Used 2005 Chevrolet Colorado Consumer Reviews

List Price
$8,784

Used Colorado for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Good truck

coloradoguy615, 09/26/2012
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
41 of 41 people found this review helpful

I own a 2005 Colorado Z71 LS Crew. She looks great and handles amazing. Can't say too much about the interior (very bland, but does the job). I've owned her for about a year now and I've only had to replace the brakes. For buying the thing with 100k miles and putting 19k on in 11 months it's very surprising. She handles great on and off road. Plenty of power in the I5. I wouldn't pass the 2005 model year up for any reason. Looks better than the 2012 IMO. I drove a Dodge for 10 years and a 1999 F150 for 6 years. I've been a loyal ford guy my whole life, this truck changed me to a chevy guy. Good truck, cheap to fix, easy to maintain.

Report Abuse

Bestest vehicle I ever owned

persianguy40, 04/23/2012
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS Rwd SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
52 of 54 people found this review helpful

OK. I owned a 1987 VW Golf in the 90s. 1995 BMW 325is in late 90s. Ford sport trac 2001. Toyota Tercel 1993. Toyota Corolla 2005. Any finally my beloved 2005 4 door colorado 2-wheel drive. This is a perfect vehicle. Not too small, not too big. Looks good and aggressive. Engine sounds good, sporty, reliable. 5 cylinder engine sounds weird but it works great. Compared to my friends who have 6 or 8 cylinder trucks this truck is very easy on gasoline. I get 27 miles/gallon on freeway, and 22 on streets. Don't forget this is a truck, and you can do all things a truck can do with this awsome truck. I bouight the truck in 2007. It had 50,000 milies on it. Now it has 99,500.

Report Abuse

Love my Black Xtreme

John, 02/17/2016
4dr Crew Cab ZQ8 LS Base Rwd SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

Bought it new in 2006. Had an issue with hvac fan motor resistor and connector other than that truck has been very reliable and a pleasure to drive.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Take this truck and ...

Truckhound, 06/24/2010
2dr Regular Cab Z85 Fleet Rwd SB (2.8L 4cyl 5M)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

The truck I have is a company vehicle I've used since new. It only failed to start once and I only needed to wait 10 minutes to have it start. Reason unknown. This truck has been serviced regularly and performs flawlessly. Canadian winters are no obstacle as long as you have winter tires and keep a couple of sand bags over the rear axle for severe winters. If driven with a light touch the fuel economy is outstanding even with a decent load. The interior is very spartan cheap in fact. It is functional, the climate controls work well but I dearly miss a center armrest of some kind. There isn't much this truck won't do. You can take this truck, put it to task and it won't let you down!

Report Abuse

my cool colorado

John, 03/07/2010
4dr Crew Cab ZQ8 LS Rwd SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
22 of 23 people found this review helpful

I bought my colorado with 43K miles from an auction. I really like it allot. I have a lower than usual RWD pick-up truck with a stock sport suspension and stock 17's so the ride is pretty.....well....sporty! I can say one thing, when this car is on the freeway going about 65 mph. you can't even feel it. It's very smooth, even though the acceleration is pretty darn right lazy for a 5 cyl. engine. Engine and transmission is a charm, good job GM (general motors). I love this truck, looks good and does the job. I can even use it as a family car since I have the crew cab. 5 adults can ride comfortably, and there is no problem putting a baby chair in the back.

Report Abuse

Suspension

wayne, 11/28/2009
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

The vehicle was purchased in 07 with only 15k. .I drove it through the winter and summer without problem. Possibly ran 5k.In the fall of the year I was on a dirt trail, rough road for the weekend trip. Afterwards I had to replace the front ball joints as they had been worn. Also all four shocks were leaking fluid and I replaced those also. The original shocks are not much more than a piece of plastic covering a cylinder My neighbor had just purchased a new Colorado, 4 cylinder,two wheel drive (2009)and his shocks are the same as what I had. I have a 4x4 what is up with that? The factory shocks and front end parts are garbage.I replaced with after market .So much for Mr.Goodwrench

Report Abuse

Nice looking but too many problems

PHOQUR, 11/14/2008
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

Got this truck and it was great. The promise of an inline 5 engine to save gas seemed promising but it burns gas hard. The first thing to go bad was the air conditioning, it would just stop and only the highest speed (4) would work and the others would start when they want to. Then there was a problem where the brake lights would stop working, had to take it in to the dealer to fix these problems a lot and just the brake switch is OK now after we found there was a recall on the brake switch. The engine has this problem now that the dealer claims to have fixed twice where the RPM drops low/stalls and causes overheating cause engine fan spins too slow and the lights get dim.

Report Abuse

GM fails again!

dhectorg, 07/29/2008
4dr Crew Cab Z85 LS Base 4WD SB (2.8L 4cyl 5M)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

I grew up in a GM household and as an adult, I too only drove GM cars for years. Then I decided to try a Honda to see what all the fuss was about. I was so shocked by the superior quality and reliability that I never went back to American...until now. I needed a work truck and something to drive on camping trips. I honestly only bought the Colorado because it was so much cheaper than a comparable used Tacoma or Frontier. After 6 months of driving this truck, Ive decided to sell it and look for a Toyota or Nissan. I've had to repair the transfer case, replace the clutch, replace relays, replace windshield weather seal, etc. I'm going back to Japanese. I know I can count on their quality!

Report Abuse

Best Truck for the money

Brian-33, 03/20/2007
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

I bought my Colorado in the summer of 2005 during the height of the employee discount sales and got a fantastic deal. I now have over 32,000 miles on my Colorado and I love it. The styling is great, the interier while a bit over-plastic in some areas seems to be holding up better then my S-10 Blazer. The 6-disk CD player is great, and overall the truck is fairly comfortable on long trips. The ride is impeccable for a 4x4 truck, rides like a car on trips, and a truck when it needs to. Having owned multiple 4x4's this one is the best and most stable negotiating icy roads. Gas mileage is good (20MPG on avg). The engine needs a bit more refinement as it seems to stuggle in high altitutes.

Report Abuse

perfect

pb, 02/27/2008
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS Base 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Truck was my office. Put over 103,735 miles on in two and half yrs. Rear ujoint only thing replaced besides tires. From the hottest humid weather to -12 actual temp no problems starting. Rolled begining of feb 08 on to roof. Truck totaled. Cab held up with windshield spider cracking in one corner and that's it. Walked away no sctraches. Drove truck home when rolled onto wheels.

Report Abuse

Its a 4 wheel drive pickup

Karl Nietfeld, 02/01/2016
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS Base 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

It's a pickup it does what a pickup is suppose to do. I bought it used with 50,000 miles it now has 136,000 miles, no major problems few minor problems.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Epic Fail

Gunslinger, 08/09/2015
2dr Regular Cab ZQ8 LS Rwd SB (2.8L 4cyl 5M)
26 of 35 people found this review helpful

The truck is an electrical and engine mechanical nightmare. Problems are too many to list. But here is a few common annoying issues. Tires wear on the front end no matter how many or by who the alignment is done by. There is a theft deterrent ignition that will make you late to muliple appointments on a regular basis. Changein the ignition switch is a costly waist of time. The fix for this issue is to wait 10minutes and try again starting the truck. Hopefully it does. The blower for the a/c works when it wants to. Eventually leadeing to a 100% failure burning out the wireing harness also. Dash lighting works 60% of the time. There is a sound made by the engine top end that sounds like the truck is a diesel. This is a gasoline engined vehicle. Exhause manifold cracks if water is splashed on it while driveing. Basically this is why chevrolet is no longer the manufacturer of choice for me. I've been a chevy fan for most of my life. They managed to change my opinion by designeing and building this truck with the help of crackheads.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good truck for the money

damone, 10/26/2009
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS Base 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought a 2005 used in Feb. of 2009, so far one problem a/c fan only working on high but dealer fixed under warranty. Besides that it drives well and gas mileage is pretty good for long trips as long us stay under 75mph. Also seems to handles very good in off road situations. Overall good value for money.

Report Abuse

Worst truck purchase ever!

Stephen, 02/14/2010
4dr Crew Cab ZQ8 LS Rwd SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

In under 40,000 miles, I have had to change the clutch, have the brakes rebuilt, new tire rods, and live with the wonderful feeling of is the truck going to die on the way to work again. I am currently driving with the check engine light due to faulty vacuum seals. This truck has been used to haul items less than ten times and never over a thousand pounds. the vehicle rattles and does not drive nice, several of the dashboard lights have burnt out. Do not buy one of these vehicles they are not put together well.

Report Abuse

Colorado

Postman, 01/17/2005
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS Rwd SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Very good power and mileage. I get 20.5 to 21+ MPG during combination highway and city driving during warmer months. Got 23 to 24 MPG on the interstate. Wheels are a little cheap with a large plastic center piece. A very bullish appearance for a smaller truck, looks tough compared to other brands. Console needs to be enlarged.

Report Abuse

Great Step Up From Old S10!

Rusty_fwg, 12/23/2004
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS Base 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

After driving and comparing many mid size trucks, I can now say I am more than pleased with my choice with the colorado. I have a reg. cab 5cyl z71 4x4 and have found it can get around in the worst possible places i could stick it. Gas mileage is good, better than a full size truck by far, and gets even better with a little weight in the back end. Has good sound and turns well. Factory stereo with tweeters is good, but will be adding a subwoofer for a little more umph. Tons more power and better feel than the new ranger, and is a lot better suited than the dakota. Best domestic small truck by far, I would tell anyone to pick one up!! Rusty

Report Abuse

The Bitterness of Poor Quality

Bill, 07/01/2005
2dr Regular Cab Z85 Rwd SB (2.8L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

In the year that I've owned this truck, I've gone through 3 sets of tires, 8 alignments, 2 body control modules, and 2 brake light switches. Chevy knows about a serious problem with the front suspension on this truck (they've issued 5 service bulletins to their dealerships on this subject) that causes the front tires to wear prematurely and excessive vibration. The truck won't hold an alignment. What is worse is that I've been in the process of lemon lawing this truck since March and Chevrolet refuses to acknowledge or take responsibility for the problem. The tires are so bad now that the treads are separating. Whatever you do spare yourself the horrible experience of owning a Colorado.

Report Abuse

Love my truck

Chris, 09/03/2005
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my Colorado when the S-10 that I was driving died, and it was a very good decision I must say. I was looking into other light duty trucks, but I am glad that I chose the Colorado. It get's better gas mileage than any of the other trucks I was looking at, and right now that's pretty important. What I was suprised about was that for being only a 5 cylinder truck, it has more power than I expected it to.

Report Abuse

A Total Lemon

Matt, 05/01/2006
4dr Extended Cab Z85 Rwd SB (2.8L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my Colorado brand new, and have had nothing but trouble with it. It's died on me twice, I continue to have problems with the cd player. The AC squeals like a stuck pig, plastic molding had warped, carpeting comes up in chunks of fuzz. I've had problems with the ignition switch, airbag sensor, cruise control light, and interior paneling. The interior is of very cheap material and reeks of poor design. It's a sharp looking truck, and when it's not in the shop it drives and handles ok. Unless you're a die hard Chevy fan, I'd advise you to look elsewhere for a truck. Based on my experience with this, I'll never buy another Chevy truck.

Report Abuse

2005 Chevy Colorado, Oh No!

Kevin, 08/07/2007
4dr Crew Cab Z85 LS Rwd SB (2.8L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased a brand new 2005 Chevy Colorado during the employee pricing. I should have walked across the street to the Toyota dealership. My truck has been in the shop over 20 times for AC, CD player, radio not working, tire balance, cruise control, AC fan only working on speed 4, broken seat handle, leaking rain water in the cab. The truck looks great and that is about it. I can't believe one vehicle can have so many problems. Never again! Sorry Chevy!

Report Abuse

Very Reliable Truck - Trailers Great!!

scott, 06/22/2009
4dr Crew Cab ZQ8 LS Base Rwd SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have had pretty good luck with this Chevy. I bought it with 8K miles, and it now has 52K miles. I have driven across country with a boat trailer weighing 2500 lbs, as well as a camper weighing 3000 lbs, and also a camper weighing 4000 lbs. It pulled all of the trailers smoothly with no problem. It has the sport suspension package which helps great for handling. The longest drive with a trailer was about 600 miles, and it was the 4000 lb(24 ft) camper, I had no problem keeping it at 60-65 mph across KS and MO. I had the stabilizer bars on. It handles a trailer great with the added Class III hitch, aftermarket. Best gas mileage I had was 26mpg with full bed going 65mph.

Report Abuse

A great Experience

Mrcadilac, 07/17/2004
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS Rwd SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I think the Colorado has a nice ride, better than I expected. The 5 Cyl has enough pick up and go for normal driving. The passing gear works fine, when it is needed. i cruise at 65 with no problem. I haven't had it for long, but I tested a lot of mid sized pick/ups before spending 25K. Colorado so far has met my expectations, considering the other comparable models cost much more.

Report Abuse

Not a bad truck

J in Jax, 02/17/2005
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS Rwd SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

Not as big as some of the newer trucks by Dodge, Nissan and Toyota, but if you truly want a small truck with decent gas mileage this is a nice truck. The power off the line is kind of weak, but when passing, the truck can handle its own. The power is steady all the way up. Not jumpy like my full size Sierra. I love the Z71 package. It brings the truck up higher but not too high to load things like the new full size trucks. Overall looks really grew on me too. I used to hate the front but it grew on me enough to buy one.

Report Abuse

Built Cheap 05 Colorado

jsken, 04/15/2009
2dr Regular Cab ZQ8 Rwd SB (2.8L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This truck is cheaply built. I have had to replace the tires on it at 30K miles. Now they tell me I need to spend $1500-2000 on new brakes, shocks, struts, and tie rods. I have had the front end aligned once and it needs it again at 50K miles. The interior molding in the windshield was ruined after 1 year. Numerous rattles and squeaks. I would be ashamed as a manufacturer to sell this vehicle.

Report Abuse

I love it

Ken, 12/26/2009
4dr Extended Cab Z71 Rwd SB (2.8L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this Colorado used 2 years ago. Other than normal servicing, all I have replaced is the battery at 5 years. I drove it home (550 miles) in a snow storm and got 24.0 on the first tank and 24.4 mpg on the second. In town I get between 20 and 21. The work truck the seats are non-reclining and terrible. I replaced them with a used set of very comfortable LT seats. Traction on the OEM General Ameritracs is terrible. I now have 74,000 miles and can not wear them out. I bought two General AT22 for this winter and the traction is unbelievable. I'll buy two more as soon as I wear out the original Ameritracs. I'm looking at a 2006 for my daughter this week. Great truck!!!

Report Abuse

Sharp Ride

Steve, 02/11/2005
4dr Crew Cab Z85 LS Rwd SB (2.8L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 cylinder has plenty of power, along with great fuel economy. The styling of this truck is awesome, people love it. Recieve plenty of compliments and looks. Has potential for upgrades. Handles great. Very comfortable to drive, but still is defintly a truck. The 5 cylinder engine runs smooth. Engine does not feel like it is less than a V6, actually feels better. Transmission shifts good. Very pleased with this truck, much better than the S-10. Nice JOB GM!!

Report Abuse

Colorado

F McCoy, 03/26/2005
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have the 3.5L crew cab Z71. The ride is very comfortable. The exterior design, in my opinion, is more sleek than the larger trucks. Performance is great, and gas mileage is excellent.

