Skip to main content
MSRP Starting at
$30,400

Save as much as $748
Select your trim:
12345...8

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2021 Sedona, so we've included reviews for other years of the Sedona since its last redesign.
5 out of 5 stars

KIA Sedona is a fabulous vehicle

Peter Beinetti, 12/21/2016
updated 01/14/2019
2017 Kia Sedona SX Limited 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
108 of 108 people found this review helpful

Reviews complain about gas mileage, but I don't know why. My wife and I took an 8000 mile road trip and got 24.5 mpg -- loaded with people and luggage. The last two days we took a 400 mile road trip and we got 26.7 mpg. We were in the mountains on the 8000 mile trip and I used the manual shifting a lot. No manual shifting on the Pacifica, which we compared with the Sedona before we bought it. Sedona handles extremely well with a very good turning radius. Pacifica about 3 feet larger radius. We test drove both and the smaller Sedona radius was obvious. Dash layout on the Sedona is well thought out, and attractive. The nav system is the best I've ever used, by far. Vehicle is extremely quiet, and tracks perfectly on the interstate. It's quick -- I saw car magazine reports that rated it at 7.4 seconds 0-60. That's fast for a large vehicle. I keep saying vehicle because it looks and acts more like an SUV than a minivan. Nappa leather is great, airplane type second row seats are a true luxury. Dual sun roof really lets the light inside. I've driven the Pacifica, Odyssey and Sienna -- I think the Sedona is the best vehicle. Update to my review one year later: I still think the Sedona SXL is a great vehicle. We have over 16,000 miles on it, and have had no problems. We are currently on a 12,000 mile road trip around the USA, with about 3,000 miles completed. Average MPG so far on the trip is 24.7. Handling on the interstate continues to be perfect, ride is excellent. No complaints whatsoever. It is now January 2018 and we have 28,500 miles on the Sedona. Our 12,000 mile trip ended up to be 12,600 miles, and we averaged 24.5 mpg. I can't figure out why the Sedona is rated low on gas mileage, I think it's fabulous. So far we have had zero problems. I've never had a car before, with over 28,000 miles on it, that didn't have something go wrong. It still rides great, and handles well. I thought our 12,600 miles trip would be very tiring. It turned out to be just the opposite. The Sedona is comfortable, and easy to drive. Lots of power, no problems in CA keeping up, or passing, on the freeways. The last car I had, a 2015 SUV, had what I call 'high effort' steering. It made for very tiresome driving. On our Sedona we can choose between two different steering efforts. I'm 78 years old and it's a joy to drive the car. Update July 2018. We are on another road trip, so far 4400 miles. Again, the Sedona has performed perfectly. MPG on this trip is 24.9 to-date. There is really nothing more to say, except that my wife and I love the car. Update January 2019. Best car we've ever had! Still not one problem, and we have 43,500 miles on it. It's an easy car to drive, all the high tech works perfectly. There's not much more I can say. It was the best buying decision my wife and I ever made. Oh, I should say this. My wife DID NOT want a minivan -- now she loves it!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful minivan

Joseph Friedman, 07/17/2018
updated 08/01/2022
2017 Kia Sedona LX 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
31 of 31 people found this review helpful

I purchased my Kia Sedona in 2017. It's just a great minivan. It has been operating perfectly. The safety and advanced electronic features make for a great ride. I always look forward to getting into it and driving away. I wanted a minivan that could hold all the professional gear that I need to carry with me on jobs. It has a bit less cargo space than the Dodge Grand Caravan that I had earlier. The only thing that I miss is the fold down seats in the 2nd row that the Grand Caravan had. The other manufacturers like Honda and Toyota also don't have fold down seats into the floor so I chose the Kia for its safety features. It's been a wonderful purchase. My opinion of it has not changed. I still love driving it. And it has kept me safe. It was a great purchase. I have not driven the vehicle that much over the five years. I have 22,000 miles on it, which is really nothing. It will last me for many more years.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best Bang For The Buck For Sure

GuruND925, 10/10/2019
2019 Kia Sedona EX 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 8A)
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

