2014 Chevrolet Cruze Review & Ratings | Edmunds
ADVERTISEMENT

2014 Chevrolet Cruze Review

2014 Chevrolet Cruze
Build and PriceTMV®?

Build your car and see the Edmunds True Market Value® (TMV®) - the average price paid for this car in your area.

Edmunds Summary Review of the 2014 Chevrolet Cruze

  • B Edmunds Rating
  • Put the preconceived notions to bed, because Chevrolet has a quality small car in the form of the 2014 Cruze.

  • Pros

    Handsome interior design; two satisfying high-efficiency engine choices; useful electronics interface; secure handling; big trunk.

  • Cons

    Mediocre seating comfort; six-speed automatic's sleepy responses.

  • What's New for 2014

    For 2014, the Cruze Diesel model, powered by a 2.0-liter turbocharged diesel four-cylinder, is added at the top of the Cruze lineup.

Reviews from owners of the 2014 Chevrolet Cruze

Average Consumer Rating (See all 44 reviews) Write a Review


Go blue

by on
Vehicle: 2014 Chevrolet Cruze

Review electronic options.




Love my cruze

by on
Vehicle: 2014 Chevrolet Cruze

Have had an excellent experience with my cruze. Bought new in Hawaii at Cutter Chevy. My first "new" car in 16 years. Purchased as a commuter car with the intent of keeping it for 8 to 10 years. I choose the Chevy, 1st because I love the fuel economy of diesels and 2nd, I was excited that Chevy brought to the North American market a compact diesel sedan in over 25 years. I did a lot of research on the 2.0 diesel and test drove a few gas Cruzes. I liked the ride and feel of the gaser although the gas models lacked a little power. Not so in my diesel. The car has power and performance! It can get up and pass at 70 mph with ease. Now in California, and at over 16,000 miles, I still love my Cruze. It rides like a full sized car and is comfortable inside. Love the leather seats. I have realized and average of low 40s mpg. My best has been 61 mpg at 70 mph with cruize control. I have had one issue that was resolved easily. Took to dealer, Cutter Chevy, Honolulu once for a bad sensor. Replaced under warranty, with loaner car for the day! No problems at all since. Changing oil is a pain though due to GM engineers locating the filter up against the passenger firewall. Now my wife and kids fight me to drive the Cruze. They like it better than our 2009 VW Jetta. Overall, I am extremely satisfied with my Cruze. If I had to, I'd buy another one!




Great mpg with pep!

by on
Vehicle: 2014 Chevrolet Cruze

My overall experience with the diesel Cruze is exceptionally good. The car was purchased with about 5k miles on it and it now has 59k miles. I drive around 2 1/2 hours a day in my commute (about 150-170) miles per day. The Cadillac and Tahoe both had to go to upgrade to a newer car and get better gas mileage. Overall (city and highway) is around 40mpg, but the highway mileage alone is about 50mpg. Of course for comfort, this car is no comparison to my Cadillac. That is not really a fair call. However, the pep and handling in this Cruze is incredible, at least for a small car that isn't a sports car. For comfort, I added some fancy seat padding for the lumbar and butt (highly rated stuff from online) and got some nice tires designed for a quiet ride. It works fine for me now. It is a quiet-ish ride (nothing distracting), and the interior is nice (not fancy). My cover for the mirror on the visor broke off about 50k miles. That is the only thing, though. It is certainly an upgrade from something like a Yugo. The car has been in one accident hitting large dog/wolf/coyote (whatever it was) that wiped out the radiator and grill in front. Some bit of work later, all is well and no problems continuing from it. It took the dealership some repeated trips to fix the reason the check engine light kept coming on afterwards, since the problem was diagnosed too simply in the beginning. This occurred in an Infinity a few years ago and they just kept replacing the catalytic converter until I suggested that might not be the actual problem and I am not picking up the car until they figure it out. It took almost two days for them to find the real problem. My opinion on the problems of the check engine light that others have might be from the same problem of not tracing back far enough in the chain of events. Dealerships---don't just fix the symptom, FIND THE PROBLEM! As far as overall happiness with the car, it is a definite YES! I would buy this car again. It will be one that I drive until the wheels fall off, then look for a deal on another newer one. Maybe in the meantime, Chevy will figure out how to make the seats a bit more comfy.