Report Abuse

Good Solid Truck

Russ B., 05/18/2005
4dr Extended Cab Z71 4WD SB (2.8L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Truck has performed very well, has a good solid engine, and idles very smoothly. Only issue is whistling noise from AC when fan is on low speed. Dealer indicates that it is typical of this truck since less sound insulation is used for this make/model. Small rattles from extra cab space typical of these stlye of trucks. Otherwise, lots of room, nice styling, well planned display and controls. Engine responds well and ride is smooth for 4WD.

Report Abuse

A very sweet truck

Andrew, 05/14/2005
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my first vehicle, and I leased a 4WD Z71 crew. It's finished in victory red and has chrome pipe steps and the locking hard tonneau cover. The truck is VERY sharp looking and I get plenty of comments on how sharp it is. It is easily the best looking pickup in the segment right now. The I5 engine sounds so good when you rev it up. It's so unique. The transmission is flawless and shifts very well. Ratios are well chosen for a 4-speed auto. The 220hp is great when you tromp the pedal from 40mph. It downshifts into first and will rev up to 6000 until you hit 50mph! This thing really tachs out and revs nicely. I am very pleased with this truck and I would gladly buy another.

Report Abuse

2005 GMC Canyon

chevylover1965, 12/11/2005
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS Base 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This truck is a cheaply built vehilce. Most notably the air conditioning is junk. Many owners are complaining about the vent temperature surging from cold to warm along with a whistling noise eminating from under the dash. GM will not admit they have a problem. The dealer told me they can't fix it. So I'm stuck.

Report Abuse

Colorado great move

Kenneth L Haynes Jr, 06/29/2004
4dr Crew Cab ZQ8 LS Base Rwd SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I LOVE THIS TRUCK I TAKE IT TO PLACES MY 4-WHEELER LOVES TO GO... THANKS LCPL HAYNES JR KENNETH L USMC

Report Abuse

This 'Aint Your Dad's Compact!

Hammerhead3812, 07/06/2004
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS Base 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have the 4DR extended cab, Z71 4x4. It has plenty of leg room.This is no compact. The truck handles very well,and brakes equally as well.I also have the 3.5lt ebgine w/200 horses.After the cold intake is installed(approx.$350)The horses go up to 235-240. It get's 275-290 miles per Tank.More on road trips.That is w/the A/c running. It also has 15" rims(not bycycle tires).4 wheel drive on the fly comes in handy, especially in the desert.4drs w/no seats are nice for fishing,hunting or just keep your tools back there.It is not a fullsize bed,but then you won't have to move your friends. It still has enough room for medium size jobs.

Report Abuse

cheap interior

norman 189, 08/29/2004
4dr Extended Cab Z71 Rwd SB (2.8L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great performing and great looking truck from the exterior. Cheap looking from the inside. Boring interior, stiff seats, no style what so ever. cheap console between seats. Cheap thin looking plastic door panels. Rides nice. Handles excellent with good braking. If only they(GM) would of spent more than 5 minutes and $5.00 on the interior this would be one great truck.

Report Abuse

I like it but ...

DCT, 09/08/2004
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Overall, a good reliable utility vehicle. Dumb question for GM ... Why use light primer for a black painted truck? It shows every scratch ! Also, what were you thinking with the dip stick? It is a long cable that does not reliably show oil level.

Report Abuse

Like It Not Love It

Hammer Time, 11/12/2004
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS Base 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great truck if you don't need or want a full size truck. I had a S10 with a 4.3 V6. This 5cyl has plenty of go power but I miss the engine braking. When you back off the gas it coast on and on. I'm afraid this will wear the brakes out sooner. The frame is much stifer and the ride on this 4x4 with the Z71 package is better then what I had with the 2wd S10.

