Used 2009 Chevrolet Suburban Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$11,700 - $16,770

Used Suburban for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Shuddering Suburban

David DNO, 09/08/2009
LTZ 1500 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

My 2009 Suburban is spacious, elegant and well built. The cabin is very quiet at any speed, and the handling for such a large vehicle is impressive. I have a large family and the Suburban is the only "Car" that suits my needs. The Suburban has the ability to cut down to 4 cylinders on flat or down hill surfaces to improve fuel economy. The down side to this feature, which is standard on ALL models, is the unfortunate tendency to "shudder". The truck will "buck" during a coast. Sometimes accompanied by a distinct clattering from the engine compartment. Additionally, when accelerating up hill, the truck will lumber, failing to accelerate, as the engine screams to answer the command.

Report Abuse

Avoid Suburbans with 5.3 engine

boomer1971, 08/18/2013
LT2 1500 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
17 of 19 people found this review helpful

Hey everyone have had on going issues with my truck and wanted to share my experience . I have a 2009 Suburban with the 5.3 liter engine. I have been to the dealer 4 times with engine related issues. Me and my family have been left at the roadside by this truck. The truck has had the engine rebuilt at 38000 miles by the dealership and continues to consume oil at 41000 miles. I have no confidence in this truck any longer. I've requested a new engine or buyback. Best GM has to offer is $2000 certificate towards purchase of another GM product. Avoid the 5.3 liter versions of the Suburban/ Tahoe/ Yukon as many have had engine problems.

Report Abuse

Chevy is letting me down...

NotPleased, 11/25/2009
LTZ 1500 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

I Recently purchased my Suburban less than a month ago and I'm already running into nightmares with constant trips to the dealership. My check engine light has already came on twice due to the ECU (Computer) changing my fuel settings which ends up leading to my truck not starting or running extremely rough. They keep resetting the ECU and it will run for a couple of days but I'll end up right back to where I started from, not driving. The truck is at the dealership as I write this... so beware, this truck is an electronic mess. Now I'm sure I just ended up getting a bad build from the factory line but there are a few people already out there suffering with the same problems that I'm having.

Report Abuse

Clanking Noise Everytime it drives

imlily, 04/28/2011
LS 1500 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have a 2009 Suburban that has been in the dealership 3 times for the same thing. Everytime the car is driven cold there is a clanking noise somewhere. The dealership could not find out what it was so they started to say that at first it was a broken weld, then they said the chassis had some bolts tightened, then they tightened up bolts in the transmission. I don't feel like it is a safe drive at all and am very concerned that the dealership is with holding information from me. Oh and when I asked them for my paper work the 2nd visit they didn't want to give it to me. I had to argue with them to release the paperwork to me. Very concerned and the car was not cheap.

Report Abuse

Almost Perfect Tow Vehicle

TJ in CT, 04/15/2009
LS 2500 4dr SUV 4WD (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Traded my 2004 3/4 Ton in. The new hitch Platform is appx. 3" higher than the old one, so the trailer tongue and hitch needed to be adjusted. The engine Combo with the 6 speed Transmisson pulls my 24' 10'tall Wells Cargo trailer very well. Weight 3000 lbs empty and 8500 lbs with my Pierce or Bentley loaded. 2400 miles so far and 350 towing. In Tow Mode with a full load the transmission will down shift to hold the load back when needed. It shifted down to 2nd gear at 35mph. The tach popped to 4500rpm. but did in fact help slow the vehicle. I achieved 9.0MPG towing on highways and back roads on pretty agressive hills and valleys. w/o trailer I got 20 MPG on pure highway driving.

Report Abuse

Buyer Beware

MR, 06/30/2009
LT2 1500 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Nothing but headaches since we purchased it. Back and forth to dealership to address shuddering/vibration and power issues. (5 times so far) No codes no TSB so they say no problem, car has intermittent shudder at low speeds occurring while accelerating up incline now occurs any time accelerating. Told vibration is normal for these vehicles due to electronic drive system.hesitation when pressing on gas going up inclines lack of power feels as if struggling to get up hill,could not imagine how this could tow anything,shuddering at times is quite severe in as whole vehicle feels as if it shakes, does not seem normal.Customer service at GM is less than helpful

Report Abuse

SofarSogood

AnthonyinCastleRock,, 10/27/2009
LT2 1500 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Traded in my 2006 Expedition. Loved the Expedi, but wanted more room and hated the look of the Expedi EL. Drove the Suburban for 800 miles around town and then took it 4,600 miles back east with the whole crew. Excellent truck. Great ride and the best looking SUV out there. The mileage was unreal, averaged 18.5mpg for the trip. Mostly highway, but 4x4 on the beaches of the Outer Banks for 7 days. The six speed tranny is good, but it does shift abruptly and awkwardly once in a while. The seats are super comfortable, but I went with cloth because I am sick of the leather looking like crap after a year. This is the worst Chevy cloth ever, everything pills up on it so get seat covers.

