Used 2000 Chevrolet Suburban Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$3,425 - $7,160

Used Suburban for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

The most reliable SUV out there.

whitney, 10/27/2015
1500 LT 4dr SUV 4WD
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Chevy did it right with this one!!! I have 230K on it and it is still going strong. It has had a rough life and has taken everything in stride from off roading, hill climbing, river runs, hauling boats/ trailers, pulling stumps, cross country trips etc. I could not ask for more out of a vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Safety, Safety, Safety!

Campbell, 04/20/2007
1500 LS 4dr SUV
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

My family was recently rear-ended by an 18-wheeler on I-75 in our Surburban. We all walked away with minor scratches and bruises. We have had some mechanical problems in the past(fuel pump, transmission and rear-end problems) but I don't think I will ever trust another vehicle as much. The "burb" was totalled and I felt I was leaving my "Best Friend behind". I don't think many cars would have taken the hit we did and keep us as safe as this one did. I will be buying another one, you better believe! Mechanical problems can be fixed, family sometimes can't.

Report Abuse

189k and still going... what a tank

mountainman68, 05/24/2007
2500 4dr SUV 4WD
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

My 2000 Suburban is a 3/4ton 4x4 LT and gets me anywhere I want to go. I've been through snow 4 feet deep. The 6.0L vortec really pulls through. Ive been up 7% grades 100 times. It has seen the backwoods, towed 11k trailers, and has been through deep mud and water on hunting season. I bought this truck with 16k on it and it now has nearly 190k with nothing more than belts, tires, and 2 sets of brakes replaced. I pull out trucks all the time up by our cabin in mariposa pines, our toyhauler on the beach, and i love the feeling of owning a huge american tank.

Report Abuse

King of the Road

Cougar87, 03/15/2002
1500 LS 4dr SUV
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

King of the Road - that's how I feel behind the wheel of my 2000 Suburban. This is the ultimate "Load up the kids and all their stuff and take a Road Trip" vehicle. At 22000 miles only problems have been both rear window actuators and one rear door power lock went out (dealer replaced in one morning) - this seems to be a common problem from other reviews I've read. Quiet, confident driving on the highway. Plenty of power (I'm not expecting race-car like performance) and towing capacity. I love my Suburban!

Report Abuse

Love this Suburban

Rick, 10/23/2010
1500 LS 4dr SUV
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

This is the fourth suburban that I have owned and the first one that I have bought brand new. It has served me well in every function that I have used it. I occasionally have to drive off road to job sites in my job, only got stuck once and that was in a plowed field. I love the traction in deep snow which is needed for my driveway which is 600 feet long. It has great control during heavy rainstorms also. All this plus a great ride on the highway too. I have a big pop up camping trailer and it tows like it's not even there. I have had it loaded down and pulling a loaded 14 ft trailer moving people and furniture and it has performed excellently. Great ride for only having 2 wheel drive.

Report Abuse

MY THIRD BURB SINCE 1996

SLA, 07/02/2002
1500 LT 4dr SUV
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

THIRD SUBURBAN SINCE 96. TRADE AT 65K EVERY TWO YEARS. LIKED THE 1996 AND 1999, BUT THE 2000 PLATFORM WAS A SUBSTANTIAL IMPROVEMENT IN RIDE AND WIND NOISE. THE SECOND ROW BUCKET SEAT IS NOW A VERY "CIVILIZED" PLACE TO TRAVEL VIS A VIS THE OLD BENCH STYLE SEAT, PLUS BETTER ACCESS TO THE THIRD ROW. MINOR PROBLEMS WITH THE ELECTRIC WINDOW ACTUATORS. APPARENTLY GM GOT A BAD BATCH. I'VE GOT ALMOST 63K MILES ON THIS ONE AND IT IS AS TIGHT AND PLEASING TO DRIVE AS WHEN IT WAS NEW. THE GENERAL HAS IT JUST ABOUT RIGHT WITH THIS PLATFORM.

Report Abuse

BIG RED

TDTRUCK, 10/25/2003
2500 LS 4dr SUV
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is one tough truk! It hauls, it tows, it hunts! The 6.0 Motor gets 10MPG with all nine seats full & pulling a 3500lb pop-up over Monarch Pass, CO (~11,500 feet) at 55 mph! Breaks are great for a truck this size

Report Abuse

Not again

mradford, 11/10/2003
1500 LT 4dr SUV
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have the 5.3 liter engine. From the factor it used 1-2 quarts of oil per 4000 miles. Chevy says this is normal. Rattles to beat the band. Window motors have failed twice each. yada yada yada. I love the size and comfort but the quality is poor.

Report Abuse

Fuel pump problems

LGrugin, 12/29/2003
2500 LS 4dr SUV
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We traded a 1999 Suburban for a 2000 Suburban because we had had problems with the older one. After owning the second for a little over a year, the fuel pump went out. Over the past 6 months, we have had 5 fuel pumps, the latest stranding us 120 miles from home on Christmas day. The dealer cannot find out why, but says he had a Yukon that did the same. He told us he would "get rid of it" if he were us and it went out again.

Report Abuse

What a fun, functional car!

danblocker1106, 11/11/2006
1500 LT 4dr SUV
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for 7yrs. It has been a great car. We have 6 in our home and often take our grown children and grandchildren places and to the lake. We can fill the car with 9 people, luggage in the back and top of car. In addition we tow a large pontoon boat or a travel trailer. Gas mileage is reasonable. The service cost has been very small. I have a very bad back with chronic pain. Yet, I am very comfortable in this car. It looks great!

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050