Used 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,859 - $5,045

Used Escape Hybrid for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

The best car purchase I have ever made!!!!

Michael, 08/23/2015
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
41 of 42 people found this review helpful

I reluctantly purchased my 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid in 2011 with 134000 miles!!!! Got it for 4000 dollars on eBay.... Immediately after purchasing I had to replace the hybrid battery cooling fan. Very simple to do, ordered from Amazon and did it myself in about 30 mins. Now, in 2015, I have 234289 miles and the only money I've ever put into the car was for routine maintenance. It's amazing! I have never owned a vehicle that was so easily kept. I consistently get about 27-28 mpg in the city with either heat or air in most of the time and I get about 24-25mpg on the beltway(I speed like crazy, so that's incredible mileage per gallon to me). The engine is quiet, the ride is smooth and for the first time since I started buying cars, I feel like I totally got my monies worth out of a vehicle! 4000 dollars for over 100000 miles and she still keeps going. I do think I'll need a wheel bearing replaced, which means I'll do them all at once, but I cannot say enough about the build quality and performance of these hybrids. To be able to drive an suv and get close to 30mpg while still being able to sit up high and grab lumber from The Home Depot without renting a truck... It's amazing! I wanted to write this as soon as I hit 100k miles and before I go and spend money on the wheel bearings(which I could let ride for a bit, but why would I do that? She deserves to be kept up). I'm currently searching for another since I'm giving this one to my newly licensed son. Lol So to anyone it there that can get their hands on one of these, get it!!! Take it home, check it over and baby it because you'll likely own it for a long, long time.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ford nailed it

nanonevol, 11/20/2014
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
21 of 21 people found this review helpful

I love this Ford. I think it has the right size motor and electric combination unlike some hybrids. I get at least 30 mpg. The computer must take some many factors into account so the car knows when to go electric and when gas. Brilliant. I love when I'm coasting or driving along on battery or when the motor shuts off in traffic or at a light. All cars should be hybrid. It just makes sense to get the most out of a gallon. Regenerative braking also just a common sense solution to wasted heat energy in normal brakes. Update a year later - Still love this car. It looks practically new and I rarely ever even wash it. I had to have the brakes done and front wheel bearings but it's got 170K miles on it. Still going strong at 187K. Car is a peach (opposite of a lemon).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fantastic Hybrid SUV

dillpickle, 02/24/2010
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

The Ford Escape Hybrid SUV is an excellent alternative to the large, offensive SUV's driven by urban soccer moms. The gas mileage is terrific and extends time between fill ups on the highway. The vehicle is extremely dependable and very low maintenance compared to any other SUV on the road. The 4 wheel drive is competent and provides excellent winter traction and stability. The CVT transmission is similar to a golf cart on steroids and provides a seamless, smooth acceleration and "shifting". The cabin and ride are comfortable for long trips and space is plentiful for luggage and accessories. The best vehicle we have ever purchased.

Report Abuse

Good Ride. Great Value

clcs5860, 12/12/2011
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I bought my 06 all wheel drive escape in 2007, had 16K miles on it at the time of purchase. I have not been kind to this car as I drive it for business and am on the go all the time. I have kept service up to date. The car now has 101K miles on it. The ride is good, acceleration peppy for a hybrid. Only unexpected problem I have had, is to replace a power steering module which cost $824. The leather on the drivers seat has worn through in the arm which indicates the leather in the car is fairly cheap No other complaints.

Report Abuse

Great Car.... but

phdmam, 09/28/2014
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

I got it new and have been saving money on gas every mile I drive it. I have done my math, and save a gallon for every gallon of gas I use. Cons...-- Tires do not last long, on my 3rd set at 80k. Front end suspension is a problem - just fixed all my tie rods (the were old and torn) (I have had 20 year old Hondas with 175k and never changed a tie rod). Just changed my 2nd tone (ABS sensor) rings because they are exposed to the elements and break from rust. Overall, great car, no expenses to change antifreeze yet, no expenses for transmission fluids (lifetime). My kids are of driving age, and I think I will get another FEH

Report Abuse

Escaping the gas pump!

Daniel Romans, 09/20/2016
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

My last 2006 Escape Hypbid I had for several years with no issues until I hit a Cow Elk at 60 mph. I bought this one to replace it. This one has more electronic features and so far seems to be even better in the mileage department. It is the most economical SUV I've heard of. I get over 30mph average mileage, nice looking inside and out, easy to drive. My previous one four wheel drive did real well in deep snow as well as plowed snow and slush, I'm expecting no less from this one. Update. My "new" 2006 Escape Hybrid has been a major blessing for my wife and me. It does great in the snow and the mileage is great for an SUV. We are forced to drive over not so maintained rural roads in all kinds of weather and it handles just fine. Bought a "Yakima" clam shell carrier for the top and replaced the original tires with Michelins. Gas mileage went down only about two mpg, so still very happy with the vehicle. update 2018. Still going strong. Many miles put on since. To get over 30 mpg, I have to keep it below 65 on the highway, and not put the ac on max so the gas engine runs continually in city driving. Upgraded the tires to Michellins 2 years ago instead of the suggested hybrid tires. Mileage has gone down by about 2mpg but the tires between the added traction and tire wear, it has been well worth it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Awesome

D.Wit, 11/18/2006
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

For an SUV, it's a great little truck. The hybrid/gas electric gets 35mpg, has room for 5 plus your stuff. Handles great in the mountains. Has 16 in. wheels stock, so you sit high to see well. It's just fun to drive! It doesn't look like a hybrid...looks sporty. It's my wife's truck, but I'm 6.2 and 260lb and comfortable driving it.

Report Abuse

Fine Vehicle Even in Houston

CG, 10/24/2006
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I was nervous about purchasing new automotive technology but I have been completely satisfied by the reliability and performance of the Ford Escape Hybrid. As another reviewer noted, in hot humid climates like Houston where use of MAX AC is mandatory, the gas engine runs, reducing gas mileage. For the other 5 months of fall/winter/spring that we have, the SUV is blast! All year round it performs like a 6 cylinder SUV. The exterior and interior finishes are of good quality.

Report Abuse

Brake system failure. 5-7k to repair brakes

Tim Fitzgerald, 03/03/2016
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
26 of 30 people found this review helpful

I purchased this 2006 ford escape hybrid with 67k miles. Thought it was a great investment for my family and the economy. The joke was on me. On my way to work one morning my dashboard lights alerted me of a brake system failure and had to roll into a snowbank to stop. I have the car towed and expect a modest repair bill of $1000 or less, we are talking about brakes. To my surprise I was quoted $5000-$7000 to repair the brake system. The bulk of the cost is in the hydraulic charging unit, quoted to me at $4500. $1000 for a new master cylinder and $1095 to bleed the brakes. We are now up to $6500 with out labor costs. With labor looking at 7-8k. How can Ford justify a repair of brakes to cost $7-8k??? Have contacted ford several times with no answers or assistance. They apologize and tell me there is nothing they can do. Ironically they changed the brake system in 2007 model, I wonder why??? Talk about Ford satisfaction. Stay away from these vehicles they have done nothing but drain my bank account. Tim Fitzgerald Swampscott Ma 01907 boomer328@comcast.net

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice little SUV hybrid

guru32145, 05/20/2011
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Bought this from a used car dealer who had lowered the price to 2500 below kbb. I think he was having trouble selling this because people fear battery failure even though the battery is supposed to last for the driveable life of the vehicle. We started out having trouble getting more than about 24 mpg, but a lighter foot better use of the regenerative breaking (shifting to L when stopping and long light taps on the brake rather than quick short stops) have brought our mileage up to 29 which is about what the new EPA estimates say we should get. This will probably hold its value given rising gas prices. Good job Ford for making a superior vehicle.

Report Abuse

My "Green" Escape

T, 09/13/2006
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have been wanting a hybrid vehicle for years, but they have always been too small for my needs. The Ford Escape Hybrid is perfect for my life! It's very comfortable, everything is within reach, and it's easy to get in and out. I'm below average height, so this is frequently an issue. There's enough room for everyone and the easy fold flat back seats are great for hauling our rather large dog. I do a lot of driving, so the gas savings is phenomenal, and I found that it performed like a "champ" in snowy weather last winter. As an added bonus, this has turned out to be more fun to drive than any vehicle I've ever owned!

Report Abuse

Exactly what we hoped

ronl, 08/26/2008
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Got this car to go between San Francisco and Sacramento. One city is hilly and cool, the other flat and often hot. So, we do a lot of city driving on hills, and often use the A/C. In just over 3 years and 67,000 miles, we've avg'd over 31 mpg. (For the first 5000 mi or so, we only avg'd 28 mpg. This is as expected, as there's a sort of 'burn-in' period for the engine. Since then, we've avg'd over 32 mpg.) We've never had a repair, only normal maintenance - oil change, tune-up, etc. The car rides very well, but the interior is hard to clean, especially after carrying rock, soil, compost, and straw for our yard. In short, this car has met our best expectations.

Report Abuse

First Off The Lot

michael, 05/22/2005
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Just bought a 2006 the day after the dealer received it. I was going to buy a 2005, but stumbled across the 2006 on the internet at the last second. It is an amazing vehicle. Early trip computer results are showing 33.5 mpg. It's amazing to drive through the subdivision at 25 mph with the tach pegged at 0, i.e. all electric drive. A money saver not usually noted is that scheduled oil changes are every 10,000 miles. Should pay for those hot summer days in Texas where you need to use max air conditioning and sacrifice a little mileage.

Report Abuse

Love this SUV

ekiehn, 09/03/2006
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Overall very pleased with the vehicle. Low maintenance as except for fuel. I spent $29.99 for the first oil change at the recommended 10,000 mile mark and that's it! Mileage is very good for and SUV of this type, averaging 31MPG combined city/hwy (weighted toward city). I know if they they allowed some tweaking of the computer I could be doing better. Worst highway mileage was around 26.4MPG from FL to South Carolina but that was with a car topper, fully loaded vehicle and doing about 10 miles/hour over posted speed limit. :) The vehicle is used for work and play and it is truly superb.

Report Abuse

Excellent value for a small SUV

Hybrid Tom, 08/22/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

The Escape Hybrid looks much smaller than it is. Interior space is much more than it appears. With tax credits, the cost equaled a V-6 with 4 cylinder MPG. Overall, no problems, and lots of approval from the tree huggers.

Report Abuse

Excellent, fuel saving vehicle

BKmonkey, 10/17/2006
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

What an excellent vehicle - great response when driving and nice fuel savings. For folks wanting the space and feel of a SUV - with superb fuel economy - this is your car.

Report Abuse

Just Turned Four

Kevin, 01/03/2010
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Have posted here previously. Like others, was looking to do right thing for the environment, have some carrying capacity and seeking better mileage. About 38K mi.on the vehicle. 4WD Hybrid w/o navigation or moonroof. Has been very reliable and - depending on time of year and driving habits. . . currently about 70/30 hwy./city, it averages around 29 mpg. Better mileage in warmer months here in Pacific NW. Was quite helpful having undercarriage clearance when snow blasted Seattle for a week in 12/08. Very utilitarian since it's built on Ford Ranger frame and has continued to perform as advertised. My wife was rear-ended at about 20-25 mph a year and a half ago. Vehicle held its own.

Report Abuse

Real owner comments

peaceman57, 12/06/2014
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
12 of 17 people found this review helpful

Bought this feh from auction. Mine has 180k Miles on it now, and I've seen some on auction with 220k miles. These auction are government Auctions where they drive highway miles and do the regular maintenance. I would say the vehicle is well designed. Though this vehicle has been quite reliable, I would recommend to buy a non hybrid Vehicle. If there is a need for a major repair, expect to pay more if you need to bring it to the Dealer.

Report Abuse

Will never change

Blossom, 06/06/2006
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have had 2 Ford Escapes and decided to try the hybrid due to my traveling. It was mainly due to gas prices rising. I cant believe what a difference it has made in my fuel costs.The ride is wonderful and I have enjoyed learning how to use the navigation system. The warranty on both the engine and battery system is super. I haven't had a bit of trouble with the 2 previous Escapes and I don't expect any with this one!

Report Abuse

BEST car purchase I've ever made!

Selena, 07/18/2006
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Traded in our 2002 Escalade for the 2006 Escape; the best decision (car- wise) we've ever made. VERY fun to drive and outstanding gas mileage. We were concerned about cargo space, given the fact that our previous vehicle was so large, but we have had no problems. Cute little SUV--I would recommend it to anyone. The first time we filled up with gas, it cost us $30, and we got more mileage with one tank than we EVER got for our previous car (which held 11 gallons more!). We love the fact that we're saving on gas as well as doing our part to live a little greener.

Report Abuse

A Joy to Own

Gene, 06/28/2007
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This has been a great vehicle. I feel that I have more than gotten my money's worth. With an average of 35.6mpg in both city and highway driving up and down hills, I can not be happier. The tax credits were a plus but I would buy this again in a heartbeat. Too bad they do not make a Mustang Hybrid. I would buy that too.

Report Abuse

My most dependable car ever

Grace, 05/09/2019
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought it used (low mileage ) 13 years ago, have driven 298,000 miles, & still get better mpg than new Toyota RAV4. Now, odometer reads 306,370 miles & mpg are the same. The design of the front seats provides good support for my back & I can drive long trips (5+hrs) comfortably.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Synergy Drive Replaced at 15,000 miles!

aportele, 02/16/2006
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Well, it's in the shop already. Only 15,000 miles. The synergy drive failed and left me on the side of the road. Who knows how long it will take to fix. Stuck with a Focus for part of this New England winter. Guess what? When the synergy drive dies, you can't even push the thing to the side of the road. It took six mechanics to move it 5 feet from the flatbed to the lift!

Report Abuse

Wife Loves Hybrid Escape

Jerry, 06/26/2006
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Owned new 2006 AWD for 1 month. 32-33 MPG city driving, 28 mpg highway in first 100 miles. 15 Gallon tank means 400+ miles between fills. Mileage is improving and 100% operation on electric motor below 40 MPH is increasing as vehicle is broken in. Wife is a former Passat-325E BMW driver - she loves how the Escape handles. Handles better than expected in high winds.

Report Abuse

Love my hybrid

green in NewEngland , 05/18/2009
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to get this hybrid off the truck as there were none left in New England. I have not had trouble with my car at all. I do take it to required check-ups and oil changes. It gets out of alignment about once a year but I'm sure my new drivers are responsible for that. They love to take the hybrid because their sporty cars are gas hogs. At first the mileage was just average but as it ages it gets better and better. The interior is driver friendly, it's good in snow and warms up super fast on icy days. After three years and 72,000 miles, I love it and will replace it with the same thing when it gets too old to go.

Report Abuse

06 Escape

cfgfhgfv, 05/21/2006
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The only problem we have had with the vehicle is that because it is so quiet deer and elk love to run in front of it. It is getting better mileage then expected for driving in the mountains. Very comfortable to drive with plenty of room for the family.

Report Abuse

Some Good; some bad

smokingpizza, 08/19/2006
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Moved from an Eddie Bauer Expedition to a fully loaded Escape Hybrid. Ford understands large people (I'm 6'4" 300 lbs) and the Escape is comfortable. Mileage is good, but not as good as expected. Ranging 25-28 mpg. Performance with the boost from the electric motor is good, but the CVT takes some getting used to; it revs motor much higher than I'm used to on acceleration and engine whine is loud. Handles well for an SUV. Things I had on the Expedition that I miss more than I thought I would: temp control air/heat, exterior keypad on door, memory seats/mirrors/pedals, and storage room. Probably would not buy again for reasons stated under suggested improvements.

Report Abuse

Perfectly sensible

EE, 11/27/2005
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I like this thing better than I thought I would. It doesn't feel slow, the gas mileage is good but not great ... until you compare it to OTHER SUV's, like my wife's Acura MDX which gets 12 MPG in the city while I'm getting 25 in hilly San Francisco, heh heh heh. Interior is very pleasant and unpretentious. I see people are raving about the AC outlet, but I doubt if they ever tried to use it -- it handles only very low wattage, so plugging in anything useful trips the circuit breaker and shuts it off. Can't even plug in my tire inflation pump. For my usage, which includes city commuting plus trips into the snow, this AWD hybrid is perfect.

Report Abuse

I Love My Escape Hybrid

Sklmarm, 05/03/2006
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I love my new Escape Hybrid. The last time I had so much fun driving a vehicle was as a college senior when I got my first new car. (I have a college senior and junior of my own now). The car drives and rides beautifully and I feel that I am doing my part to help our environment. I am an SUV kinda gal so am thrilled that Ford came out with one that has decent gas mileage. I am averaging 32 mpg which is a lot better than my Explorer was getting. I do get a kick out of the "stealth mode". OK, I taught kindergarten for years so I still have a lot of the kid in me. I think it is pretty cool that my little SUV can sneak up on folks who are walking down the middle isle of a parking lot.

Report Abuse

Why get a hybrid?

DogFather, 02/27/2009
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

My wife and I purchased the hybrid to increase our fuel efficiency. After 15 months, the Aux. Mode Door Actuator ceased to work. It wasn't under warranty so we paid over $500 to replace it. This offset all savings of having a hybrid. Now after 14 months, the same thing has happened again so we might as well have bought a standard Escape and saved in the long run. We found no benefit because of this in owning a hybrid by Ford.

Report Abuse

Great Technology...horrible marketing.

geeemman, 03/22/2006
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I looked at every Hybrid SUV and was convinced that the Ford Escape had the best technology for me. I wanted a Hybrid that the gasoline engine would turn off and it would run off batteries when possible. The Ford Escape was the ONLY SUV that would. I was surprised. What I hated was dealing with Ford! They make you take this very expensive and cheesy interior option package if you want an extra airbag. I think the option package added on an extra $3000! I was robbed ... especially when I found out that they downgraded the CD player from a 6 CD changer standard, to a single CD. Of course I'd already paid before I'd noticed. What a rip off!

Report Abuse

GREAT BUT...

RickeyBee, 03/05/2007
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I love the way the Hybrid drives; the 2 wheel drive gets super mileage (30+ city and highway). The visibility, acceleration, and handling are good. The quality of materials, particularly in the interior, is not. The rear storage area carpet is constantly coming loose. It covers the batteries and must be moved for maintenance. Unfortunately, it is not attached down by anything...not even Velcro. So whenever I slide a box into the back the carpet pulls up. The quality of the carpet is also not good; it is already looking shabby after only 9 months. I wore a hole in the floor mat within 30 days (not covered by warranty). The speedometer has very poor lighting and is hard to read at night.

Report Abuse

Hybrid? Yeah right!

Mike, 03/26/2007
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Gas mileage is VERY disappointing! The car has been in over 10 times for various issues. The shocks were replaced at 4,000 miles. The car needed a full alignment at 4,500 miles. I have another appointment tomorrow to investigate the terrible gas mileage, noises when turning, gas fume smells and the infamous 'clicking' noise in the rear has appeared again. If you are looking for an Escape - go for it! Just do NOT get the Hybrid! I had a regular Escape when they first came out and was great. Ford just doesn't have this down yet.

Report Abuse

Satisfied with the hybrid

stormpeakco, 05/14/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

We purchased this vehicle primarily to become more carbon neutral. This vehicle has far exceeded our expectations for us and our two large dogs. We have achieved an average of 29.75 miles for the life of the car (22K) and that includes residing at 7000', winters in the snow country with soft snow tires and CO winter gasoline. A recent trip to the west coast yielded 31.5mpg. Sure it is gutless but it is supposed to be with only a four banger and runs on regular, not jet fuel. Thus far it is the ideal primary vehicle

Report Abuse

Hybrid Issues to Consider

K. Smith, 09/02/2007
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

As a just past owner of a 06 Ford Escape hybrid, I would ask anyone looking into the hybrid models 06 & 07 to have your eye's open and understand the issues I found on my hybrid. Air Conditioning: You loose your A/C when you are traveling under 25 MPH, unless you go to Max Air, This makes the gas motor run all the time and why did you buy a hybrid ? Per factory this is how it was designed and live with it or find somthing else. I did I moved to a new Edge. I never did get the suggested mileage, I average around 31 MPG on freeway, trade in value wasn't as good as my Ford sales person suggested (My fault to listen to sales person) No sour grapes, just beware !

Report Abuse

Bad fuel economy

wayne, 12/04/2006
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
5 of 9 people found this review helpful

My Ford Escape gets poor gas mileage for a hybrid. We're now down to 25 mpg. Our Ford dealership won't help. Ford Motor Company's help line did not work. I guess Ford is going to lose more market share.

Report Abuse

Not As Expected - Not So Hybrid

J. Weisner, 09/16/2007
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 7 people found this review helpful

I got a pre-owned thinking most problems been solved. There still are, the infamous squeaks at the battery area, loose and squeaky front airbag. Consumption is great below 30mph, not at the hiway. Comfortable ride anyhow. Bad attendance for recalls, not all techs knows about hybrid. Power window switch fails, not just on my Escape but on my Focus as well.

Report Abuse

Disappointment to acceptance

Tony D'Onofrio, 12/28/2006
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

I've owned by Ford Escape Hybrid since Oct of 2004 - the first ever sold by my dealership. Gas mileage was VERY disappointing in my first year: Average 21 mpg city but 28 mpg highway. Live in a hilly town & every hill, the gas has to kick in; plus almost every pothole caused my foot to slip & kick-in the gas motor, etc. Also, colder weather requires MUCH longer "warm-up" time (5 to 10 minutes more) in the morning before the electric motor will ever kick in. Have learned tricks to up mileage, i.e, run AC or heat on minimum to avoid using gas (defroster always requires gas) ,coasting down hills, etc. Still only getting 24 mpg city & 29 highway. Better than my last car but not nearly what was promised.

Report Abuse

I love my hybrid and here's why

spacefan, 11/18/2008
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

First, if you have the fuel/electric usage interface for the navigation system you know what your mileage is and can adjust your driving style. Second, the system provides an average miles per gallon, not the actual miles per gallon. Third, check your tire pressure every two weeks to ensure proper inflation--it is amazing what effect properly inflated tires have on gas mileage. Fourth, with the exception of a recall on the electronics for the big battery (and the need to replace the big battery), this vehicle has been wonderfully reliable even in really cold weather (keep in mind the battery starts the engine). Lastly, during the worst of the gas crisis I was smiling all the way to the bank!

Report Abuse

I love my Escape Hybrid

Bill, 11/29/2006
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

When gas prices began to climb I started looking for better fuel economy. A friend suggested looking at hybrids. The local Ford dealer had one in stock. I test drove it and fell in love. The gas mileage I get is in line with the EPA estimate. The interior is well designed and very comfortable. I just wish it had the navigation system. I haven't had one problem with it. When/if this one wears out I'll get another.

Report Abuse

If a do-over, would not buy

1driver3, 03/24/2011
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
8 of 18 people found this review helpful

My 2006 Ford Hybrid with only 30,543 miles needs major repairs. First it was new tires, replacing those the car came with. So, at 30,000 miles I got 4 new tires. The car now has a bad rear end differential which can not be repaired but must be replaced to the tune of at least $2k, maybe more they say. No warranty, very low miles but 5 years old. I was told by the dealership that Ford and the dealership don't have the same level of customer service/loyalty because of the economy! We have probably purchased our last Fords. I may trade in but definitely not for another Ford!

