Used 2011 Scion xB Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$4,995 - $10,998

Used xB for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great basic transportation.

Eric, 01/26/2016
4dr Wagon (2.4L 4cyl 5M)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

I bought one of these as a trade in to get out of steep minivan payments. We have two other small electric cars, so this car is for longer trips/ back up. I bought #960 out of 2000 of the release 8 series. It has a lowered body kit and is a cool blue color. Initially there was HORRIble rattle coming from the windshield whenever I went over bumps. I found out from the internet that this was the cowl rubbing against the windshield due to inadequate insulation and that it was an easy fix. I am not mechanical and it was indeed an easy fix. People online suggested using weatherstripping from home depot to install between the cowl and the windshield. I used the fuzzy part of a velcro strip which is working well. It went from sounding like a car with 200,000 miles on it to sounding like a new ride. I am coming from a minivan, so this car handles well. On the twisties it handles well for the box that it is. Anyone who is hung up by the center console or the buzzing sound that the exhaust makes doesn't have a sense of humor. This is an economy box that has a huge amount of room. I am 6'2" with a long torso and I have at least another 8" over my head. And my model has a sunroof. It keeps transportation cheap and simple. If I drive it hard I can get 22 mpg city. If I decide to go for good gas mileage I can get 26 city or 38 highway. I got a great deal certified used.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Car, Lots Of Fun To Drive

dkane1113, 10/13/2010
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I wanted an SUV or a minivan, but they were way too pricey. This car feels like an SUV when you are inside it. I feel higher up then a regular car which I love. It has a peppy engine, great handling and is fun looking. I also love the standard features that came with it (USB, AUX, power windows & locks, automatic door lock & unlock on key, etc.. The car also feels very sturdy & is not cheaply made. It feels spacious inside and I like the head and leg room too. It is a small car that feels bigger than it is and has plenty of room for my 2 kids, husband, dog and I. I just love it!

Report Abuse

Surprisingly awesome

Carolina T, 11/03/2010
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I went to the dealership to test drive the Toyota Matrix, and saw the XB sitting there. After test driving the Matrix and being unimpressed with the handling, I asked the dealer if I could test the Scion. I was amazed at how zippy this car is, especially for its size. I fell in love with the car right away, and bought it, and now I am a total convert. The car handles like a sportier, smaller car, but it has all the room in the world, and it's got personality. Win.

Report Abuse

Small Price for a Great Car

maxie6, 03/02/2011
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

We have had the car for a week now and we just love it. Especially my wife whom I didn't think she would take a liking to it. But she did and it is hard to get her out of it. We are both retired and were looking for something to replace to the two cars we had. (sold them both on the same day over the internet). I have been driving an Infiniti for the past 10 years, and I cannot believe all the euipment that comes as standard on this car. I was surprised how quiet it is and the amount of space that you have, espercially with the back seats down. I just read that "Kiplinger" has rated the xB as on of the top ten 2011 cars for Best New Car Resale Values.

Report Abuse

I love my xB

Nick510451, 05/09/2010
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Just traded my '08 xB manual for a brand new '11 xB automatic (wife wanted an auto). Having owned a '08 for three years and having a close family member with a '06 xB I can tell you that Scions are wonderful cars. The 2.4 engine makes the car more competent in all driving situations than the 1.5. The car feels substantial, bumps are much better absorbed than in older models. The brakes inspire confidence (4wheel disc with ABS, and EBD). My 2008 averaged 27+MPG mostly city driving. One tank averaged 33mpg on a 300+ mile road trip. All of the issues I had with my '08 have been fixed on this "11 Larger armrest, larger center console, reverse lights, seats, telescopic wheel.

Report Abuse

Happy So Far

WAGKISS, 10/15/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

So far I am pleasantly surprised at the comfort of the ride, the solid handling qualities, throttle response and gas mileage. The majority of my driving is open road and I am averaging 31.5 overall. The headroom is great, my only complaint is the offset of the steering wheel.

