Used 2012 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$5,850 - $10,990

Used Sonata Hybrid for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Roomiest Fun-to-Drive Hybrid Sedan on the Market

r_l_r, 04/02/2012
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

The Hyundai Sonata Hybrid is the best package of attractive styling, smooth handling, excellent mileage and comfort among hybrid sedans in the US. I found with slight care its easy to get over 40 mpg on the highway and overall 38+mpg. Features that reduce the mpg are using heated seats and interior heater in the winter or full AC in the summer. However, using the "econ" feature with the heating/cooling one easily achieves 38 mpg overall or better. The jitteriness at low speeds was resolved with the first service when the computer system was upgraded to remove some of the hesitency between use of EV and gas engine modes. Update is free and resolves issues raised in some initial reviews.

Report Abuse

Missing the Mark, but still a nice car.

michelangelo7, 10/09/2013
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2012 Sonata Hybrid new from the dealership. This was my first "fancy" car, as I had always gone either base model or used in the past due to financial difficulty, but I was finally in a position to spoil myself a bit, and was able to justify my expense in the fuel savings, or so I though... Highway miles truly are 38-40, and I can even get that if "cruising", but only if the weather is nice, and traffic is light. Here in the Midwest we get temperature extremes which effect the fuel economy a great deal, and stop and go city driving averages 32 mpg which is no where near what they had advertised. My friends all say I drive like an old man too, so I know it's not just me...

Report Abuse

78K miles engine failure?

sidneilima@me.com, 10/18/2017
4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

78K miles engine failure? I own a 2012 Sonata Hybrid since 07/2015 which I bought from a off lease place with a little over 24k miles on it. I loved this car ever since I bought it, never had any major issues, till last week when it stalled on me with warns to stop driving to prevent damage to the hybrid system. I had it towed to a dealership to receive the news that the engine was seized and it would cost me $8,700 to have it replaced. I was shocked and start laughing, cause I thought is was a bad joke of some kind… Nope!! she was dead serious. So I said, okay 10years/100K miles powertrain warranty… Nope!…that only applies for the original owner… Certified Pre-owned gets 5years/60k miles… My car has 78k miles and I didn’t buy a certified Pre-owned… Very sad since I don’t have that kind of money and even if I had, KBB on my car is $8,800, it wouldn’t make sense spend on it…. Very, very sad my engine died with ONLY 78K miles…The worse I still own $8,500 on that car. Not sure what to do at this point.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Buyer Beware

Ruby Daring, 11/13/2016
4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
25 of 28 people found this review helpful

We were leasing the 2012 Sonata Hybrid and the lease was up in July so we were planning to trade it in and lease a new one then. My stepmom died unexpectedly on Mother's Day so we had to drive from Colorado to Missouri for the funeral. We took the Sonata since it was the most reliable vehicle (ha) AND we were only at 45,000 miles so we were way under the mileage allotment on our lease. A few days after we got there the engine started making a funny noise when we went to get dinner. We parked it immediately and called Hyundai the next morning to have it towed to the nearest dealership, which was Suntrup Hyundai in St. Louis. Much to my surprise not only had it blown the engine but they MADE US PAY FOR AN ENGINE REPLACEMENT before we could turn it in on the lease. We offered them maintenance records but Hyundai made the decision to deny the claim before they ever got the records. I called them to ask how to fax them in and they told me "Don't bother. We have already made our decision." I finally convinced them to at least let me fax the maintenance records in and I gave them my mechanics phone number. To their credit they examine they did call him, then they denied it again. The reason they did not cover it under the warranty was they claimed we had not properly maintained the vehicle. Despite the records and the conversation with my mechanic. Oddly enough my mechanic had previously voiced some concerns to us a few times about the oil consumption - but the oil light never came on and there were no obvious issues so we didn't think too much about it. Until the engine seized. We were told we had to pay for a new engine as we had to turn in a running vehicle at the end of the lease. We fought it as long as we could, with multiple people in the Hyundai Corporation. Since our car was being held at the dealership ultimately the choice became pay for the engine, buy the car, or ruin our credit. We paid for the engine. It cost us $7,000. Then we had to buy out on the lease for another $790.00. Once this happened to me I started researching my car online and there was complaint after complaint on my car. Wouldn't you know the 2012 Sonata Hybrid had the most complaints. Great. These complaints go on and on. How can Hyundai continue to ignore these obvious issues and hold the consumer accountable? The sad thing is I have owned Hyundai's for over 20 years and I will now never own another one. What good is 100,000 mile warranty if you don't cover the defects? And these are defects. Why not give consumers a lifetime, transferable warranty? It sounds much better than a 100,000 mile warranty AND since Hyundai apparently doesn't pay for their defects it's all good. They won't lose any money, really. The only thing I can say at this point is buyer beware. I would strongly advise anyone considering buying a Sonata Hybrid to keep looking. Otherwise you need to keep a detailed journal of all maintenance, any issues, no matter how slight, note if there are no warning lights or too many warning lights, and get all of your maintenance done at a dealership. That way you MIGHT have a shot at getting any defects on your car fixed. [non-permissible content removed]

