Used 2000 Chevrolet Suburban Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$3,418 - $7,146

Used Suburban for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

The most reliable SUV out there.

whitney, 10/27/2015
1500 LT 4dr SUV 4WD
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Chevy did it right with this one!!! I have 230K on it and it is still going strong. It has had a rough life and has taken everything in stride from off roading, hill climbing, river runs, hauling boats/ trailers, pulling stumps, cross country trips etc. I could not ask for more out of a vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Safety, Safety, Safety!

Campbell, 04/20/2007
1500 LS 4dr SUV
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

My family was recently rear-ended by an 18-wheeler on I-75 in our Surburban. We all walked away with minor scratches and bruises. We have had some mechanical problems in the past(fuel pump, transmission and rear-end problems) but I don't think I will ever trust another vehicle as much. The "burb" was totalled and I felt I was leaving my "Best Friend behind". I don't think many cars would have taken the hit we did and keep us as safe as this one did. I will be buying another one, you better believe! Mechanical problems can be fixed, family sometimes can't.

Report Abuse

189k and still going... what a tank

mountainman68, 05/24/2007
2500 4dr SUV 4WD
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

My 2000 Suburban is a 3/4ton 4x4 LT and gets me anywhere I want to go. I've been through snow 4 feet deep. The 6.0L vortec really pulls through. Ive been up 7% grades 100 times. It has seen the backwoods, towed 11k trailers, and has been through deep mud and water on hunting season. I bought this truck with 16k on it and it now has nearly 190k with nothing more than belts, tires, and 2 sets of brakes replaced. I pull out trucks all the time up by our cabin in mariposa pines, our toyhauler on the beach, and i love the feeling of owning a huge american tank.

Report Abuse

King of the Road

Cougar87, 03/15/2002
1500 LS 4dr SUV
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

King of the Road - that's how I feel behind the wheel of my 2000 Suburban. This is the ultimate "Load up the kids and all their stuff and take a Road Trip" vehicle. At 22000 miles only problems have been both rear window actuators and one rear door power lock went out (dealer replaced in one morning) - this seems to be a common problem from other reviews I've read. Quiet, confident driving on the highway. Plenty of power (I'm not expecting race-car like performance) and towing capacity. I love my Suburban!

Report Abuse

Love this Suburban

Rick, 10/23/2010
1500 LS 4dr SUV
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

This is the fourth suburban that I have owned and the first one that I have bought brand new. It has served me well in every function that I have used it. I occasionally have to drive off road to job sites in my job, only got stuck once and that was in a plowed field. I love the traction in deep snow which is needed for my driveway which is 600 feet long. It has great control during heavy rainstorms also. All this plus a great ride on the highway too. I have a big pop up camping trailer and it tows like it's not even there. I have had it loaded down and pulling a loaded 14 ft trailer moving people and furniture and it has performed excellently. Great ride for only having 2 wheel drive.

Report Abuse

MY THIRD BURB SINCE 1996

SLA, 07/02/2002
1500 LT 4dr SUV
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

THIRD SUBURBAN SINCE 96. TRADE AT 65K EVERY TWO YEARS. LIKED THE 1996 AND 1999, BUT THE 2000 PLATFORM WAS A SUBSTANTIAL IMPROVEMENT IN RIDE AND WIND NOISE. THE SECOND ROW BUCKET SEAT IS NOW A VERY "CIVILIZED" PLACE TO TRAVEL VIS A VIS THE OLD BENCH STYLE SEAT, PLUS BETTER ACCESS TO THE THIRD ROW. MINOR PROBLEMS WITH THE ELECTRIC WINDOW ACTUATORS. APPARENTLY GM GOT A BAD BATCH. I'VE GOT ALMOST 63K MILES ON THIS ONE AND IT IS AS TIGHT AND PLEASING TO DRIVE AS WHEN IT WAS NEW. THE GENERAL HAS IT JUST ABOUT RIGHT WITH THIS PLATFORM.

Report Abuse

BIG RED

TDTRUCK, 10/25/2003
2500 LS 4dr SUV
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is one tough truk! It hauls, it tows, it hunts! The 6.0 Motor gets 10MPG with all nine seats full & pulling a 3500lb pop-up over Monarch Pass, CO (~11,500 feet) at 55 mph! Breaks are great for a truck this size

Report Abuse

Not again

mradford, 11/10/2003
1500 LT 4dr SUV
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have the 5.3 liter engine. From the factor it used 1-2 quarts of oil per 4000 miles. Chevy says this is normal. Rattles to beat the band. Window motors have failed twice each. yada yada yada. I love the size and comfort but the quality is poor.

