Used 2003 Toyota Prius Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,705 - $3,810

Used Prius for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Beat Expectations

TheWanderer, 07/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I wanted a Prius ever since I heard they were coming to America. Recently purchased 2003 and it turned out better than I had hoped. I love this car. Totally impressed me in the Rockies where I thought I would be having to used the slow lane for the uphill runs. Nope, I ended up passing nearly every SUV around! Going down was a breeze too. Got awesome gas mileage in the mountains and that was a huge surpise.

Report Abuse

Toyota Prius for 6'3'' Male Usage

M. Connor, 08/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My wife and I moved from the Philadelphia area to rural northern Berks to enjoy the green beauty. We have recycled and buy electricity from Green Mountain Electric that operates the Wind Generation Plant in central PA. This car is the answer to our prayers for an ecologically sensible and user friendly car. At 46 to 50 miles per gallon it is a joy to operate. My wife ran out of gas last week and drove to the gas station using the battery, no other can can do that. It has great pickup and high speed driving response and very short turning radius. Great car and is comfortable for my family of five.

Report Abuse

Car of the Future is here

xkater, 09/04/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Prius is amazing. It uses the best combination of engine, electric motor and battery to propell the itself. It recovers energy during braking and it minimizes engine use while stopped. I average 45 mi/gallon in the city and about 50 miles per gallon while traveling long distances. It is gentler to the environment and to my pocket.

Report Abuse

2003 Prius

Marzy, 09/30/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am a female above 70 years. This is the ideal car for me. Easy to handle, very inexpensive to operate. The car is very stylish inside and out, with plenty of interior room. It is fun to dr

Report Abuse

beautiful and quiet

diannen, 10/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The most fun car I've ever driven. Never tire of being amazed how unique and quiet the car is in it's electrical mode when taking off from being stopped. I love how economic and fuel efficient it is -- the dealership was astounded I traded a loaded GMC Yukon Denali for a Prius...Ha! (I do miss the Yukon's adjustable lumbar support and heated seats.) I did add leather seats to class it up even more and to make it easy to clean.

Report Abuse

GREAT CAR

hoamee, 10/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Best car I have ever owned. Fuel economy different from advertised. I have been getting 50 mpg on highway and 40 mpg in city - opposite of what expected. Dealership service is good. The only bad expereience is buying from the dealership. They are very arrogant and stupid, making it difficult to purchase.

Report Abuse

Love my Prius

lucky lindy, 10/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great car; quiet, comfortable and efficient. What a difference from the 14 years I had driving a minivan. Love to go to the gas station and get money back!!! I feel I am contributing to the environment with this gas/electric vehicle. Thank you to my ecological daughter for talking me into viewing (and buying on the spot) this wonderful car.

Report Abuse

Best car you can afford!

Eagle4Jesus, 10/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is truly a wonderful car. The savings with gas are great! It has an LCD touch screen inside the car that is fun! It isn't superbly useful but it looks cool! The mileage is great and the car drives amazing. It has really sharp turns and can easily handle over 80mph!

Report Abuse

Love my Prius

vegfem, 10/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car but actual MPG is slightly lower than manufacturers estimates, as well as lower than car's computer display (anywhere from 2 - 6 mpg lower). MPG is lower in the winter as the car takes longer to warm up. The ride is incredibly smooth.

Report Abuse

Vesten reviews the 03 Prius

Vesten, 11/15/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fun, different, and exciting. It is fun getting into a car that told you how your fuel economy was doing as you are driving and how the power is being used with a visual display. It is very different sitting at a stop and feeling the engine just turn off and realizing the car is still running. It is exciting to see how far you can go on a tank of regular gas and challenge yourself to see what your best milage can be.

Report Abuse

I'm A Believer

James C. Harris, 11/15/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My wife and need maximum fuel economy for our 70 mile round trip daily comute. Our new Prius started with approximately 46 mpg. After the break in at 20000 miles, we are now experiencing 50+ mpg on our daily comute. We are strong believers in the hybrid design. Our driving habits now are geared to maximizing our fuel economy.

Report Abuse

Great car

mejulia, 11/15/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my little car. It is perfect for all the work related driving I do. Most of my driving is on city streets but my Prius is perfect for the few freeway trips I make. Others are always surprised at how comfortable and quiet it is.

Report Abuse

Our Prius

eheading, 11/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Prius feels like a bigger car than it is in ride and quietness. We find it enjoyable to drive with more pep than we expected.

Report Abuse

Great buy: Great ride: Great savings

Bill Tarbell, 11/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Cd\radio\ audio tape sound system is excellent. 4 dual sized cups good, convenient O my gosh handles over each door. The warranty and tax deductions, the almost total emissions control, the support for my bad back, all are TERRIFIC! The glove compartment and trunk are larger than one would expect from exterior view. Great car for short\long trips in comfort, convenience, and cost effectiveness. Speedy rascal. Four doors make for easy access. Recliner seats are too good!THE MILEAGE OF 46 IS FOR INNER CITY: WE GET 58 OR BETTER ON THE HIGHWAY OFTEN, SOMETIMES MUCH BETTER. If I weren't otherwise employed, I'd be a salesperson for the Prius.

