Used 2014 Volkswagen Jetta Consumer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
45 reviews
List Price Range
$8,750 - $16,590

Used Jetta for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

great car for the Price

Marc Cadwell, 02/20/2015
4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
64 of 65 people found this review helpful

Bought this car as a come on from newspaper ad. $13599 0% financing. It is exactly what I wanted and got. Underpowered? Yes! Bells & whistles? No. Basic affordable transportation? Yes! If you want more upgrade!!! HWY mpg 41 @ 75mph in town 27 mpg. Don't dog this car you can't make it faster, it is what it is. I love it. No problems great dealer and service department. UPDATE 8-20-17 the car is still as described above with the usual parking lot road wear and tear. No problems. Snow tires added this year, what a difference they make. No squeaks or rattles. Overall I'm pleased with the Jetta S but I knew what I was buying. UPDATE 2-21-18 I've still not had a problem with the Jetta, I occasionally use it driving for a nationally recognized ride share company and half the riders are surprised at the quietness and comfort of the ride. Still very pleased with the car.UPDATE 8-22-18 Still pleased with the Jetta. No mechanical or electrical problems, I've only had the oil changed regularly. New tires coming up soon. 10/10/18 New tires in October, changed cabin and engine air filter, New plugs and wires, all were recommend maintenance. Body and electrical still have no problems. Recently on a long highway trip of 700 miles round trip averaged 45 mpg!!! Love the car still. 8/22/19 I haven't put many miles on since last update. Everything's the same as before. Regular maintenance done, nothing has worn out, the body integrity still good. It's been a good car for basic transportation. I still enjoy driving it and plan to keep it running a long while. 8/22/20 not much has changed with my Jetta I've only had to have regular maintenance done, new tires are coming soon. I've only driven 400 miles since early February total mileage now 64000. 2/242021 mileage 67000. Everything else is same as previously reported. New tires and wiper blades in November. Original brakes, shocks/struts, battery still working fine. No rust or paint issues. Still the basic transportation I bought it for.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Still A Great Value

tweetconn, 06/12/2014
SE 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
52 of 53 people found this review helpful

I now have 57,000 miles on my Jetta. I still haven't had any major mechanical problems. The only issue was a burned out light bulb on one of the daytime running lights that occurred several thousand miles ago. That has been the only thing so far. Mileage in and around town continues to be about 32 - 33 mpg. My best highway mileage is 43 mpg. The 1.8 TSI engine still does not use any oil and has lots of power. I have used synthetic oil from the beginning and change it every 5000 miles. The interior (and trunk) is very roomy and comfortable. The ride is quiet and smooth. My wife's 2016 Jetta S has had no issues either and now has over 30,000 miles.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

The best car I ever drove as a commuter

dasautoistgut, 03/22/2016
4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

It's the 2014 S model, 5 speed manual 2.0 L no thrills version of this vehicle. Paid $18,600 new. Because it's a manual, it actually is quite spirited even though it only has 115 horse power and not sure about torque, but it's a little rocket considering. It has now 70,000 miles on it and I do my own maintenance. Car has had no issues. It's assembled in Mexico, so quality of build will be different from anything coming from Wolfsburg, Germany, but it's working great and overall good. I am sure I have the cheapest interior, but it's holding up. I am not an oversized XXXXL individual either, so I can't wear out the springs haha. So if you are a normal build person, the car holds up. My mileage is probably around the mid 30's, not bad. Wasn't worth for me to get the TDI, which I owned before this one. Couldn't justify the more cost of a Diesel at the time of purchase in Oct 2013. It looks sharp for what it is and the trunk space is amazingly roomy. 09-22-18 update: 154,000 miles and going strong. changed sparkplugs and cables @140,000 miles myself because i forgot at 100,000 miles. never had a problem with this car, never got stuck, no mechanical or electric issues. only driving headlight lamps (low beam) need replacement often in hot Texas. I pop the hood after coming home to let hot air escape engine compartment. nothing special. keep fluids in order, dont overfill. car is reliable and robust. This may be by far the most troublefree vehicle I ever owned.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

2014 Jetta SE 1.8

reminder, 12/30/2013
SE 4dr Sedan w/Connectivity (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
30 of 36 people found this review helpful

Picked up the car just before Thanksgiving. Covered 800 miles thus far. Handles well, but not a sports car. Has that 'tight' feeling of quality that German cars are often described as having. New turbo motor & the return of the independent rear suspension is the main reason I selected the Jetta over a '14 Mazda 6. The power of the new motor works well being mated to the auto trans. Engine is extremely smooth and revs freely. Transmission is quick to up-shift in pursuit of MPG's, but also downshifts quickly if you need to pick up the pace. Interior is clean with simple controls. Heated seats have been handy with the vinyl seats and the cold temps in my neck of the woods.

