Used 2012 Lincoln MKZ Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$10,277 - $14,595

Used MKZ for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Awsome Vehicle MKZ Hybrid 2011

kensnek, 06/08/2011
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
78 of 78 people found this review helpful

We have had this car since March of 2011 and love everything about it. Have averaged 39.1 long term combination city/hwy. This car has exceeded our expectations for mileage,comfort,handling and looks. We never expected to own a Lincoln let alone a hybrid. This car is a well kept secret!

Report Abuse

New to Hybrid Cars

dieselfest, 09/04/2012
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

Just passed 600 miles on new Ultimate Pkg MKZ Hybrid. On short trips about 2 miles I get about 26 mpg. Commute to work 22 miles one way 30City/70Hyw, I get 42 mpg consistently. Strange results considering city should be 41 mpg and thats what the short trips are. If I drive normally meaning faster off the line at stop lights and break later and harder, I can only get about 33 mpg average. This isn't too bad and I can live with those numbers. The car really teaches me how to drive more efficiently. I do go past 65 mph but under 75 on the highway regularly and still get 42 mpg. I find that hard acceleration and hard breaking is my biggest problem.

Report Abuse

put your doubts behind, get the hybrid

bbq_pitmaster, 11/11/2011
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
25 of 26 people found this review helpful

If there's no difference in price why would you want the gas-eating V6? Our average fuel economy is 37.8 MPG and could be better, depending on how much you're pushed in traffic. You do not have to trade off on power, it just comes from another source. It's quiet and responsive; regenerative breaks are great, nice wood trim, more if you get the exec pkg (plus suede inserts); heated and cooled seats; blind spot system is also very helpful. Headroom is not as spacious because of the moonroof. Center console hits the arm just right, the ones on the door are too low, so you rest your arm on the window sill. Decent turning radius, adjustable LED dash display. THX sound is very nice.

Report Abuse

The Perfect Commuter Car

Michael Lincoln, 09/09/2015
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
22 of 23 people found this review helpful

This is a comfortable and reliable car to get you to work each day. It does not excel at anything and is very predictable. The exception is the Sync infotainment. Specifically the Applink function is hit or miss each day. I can blame my cellphone as it updates itself weekly or monthly, and Sync never updates. However, it always fixes itself when you disconnect the battery and reconnect. Other than that, I recommend you get this model used as it somehow depreciates to a lower amount than the same year Fusion, which it is based on. Maintain it and keep it clean. Lastly, use all the money you save with zero repairs and get a nice sports car, motorcycle, or boat you can have fun with on the weekends. Update 9-11-16: It is still a great car. Sync is a dud - at least Bluetooth works. Can't be bothered with disconnecting battery cable. Paint and interior holding up perfectly. Very quiet, very comfortable. Handling not as great as a BMW but did not pay alot for the car. No repairs - definitely a keeper. Update 9-12-17: Still a very good car. Sync is better since I installed a software update. Applink still bad, but at least now, Bluetooth connections will display song and artist. I have replaced the battery and tires. No problems in snow with Michelin Premier tires and AWD. Aside from oil changes, that's it. I would really like a new Dodge Challenger Scat Pack Shaker Hood as a play car - but hard to justify since this car has everything I NEED, just not everything I WANT. Update 3-13-18: Trying to justify getting rid of this to get a Kia Stinger, Audi A-4, 2018 MKZ 3.0 Turbo, etc. I just can't . This car has everything I need, enough power, great in the snow with AWD, quiet, comfortable, and I can fit by bike in the trunk with the seats down. It also has zero problems and low trade in value. I guess I will keep it for quite a while. Update 3-17-20: Purchased new tires last month as car was riding horrible. New tires did not fix it. Exchanged for really smooth tires Pirelli P7 AS Plus II. Car still vibrates, especially at low speeds. My mechanic is unsure of problem - blames tires. Earlier MKZs had driveshaft problems that produced vibrations but appeared to be resolved a year before mine. I guess next step is to bring to dealer. Other than that, car is extremely reliable. No major work other than tires and changed transmission fluid. Update 9-12-20 70K. Rebalancing tires improved vibration issues. Got new brakes pads and rotors. Was advised draft shaft may need to be replaced soon. This a common problem with Ford AWD systems. Still looks and runs like new.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2011 Lincoln MKZ

jbradsh1, 06/29/2011
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

I test drove the Ford Fusion and the Mercury Milan and then drove the MKZ. What a difference! The Lincoln has a larger 3.5 L V-6 so it has more power. It is VERY QUIET unlike the Ford and Mercury. It's steering is perfectly smooth and doesn't want to jump back to straight and level after a turn. All the controls are Lincoln smooth so it's a real pleasure to drive this car. I drove the hybrid MKZ but it's ride was much firmer, too firm actually, it was a deal breaker for me. My MKZ was the base model which is so well equipped I didn't need any other options at all. The Lincoln dealer gave me $4K off the sticker price so at $31.5K it's a real bargain in my opinion. I love it.