Report Abuse

This Gen of Suburbans is only good to haul people, the utility/camping aspect is gone.

thecarguy10, 06/16/2014
LT2 2500 4dr SUV (6.0L 8cyl 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

We have always had Suburbans and loved them, until the 2007-2014 body style. GM has really screwed the pouch on the interior design. The Dash is awkward and has no room for stuff (very important for long drives) and for the first time ever they don't offer a fold flat interior.... What gives, the say it's not cost effective, but yet they are charging 60k for one... I am selling mine because the back of the truck is only good to haul people, not cargo, not dogs or camping. As far as I am concerned I will not be buying anything newer then 2006... I can't believe we bailed GM out...

Report Abuse

BEST SUV I HAVE EVER OWNED OVERALL

Cassi, 02/08/2016
LTZ 1500 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought a 2009 Ltz with one owner with 49k miles. About 1 year ago. (Feb) 2015. Absolutely love it and will never own but these again. Parts cost a lot so make sure you have a warranty. A lot of electronics in this vehicle and are not cheap. Thank goodness for my warranty because I had small parts to be fixed. All over 200 each. Cruise control switch, air bag sensor, and side mirror interal clip that makes your windows bind in that was a 400 dollar repair. Thank goodness for my extended warranty. That was all covered. I also has the suspension light come on. Had to have a shock absorber replaced that was 600 which I had to pay. So with all that the truck is great and I love every bit of it. But not to cheap to repair. Overall worth it all.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Owner Review 2009 Suburban

Wayne Dykstra, 12/31/2008
LT2 1500 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased a 2009 Suburban, my 12th Suburban since 1980. The vehicle is the best designed, finshed and highest quality Suburban yet. Fit and finish are perfect and engine noise is nonexistant. The handling and steering are perfectly tuned, and the vehicle feels like a lightweight crossover when you are cornering and drving city traffic. Amazing how they have accomplished it. For anyone who needs a big SUV (as I do) you cannot do better than this one. My only complaint is that Chevy can't figure out how to make the middle row seats lay flat. A very minor issue, however. On a scale of owner satisfaction and value I would rate my Suburban as a 9.8.

Report Abuse

Trading up

2nd Suburban, 04/01/2009
LTZ 1500 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just traded in an 07 on an 09 suburban and pleased with the six speed transmission. The 07 had a four speed transmission (I think the 08 year had both but on different models) and the shifting is much smoother. It also finally has blue tooth. Other than that, it is the same truck as what we had and we were pretty happy with it.

Report Abuse

Nice Truck

Very Nice, 07/11/2009
LTZ 1500 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just bought the Suburban LTZ for my wife and 4 daughters. So far VERY happy with the Chevrolet. Disappointed with cheap plastics but overall a very good feel inside. Truck is very smooth and relaxing for such a big vehicle. Not trouble at all to drive for the wife with the backup sensors. Love the big power tailgate and 20 inch rims with the Bridgestones. Rides great. Plenty of power and looks to be as good of mileage in town. If you're thinking about buying a mini van worried about mileage, suck it up and get the Suburban you won't be sorry.

Report Abuse

Very Pleased so far

5th Suburban, 09/03/2009
LT2 1500 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Our 5th Suburban in the last 20+ years, this is the best by far. Creature comforts are significantly improved over previous years, and the 6-speed transmission and proven 5.3 V8 are strong and smooth. Looks like this will be a very good vehicle for years to come.

Report Abuse

Love it!

Dcarver292, 10/27/2009
LT2 1500 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my new Suburban. I used the Costco buying program and paid $400 under invoice! The truck is perfect, it rides like a dream and and the kids love the DVD player. It is very easy to drive and with the rear camera it is a dream to park.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050