3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Major health and safety concerned vechicle

by on
Vehicle: 2014 Chevrolet Cruze

I own a 2014 Chevy Diesel Cruz, I am also the mother of a 16 month old and currently 3 months pregnant with our second child. This car was purchased as our commuter vehicle for my work and taking our child to daycare. As of December 30, 2015 there was a failed seal and gasket with the exhaust system which allowed exhaust into the cabin. There were no light indicators or faults with OnStar to show the balance of exhaust in and out of the engine was unbalanced. The car has been in the shop from June 20, 2015 until the current date of January 19, 2016 on 6 different occasions (every month from June 2015 to January 2016) for multiple sensors and full exhaust system replacement for over 90 days in the shop. GM/Chevy and the JN Chevrolet dealership have been unhelpful, disrespectful and made light of all of our concerns with the condition of the vehicle. Recently, Chevy has only offered us $500 dollars toward the purchase of another GM vehicle. This is unacceptable since I was sick possibly due to inhaling the fumes for over a month without any warnings.



8 of 8 people found this review helpful

A great compact car!

by on
Vehicle: 2014 Chevrolet Cruze

This is a compact car, so all comparisons should be made with respect to other cars in this class. I've owned it for just over a year now, so I had some time to evaluate it properly. Overall it is a great value for the money; my comparisons (test driving also) included Civic, Corolla and Elantra. The engineering is clearly superior, as is the interior design. The 1.4 l turbo engine has adequate power for all situations. You won't win a lot of races, but you won't be put to shame either. The transmission shifts smoothly when accelerating, and the wet clutch (not torque converter) engages firmly throughout. You don't need to race the engine, just keep it at 1800-2200 rpm and let the surprising torque pull the car forward. Occasional 2-lane passing is quick, I've never needed more than 3000 rpm. In slow traffic, between 15-30 mph though, the software has difficulty making up its mind which gear it would like to be in, so being gentle on the gas helps with not jerking the occupants around. Overall fuel economy so far has been 33.6 mpg, with a lot of slow, city driving. On highway trips with an 80/20 mix (20% city driving) I got 38.2 mpg combined. Going with the flow, not at a snail's pace. Not bad! Using ethanol free gas helps by about 8%, which is worth only on long trips, when range has often indicated just over 600 miles on a full tank. The interior design is superb for the class, with controls well harmonized. Two long legged adults fit up front with plenty of room and comfort to spare; with 4 long legged adults, at least some negotiations are mandatory. This is however compensated by the unusually roomy trunk. It feels bottomless vs. other cars in its class. The ride is quiet, but on rough pavement there's noticeable road noise. It is a compact car, though, not a Buick or Caddy! It does very well handling uneven pavement, heavy snow and slick roads. Test it in an empty parking lot and you'll be surprised! The cars heats up quickly on frigid days, and cools just as fast on hot and humid days. The radio, Bluetooth, USB and OnStar work beautifully, and the overall driving experience is above what one would expect from a compact car. If my experience changes with time, I will update this report. So far, I am very pleasantly surprised and have no reason not to recommend giving the Cruze serious consideration if you are looking to buy a new compact car.




Check engine light and clutch problems

by on
Vehicle: 2014 Chevrolet Cruze

Do not buy. This car is a lemon bought it new.check engine light keeps coming on.already had to replace the clutch and it only has 12000 miles



ADVERTISEMENT

Full Expert Review: 2014 Chevrolet Cruze

What's New for 2014

For 2014, the Cruze Diesel model, powered by a 2.0-liter turbocharged diesel four-cylinder, is added at the top of the Cruze lineup.

Introduction

The impact of the Chevy Cruze can't be underestimated. Introduced in 2011, this small economy sedan has made Chevrolet a brand to consider once more in the compact-car market, as the overall refinement, efficiency and packaging of the Cruze make it a serious rival for the Japanese-brand cars that have dominated the segment for a generation.

Points in the 2014 Chevrolet Cruze's favor include a lineup of solid-performing, high-efficiency four-cylinder engines, a sophisticated ride and handling balance, and the car's sharp, non-gimmicky design inside and out. Passenger quarters are a smidge tight for this class, but most consumers will find them adequate. The Cruze also offers an unusually large trunk for a compact sedan.

Chevy has added some spice to the Cruze line for 2014 with the introduction of the Cruze Diesel. Equipped with a 2.0-liter turbodiesel four-cylinder engine and rated at 33 mpg combined by the EPA, this model directly targets the only other diesel-powered compact sedan in the U.S.: the Volkswagen Jetta TDI. Though closely matched in terms of overall performance and fuel economy, the diesel Jetta does have a larger backseat and starts out a little less expensive than the Chevy. In fairness, however, the Cruze diesel comes with a few more standard features, such as remote starting and leather seating, making their base prices essentially the same.

Of course, there are a bunch of worthwhile compact cars in this price range, and it's now hard to pick a loser in this ultracompetitive segment. If top-of-the-world fuel economy isn't your priority, the 2014 Honda Civic is a can't-lose proposition, thanks to a spacious, high-quality interior and likable road manners. The 2014 Hyundai Elantra and its cousin the Kia Forte provide solid performance and plenty of standard and available upscale features. You might also consider the Ford Focus, which looks and feels more sophisticated than most of its rivals, or the similarly refined 2014 Mazda 3, which offers the sportiest handling in this class.