Report Abuse

Still Nice Hybrid

tuko, 11/19/2015
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

Purchased 2012 MKZ Hybrid with around 30,000 miles off lease. Certified pre-owned with extended Lincoln warranty. Pros: Great gas mileage averaging 40.5mpg since purchase. Will get upwards of 50+mpg strictly city but "only" high 30s on the highway. Goes down in winter or with A/C on. Crystal white exterior with beige interior makes this a nice looking car but hard to keep clean. Ok ride on smooth roads but a little choppy on rough roads but I've been spoiled with my old Town Car. Main advantage over a 2013 or newer MKZ Hybrid is the size of the gas tank. 2012 was last year for a 17.5 gallon tank which means I maybe fill it up once a month. Previously owned a 2013 Fusion Hybrid with only a 13 gallon tank so needed to fill up more often despite similar gas mileage. Cons: Battery does intrude on trunk space. No indicator on dash to tell you if head lights are on which is weird. Nav option, sun-roof and rear camera are nice options. Overall, wife and I like the car. Now about 74,000 miles. If I need to haul lots of stuff, there's always my Town Car. Would buy another one if they still made them.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Classy Car, Smooth Ride

Eileen, 10/12/2015
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

True Lincoln engineered ride... Crystal White exterior, light cashmere interior, nice interior wood features... ample trunk room, moon roof seldom use ... leather could be more durable... why black carpet ... should have been cashmere color. Purchased July 2015 --- one owner, spotless, looks new ... Bad mileage with AC on. Climate control & AC works great. Love backup camera... Received all manuals with some warranty remaining. Manual describes a replaceable interior air filter to mitigate dust, which I need to figure out. Was seeking a luxury car and refused to drop $45K as I drive only 7,000 miles per year, so this was a perfect pick! Considered the Cadillac CTS, but was a bit turned off for a few reasons and my mechanic advised to steer away- too many issues. He worked on MKZ's over the years and gives high marks for reliability and no major issues. Newer MKZ's 2013/14 are gaudy with back spoiler, takes away class appeal and interior looked cheap with no crafted wood moldings. Receive many compliments on mine and it's a smooth drive, nice smooth pull. Very happy!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best Used Value On the Market

Steve, 01/18/2016
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
26 of 29 people found this review helpful

I bought the car six months ago with 30,000 miles on it, still under warranty. I had a new, long commute and wanted something comfy that wouldn't use a ton of fuel. It was obviously very well cared for, and equipped with every available option, including the dealer added remote start. The ride is quiet, and very solid, not as luxurious as the MKS I had a few years ago, but very nice for its size. BTW-this is not a big car. I drove the 2016 MKZ as a loaner car and is noticeably larger. I changed out the original Michelins for Continentals due to a road hazard problem; the Conti's have been great. It's enjoyable to drive, but if you get aggressive on a curve you're reminded that this car was built for cruising. Not a problem, just a characteristic. Couple annoyances : the driver's seat has required constant adjustment trying to find a comfortable seating position, but I've finally found it. Headroom is at a premium due to the sunroof. That's about it for limitations. It runs smooth as can be, looks good and delivers outstanding mileage. SYNC is just fine when you learn to use it.; I had an MB and the COMAND system wasn't better, just different. While I wouldn't have bought this new at $40++, as a used car this was a great choice. Update after 18 months: : headroom issue didn't change Otherwise this has been a great car. Over 41 mpg in warm weather, minus 10% in winter.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Reliable ride

mkzrrr, 12/19/2011
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Turned in a leased 2008 base car for a loaded 2012. Wanted a Hybrid but would have to pay almost $100.00/ month more for a base car than a loaded regular gas engine. FMC does not want to sell Hybrids. The 2008 handled much better than the 2012 . Improvements are a quieter ride and much nicer interior. Do not pay extra for the THX sound system. The base stereo in some ways was better in the 2008 model. Millage has averaged around 22 mpg in mixed use, 24 hwy. The 2008 had almost 50,000 trouble free miles and I expect the 2012 to be the same. Expect around $7000.00 discount on a loaded car, little or none on Hybrid.

Report Abuse

Great car, but.....