Report Abuse

Great car

FarmerSteve, 12/05/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The gas mileage is great - 44 mpg overall, including 60-70% freeway at 70 mph. Penalty if over 70 mph. More like 50 mpg at 50 mph on secondary roads. Quiet at any speed, and quietest at traffic lights. Great sound system (partly because of the quiet ride). Other than great mileage, this car is simply fun and easy to drive. Visibility is tremendous, easy and responsive steering, very nimble and easily parked. Great for short errands OR long trips - you just arrive refreshed, which cannot be said for many other vehicles.

Report Abuse

Excellent: SAME AS 2001

Jimjohn, 12/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

dealer gets confused with reaction of braking when checking and keeps replacing the front rotors for free! Convinced they were fine. Great service and courtesy

Report Abuse

LOVE THE PRIUS!

chustad2, 12/27/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

BUY IT, DRIVE IT, LOVE IT AND DON'T LOOK BACK (to see the polluting SUVs)! THIS SULEV IS THE BEST! 2004 LOOKS EVEN BETTER!

Report Abuse

The Best Automobile on the Road

Dan Baietto, 12/27/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fun to drive, comfortable too-took it on 2- 2000 mile road trips. Great performance, seats 5 comfortably, excl. mpg. Toyota Has another great product.

Report Abuse

Love passing gas stations

Rcruser, 03/04/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After purchasing my Prius, I took a trip through the Rocky Mountains. I would have never believed that I could pass a truck going up a mountain and increase speed from 60 to 80 mph so quickly. The Prius is super efficient but you have to know how to drive it. You learn when to coast and brake. By watching the fuel consumption monitor you are constantly reminded of your driving habits. Comfortable, zippy, and passes gas stations with a smile. I do get 50+ mpg in country driving and city.

Report Abuse

never buy pure internal combustion again

smoosh21, 02/07/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have not had one bit of trouble with my car in the first year. I get excellent milage and many positive comments on my car.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Vetteman_LT4, 03/20/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Prius has been a great car for the last two years I have owned it. My car is a 2001 and has around 50,000 miles. I have owned many cars such as Jaguars, Corvettes, Cadillacs. This is one very unique car. I bought the car new and have never had a problem. It is a great running car. No one believes me when I said I have had it up to 100mph just to see if it would do it.

Report Abuse

PRIUS

BSDROWN, 04/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

WONDERFUL CAR AVERAGING 49.9 MPG LAST MONTH

Report Abuse

The future of all cars

NMpriusman, 04/20/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Prius has done nothing, but lived up to every expectation I had, and even surpassed them. It is a fine machine, worth the small extra cost, and its a wonder that more people don't drive them. I achieve 55 mpg in the city, and 43 on the highway. The trunk is a little small, but can carry all of the recycleables. All my friends think its an awesome car, so do I. The CVT transmission is seamless, and the interior is beatiful. I will only buy hybrids from now on until, there are no- gas cars. Absolutely a dream.

Report Abuse

Bumping In The Prius

Bankrup''''', 04/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love it. Getting a Black Prius was the best decision I've ever made!!!

Report Abuse

Need one

Mike F., 04/21/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My girlfriend has a Prius and i love to drive the car. Not that great if u like to go 0-60 in 6sec. but otherwise the the car is perfect. Who REALLY needs to drive a 6 ton SUV with 300hp, anyway? The speed limit is only 65 and unless u are driving 200miles away going faster doesn't get u to the mall much faster anyway. My only gripe is that altho i want to buy one for myself i can't because it costs 20grand +tax+insuranse costs. How the hell is a college student (with out the assistance of Mommy and Daddy like most rich brats) supposed to get a new one?! I'm soooo jealous, i steal my girlfriends car all the time,lol.

Report Abuse

Average 50 MPG

Eric Behrens, 04/28/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Prius is very efficient, but you have to know how to drive it. You learn when to coast and brake. By watching the fuel consumption monitor you are constantly reminded of your driving habits.Excellent gas mileage and a very smooth ride.

Report Abuse

Prius in the northland

rhubarp, 03/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I wish all cars were made with this technology. Excellent design and quality for the price.

Report Abuse

Great car

Daniel McCoy, 05/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This has been a great car for commuting 44 miles round trip to work; but I was surprised that it performed so well on trips to the mountains and up and down the west coast. Amazingly roomy for such a small car. I have no qualms recommending this car to anyone.

Report Abuse

The ride you love to talk about.

GNiessen, 05/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love the Prius. On the occasions when I drive it to work I pickup passengers at the Park-n-ride to be able to take the HOV. I end up getting asked all about the Prius about 75% of the time. Even when one or both passenger have already ridden with me before, they have more questions. And everyone remember I am the one with the Hybrid.

