ride

disgusted, 11/07/2010
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
19 of 32 people found this review helpful

Hard, stiff, jolting ride. Very uncomfortable if there are any imperfections in the road surface. Lexus destroyed the beautiful 400h to create this mobile design error. Typical stupidity was to put the only front 12 v outlet in a cavern under 3 boxes. Duh! Why not a second convenient one? The only thing luxurious about the 450h is the price. It is our 3rd and LAST Lexus unless they replace our suspension system. It is sad to see great soft riding comfortable SUVs (RX series 1999- 2009) be trashed so badly in 2010. After 6 months the car has 3000 miles on it because our Honda truck is far more comfortable. The Lexus is history next year!

Report Abuse

Very Good MPG on RX 450h AWD

Rod, 05/02/2010
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We traded in the 2009 Chevy Traverse after 7500 miles and 3 times in shop, for a total of 7 days on warranty work. So far on the Lexus no problems and twice the MPG the Traverse got. Average 30.5 in the city 28 highway. The ride is comfortable and feels like its well built. I just hated to buy Japaneses but what can you do when a new vehicle breaks down 3 time in 10 month. After 10 month on Lexus I will write another review.

Report Abuse

Great SUV for me

David, 10/09/2019
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Kept five years Great car in every respect Only expense was brakes and tires in 100+ thousand miles

Report Abuse

Great Car but Performance Lacking

NoDuplicates, 10/03/2009
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

When I decided to buy an SUV, I knew it would be Lexus (quality), and I so badly wanted a hybrid to future proof against rising gas prices. I created spreadsheet showing the RX450h vs. RX350 could pay for itself in 3.6yrs. Intellectually I had justified the cost. However, when I drove both cars (450h first, then 350), I was shocked by the sluggish performance of the 450h relative to the peppy 350. The gas pedal felt squishy, sluggishly responsive, getting up to highway speed felt tenuous. Major disappointment!

Report Abuse

Great car

Jim, 05/20/2017
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

My third Lexus and. Second hybrid. Very satisfactory

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very Comfortable and Economical

Texan Brit, 07/26/2010
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Had the car for 6 months and driven it on two long journeys over 1000 miles each way, as well as commuting to work. Journeys averaged 25 mpg, commute in traffic usually get 29 or 30 mpg which is sensational for a vehicle this size. It's only let down by the plastic finish on some of the interior fittings. It's very strange as some features are wonderful like the soft leather seats and the soft interior roof lining. Contrast this with the plastic finish of the grab handles that rattle annoyingly. I'm sure Lexus will fix this on future versions. Overall though a great vehicle with good economy and pretty good performance overall.

Report Abuse

Excellent

Marie, 11/19/2010
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
9 of 16 people found this review helpful

I finally decided to get a new car and replace my 2005. Wanted to stay in the SUV arena, but really wanted to save on mileage. This one does it! I am averaging 30 mpg and I'm not driving differently to effect the mileage. The technology is really fun -- I like the mouse and can work it effortlessly. (I was afraid it wouldn't be natural - it is.) Heads up display is cool. - - I can even see what radio station I'm on. This car is not only beautiful but functional too. I'm happy.

Report Abuse

Poor fuel economy

Richard, 10/17/2010
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 7 people found this review helpful

I have had this 2010 Lexus RX450H for about 3 months. One thing disappointments me is the actual mileage I am getting. I use it for commute from home to work in San Francisco. So far the total mileage is 880. I have been getting 21 MPG in city and 23 MPG in the city. My combined average MPG is 21.9 MPG. The advertised fuel efficiency is 28 MPG on highway and 32 MPG in the city. Not sure it is just my car or it is the city that has lots of hill and traffic signal. My round trip from home to work is 12 miles. One reason we want to switch from our 2001 BMW330CI (which runs 14 MPG) to this car is hoping to save gas. I have not bring this car to long trip yet, will test that out later.

Report Abuse

Lexus Lemon Car

kimfrazier, 12/31/2010
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
10 of 32 people found this review helpful

I bought the 2010 RX 450h after having a 2002 GS 300 that served me greatly for 7 years. However, the RX stranded me in the middle of a busy intersection after 1 month and 2000 miles. This car has given me nothing but problems since I bought it and it has been in the shop 20 days of the 50 days that I have owned it. Lexus does not build the quality cars it used to. I would not recommend buying this car. You will regret it!

Report Abuse

AWKWARD CAR

temnek@hotmail.com, 05/06/2017
4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
8 of 36 people found this review helpful

This SUV looks great outside and stands up on the lot. Unfortunately, this is the only great thing about it. Very poor performance even after shifting into S-Sport. Car feels very heavy (like most luxury cars, right?) and lacking power. After taking it for a day drive around the town, I've got 22.5 mpg this is what you get for $19,000 used car (I was looking at regular RX for $9,000 and thinking: how much time/years will take to get the 5 mpg difference back?). Radio and controls are weird: like you are holding Japanese cassette player from the 80's. There is no way to find the button you need while you are driving... forget about using the joystick (awkward-est part #1 in this car ). So, bad gas mileage, mediocre performance... Probably good for people who cannot handle a V-6 engine (great for retirement?). I also tested LS 430 and I appreciated the ride (didn't buy it because we couldn't open a trunk. Later I found out that the car was overpriced).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

RX450 H 2010 GYL16

ADEEL KARACHI, 05/03/2020
4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
1 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought rx450h lexus in 2018 December.Driving is good and no voice from any angle. In this SUV only one thing Short is cool box otherwise all is in. Shoot is nice,brakes also excellent. Road Grip is nice. After this I bought new AUDI A4 2019 Zero Meter but l am not happy with Audi because comfort level and interior is much higher than Audi.I am too much Crazy abt lexus and now I am planning to buy LX570.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050