I currently own a 2007 Toyota Sienna, it is super solid and reliable and at 160,000 is still rock solid and strong. I have been shopping around for many months and I have been taking my time studying and analysing what's out there. I made a huge mistake on the last car I purchased and I ended up paying a whooping $30K for a rinky dinky four cylinder car with a sorry CVT transmission. I sure did not do my homework but this time I did. I didn't only study but I have gone to all my local dealers to see and test drive their vehicles, Honda, Toyota, Chrysler, Subaru, Dodge, Hyundai you name it. My wife got mad at me because I spent so much time on the computer looking at cars and watching youtube videos learning about this and that. Don't get me wrong, many SUV and minivan vehicles out there are very nice, but at the end of the day it all came down to one thing, money. From all the dealers I went to I did make them an offer and none of them were willing to give me the car at the monthly payment that I could afford, not even a lease for crying out loud, and everyone was trying to sell me their sorry base model with cloth seats, at an over priced price on top of it. The bottom line is that I ended up buying the Kia Sedona. Why?? Because it has the best package over all when it comes to beautiful look, quality, comfort, power and price and I cannot believe that the Kia dealer was able to give me the car I wanted, with leather seats, that's right baby, leather seats, at the price I was asking for. They actually gave me the Sedona brand new. I could not believe it. Look, regarding the lower gas ratings, I'm not worried or upset about it because at the end of the day I personally do not drive on the highway every day and I mostly drive around city and the much more expensive mini vans perform exactly the same in city driving so let's cut the nonsense. If you drive away long distances from the city on a highway where there is no traffic then that's a different story and that's where you would take advantage of the higher mile per gallon Pacifica, Honda and Toyota but other than that they all perform about the same in city driving. On the other hand I have saved thousands of dollars with my Kia EX and I truly got a bargain. I love my 07 Sienna and I'm not getting rid of it until that thing is unrepairable but my new Sedona smokes my 07 Sienna in every way and now my Toyota looks really old compared to my new Van. My Sedona feels like I'm driving in a Mercedes Benz, seriously. Is not perfect, is not, and Chrysler, Honda and Toyota have cars that are performing very well too. Why didn't I get the Chrysler? I really liked the ride of the Pacifica but the one thing that turned me off and made me walk away from it was that ugly round gear shifter know. That is a big no no for me and I don't buy cars with gear knobs. Sorry. And of course I did made an offer and I told the dealer my budget but it was over priced even with the lease. Why didn't I get the Honda? The Honda for me is very ugly and I simply do not like it. And same as above it was way over priced for me. Why didn't I get another fantastic reliable Toyota Sienna? Well, today's Sienna's are not like my older 2007. My mother in law has one and the thing has been falling into pieces mainly that plastic around the front seats and the plastic bumpers are really cheap and loose so I was disappointed to see that. Second the current Sienna is really ugly outside and inside and I actually like my much older Sienna than the newer ones. And same thing as above, the price is just too high for what I get. During the past 25 years I have owned Honda, Toyota, Land Rover and Subaru. The most fun car I have owned is the Land Rover hands down but they are bloody expensive to repair and drink way too much gas is a sin and nothing ever fit in the back and I always had problems with that. The honda and Toyota are reliable but they look and feel very cheap and the 2015 Subaru Forester has been the second most fun car after the land rover but with that over priced little rinky dinky strained 4 cylinder engine that burns too much oil with a CVT transmission, well, I just had to let it go recently because I simply payed way too much money for that car and that has been the worst car purchase I ever made. I am extremely happy with my new Sedona and I see this car company making better cars in the very near future. Perhaps by the time my 07 Sienna dies I do see myself replacing it with another Kia Sedona and by that time I'm sure the gas mileage will have improved and most likely the exterior of the Sedona will have a new design. Till this day I think the Sedona is the best vehicle I have purchased hands down.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK!!!

MisterM, 10/09/2019
2020 Kia Sedona EX 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 8A)
29 of 30 people found this review helpful

I have driven and own mostly Honda and Toyota vehicles. Just sold my 2015 Subaru Forester because it has a really weak four cylinder engine and burned a lot of oil so I was very disappointed. I started looking for a new vehicle so I test drove a LOT of cars and mini vans out there from Toyota, Honda, Chrysler, Hyundai, Subaru Ascent and others, you name it. I made a really bad mistake in paying such high price for the new Forester back in 2015 so this time I truly did my homework on the internet and during the actual test drives. To make it really short, I ended up buying a brand new Kia Sedona EX. The Kia dealer actually agreed to my terms and was able to give me the monthly payments no one else was willing to give me. Yeah, Kia you rock!!! I got an amazing deal and I was actually in shock when the sales manager agreed to the monthly payment that I was able to afford. I was really in shock to know that I would be taking home a brand new car WITH interior leather. Truly amazing. I am really impressed, for lack of a better word, at how high quality made is this Sedona. Everything inside and outside the Sedona looks really high quality, the plastics and the windows are really impressive and I feel like I'm driving in a Mercedes Benz, no seriously I'm not joking. I was also this close in buying a pre owned Hyundai Genesis G80 3.8 but in the end I am more than happy with the Sedona and I know I made the right choice this time.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Good as a Honda

H. Simmons, 04/05/2018
updated 04/08/2019
2017 Kia Sedona SX 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 6A)
22 of 23 people found this review helpful

I never wanted to be a minivan mom, that being said life happend. Now I have 2 kids both under the age of 5 and an 80lbs dog and a husband with physical disabilities. Looking at our options it's was either a truck or van but having a significant other with very set requirements for a vehicle and a limited budget made our vehicle search tricky to say the least. Enter the Kia Sedona. We'd compared the Honda Odyssey and Chrysler Pacifica each had great room, decent gas mileage the only problem was to get everything we wanted put us at about 45k. We discovered the Sedona in Lowe's parking lot and looking at it neither of us were that off put buy it's looks (you know what I mean the typical minivan look). We researched it heavily and for us the only thing we didn't really like was it has a 6 speed vs an 8 speed transmission like its competition. That being said we've still been able to get 26 to 27mpg average per tank of gas. Going from a 2013 Chevy Cruze to the Sedona was amazing. I can't say enough good things about the extra amount of space for hauling around my tiny terrors. Like traditional vans the automatic sliding doors make it easy putting my 3 year old and 5 month old in and out of the vehicle. Also because of the height of the vehicle my 3 year old can easily cilmb in and out without assistance. The front seats are comfortable and supportive with the added bonus of being heated and cooled. My husband loves the cooled seat feature. The second row captains chairs are comfortable and supportive and just the right size for 2 full size car seats. The third row is spacious enough for adults if they were to be relegated back there. Usually we just leave our third row down for extra hauling capacity. For long trips the extra space is wonderful for our dog who is finally able to escape the torments of our 3 year old plus plenty of room for suitcases and coolers with room to spare. Another favorite feature is the built-in sunshades in all rear windows. Looking back I wish we'd considered/ made the move to the Kia Sedona sooner. UPDATE: Still Loving my Kia Sedona. We have had no mechanical or technical issues with our vehicle since purchase. We're still easily getting 26 - 27 mpg on average. Our van came in very handy for a sudden move to a new home. All in all still happy with our Sedona.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...8
Items per page: