Used 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,857 - $5,042

Used Escape Hybrid for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...16

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

The best car purchase I have ever made!!!!

Michael, 08/23/2015
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
41 of 42 people found this review helpful

I reluctantly purchased my 2006 Ford Escape Hybrid in 2011 with 134000 miles!!!! Got it for 4000 dollars on eBay.... Immediately after purchasing I had to replace the hybrid battery cooling fan. Very simple to do, ordered from Amazon and did it myself in about 30 mins. Now, in 2015, I have 234289 miles and the only money I've ever put into the car was for routine maintenance. It's amazing! I have never owned a vehicle that was so easily kept. I consistently get about 27-28 mpg in the city with either heat or air in most of the time and I get about 24-25mpg on the beltway(I speed like crazy, so that's incredible mileage per gallon to me). The engine is quiet, the ride is smooth and for the first time since I started buying cars, I feel like I totally got my monies worth out of a vehicle! 4000 dollars for over 100000 miles and she still keeps going. I do think I'll need a wheel bearing replaced, which means I'll do them all at once, but I cannot say enough about the build quality and performance of these hybrids. To be able to drive an suv and get close to 30mpg while still being able to sit up high and grab lumber from The Home Depot without renting a truck... It's amazing! I wanted to write this as soon as I hit 100k miles and before I go and spend money on the wheel bearings(which I could let ride for a bit, but why would I do that? She deserves to be kept up). I'm currently searching for another since I'm giving this one to my newly licensed son. Lol So to anyone it there that can get their hands on one of these, get it!!! Take it home, check it over and baby it because you'll likely own it for a long, long time.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ford nailed it

nanonevol, 11/20/2014
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
21 of 21 people found this review helpful

I love this Ford. I think it has the right size motor and electric combination unlike some hybrids. I get at least 30 mpg. The computer must take some many factors into account so the car knows when to go electric and when gas. Brilliant. I love when I'm coasting or driving along on battery or when the motor shuts off in traffic or at a light. All cars should be hybrid. It just makes sense to get the most out of a gallon. Regenerative braking also just a common sense solution to wasted heat energy in normal brakes. Update a year later - Still love this car. It looks practically new and I rarely ever even wash it. I had to have the brakes done and front wheel bearings but it's got 170K miles on it. Still going strong at 187K. Car is a peach (opposite of a lemon).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fantastic Hybrid SUV

dillpickle, 02/24/2010
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

The Ford Escape Hybrid SUV is an excellent alternative to the large, offensive SUV's driven by urban soccer moms. The gas mileage is terrific and extends time between fill ups on the highway. The vehicle is extremely dependable and very low maintenance compared to any other SUV on the road. The 4 wheel drive is competent and provides excellent winter traction and stability. The CVT transmission is similar to a golf cart on steroids and provides a seamless, smooth acceleration and "shifting". The cabin and ride are comfortable for long trips and space is plentiful for luggage and accessories. The best vehicle we have ever purchased.

Report Abuse

Good Ride. Great Value

clcs5860, 12/12/2011
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I bought my 06 all wheel drive escape in 2007, had 16K miles on it at the time of purchase. I have not been kind to this car as I drive it for business and am on the go all the time. I have kept service up to date. The car now has 101K miles on it. The ride is good, acceleration peppy for a hybrid. Only unexpected problem I have had, is to replace a power steering module which cost $824. The leather on the drivers seat has worn through in the arm which indicates the leather in the car is fairly cheap No other complaints.

Report Abuse

Great Car.... but

phdmam, 09/28/2014
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

I got it new and have been saving money on gas every mile I drive it. I have done my math, and save a gallon for every gallon of gas I use. Cons...-- Tires do not last long, on my 3rd set at 80k. Front end suspension is a problem - just fixed all my tie rods (the were old and torn) (I have had 20 year old Hondas with 175k and never changed a tie rod). Just changed my 2nd tone (ABS sensor) rings because they are exposed to the elements and break from rust. Overall, great car, no expenses to change antifreeze yet, no expenses for transmission fluids (lifetime). My kids are of driving age, and I think I will get another FEH

Report Abuse

Escaping the gas pump!