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

It is a beautiful, but very un-safe car.

Rebecca, 05/06/2016
4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

I love my loaded 2012 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid. It is comfortable and a great looking family car. However, I would never put my family actually in it. It is unsafe. Delayed acceleration and then a "surge" of acceleration, shuts off randomly while driving, the radio often does not work. These three issues are well known and Hyundai is unable to fix them. Please read other reviews prior to purchasing for a family.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2012 Sonata Hybrid Standard

palomies, 08/26/2012
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Took delivery of my new Sonata Hybrid on July 18. Very happy with car so far. Five tankfuls of fuel have given me an average over 39 MPG...if the tank is mostly highway driving I get average over 40, if mostly city/errands and such about 36. No problem with switching between electric and gas engine. I think there may be a learning curve to learning to drive the car for the most economy as sometimes the gas engine will come in pretty strongly, especially in hilly terrain. Car is very comfortable for long drives, my bulged discs don't even know! (to be fair, my '07 Sonata was the same way). The handling may not be quite as good as my last Sonata, but this one also feels much bigger.

Report Abuse

terrible experience

gesiggie, 08/02/2014
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2012 Sonata Hybrid last year and was originally very pleased with it, with the exception of the seat design. The headrest comes too far out and pushes your head forward. I could get over that, though. What I can not get over is the shuddering that began just over a month ago. I've had it into the dealership 4 times, and after upgrading the software which didn't solve the issue, they tell me the shuddering I experience every time I stop is 'normal'. The drive is no longer 'fun', but stressful, as I brace myself each time I see a stop sign. It's a rough ride for driver and passengers alike. I would not recommend this car to anyone. Sadly, I'm stuck with mine.

Report Abuse

Flashy sales pitch, poor result

redrockrover, 02/12/2013
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

Leased this car on the premise of great features together with great MPG. Traded in my old gas-guzzling SUV for "great" gas mileage. First tank lasted 550 miles, I was elated. After that my MPG has been taking a dump. I was quite surprised because my driving style is very cautious, even boring. My lowest whole tank average gas mileage at fill up was 16mpg. Absolutely pathetic, I should have gotten a truck. Got sold on comfy seats and sticker MPG. I expected the mileage to be less than sticker but not like this. If you live anywhere that gets cold, and you don't do lots of long distance driving, avoid this vehicle like the plague. I am counting the days until it disappears from my life.

Report Abuse

And the 2nd tank is in

jay357, 08/07/2012
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

As I previously reported my first tank was 28 mpg. Now I have added fuel for the 2nd time and my mileage is 37mpg combined just like the sticker said. So I don't know what the Edmunds tester problems are. I also notice my tires only had 30 psi in them, so I aired them up to 40 psi and am hoping to net another 3 mpg. Edmunds comments about quirky hybrid. I disagree, most of the time you can't tell when it shifts from gas to electric or vice versa. Occasionally you can feel it but even then it just feels like an automatic transmission shift.

Report Abuse

Over sold

secrets, 05/14/2013
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

We bought this car strictly for the fuel economy. We were trading up from a 23mpg vehicle to a 40mpg car. We have never gotten more tha 35mpg with an average of 30.1mpg. I normally never buy new, and I will not buy a hybrid ever again. Knowing then what i know now i would have bought the cheaper turbo model. We are very disapointed with the MPG.