Report Abuse

4.63 out of 5 stars

Good value

Chris Ellzey, 03/30/2015
S 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I live in the mountains of So Cal this car pulls the mountain just fine it averages 28 mies per gallon overall.It has 29000 miles and has only seen the shop for oil changes.I am totaly satisfied with this car. This is no sports car so dont complain if you want more pay for it and quit complaining.

Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Manual Transmission Broken at 64K miles

Disappointed, 03/07/2018
4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
13 of 15 people found this review helpful

VW quality is gone. Very cheaply made. Had software update and mileage has gone down. Windows will stop working because of a cheap plastic pin and cost $380 to fix. Had to replace radio under 30K miles - lots of dots on the screen. Had to replace windshield wiper motor at 34K miles (out of warranty) VW split cost to fix. Cup holder will fall through as tabs are too short to hold holder in place. Now at 64K miles heard clanking while driving and am told I need a new transmission at 64K miles! Waiting to hear if VW will extend warranty to fix. Very disappointed in this car!

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
2 out of 5 stars
Comfort
2 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Safe in an accident

Doug S., 12/19/2016
4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

Another car ran a red light, we hit them going 45 mph. The air bags and seat belts work fantastic.We never felt the collision.Though the front end of our car was totaled my wife and I had only minor injuries.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

After 18,000 miles continues to impress

Jamie, 12/09/2015
SE PZEV 4dr Sedan (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I can't imagine somebody test driving cars in the $20K price range and not settling on the Jetta. It's so refined and crisp to drive, it's amazing that its price point is with a Ford Focus or Kia Forte...etc. It's drives like it should cost $10K more than it does. I haven't had a single issue in nearly 18K miles. Engine is powerful and silky smooth. Transmission shifts are quick and precise. Handling and ride quality are terrific as is the gas mileage. And the seats are simply awesome and the interior is roomy. The interior isn't techno-gimmick filled or very colorful. But I could care less about that stuff. This is a driver's car and it's always fun and engaging. Zero regrets.

Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

8000 miles/9 month update

jamievidd, 03/17/2015
SE 4dr Sedan w/Connectivity (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
14 of 17 people found this review helpful

My SE with the 1.8L turbo has been sublime so far. Anyone who bothers with the way underpowered 115hp 2.0 base Jetta should check themselves into a mental hospital. Don't go near it. Head straight for the 1.8 in the SE for only a 2-3K more. This car is so fun and engaging to drive. The 1.8 really performs and it's even better once its broken in. Never at a loss for power and the ride/handling/comfort are stellar. This car was a steal for what I paid for it (under $20K with discounts). And love the v-tex leatherette heated seats, soft leather steering wheel..etc. Yes the dash is kind of no frills but who cares. It's the driving that it's all about and this car delivers it comfortably.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

I love my TDI

Aron, 01/21/2018
TDI 4dr Sedan w/Premium (2.0L 4cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
16 of 20 people found this review helpful

I bought this car with less than 20 miles on it when I traded in my 2002 1.8T Jetta GLS with a 5 speed manual. I just passed the the 73,000 mark, and haven't had any reliability. Unlike my old one, my current Jetta does have plastic trim on the doors and trunk hinges that rob trunk space, neither are the end of the world. It also isn't quite as fun to drive. It does, however, have a great build quality and provides a better overall driving experience. The seats are more comfortable, and there is little more refinement in handling which more than makes up for the slightly less sporty feel. Both mean I can drive longer without feeling fatigued. The manual gearbox feels just like my old one, but with one extra gear. It is still fun to drive and more so than any other hybrid or diesel in its class (according to car magazine reviews). Before I had the emissions fix, which only had a slight impact on my fuel economy, I was averaging close to 50 miles per gallon in warm weather with mostly highway driving without even trying. If it was pure highway driving in warm weather I could get above 50. The cabin and trunk are larger than my old Jetta, and it looks and feels more like a mid-sized car than a compact. On the occasions when I carry more than one other person, there is a lot less complaining about space. At $25,000, what other car is as fun to drive, spacious and fuel efficient my Jetta? The interior and exterior styling has been criticized by many, but I actually like it better than its competitors. It is understated and doesn't scream "look at me" like a narcissistic teenager. As for creature comforts, it still has an impressive Fender audio system, Bluetooth, heated seats, sunroof, rear view camera, heated outside mirrors, and a soft touch dashboard. I don't need all of the other "techy" stuff. If I were to do it again, I'd by the same car. I'm sold on VW for life. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because of two slight, intermittent noises: a squeaky noise when the air conditioning fan is set to "2" and a rattle in the dashboard. The latter may or may not have arisen after I hit a deer a few years ago.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050