Daniel Romans, 09/20/2016
4dr SUV AWD (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

My last 2006 Escape Hypbid I had for several years with no issues until I hit a Cow Elk at 60 mph. I bought this one to replace it. This one has more electronic features and so far seems to be even better in the mileage department. It is the most economical SUV I've heard of. I get over 30mph average mileage, nice looking inside and out, easy to drive. My previous one four wheel drive did real well in deep snow as well as plowed snow and slush, I'm expecting no less from this one. Update. My "new" 2006 Escape Hybrid has been a major blessing for my wife and me. It does great in the snow and the mileage is great for an SUV. We are forced to drive over not so maintained rural roads in all kinds of weather and it handles just fine. Bought a "Yakima" clam shell carrier for the top and replaced the original tires with Michelins. Gas mileage went down only about two mpg, so still very happy with the vehicle. update 2018. Still going strong. Many miles put on since. To get over 30 mpg, I have to keep it below 65 on the highway, and not put the ac on max so the gas engine runs continually in city driving. Upgraded the tires to Michellins 2 years ago instead of the suggested hybrid tires. Mileage has gone down by about 2mpg but the tires between the added traction and tire wear, it has been well worth it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Awesome

D.Wit, 11/18/2006
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
14 of 15 people found this review helpful

For an SUV, it's a great little truck. The hybrid/gas electric gets 35mpg, has room for 5 plus your stuff. Handles great in the mountains. Has 16 in. wheels stock, so you sit high to see well. It's just fun to drive! It doesn't look like a hybrid...looks sporty. It's my wife's truck, but I'm 6.2 and 260lb and comfortable driving it.

Report Abuse

Fine Vehicle Even in Houston

CG, 10/24/2006
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I was nervous about purchasing new automotive technology but I have been completely satisfied by the reliability and performance of the Ford Escape Hybrid. As another reviewer noted, in hot humid climates like Houston where use of MAX AC is mandatory, the gas engine runs, reducing gas mileage. For the other 5 months of fall/winter/spring that we have, the SUV is blast! All year round it performs like a 6 cylinder SUV. The exterior and interior finishes are of good quality.

Report Abuse

Brake system failure. 5-7k to repair brakes

Tim Fitzgerald, 03/03/2016
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
26 of 30 people found this review helpful

I purchased this 2006 ford escape hybrid with 67k miles. Thought it was a great investment for my family and the economy. The joke was on me. On my way to work one morning my dashboard lights alerted me of a brake system failure and had to roll into a snowbank to stop. I have the car towed and expect a modest repair bill of $1000 or less, we are talking about brakes. To my surprise I was quoted $5000-$7000 to repair the brake system. The bulk of the cost is in the hydraulic charging unit, quoted to me at $4500. $1000 for a new master cylinder and $1095 to bleed the brakes. We are now up to $6500 with out labor costs. With labor looking at 7-8k. How can Ford justify a repair of brakes to cost $7-8k??? Have contacted ford several times with no answers or assistance. They apologize and tell me there is nothing they can do. Ironically they changed the brake system in 2007 model, I wonder why??? Talk about Ford satisfaction. Stay away from these vehicles they have done nothing but drain my bank account. Tim Fitzgerald Swampscott Ma 01907 boomer328@comcast.net

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice little SUV hybrid

guru32145, 05/20/2011
4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Bought this from a used car dealer who had lowered the price to 2500 below kbb. I think he was having trouble selling this because people fear battery failure even though the battery is supposed to last for the driveable life of the vehicle. We started out having trouble getting more than about 24 mpg, but a lighter foot better use of the regenerative breaking (shifting to L when stopping and long light taps on the brake rather than quick short stops) have brought our mileage up to 29 which is about what the new EPA estimates say we should get. This will probably hold its value given rising gas prices. Good job Ford for making a superior vehicle.

Report Abuse
12345...16
Items per page:
51050