Report Abuse

Do not buy this car

Denice A, 09/14/2018
4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Nothing but electronic problems, which Hyundai will not warranty. On third radio, no longer have blue tooth or navigation as I refuse to pay to fix it again. Transmission had to replaced, which they covered, at 65,000 miles. Now getting random hybrid warning alarms, which the local dealership cannot figure out. They Hyundai website has info about it, but no one seems to be able to look at that information or diagnose the issue. Love the looks of this car, and was very happy when first purchased, but cannot wait to unload it for something more dependable from a company that understands customer appreciation and wants return business.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Has not delivered on mileage

chauffeurboy, 04/22/2013
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle as a replacement for a 2011 regular Sonata that was written off in an accident. I thought this would be a good opportunity to take advantage of the potential fuel savings given that I commute 110 kms daily. I cannot understate my disappointment. My 2011 Sonata averaged 31mpg and my hybrid averaged 35 mpg. I did a comparison of my fuel expenses and mileage. Over a 26000km period I saved approximately 198 litres. Based on todays gas prices of 1.14.9 this translates to an annualized savings of $227.00. Over a 5 year period the savings is nowhere close to the $5,000 dollar premium I paid to purchase a hybrid.

Report Abuse

This car = money

dc23, 06/06/2012
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bottom line over half my car payment is going to be made by the money I am saving on gasoline. I have gone from driving a truck that gets 15mpg on its best day to a car that I can see is getting 38mpg in the city and over 40mpg on my 25mile trip home from work. I am extremely pleased with the handling. It has a smooth transition from electric to gas engine. Most of the time I don't even know it happened. I did go with the leather package and I am extremely pleased with the interior design. Plenty of room, and stylish. The exterior design is great as well with a cool set of lights. I would love to have a different set of wheels but that is avail. for a little more money. Very satisfied!

Report Abuse

Bad Mileage....Worse Customer Support

badsaturn, 03/20/2014
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I own a 2012 Sonota Hybrid Limited. I am currently getting 24mpg in city driving. I have done all of the service upgrades recommended by this forum and it's readers. I met with a field rep today to discuss the poor mileage. He told me as long as I get 23mpg or better Hyundai won't do anything for me. I have spent numerous hours on the phone with Hyundai and several trips to dealerships without any effect. Sorry, that is not good enough...this is the third Hyundai we have purchased since 2010. One would think Hyundai would value me as a customer. Apparently not. Too bad....I like the car other than the mileage. Hyundai does not stand by their customers based on my experience. Won't buy again.

Report Abuse

pretty good start

tdinsight, 09/15/2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought this car about 3 months ago after test driving vs Optima and Camry hybrids. The assembly and ride are very nice with pleanty of room for me at 6'3" and a very usable rear seat. There are complaints about the car being jerky of the line. Only happened once to me merging into traffic while turning and ICE kicked in chirping a tire. Brakes are a little nonlinear but never felt unable to stop smoothly or agressively if needed. Open road fuel efficiency is very good with electric mode frequently running half a mile or so on the freeway. Traffic mpg not so great especially in 20-40 mph range. I average about 36 mpg but can be significantly less. More like 44 on a couple trips.

Report Abuse

Very comfort ride but poor gas consumption

gleung81, 08/26/2013
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I was attracted by the high tech package and the exterior design. Very well designed on the looking. But absolutely disappointed with the MPG. I knew the MPG will be off a bit from the sticker, but didn't expect THAT MUCH of a difference. Sticker states 5.2L/100km combined, I am getting 7.1 - 7.3L/100km. This is no where near to the sticker MPG. I am a gentle driver, so it's not my driving style issue. Acceleration response time is slow, need to give an extra 1 - 2 second when making a left. I wasn't aware of this when I had my test drive, start to realize as I drive it daily. Not sure if this is common for all hybrid. Alignment is starting to pull to the left after 2 weeks.