Report Abuse

Fuel pump problems

LGrugin, 12/29/2003
2500 LS 4dr SUV
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We traded a 1999 Suburban for a 2000 Suburban because we had had problems with the older one. After owning the second for a little over a year, the fuel pump went out. Over the past 6 months, we have had 5 fuel pumps, the latest stranding us 120 miles from home on Christmas day. The dealer cannot find out why, but says he had a Yukon that did the same. He told us he would "get rid of it" if he were us and it went out again.

Report Abuse

What a fun, functional car!

danblocker1106, 11/11/2006
1500 LT 4dr SUV
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for 7yrs. It has been a great car. We have 6 in our home and often take our grown children and grandchildren places and to the lake. We can fill the car with 9 people, luggage in the back and top of car. In addition we tow a large pontoon boat or a travel trailer. Gas mileage is reasonable. The service cost has been very small. I have a very bad back with chronic pain. Yet, I am very comfortable in this car. It looks great!

Report Abuse

Oldy but Goodie

Dave, 12/01/2008
1500 LS 4dr SUV 4WD
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

We purchased this truck used with 77K miles on it for the 3rd row seating. Plus my wife isn't the best of driver, so if she got into an accident, there is a good chance of her and my kids walking away. We now have 111K miles. I have replaced the shocks, tires, and alternator, in the last four years. American quality I feel is more than reached by this vehicle seeing how the above is routine/scheduled maintance. Gas is not the greatest in the city, but on the highway, fill up with Plus grade, and see your avg shoot from 18mgs to over 28 mpgs going 70 plus mph on the highway. We have done long road trips with this truck for quite sometime now. If you can find one in good shape buy it

Report Abuse

Great car

shane, 07/13/2008
1500 LT 4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great car has lasted for years. Subarans are fun to drive. Had it for 8 years and looks brand new still. Great for going places and very reliable

Report Abuse

Chevy Quality?

bman, 09/15/2009
1500 LT 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this truck in 2003 with 35k on it. have put 100k on it since then. steers more like a mini van than a truck, rides better also. Have replaced every power window motor at least once, replaced transmission at 105K have replaced 4 oxygen sensors and still have engine trouble light on. push button 4 WD switch doesn't always work, door locks occasionally don't work, check 4 WD light comes on but no mechanic can figure out why, wheel speed sensor in front wheel hubs were repaired under recall once but again don't work causing ABS to activate at speeds less than 5 mph such as when you are trying to stop at a redlight, causing brakes to not work, have had several near fender- benders.

Report Abuse

Smooth Ride

Ohio Sales, 07/23/2003
2500 LS 4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

3rd Suburban for a traveling salesman and this one is the best to date. 125k and no major problems to date. Towing 9000# with very little effort. Problems with the previous Suburbans have been addressed. Excellent ride with handling to match.

Report Abuse

Flawless.

edwin301, 08/09/2003
2500 LS 4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This Suburban has been flawless. With 41k miles, it has only been in the shop twice, and both for minor things. The 6.0 engine will pull your house right off the lot. A/C is great, and acceleration is awsome. Gas mileage is so so, but for something this big, and this fast, mileage is better than expected. This Suburban has no rattles, no wind noise. Best one we have had yet. We recently bought a luxury Japanese car and in 8 months, it has been in the shop 5 times, and needs to go back again. From this point forward my next car will be a Suburban/Tahoe.

Report Abuse

2000 Lt Suburban 4x4

Tigerlileas, 07/11/2004
1500 LT 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had 5 different cars and this vehicle has been the best that I have ever had all around.

Report Abuse

Fuel pump failure

Noillinator, 07/05/2005
1500 LT 4dr SUV
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have 60,000 miles on this truck and the fuel pump failed. The service center said they see this a lot and that you have to keep 1/4 tank of gas to keep the pump cool. That is nonsense if you ask me. I am glad I wasn't driving this vehicle when the pump went out. That could have been bad. This was a potential death trap. The interior isn't as nice as my 1996. They really cheapened the seat. The rear radio contriol can't take abuse. I had to replace this when I bought it. I used to be a supplier to GM and can't believe the abuse they gave me regarding my parts. I guess the best I can do is head a warning to GM that this is my last GM car.

Report Abuse

Burb 2500 LT 4W

Colorado Paul, 07/09/2003
2500 LT 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

Live in the Rockies, and "this" is the ride to own. Our 2500 LT has been a PRINCE, and we can't say a bad thing about it...unless buying gas causes you disconfort. It's an animal.