Leon Frank, 07/17/2015
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
17 of 19 people found this review helpful

There's much to love about this car. The drive train is near flawless and does what you want it to do. It accelerates, holds 80 if you set the speed control for that, and glides at any speed relatively quietly and very smoothly. The Synch system was clearly designed by people who knew they'd never have to drive the car and put up with it. In every case, it defaults to the worst possible option. Most screens are so user hostile, even with the Owner's Manual in front of you, you won't easily set whatever you want to do. There are endless buttons and screen prompts to push. I still can't figure out what happens when you push the phone button on the steering wheel, but it's near useless. Ditto the navigation system. I use a stick to the windshield GPS, but to the amazement of every passenger. The real issue is the climate control system. It performed flawlessly all winter, then when summer arrived, I discovered that whoever designed the vents is 5'2" tall and really does not like people. The vents are stopped at mid level, they cannot be raised to your face or over you. The same with right left adjustment, very limited travel. The real amazement is there is no way to throttle down airflow. Ford should have looked at any other car on the planet to learn how to make vents. This may sound insignificant, but on a really hot day, you'll be fighting with them non stop to get air where you want it, and failing every time. Each of my Toyotas, Prius and Solara before that, had outstanding climate control. Car was comfortable in all weather conditions. That a Lincoln is so uncomfortable in hot weather is a true amazement. Test drive the car on a 95 degree day before you write out a check for one.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great used vehicle

joe, 01/01/2018
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle recently (12/17). I lucked out and found a very low mileage vehicle. Shortly after purchasing, the first snow came in. I was little concerned since this particular vehicle wasn't AWD (it's FWD). It did a good job in the snow. Tons of trunk space. I had a vehicle pull in front of me at a 90 degree angle. Emergency braking was rock solid, vehicle tracked straight, no issues. Vehicle has a solid feel when driving. Shutting the doors, you feel like you've put something heavy and solid in place. Love the vehicle.

Performance
Report Abuse

Engaging Lincoln "Z"

ojars zvaigzne, 02/12/2017
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I purchased this vehicle used in 2015 with 49k miles on the "clock". I REALLY like the car! The car is an outstanding value as a USED car because of its high depreciation. It delivers in "spades" when it comes to providing a serene and VERY quiet ride. Performance is very good with rapid acceleration and precise,flat cornering. Reliability has been outstanding with ZERO problems during the 14mo that I have had the car. The car has a very good interior except for a couple of things: the door storage bins are made of hard plastic and don't match the high quality of the rest of interior; the base audio system leaves a lot to be desired when it comes to sound quality (poor bass). I would also give a shout out to the selling dealer, WHITE BEAR LINCOLN in White Bear Lake, MN. This dealer "bent over backwards" to make sure I was totally satisfied with my purchase! KUDOS! Update: It is now Feb 11, 2018. The Lincoln has 62,000miles on odometer. Still no reliability issues of ANY kind. A couple of annoyances that bother me: the hood prop rod should be replaced with struts ; the trunk release button should be relocated, it's too easy to accidentally hit this button while driving. Otherwise, I still LOVE this vehicle! CHEERS!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Huge Transmission Problem

Bill Kane, 07/31/2017
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Car needed transmission rebuilt after less than 80,000 miles.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Big safe on gas and very comfort

Frances, 09/27/2016
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

We own this car 2012 MKZ Hybrid for few years now, still like it very much. It have 36,000 miles now and is 42.3 miles MPG. Love the interior and exterior design. Lincoln does great job on this model. Very easy to parking and so easy to get in and out. Feel so quiet and wonderful feeling with this cost and have all good quality performance. The driver seat is very comfortable and outward visibility is great. Feel very safe to drive and enjoy on long distance travel with this car. So far, Everything we love about this car....Great looking and safe and comfort!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great car

Ron Wood, 12/08/2016
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

One of the best cars I've ever owned. I normally trade every two years but I have had this one for almost 5 trouble free years.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Smooth Ride

, 06/24/2012
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
11 of 14 people found this review helpful

Hybrid is the way to go on this model. The ride is very smooth and quiet. Overall, the vehicle is quite refined. I have about 7000 miles on this car and I am averaging 40.5 mpg. I would probable due better, but 95% of my driving is highway. The car has plenty of power for passing, or merging, and handles like a dream. I have owned several Mercedes prior to this Lincoln and they did not drive nearly as nice as this. I would give Mercedes a thumbs up on seat comfort, but that is it. That is not to say the seats on the MKZ are not comfortable, they are, but Mercedes has slightly better side support. Overall, the MKZ is a joy to drive and very reliable!