Report Abuse

Totally different ride experience

Dale Bohenstengel, 05/03/2016
4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Car shifts different, seems to run and shift points are off when cold,nice ride on e-way, easy to use options, braking is awesome, style and looks are noce

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Be careful, ECM issues

Ryan, 01/21/2019
4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have had my Sonota for 100k miles for the past four years. Had been running well up until about a year ago. Random Hybrid errors, oil light flickers, problems shifting (ECM) I brought it in and they updated the software for drive-ability improvements. It improved but problems have not gone away. it's sporadic but every 500 miles or so (every 2 weeks) it misbehaves. If i shut the engine off and restart they tend to reset themselves, but now as far as reliability..it's unreliable, I don't like my wife driving it anymore. it's too bad, good fit and comfort. Called customer service but they were not helpful. Just waiting for it to get paid off so i can get something else.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great car with UNBELIEVABLE LOOKS

donnie13, 03/25/2012
6 of 10 people found this review helpful

My second Sonata Hybrid. Bought a 2011 and loved the car. Took one with gray interior so I could have it sooner. Traded for 2012 with tan interior and absolutely love this car. Everywhere I go, people ask what kind of car is that? I got the optional dual sunroof with leather in Pearl white. It looks and feels like a BMW. I have had. and do have many cars including an Audi A8L and an E550 coupe and find myself jumping in this car most of the time! The gas mileage is great and dealership experience was the best I've experienced. (Universal Hyundai Orlando)

Report Abuse

Blulink Remote Starter Problem

alejandromg85, 01/11/2013
7 of 14 people found this review helpful

When using the remote starter to warm the car in the winter the car doesn't warm up cause it always start in hybrid mode. As everybody knows the heater works with the hot water of the engine, if the engine doesn't start the water never warms up. I let the dealer know and they didn't do anything about it. So, a 30.000 dollars car can't keep you warm in the winter =S

Report Abuse

Best Looking Hybrid out there

coolhokie, 02/29/2012
12 of 31 people found this review helpful

I just purchased Sonata hybrid with the leather package in Pearl White. It is absolutely greatest hybrid. I love how it looks inside and out. Anywhere I look at this vehicle makes me smile. Hyundai really did an excellent job of making this vehicle. Can't wait to drive it again.

Report Abuse

I love this vehicle! No regrets!

2004xlt, 07/28/2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The critics review of this hybrid game me doubts, but my own personal experience in the first 5K confirmed that I made an excellent choice! I drive both city and highway miles and saving a fortune on gas. I'm averaging 38 mpg. The mpg automatically resets when you refuel. Occasionally the transition from electric to gas engine is noticeable, but I wouldn't describe it as "quirky" like the critics suggest. I have never even noticed the braking issue that they describe. This car does not go unnoticed and draws a lot of attention.

Report Abuse

Car pulls to the left and Rough change from gas to hybrid

alejandromg85, 01/11/2013
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2012 Sonata hybrid 3 months ago. I loved the car as soon as I saw it. When I started driving it there were no problems at all. After 1 month the car started being pulled to the left. Dealer said nothing wrong with it. Now when driving in hybrid mode the car has a vibration and shakes hard when change to gas. Dealer said nothing wrong with it. I don't really like the car with that problems. The price was 30.000 dollars and they were supposed to fix the problem. I'm gonna keep it cause is my first new car and I don't have any other option since Hyundai was the only dealer that gave me a 0.9% rate to own it. Interior and comfort is 10/10. Design is 10/10.

Report Abuse

Not Ready For Prime Time

richvaguy, 03/29/2012
5 of 20 people found this review helpful

I have had the car a month and believe I have driven it enough to get a true feel. On the hwy it is excellent, good response great gas 39+mpg, good ride and comfort. Now for the not so good. The car is dangerous to drive, hesitates badly between 0-25mph, shudders and shakes the entire car when transitioning from Electric to Gas. Impossible to get close to advertised city MPG. I try to drive as gentle as possible to stay in EV mode, the slightest touch on the pedal and it goes to gas thus decreasing MPG. Lucky to get 30mpg in city driving. Gauges hang up and read 0 mpg in EV (electric vehicle) mode. Should read 50mpg.

Report Abuse

Awesome Vehicle

mhamilton06, 03/01/2012
8 of 39 people found this review helpful

I bought the Sonata Hybrid 2012 and I am not disappointed. I read a lot on the intranet before purchasing and noted down the negative comments that had been made with a view to evaluating them myself. I saw comments about gear shift transitioning issues, parallel parking issues and so forth and specifically attempted to replicate each of these in turn - and didn't notice a darn thing. I recommend this vehicle. It's solid, stable and I'm getting an average of 35MPG. Try it for yourself before listening to the 'critics'.