Although the 2014 Chevrolet Cruze doesn't dominate in this group, it's on equal footing with most of its competitors and certainly worth a look if you're shopping for a well-rounded compact sedan.

Body Styles, Trim Levels, and Options

The 2014 Chevrolet Cruze is a small sedan offered in five trim levels: LS, LT, LTZ, Eco and Diesel.

The LS includes 16-inch steel wheels, OnStar, keyless entry, a tilt-and-telescoping steering wheel with audio controls, air-conditioning, a six-way (manual) adjustable driver seat, a 60/40-split-folding rear seat, a trip computer, full power accessories, Bluetooth phone connectivity and a six-speaker sound system with a CD/MP3 player, satellite radio, USB port and an auxiliary audio jack.

The LT is made up of the 1LT and 2LT equipment-level subsets. Compared with the LS, the 1LT upgrades to the 1.4-liter turbocharged gasoline engine, 16-inch alloy wheels, cruise control and a leather-wrapped steering wheel. The same features in the Eco's Driver Convenience package are also available for the 1LT.

The Technology package available at the 1LT level brings a rearview camera and the Chevrolet MyLink interface, which bundles a 7-inch touchscreen display, Bluetooth phone and audio connectivity, voice control and smartphone integration. An available Driver Convenience package includes a six-way power driver seat, an auto-dimming rearview mirror, a rearview camera and heated mirrors. (Although a rearview camera is part of both packages, they can be purchased in combination.)

The 2LT has all of the 1LT's standard equipment, plus the power driver seat and MyLink touchscreen interface. It also comes standard with 17-inch alloy wheels, a sport-tuned suspension, four-wheel disc brakes, leather upholstery and heated front seats.

The Cruze LTZ comes with all of the 2LT's content, as well as all of the items in the Technology and Driver Convenience packages. It also features 18-inch alloy wheels, foglights, keyless ignition/entry, automatic climate control and premium interior trim.

The Eco Cruze is equipped like the 1LT, but has the MyLink interface as standard. It also benefits from aerodynamic improvements (including a rear spoiler), lightweight 17-inch alloy wheels, low-rolling-resistance tires and a smaller fuel tank (manual-transmission version only).

The Cruze Diesel comes with all of the 2LT model's standard equipment, plus the Eco model's aerodynamic enhancements and low-rolling-resistance tires. It has lightweight 17-inch wheels, too, but they're a different design.

The Enhanced Safety package is available for all but the LS model and includes rear park assist, blind-spot monitoring and rear cross-traffic alert. A hard-drive-based navigation system, a Pioneer nine-speaker premium sound system and a sunroof are also available on most trim levels. The RS appearance package is available on the LT and LTZ models and features restyled front and rear fascias, rocker moldings, a rear spoiler and, on LT models, foglights and an upgraded instrument panel.

Powertrains and Performance

All 2014 Chevrolet Cruzes are front-wheel drive. The Cruze LS is powered by a 1.8-liter four-cylinder engine that makes 138 horsepower and 125 pound-feet of torque. The LT, LTZ and Eco are fitted with a turbocharged 1.4-liter four-cylinder that generates 138 hp and 148 lb-ft of torque. The Cruze diesel has a turbocharged 2.0-liter diesel four-cylinder rated at 151 hp and 264 lb-ft of torque.

A six-speed manual transmission is standard on the LS, LT and Eco. A six-speed automatic is optional on those trims and standard for the LTZ and diesel.

In Edmunds testing, a Cruze with the turbo 1.4-liter engine and an automatic transmission accelerated from zero to 60 in 9.2 seconds, a slightly slower than average time for this class. The Cruze diesel ran the sprint in 8.6 seconds, the same as the VW Jetta TDI automatic.

The Cruze diesel also does very well regarding fuel economy, too, with EPA estimates of 33 mpg combined (27 city/46 highway). Those are good numbers, though the Jetta TDI maintains a slight edge with its 34 mpg combined EPA rating. In addition, the Cruze Eco is just about as frugal, with a laudable 33 combined (28 mpg city/42 mpg highway) rating with the manual transmission and 31 mpg combined (26 mpg city/39 mpg highway) with the automatic.

Fuel economy stands at 29 mpg combined (25 mpg city/36 mpg highway) for the Cruze LS with the manual transmission and 27 mpg combined (22 mpg city/35 mpg highway) with the automatic. The turbocharged engine (LT and LTZ) with either transmission receives a 30 mpg combined estimate (26 mpg city/38 mpg highway).