Report Abuse

Great car ....but

Dennis, 08/18/2018
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

We bought the car used in 2015 with 36K on it. We were not in the market to trade but our 2007 town car with 86 K broke down on the way to a grandsons wedding. Only rental available was a ford 250 pickup. We traded and really like the car. The thing we do NOT like is repairs. The AC quit cooling on the passenger side at 50K. The dealer pulled out the entire dash but could not find the problem, even with factory engineers help. Finally realized it was low on Freon. Added Freon and two months later it did the same thing. Added Freon and two months later it did it again. FINALLY the dealer found a leak in the condenser and replaced it. At 59 K the idler pulley on the serpentine belt went bad. Shortly after that I started to notice a faint rattle under the car. It got worse over time and I had my mechanic try to find it. He could not. It continued to get worse so I took it back today. He found that the ball joints are bad on both sides...@ 61k miles! This is rediculous to have this many problems with such low miles. Since then the AC has stopped cooling two more times. Went to a different mechanic in May and it seems ok since then. We now have 70 K miles on it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Still love it after 1 year

lfwintx, 04/05/2013
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I'm coming up on the one-year anniversary with my crystal champagne 2012 MKZ Hybrid, and I still love the car. With over 8000 miles, the gas mileage continues to improve. Some days I get up to 41 mpg on my 12-mile commute to work on back country roads, where traffic patterns often interfere with smooth driving. The lifetime average of the car is 36 mpg but improving.

Report Abuse

2012 Lincoln MKZ Hybrid is a great ride!

Arthur, 11/02/2015
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Fit and finish is excellent. Infotainment is a little complicated and counter intuitive but manageable. Nearly 50,000 on original Michelins. GREAT car overall. Getting a 2016 tomorrow with even more technology - SWEET!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Gas mileage is super, runs on fumes.

Gene L Shefland, 08/19/2018
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Great car. .This is the longest time i have ever kept a car. Only issue is rust on left rear w/o.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

the car that

amy, 10/12/2016
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 12 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2012 lincoln MKZ in june and now in oct I am planning on trading it in.The car doesnt hold the road at speeds over 40MPH.The car sways and bounces which makes the car feel very unstable on the road.The car always feels like its going to hydroplane even on dry asphalt if the speed is over 60 MPH.The rides like you are on a water bed,which is not just unsettling but very unsafe.I have taken the car to sev mechanics who cant find anything wrong however they too experienced this car to feel very unstable on the highway.The lincoln was to have great road safety however this model is anything but.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Lincoln????

Thomas R. Barnes, 02/08/2017
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Made me love a Lincoln. I definitely plan on replacing this car only with another Lincoln MKZ in the future.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Young Car-Enthusiast, Happy Owner!

Anonymous , 04/22/2020
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

At 29, I’m a young car enthusiast, but I’ve already owned 8 vehicles (6 of them luxury brands), and I’m absolutely in love with this car. After just under a year of ownership, I’ve had 0 issues. Standard maintenance is very affordable (certainly less than my previous BMW 7-Series (mistake) and Lexus LS), and the fuel savings are amazing... not to mention the hybrid setup provides for a *very* quiet ride. It’s not quite at the level of the LS, but it is quieter than the 7-Series or an Audi A8 (which—in my opinion—felt more performance-focused, however). My previous purchases were mostly in the large luxury car segment, but the switch to the Lincoln MKZ hybrid just felt so right. If you’re in the market for a car that prioritizes performance, this is not for you. If you’re in the market for a car that makes you feel confident, offers a smooth and quiet ride, is a practical choice, and has pretty good driving dynamics, this car is hands down the best on the market.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A lot to pay for a nameplate

mcnerdy, 05/12/2013
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 17 people found this review helpful

Ford needs to get serious about the luxury car game. I had a 2011 Ford Fusion Sport AWD that cost $32k. It was essentially the same car as my $39K, 2012 Lincoln MKZ and it had more features. The only features I gained were; a little quieter ride, a softer suspension, and heated outside mirrors. The features I lost were; Blind Spot Information System, Rear view camera, effects lighting, and alloy wheels. You would think that $7000 would buy you more than a Lincoln emblem!

Report Abuse

love this car

Mark Barrett, 03/26/2017
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is in the top two of this best cars I have ever owned. I will buy another one for sure.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Smooth&Quiet

Dave R, 04/16/2018
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I prefer awd over fwd for wet traction

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

my lincoln

fred lincoln, 04/01/2018
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

Great car

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great ride and comfort

Ed, 08/08/2017
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Price varies greatly when purchasing

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Lincoln service

Michael, 09/17/2020
Hybrid 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My MKZ has had very reasonable service costs and efficient to operate.

Report Abuse

Love this car.

Christina, 05/12/2021
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Gave up a newer car (2015) to get it back after selling it a few years back! Nothing is quite like it.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050