Report Abuse

My gocart with an A/C

bilbowill, 11/05/2010
11 of 14 people found this review helpful

Just that, it preforms like a 158 hp go cart, , I chose the White color with Gray/black interior, , the center dash does take some getting used to, but I got over that as soon as I plugged my iPod, , and my iphone in, I even use my iphone as the iPod and can get calls, the cargo area is large enough to slid my 3 wheel bike in I get 30.2 mpg in the city, , thats great, , went from a murano, with only 64 cubic feet of storage to this, , 70 cf, it's great

Report Abuse

Ask the Dealership to order you a 2011

Edward, 05/07/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

We purchased our XB last week and are extremely happy with the vehicle! We purchased this car after comparing it against other compact cars on the market, and it totally fits our needs. We wanted a compact car that would not crush our kids in the back seat, an engine that was a 2.4L, good fuel economy, and something that could hold luggage in the truck. No other compact car fit our criteria except this one. We’ve put 800 miles on the car so far and have averaged 26.2 miles per tank of gas. If you’re in the market for a 2010, ask the dealer to bring in a 2011, because you’ll love the changes. We were sold on the 2010, but when we when saw the change. Great car for the money!!!!!

Report Abuse

Love It!

Linda Anderson, 08/06/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

We purchased this Scion XB after owning a Toyota Rav4. The Scion has just as much width room in the front and more head room than ever. Three of us, large adults, just took it on a 4000 mile trip to the NE. I loved the way we sat down lower in the car, but it was so easy to get in and out of. The gas mileage was "right on" with the sticker. You have to be a "fun" person to like the look, I do! When you're riding in it you feel that it is so much bigger. I can't believe people have even said what a cute car it is. I'm as happy with this car as I have been with the last 6 toyotas we've owned. *Needs to be behind seat pockets and the upholstery could use an upgrade.

Report Abuse

Glad I bought it!

Brian, 08/29/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought the car for my daughter, replacing a 2001 RAV4. I drove it from Jacksonville, FL to Baltimore, 865 miles and was totally comfortable. I would drive it across the country, no problem. I'm 6'5" and the seats feel like they were fitted for me. It has more fromt seat room than our 2006 Sienna minivan! I can also fit in back for short distances without it feeling like a torture chamber. It feels like a much larger vehicle inside. If choosing between a 2010 and 2011, go for the 2011. The interior improvements are worth it. The center gauge cluster is also much improved over the 2010. Fuel economy has been excellent. Manual transmission and clutch are excellent.

Report Abuse

Nice

Ih8reno, 11/20/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

had to return my last car and was checking for 1 month every dealership i could think of. ended up at Toyota and test drove the Matrix. Came close to signing but saw the Xb close by and had to try it. i loved it, and a week later am driving it. Nice looks, fully loaded, and smooth to drive.

Report Abuse

Out with the old, in with the new

Chris, 05/08/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I reluctantly traded-in my '06 xbox after reading about the new improvements (telescopic steering wheel, better seats, gauges, etc). I wasn't a fan of the 2nd gen initially, but eventually it grew on me. A week later, I am loving my new 2011 xB. I was pleasantly surprised by this new 'gen 3' version: the comfort and power were the first two things that jumped out. The ability to shift the auto transmission 'manually' is a nice bonus. The dash/stereo controls are a little confusing at first, but they're starting to make sense now. Gas mileage (24 MPG) is definitely lower than my old box (~31 MPG), but the trade-off of more power is worth it. The ride is smooth and quiet.

Report Abuse

Love the new Design

Wags, 07/27/2010
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Just received my XB after ordering it 3 months ago. I love it. I added the lower spring TRD 19" wheels and all the bells and whistles inside. So glad I got the stick adds so much fun to the driving aspect of the vehicle.

Report Abuse

Big change but worth it

EW, 06/10/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After recently deciding that I needed something that was a little more flexible for a family with 2 kids than my previous 2 Tundras, I started looking at smaller utility vehicles. I also wanted to keep the cost reasonable without having to just "get by" with a tiny engine and tiny interior space, or with a vehicle that had questionable build quality. With all of this in mind, I have to say that I love the 2011 xB and it is exactly what I was looking for. It is very fun to drive, has plenty of power around town or on the highway and I can fit my wife and 2 kids (with car seats) in it and still have plenty of covered storage area in the back. Safety features are great as well.

Report Abuse

Love it!

klub182, 09/01/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Love the look inside and out. Roomy. Very smooth drive. Feels like you are in a little race car. It has more zip than I expected. You can't beat it for the price.