Safety

All 2014 Chevrolet Cruze models come with stability control, antilock brakes, full-length side curtain airbags, front knee airbags and front and rear side-impact airbags as standard. A front-disc/rear-drum brake setup is standard on all models except the 2LT, LTZ and Diesel, which are upgraded to four-wheel disc brakes. Also standard is OnStar, which includes automatic crash notification, on-demand roadside assistance, remote door unlocking and stolen-vehicle assistance.

A rearview camera, blind-spot monitoring and a rear cross-traffic alert system are optional for all Cruzes except the LS.

In government crash testing, the Cruze earned a top five-star rating for overall safety performance, with five stars in the frontal- and side-impact categories. In Insurance Institute for Highway Safety testing, the Cruze received a top score of "Good" in moderate-overlap frontal-offset, side-impact and roof-strength testing. In the small-overlap frontal offset test, however, the Cruze scored a second-lowest "Marginal" rating. The Cruze's seat/head restraint design was rated "Good" for whiplash protection in rear impacts.

In Edmunds brake testing, a Cruze LTZ stopped from 60 mph in 120 feet, a slightly better-than-average distance for this class of car. Even with their less grippy, fuel-economy-friendly tires, the Cruze diesel and Eco models stopped in about the same distance.

Interior Design and Special Features

The interiors of compact cars often show obvious signs of cost-cutting, but the Cruze's cabin has a classy two-tone color scheme and looks more upscale than many of its competitors.

That said, there are still a lot of hard plastic surfaces, and they're particularly noticeable in the pricey Cruze diesel. Given the long-distance driving-range potential of the diesel, more padding on the armrests would be welcome. On the upside, the MyLink touchscreen interface is one of the simplest and most straightforward infotainment systems out there, and its voice-control interface is highly functional.

Some drivers might find the Cruze's front seats a bit narrow, but they're supportive and comfortable, and they offer plenty of adjustment. A low bottom cushion for the backseat diminishes comfort for longer-limbed riders, as it doesn't give enough thigh support. The Cruze's rear seat legroom is only average for the segment; you'll find more space in the Civic and Jetta. Considerably above average, however, is the Cruze's large trunk, which measures an impressive 15.0 cubic feet on all but the diesel, whose capacity is a still ample 13.3 cubic feet.

Driving Impressions

The 2014 Chevrolet Cruze deftly combines responsive handling with a comfortable, compliant ride. The sport suspension on the 2LT, LTZ and Diesel models is firmer but still provides an agreeable ride.

The turbocharged 1.4-liter gas engine is pretty average in terms of outright acceleration, but it's peppier around town than the 1.8-liter thanks to its increased torque. The main issue, however, is the automatic transmission. Programmed for maximum fuel economy, it's reluctant to downshift for quick acceleration and passing unless you really boot the gas pedal.

The more potent Cruze diesel model is an intriguing choice and a win-win proposition, as it offers both good fuel economy and satisfyingly brisk acceleration by compact-sedan standards. As with most turbocharged engines, there's a brief pause when you hit the throttle from a standstill, but then the sedan gathers speed quickly. The Cruze diesel uses a different six-speed automatic transmission from other Cruzes, and we've found it more responsive in highway passing situations. And forget about the stereotypical diesel clatter -- thanks to extra sound insulation in the diesel model, you'll rarely hear the engine at all.

SPONSORED CONTENT
Edmunds Insurance Estimator

The Edmunds TCO® estimated monthly insurance payment for a 2014 Chevrolet Cruze in VA is:

$70.92 per month*
*Disclaimer
ADVERTISEMENT

Talk About The 2014 Cruze

2014 Chevrolet Cruze Discussions See all Started By

Kirstie_H
Kirstie_H
01-30-2014
To discuss the latest lease details for the current model, please join us in the 2015 Chevrolet Cruze Lease Questions forum....


Edmunds.com
Edmunds.com
02-07-2013
2014 Chevrolet Cruze Clean Turbo Diesel Starts at $25,695...


Edmunds.com
Edmunds.com
07-04-2013
2014 Chevrolet Cruze Diesel First Drive...



Compare upfront prices, lock in the best deal, and bring your certificate to the dealer for a no-haggle purchase.

Build your car and see the Edmunds True Market Value® (TMV®) - the average price paid for this car in your area.

ADVERTISEMENT

Other Vehicles to Consider

ADVERTISEMENT

Featured Video

MyAppraise driven by Edmunds

How Much Is My Car Worth?

car outline

Get the most accurate price
for your car.
Appraise My Car
ADVERTISEMENT

New Car Resources

ADVERTISEMENT

New Car Buying Guides

See which cars and trucks our editors recommend