Report Abuse

The best little car

KevinP, 02/21/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've driven everything from VW beetles to Lincoln Towncars to 24 foot trucks and this car is the best in quality and fun I've ever seen. Don't be put off by the "new" technology. It's proven itself. I've had mine since 9/02 and have nearly 9000 miles without a hitch. There's more room inside than my Infiniti I30 for a lot less money. The navigation system is great and accurate, worth every penny. Test drive a Prius and see.

Report Abuse

Prius 2002

Ralf2002, 02/21/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Prius treats you to a very high quality vehicle with great comfort and safety for a compact car. The ride is surprisingly quiet! After 3500 miles driven I have achieved 40 mpg plus in Pittsburgh's hilly terrain.

Report Abuse

Prius 2002 model

MSDickerson, 12/02/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great quality - great sound system with CD player option-Super quiet to listen to great sounds - Phenominal gas mileage - excellent acceleration - good pulling ability (small trailer - not recommended though). Cannot do much better.

Report Abuse

Amazing

Pegwukguy, 02/20/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We have driven Volvos for over 20 years and I was VERY hesitant about "downsizing" to a less than luxury car. But SURPRISE! This ain't no tin box. It has everything I could possibly want - love the sound system and the technie dashboard and flat panel displays. Great stuff. Handling is superb. Plenty zippy. Had to crank it up to 87 at one point because of traffic flow - no problemmo - pulled like a thoroughbred. Good stuff

Report Abuse

Great car

wcroninger, 05/28/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We've been 101% happy with this vehicle. Gas mileage is somewhat better than claimed. We have a 45 mile total daily commute at speeds 55-60mph. Sufficient umph for turnpike driving and sufficient pickup once you get used to the idea that you have to use the accelerator alittle harder than usual to bring the electric motor online. All around great car.

Report Abuse

Prius 2001 Review

E Davie, 05/30/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Prius I own is probably the most completely integrated maching I have ever known. Everything works so well together and so efficiently. It is beautifully quiet and responsive.

Report Abuse

2001 Prius

A Massey, 06/03/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great!, I would buy another one if I could drive two cars at the same time

Report Abuse

Beware Prius

FMjustice, 06/04/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Has a maintenance requirement that Toyota fails to disclose except in the fine print in the manual. The car must be run for 30 minutes at least every two weeks or both the 12 volt and hybrid battery may deteriorate. Upon being asked, Toyota's staff informs one that failure to comply with the requirement may result in the warranty on the hybrid battery (for which they will not disclose the replacemet cost) being voided. Honda, at least, gives you a month on its hybrid, and does not threaten to void your warranty. We also experienced an exploding tire and have never achieved the advertised gas mileage.

Report Abuse

prius

swochap, 06/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Outstanding vehicle for the high mileage commuter. Great fuel economy, I have avg'd 44 mpg combined during the first 11,000 miles over 3 months!! Fun to drive. Plenty of power. Rides nicely. Only minor fault is interior quality--fabric could be better grade.

Report Abuse

Love a Hybrid

earth, 06/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I chose the Prius over the Honda Civic Hybrid after much homework and I am glad I selected the Prius.Currently,I have 5,000 miles on it,just returnilg from a trip to the Ozarks and the Smokies;the car handled very well on the interstate mountains,even at 85 m.p.h.--had to keep up with the semis.I am exceeding the m.p.g.rating,averaging around 51 combination city and highway-- most miles are interstate.The 04 model sounds even better;I do not think that I will ever buy another car unless it is a hybrid,so clean and economical.I love to drive by the service stations!

Report Abuse

Prius

Marie Currie, 06/13/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love the car for the car. I also like the benefits. I'm in real estate. People may or may not do business with you based on the car you drive. The Prius crosses all monetary barriers and is suitable to ALL my clients... the wealthy and humble. If you drive too nice a car some don't want to deal with you since they think you make too much money. If you drive a clunker you are not successful enough. Perfect choice.

Report Abuse

Excellent Hybrid

jbakerjonathan, 07/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

LEAST polluting auto in the USA. Stylish on the inside; makes a statement on the outside. Prius is FUN to drive. 258 lb.-ft. of torque makes it MOVE from a stop light. Smooth forward movement from 0 to 100 miles per hour. Power to keep up with traffic (and pass, if you are so inclined) safely and with confidence. My lifetime (9 mos) MPG is 46, 80/20 highway/local. Toyota warranty for hybrid design 8yr/100k miles; powertrain: 5yr/60k miles; basic: 3yr/36k miles. This is a GREAT car. Two complaints: see below - otherwise, very comfortable.

Report Abuse

Excellent, Fun, Fast and Fuel Efficient

cbmd, 07/05/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the most technologically advanced car on the road and its Honda competitors are not even near the usefulness or speed even though slightly more mileage with Insight. My Prius has had three small problems. Tire wear was the worst, but a tire or wheel change should fix it nicely on the 2004 model. Toyota and the dealer replaced the tires and have done all servicing without any charge.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050