Report Abuse

Grate car to purchase

Martin Rubio, 09/16/2016
Release Series 8.0 4dr Wagon (2.4L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Value, Very Low True Cost to Own

Clark, 12/31/2017
4dr Wagon (2.4L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Scion xB was cheap to buy and cheap to own. It's our reliable car and it has excellent quality for the money. Highly recommended for those who want a reliable ride that costs very little to own.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

1145 of 2000

Anthony Soprano, 02/11/2018
4dr Wagon (2.4L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

When they announced the xB was done in the U.S., I had to run out and get that 8.0 that I always wanted. I was hoping they'd stick around, and even possibly build an xB I like even better. As it is the RS 8.0 is my fav xB. Got a used one in 2016 that had only 41k miles on it and a 3 month warranty. Really enjoy driving it. It's a lot of fun. Hugs the corners better or as good as my 2003 miata that I used to have. As far as the wind vortex review. Some cars do this. Simple solution is to crack a rear window some. In my case I just crack open the sun roof. I rated the trans as poor as all it would have taken to greatly improve gas mileage would have been to put an overdrive gear on the thing, like my old Camry used to have. It's a bit bouncy compared to my Lexus ES, but I enjoy it for other reasons. Update- I put some michelins on it and it drives much smother than the rocks that were on there. Can't say enough about how much I I appreciate the simplicity of the xB over my ES350. Being able to change the transmisson fluid easily is also good. Tuning it up is a breeze. I put 20 k on it since I bought it w/ 35k miles or so. The brake pads still look new.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Function and fashion!

Mihir Shah, 03/11/2018
Release Series 8.0 4dr Wagon (2.4L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

A great car all around. Looks hipster with the reliability of a Toyota (it is made by Toyota). Plenty of space for families, roadtrips, moving lots of stuff besides large furniture. I used it for my small business. Great for families, college students, or small business owners.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Bring back the funk!

johnxbreezy, 02/28/2014
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Used to have a 1st generation 2006 xB in 5-speed manual. It was my favorite car I owned. I outgrew it, and wanted something a bit more mature, and sleek. I also wanted to go for a VIP-style luxury-look this time around, and you can’t be VIP and shift your own gears! ;) That led me to pick up a big-body 2011 xB in automatic. The 2nd generation xB in manual is pretty silly, anyway--it’s just too big for a manual. I do love the car, but I’m not in love with it. It lost it’s groove, and seems as though the Kia Soul is the newer version of the 1st generation xB—it has all the funk that the new xBs lost. I still like the 2nd generation xB more than the Soul, but just saying.

Report Abuse

Still has the new car smell

Frank, 04/15/2010
2 of 7 people found this review helpful

I just bought the car on Monday, and I am totally loving it! I wasn't 100% sold when I signed the papers, in part because it was bought with my fiance's and my future in mind, but now I can't be happier. For such a small engine, it really has a lot of kick. I will say that it doesn't handle perfectly when driving next to a semi...you really get blown around. All around great vehicle though.

Report Abuse

Great space

jt5912, 08/02/2011
4 of 19 people found this review helpful

I wish that they would put a 6-speed Auto transmission in the XB. Because the gas milage isn't so great. After you fill it up it seems that in a couple days your down to 1/2 tank. I was used to my Camry, I would get about 200 miles when it reached half tank. I get about 20-22 mpg city. I don't know on highway yet. But I really like the car. So maybe a bigger tank and 6sp A/T. That would be really nice. And also High back front seats please. I'm 6 foot and the back of the seats hits my lower shoulder blades. Don't take my wrong their is pleanty of front room for leg and headroom. And a rearseat armrest with cup holder like the camry.

Report Abuse

2011 xB, where's the diesel?

jpouchet, 08/20/2010
1 of 5 people found this review helpful

Overall I have to say that we are quite pleased with the Scion xB for the excellent alternative it brings over most of the small SUVs we were considering. For our use, local commuting, hauling two bikes (tandems), golf clubs, the dog, and vacation travel with the dog, the xB is a great fit. However the fuel economy is poor for the size of vehicle. Where is the Diesel option? Other design issues – the key is horrible! It will cut your pants pocket and stab you the first, second, and even third chance it gets. Why not a folding key? Audi, VW, even Ford have them. The steering wheel material is too hard. On any drive over 15 minutes it starts to become an annoyance.

Report Abuse

NOISE

UNHAPPY, 11/06/2010
4 of 56 people found this review helpful

Nice car at first then it hits you. Put just the rear windows down and the vortex sucks your eardrums out. Scion say that is normal in all cars. We all know that is not ture. Set the crusie contol on a long flat road and watch it speed up on it own. Scion claims that normal for all cat as well. Brakes have to be pumped to get it stop with out a jerk. Also listen as it down shifts and hear the clunk. Oh ya the windows rattle and the plastic comes lose as well.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050