Report Abuse

Great Hybrid Car, But not great MPG

vijayrkp, 08/27/2012
1 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought 2012 Sonata Hybrid last week, I drove on the local roads & highway, It's averaging 36. I was expecting 40mpg on highway, but it was 38 only on highway. Car has great interior, beautiful exterior, comfort ride. I love it. I guess, the mileage will improve after 1st oil change.. not sure, will see. Still 36 is okay mileage compare to other cars.

Report Abuse

3 points of disappointment

Nancy Kneip, 07/14/2015
4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
1 of 9 people found this review helpful

1. Passenger seat 4-5" lower than driver's. Dealer made no attempt to correct. 2. Mileage lawsuit didn't make up for cost, didn't address carbon exhaust (pay extra for hybrid!) 3. Lease end fee $400 + "damage" from normal wear for 3 years = $1000 additional cost of lease! Will never buy another Hyundai!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best car ever

ancasterguy, 06/03/2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my hybrid with everything. I took the Nav package with red and the tan interior. The handling is great. Mileage is great! Looks of the car is great. I get so many compliments. Awesome car! LOVE IT! It drives so smooth and quiet. I have read where some people complain of slight delays when they hit the gas. I've never noticed that. It has lots of power when I push the pedal. Just a wonderful car. The selection on here for model only gives "base" as a selection. In Canada we get base, then LTD then Navigation package which has the works. Not really any options to buy other than winter floor mats.

Report Abuse

With intelligent driving, this car delivers excellent mileage

ohio_pop, 02/15/2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have 2 Sonata hybrids a 2011&12. The cars are roomy and provide excellent comfort. The ride is extremely smooth especially on the highway. For folks larger than petite or who have joint mobility issues, this car provides the most driver/front passenger leg room and ease of entry and exit. The controls are intuitive and the beeping signals - engine on/off, key in car etc easy to follow - somewhat similar to how a pet would communicate with you. The trick to getting excellent mileage is to use cruise control as much as possible - even in city traffic. This maximizes use of the electric vs. gas engine. I consistently get >40 mpg-see fueleconomy.gov OH entries. Luv driving this car!

Report Abuse

Bugs Fixed

kamana06, 06/30/2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Shortly after purchase of the hybrid with the electronic package had multiple problems with hybrid system...Finally, after several engineering "fixes" the hybrid function has been as expected for the past 20,000 miles of California driving..I have not experienced any noticeable problem with the transition from electric to motor nor any meaningful problem with braking performance. Overall I think this car is a good combination of price, exterior design, and amenities without paying a premium for an upscale "badge."

Report Abuse

Smooth Riding Hybrid That is Safe and Smooth

ohio_pop, 04/10/2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have driving cars for over 45 years and this is the best car overall that I have owned. I find the electronics intuitive. It takes only a short time to learn the significance of the beeping signals from this car. I found that after driving the car for about 10 days that I know how to apply gas for smooth as silk acceleration and how to brake smoothly. Overall, I have found the car to be at its best and the most fun to drive on highways and suburban and rural roads where you can consistently drive over 35 MPH. At constant speeds between 35 and 55 MPH, you can get 45+MPG. The car gets more like 30-34MPG in stop-go slow speed driving. Overall, I have averaged a bit over 40 MPG.

Report Abuse

Great hybrid owned it 1 year now

gome1, 04/22/2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great buy I have top of line loaded wht pearl /tan leather, glass roof best sunroof! 23 k miles on it I commute 45 miles daily average about 37mpg city & hwy combine ,40mpg traveling I drive normal some times on curies control I due use high octane fuel ,tire air pressure 35 psi ,syntitic oil every 3700 miles ,air filter every 15k.I get lots of compliments from friends & strangers asking what is it how nice.I owned Lexus Mercedes Cadilac BMW same quality so far for the money lots more to offer two many to list,example rear heated seats!

Report Abuse

Awesome and It gets the MPG+

hisliving, 04/15/2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I read all of the Edmunds review. In a very minor way, i saw a small bit ogf the "lurching". Nothing I would not have expected at all...very very minor. I proudly got 38.5 driving to and in the mountains. Upon return, I recevived 42.5 mpg due to less hilly route upon return. Best vehicle coice I have made. Price, value, MPG, comfort and style!! looks awesome!!!