Report Abuse

DO NOT BUY

shana harrison, 11/03/2015
2500 LT 4dr SUV
0 of 17 people found this review helpful

I SUGGEST NO ONE BUY THIS CAR EVER

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

Burns Oil

mike_chevy, 07/10/2002
1500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great vehicle to drive. Burning 2-3 quarts of oil per 3000 miles concerns me, but Chevy says it is acceptable.

Report Abuse

Don't Lock Me Out

Dan J., 08/09/2002
1500 LS 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've been extremely happy with my suburban. It is comfortable, spacious, and even economical. I recently got 18 MPG at 75 MPH on a 1300 mile trip! The only problem I have had is with the security system. The alarm goes off for no reason, and then the power locks don't work for a couple days. And then it miraculously heals itself. The dealer has had it in 4 times for this and apparently has it fixed this time. Otherwise no problems!

Report Abuse

Totally satisfied - No complaints

hatipa, 11/19/2002
1500 LS 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Safe, comfortable driving for 2 years with absolutely no mechanical problems. Still runs like new at 25,000 miles. Great for hauling the kids, their friends, and their stuff. My wife originally was lukewarm about the purchase (she hates station wagons) but she quickly became a fan.

Report Abuse

Ultimate Family & Tow Vehicle

SquamLaker, 12/31/2002
1500 LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Our first Suburban, but not our last. Whether we are hauling kids to Hockey games or the boat to the lake, the Suburban is always up to the task. 3 zones for heat/AC mean everyone is comfortable. Towing is effortless, pulls a 5,000 lb boat with ease. Ride is very comfortable, handling is solid and there is no "top heavy" feeling as we found with other SUV's. Actual Gas mileage is even a bit better than my last Grand Cherokee.

Report Abuse

2000 Chevrolet Suburban

balvord, 09/18/2003
1500 LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is our family hauler. With 4 kids it is the schoolbus of choice for us. Going to car shows, it pulls our '55 Chevy Bel Air on a car trailer with ease. Highly recommended for big families and towing.

Report Abuse

Stillen Suburban

teethdoc, 10/01/2003
1500 LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Had my suburban customized by Stillen. It was great before, but now it is better. Added 4th row of seats, 6 piston brakes, etc. Good people hauler, carries cargo, goes in the snow, takes care of errands, very safe.

Report Abuse

Chevy Suburban owner

m., 01/13/2004
1500 LT 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Lots of room for the whole family. No need for 2 cars, to bring the WHOLE family on outings.

Report Abuse

Great SUV!

Rig, 04/20/2004
1500 LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased this Suburban in 2003 and have been driving it for a year. This has been the best car/truck/suv I have ever owned. The engine is powerful and responsive, the brakes are very good and the AC/Heater is fantastic. After test driving a Tahoe and sitting in the back seat, the Suburban was hands down the best Suv if you haul more than 5 people. Have had no problems in the year we have owned it.

Report Abuse

great hockey hauler

marblehead, 07/12/2004
1500 LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

love love the vehicle hate hillcrest chevrolet where i bought they were horrible

Report Abuse

Best one out of 5

hardcore, 09/21/2005
2500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Have owned 4 other 'Burbs, this one is awesome. 4000 miles in first month. Should of bought it sooner. Excellent brakes, unlike prior models. 6.0 is a pleasant surprise. Doesn't ride like a 3/4 ton but tows like a 1 ton. Love the dash & A/C vent layout. Push button 4x4, way cool & AutoTrac already kept me on track once. Towing an ElDorado on a car trailer in terrain ranging from 1500' to 6000' I avg 10.5 mpg. With the 5 of us and luggage,(nothing towed) I saw 14.5 mpg on flat land. These are real numbers & I didn't spend time in the right lane. Besides, if you don't realize bigger is safer, and can't handle the gas bill, this isn't for you.

Report Abuse

Best Car Ever Built.

Mike Barber, 12/01/2005
1500 LT 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is truly the best driving and most versatile vehicle ever built.It has all the power I need for any use.And for long trips there is no other way to go.I now have over 130k miles on this 2000 LT,and the only thing I have done to it is put a new water pump on it at 126k miles.And it still drives like new. I wish it got a little better gas milage,but its worth that sacrifice.We have this one and a GMC Yukon XL Denali and both of these vehicles are the cars of all cars.

Report Abuse

Burban

Migl, 01/18/2016
1500 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased recently drove to chicago from TN and it handled greatvon the road.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Our 2000 Chevy Suburban

walvord, 03/22/2002
1500 LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

While not quite the classic as our '55 Bel Air, it is a great family hauler, 4 kids, 3 cats, and 1 dog. Lots of room for the groceries too. Great for long trips, roomy, comfortable, reliable. Highly recommended for the big family that has lots of activity.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050