Report Abuse

Bill's Escape

Bill , 05/23/2009
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I brought the car because I wanted to do good for the environment. And to get good economy. From the first day I started to drive it, it was a fun car. It's room, and can fit 4 adults comfortable. I especially like the navigation system. Too bad it was not true GPS. Now is it basically useless. I do like the roll out cover behind the 2nd seat. If you have to carry something and you don't want it to be seen, rolling out the cargo cover, hides everything back there. As long as it is not taller than the cargo cover.

Report Abuse

so so savings on fuel

Louis, 05/28/2005
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Not told by salesman that A/C didn't work while car stopped or running on battery, must start engine by switching AC to Max. No fuel savings if engine needs to run so that the AC will work. No cargo net.

Report Abuse

No frogs killed in this hybrid's manufacture

Sparkie, 05/31/2006
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

27 MPG actual all around suburban driving, handles well, lots of headroom, Electric motor rapidly accelerates engine to passing/on ramp speeds up to 5750 RPM (redline is 6000 RPM) as required. Supposed to be great in snow (with the heavy HV battery pack over the rear wheels), but not tested there, by me, yet. Truly a "fly by wire" design (you steer and press the gas pedal, and the computer controller decides how much motor, engine, and transmission it will provide).

Report Abuse

Not what I expected.

Charyn, 12/19/2005
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle when they were first released in December of 2004. Although I previously owned an Escape, and I do like this one. The performance is not what I expected. Mileage not a dramatic increase over a regular Escape. Also the dealership has been unable to service my vehicle for oil changes due to lack of experienced technicians with hybrids. Therefore I go to a trained mechanic that is Ford approved. I think the dealerships should be prepared to service the vehicles they sell. All in all I do like my Escape but there is room for improvement.

Report Abuse

'06 Escape at 7700 miles

Horatio, 10/04/2006
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the only vehicle I know of that exceeds the EPA window posting. If one modifies driving habits, the 4X4 Escape will return 34 MPG hwy and 31 MPG city. Fit and finish better that my neighbor's Honda Accord. Ride unexpectedly good for size of vehicle. Very quiet except when 2.3 is revving, and only then is engine noticeable. Transition from electric to gas is almost seamless. Cruise control on long trips returns better MPG than not using cruise control. Nits are lack of steering wheel adjustments & unlighted cruise controls.

Report Abuse

Ford Escape Hybrid Fun To Own

Sammy, 10/14/2006
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned the Escape for almost 14 months. It is fun to drive and is great on gas. I have had no problems and am happy that I am driving a Green vehicle.

Report Abuse

Hybrid adventure

Alex, 11/29/2006
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought my Ford Escape Hybrid in December 2005 - including luxury package (because I wanted the sunroof). Excellent comfort for me (6"5" - 240lb) and fun to drive - I regularly get 33 mpg around town. Less mpg (28 - 29) on highway, especially when pulling my small boat when it can be as low as 24. However, to get good mileage around town you have to drive carefully - no gunning away from lights etc.

Report Abuse

Really disappointed

Barb Lovell, 03/04/2007
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

SORRY I got it. Noisy, poor dash lights, minimal defrost and heating in north, faulty disc player, electric glitch (lost power steering 3 times), and mileage OVER ESTIMATED! At best I get 27 miles at 40 mph. Also because I wanted leather seats, I had to buy GPS which was not needed, It was part of the package offered.

Report Abuse

Best fun to drive SUV

Alan Kornweiss, 05/01/2007
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the first SUV I've ever owned and I'm very glad that I bought this one. It's fun to drive and the gas mileage is terrific,which is why I purchased it. I drive about 80 miles a day back and forth to work and the realibility has been great. I change the oil about every 8,000 miles and use synthetic oil as the factory reeommends. It has proven to be a great vehicle for me. I did a lot of research before purchasing this vehicle and when I read that it has Toyota technology that made my decision even easier. My last car was a Toyota Camry and it was the best car I had ever owned. If you want a fun to drive SUV I recommend this one. Great!

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050