Report Abuse

quality control

ttcc, 11/14/2004
4dr Crew Cab ZQ8 LS Rwd SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

very poor fit of both front doors an hood. right front door outside door handle was never tightened

Report Abuse

All Around Fun Truck

RowdyRado, 01/23/2005
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS Base 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This truck is the best thing Chevy has come out with in a while. A lot of people knock the I-5 Motor, but it's great. I'm 6'5" and I have plenty of room in this truck. It's a real performer on & offroad. Driving 50 miles round trip for school every day isn't so bad in this with the great gas mileage. XM Radio is a great feature too. MP3 Player is really nice as well. This really does put an S-10 to shame. It also rides considerably well considering it's a 4x4.

Report Abuse

Awsome Truck

great truck, 05/20/2005
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS Base 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I only have about 3600 miles on my truck so far, but I like it more every day. I towed about a one ton load plus trailer weight, and could not tell it was behind me, even up hills. I average between 18 and 20 mpg city 25 + hwy. I have had a few minor problems a vibration from the tires, and a speaker problem that the dealer has not got fixed yet. I had a bumping noise in the front end when the truck was turned to the left, the service dept. told me that the bolts were too long in my after market steps, but when I told them it was the factory body bolts they just said OH. Other than these minor problems, I have no complaints and have recomended to everyone that this is the truck to buy.

Report Abuse

Looks Good, Runs Good, But Bad Fan

B-Cat, 08/19/2005
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS Base 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I love the Chevy Colorado for its fuel economy and stylish exterior. However, my fan only runs on high. The other 3 speeds don't do a thing. It wasn't purchased like this, but seems to be a manufacturer defect. Three months ownership and 3 trips to have the fan repaired. The Chevy Colorado loses much of its sportiness with this problem.

Report Abuse

Colorado Z71 crew cab

Justin Barbato, 11/28/2005
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

For the money it is the best compact pickup out there. I have about 8000 miles on it so far and it gets about 19-20 mpg. It cost me about 5 to 6 thousand less than a Frontier or Tacoma. Great buy.

Report Abuse

Colorado in Michigan

Rose, 03/15/2006
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS Base 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I like the looks, the height, and the handling. I can seat 5 people and, by putting a fiberglass tonneau cover on the bed, I have the greatest "trunk". No putting down seats to haul stuff. During my first snow storm experience, the four-wheel drive functioned great. However,without a rear window defroster, the rear window and back side windows fogged/iced up and my outside mirrors were covered by falling snow, so to me, this is a safety concern. I went to my GM dealer, as well as 5 off-market businesses, looking for a rear window defroster, but no one makes it.

Report Abuse

The skinny on the Colorado

Ryan, 05/30/2006
4dr Crew Cab Z85 LS Rwd SB (2.8L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The Colorado rides like a full size and is as comfortable in every way as any truck on the market. With power everything and plenty of power in the 3.5 L 5 cyl for your everyday hauling and stop and go traffic it leaves one wondering....why didn't anyone think of the 5 cyl before? I like the lines on the body, they are simple and catch the eye with its square ends. This truck is almost exactly like the Slverado in cosmetics, and it is perfect for the anti-suv population who still want to haul the kids and the u-haul, with comparable fuel economy.

Report Abuse

Great Small Truck!

Dennis Gregory, 02/08/2007
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Driving this vehicle has been a pleasure. It has taken me as far north as upstate NY and as far south as Florida. I also drove it to Colorado hunting. That's why it has as many miles on it as it does.

Report Abuse

2005 Red Chevy Colorado Z-71

redchevycolorado, 06/24/2007
4dr Extended Cab Z71 Rwd SB (2.8L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

It's a great truck if you want to have decent fuel mileage, but still have the ability to tow or haul. I regularly tow a 200 pound trailer with an 1100 pound generator on it, and I can't tell it's behind me (max tow weight is 4000 pounds). When hauling bags of sand or concrete blocks, the stock suspension does exceptionally well, with only a 3 - 3.5 inch drop. (An upgrade to load adjusting shocks though keeps this around 1 - 1.5 inches).