Report Abuse

Couldn't be happier!

suzieq57, 02/24/2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had my 2012 Hybrid Sonata (premium trim - the $32,000 vehicle) for 1 month now. Great car. I've been getting at least 41 mpg average on both mixed city and highway driving. I don't have any problems with breaking or the shifting from electric to gas like I've seen some reviews here say. Did I say great car? I'm so happy that I bought it. I have the metallic blue, premium hybrid. The design outside is to die for - I've had so many compliments. It is roomy inside and very comfortable. I can't say enough about it. I love the panoramic sunroof, the navigation, the Blue link, and of course the wheels. Very sharp car.

Report Abuse

Reasonable compromise for a Boomer

glh2576, 03/05/2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We acquired a 2012 Sonata Hybrid after looking at many options in this price/category. the Sonata is comfortable to drive and ride in, fairly quite and gets OK (but not nearly the EPA MPG) gas mileage. I've put about 2500 miles on it and it is averaging about 30 MPG in mostly in-town driving which is where it should be using the battery the most so I was expecting better MPG. ANY in-town hill gives it a challenge as it tries to go from battery to motor. Build quality is good so far. Rear seats are comfortable. Highway cruising is good.

Report Abuse

Love it so far

jay357, 08/06/2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought the last 2012 Hybrid on the lot. Incentives were good enough to get what I considered a "fair" deal. Rides better than the Chrysler 300 I traded in, but to be fair the Chrysler had 20" wheels and this has 16's so the difference in tire sidewall could account for a lot of the ride. Gas mileage on the first tank was only 28 mpg(still 7 mpg better than the 300) with an equal mix of city/hwy. I am sure it will improve although I haven't fueled yet this week to see what the 2nd full tank will show. But just the fact that I have driven 1000 miles on two tanks of fuel is something the 300 would never have accomplished.

Report Abuse

2012 Sonata Hybrid

sonatahybrid65, 04/08/2013
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just picked up the new car this week. Received rebates, 0% for 60 months and nice discount. Have driven the car about 500 miles and am averaging 39 MPG. I love this car so far, the technology is amazing. It drive and rides very nice. Drove it about 250 miles first day on turnpike, 70 mph with no problems. Its not as powerful as my 2007 Sonata with V6, but the mileage is a good trade off.

Report Abuse

This is the One!

fakeid, 03/21/2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my Sonata last weekend and so far its amazing. Currently, I'm averaging 37mpg. The price was significantly lower than competative hybrids and it's extremely well equiped. i previously owned a 2005 Sonata and it was the best car I ever owned. I'll check back in a couple of months and let you know if I'm still thrilled with my purchase.

Report Abuse

ALMOST HAPPY

baddog6, 09/20/2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Traded my Town And Country in July and in agreement with most of the positive reviews but very unhappy with a rapid jerking on acceleration from lower speed.Does not feel like shifting or transittion from gas to elect. and does not do it all the time. Took to dealer and it ran fine and was told no reports of any problems then found edumonds review on line so don"t know what to think.Have bought over 20 cars and not had this problem and don't want it now.

Report Abuse

Very Nice Hybrid

Blo T Hadley, 05/12/2018
4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Over all I really like the Sonata Hybrid base; I was really surprised at the pick up; not all doggy...floor it and you’re gone. MPG; I expected better; I learned that in the winter mileage drops significantly; l’ll take this car when I retire to Florida. As noted, I bought the Base model, I have been looking for something new and I would go with the Limited or with more options than I got. I’m not crazy over the tan cloth upholstery; shows water stains. The trunk space is not good; the battery. I like the look much better than the Prius; I have received a lot of compliments on the look. I must like it because I’m looking for another one.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Car I’ve Ever Owned!

Tracy, 08/31/2018
4dr Sedan (2.4L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I could not believe a hybrid could have so much kick! It bursts away when the light turns green and leaves nearby drivers wondering if it really said “hybrid” on the back. It is so much fun to drive. This car has all of the gizmos and goodies available in 2012 except the moonroof, upgraded sound system, backup camera, and navigation screen. Truly, I did not miss them from the comfort of the leather bucket seats, with XM Sirius pumping out my favorites, and that sweet burst of speed when passing on the highway. All of this and the gas savings, too- around 32 in the city and 39 on the highway, but there are driving techniques you can use to raise the highway mileage to the mid 40’s... my altimeter favorite!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050