Report Abuse

'05 Colorado 2.8L Crew Cab LS

Phase700B, 04/05/2008
4dr Crew Cab Z85 LS Rwd SB (2.8L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We purchased this Colorado as a Chevy program vehicle from the dealer. It had a great option package, is a crew cab LS and has both OnStar and XM radio. The clincher was the Granite Blue color which makes the truck look upscale. It hauls my 1500lb boat trailer & also a small utility trailer with no trouble. It's not a rocket,but very surprising in what it can do for a 4cyl. Around town we get 17-19mpg and hwy 24-26mpg. Lower numbers are for winter driving, higher reflect wind or hwy speed. I drive 65-70 hwy. Love that it came with power windows/locks, AC, OnStar, 6CD/XM Radio, locking differential, and traction ctrl. '06 and later can not get these last 2 options on 4cyl crew cab LS.

Report Abuse

Worst new vehicle purchase I've made

kokomoan, 05/06/2008
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS Rwd SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I had the vehicle in for warranty work 11 times. Electrical problems since early on that the dealership said they couldn't find; replaced 5 headlamps, 4 brake lamps, and the majority of interior lights while still under warranty. Other items replaced: power window motor, heater control switch, rails for front seat. Today I took it to get u-joints replaced, third front end alignment, rear brake shoes. Mgr said these "shoes" were most expensive he has seen! He said all parts for it are high. Watch out if you need front rotors replaced; make inquiry!) gas mileage 13/15.(4 cyl, sticker said 18/25) At present, pwr windows, locks, mirror control, 5 int lights, 3 ext lights not working. 62K miles

Report Abuse

poorly put together

joey taylor, 03/30/2017
4dr Crew Cab ZQ8 LS Rwd SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Constant repairs of ac, as in every 3 months! Wiring was done poorly, several switches burn out on a regular basis due to wiring being to small for the load and having to replace. Two years into ownership I would say this truck is a lemon. Also issues with the cruise and brake system not working.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

DO NOT BUY THIS TRUCK

chevysucks1, 02/21/2013
4dr Crew Cab ZQ8 LS Base Rwd SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
17 of 31 people found this review helpful

The Chevy Colorado is an electrical nightmare. If you are considering buying this truck, leave the dealership immediately, and go buy a horse. This truck is complete garbage. The blower works, sometimes, the lights work, sometimes, the radio works, sometimes, and its all stems from GM having a terrible electrical system. I have read forums with people having these issues with the Colorado of any year. So, GM obviously doesn't care enough to fix the issues their vehicles have considering the electrical systems they install have been worthless for over a decade with no recalls. I would recommend buying from any other manufacturer.

Report Abuse

Good Little Truck

Jon N., 01/05/2009
4dr Extended Cab Z85 LS 4WD SB (2.8L 4cyl 5M)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I did a lot of homework before buying this truck and test drove most of the competitors. I liked the Colorado and it met my needs at least as well as any of the others, but I was concerned because of the poor reviews the "experts" had given it. I think the experts missed the boat on this one. I had a couple of rough spots with it right out of the box (electrical problems and front end alignment) but these were quickly corrected by my dealer and I have been very pleased with it for the nearly three years I have owned it. Performance, utility and appearance are excellent and it has done all I've asked of it. Don't be fooled by the poor reviews - this is a nice little truck.

Report Abuse

Junkyard dog

GoldRider, 05/20/2006
4dr Crew Cab Z71 LS Rwd SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Usually when I purchase a car I go in knowning that I am going to get stuck some kind of way. But after I get the car I usually get over getting the shaft because I enjoyed the car so much. Not this case, the Chevy Colorado is a junk man's dream. I have ridden in wheel barrows that ride better. And I would love to meet the engineer who put the gas and brake peddle so close together that my foot actually got caught in the controls. I gave my Colorado a quicky divorce and married the Chevy Impala SS. That is a match made in heaven. Downside the trade in value of the Colorado was so low I was way upside down.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050