Used 2007 Lexus GX 470 Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$14,156 - $21,995

Used GX 470 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2007 GX470

Arno Huang, 06/09/2016
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

A Lexus mechanic checked out my car prior to purchase. Beware there are some trouble spots, but overall they are one of the most reliable vehicles you can buy. If you are a Lexus owner, you have access to all Lexus service records online (including records prior to your ownership). This is a great resource. We traded a RX330 for the GX, the GX has a much nicer interior and the build quality is amazing. Very pleased with the vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Solid, powerful and reliable. Great luxury SUV

active_dad, 07/29/2013
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

We owned a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee for 6 years before this, which was a solid and powerful SUV, but this GX is several rungs up the quality ladder. Ample, smooth power, VERY comfortable and quiet even at freeway speeds. Rock solid in the snow and rain and very reliable. 3rd row seats are handy, and easy to fold up or remove. Anyone who says it's difficult is mechanically inept. Literally takes < 1 min. Side swinging rear door is great in some situations, not so great in others. I personally like it, and the locking hinge open, feature is helpful. Not the best mileage at 14-15 mi. combined avg per gallon (much better on freeway), but it is a fairly large, heavy, luxury SUV with a V8, so actually not too bad. Handles great for its size, and the driving modes and right height adjustments really help for specific driving and road types. Only thing we've had to address in the 50K+ miles we've driven it was a new alternator. Was approx. $750 to replace, with parts& labor.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Lexus GX 470

Thedon3, 11/22/2006
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

This is my 2nd GX. This SUV gives the driver great command of the road, with all the bells and whistles. The GX drives very smooth, brakes are great as well as all the safety features.

Report Abuse

Power, Comfort, & Reliability. GX470 FTW!

Lexus Believer, 01/31/2016
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

After we had our second child, we were looking to replace our '04 Jeep Grand Cherokee with something a bit larger, and higher end. With two kids, two large dogs, and the needed ability to tow and secure a motorcycle carrier to the tow hitch, the choices were limited. I researched several SUVs in this class, but all reviews and stats kept leading me back to the GX. I started looking for certified pre-owned GXs with low mileage, and there weren't many. I took that as a sign that these vehicles were sought after and kept. I finally found an immaculate '07 with only 25K miles on it. After we drove it, we realized why everyone gushes over their Lexus cars and suvs. It drives much smaller than it is, and it's really comfortable and very quiet. The power is awesome, especially off the line and charging uphill. It tows easily and has a tongue weight of 650+ lbs to handle my moto carrying needs. Interior storage space is more than ample. The 3rd row is handy when you need it, and easy to remove when you don't. Other than the 16mpg avg, I really have no complaints. We have taken our GX in the snow, mud, on icy roads, and everywhere in between, and it handles it all without flinching. I am thoroughly impressed, and would definitely recommend it. PROS: Powerful motor, smooth, quiet ride, car-like handling, comfortable seats, reliable, and go anywhere AWD CONS: Avg 16MPG, and the navigation is crap. (But, who uses the car nav with smartphones anyway?)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2007 Lexus GX 470

Kenny Brooks, 11/13/2006
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This is the greatest vehicle I've ever purchased. Fun to drive, and rides like a dream. We test drove 14 other SUVs before our purchase of the Lexus. We are thinking about purchasing another GX 470 and replacing our 2004 Jaguar XJ8.

Report Abuse

Look back

NJC, 04/07/2010
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

I previously wrote of my frustrations with this SUV re: its quirks and lack of modern features. However, I live in the Midwest and we were hit with a torrential winter in 2010. I had no idea how awesomely this vehicle would perform in the snow and ice. It's unshakable. I felt very confident driving in ice and snow that left other trucks and SUVs in the snow bank. Unbelievably good traction.

Report Abuse

Why spend so much money

Real owner, 01/14/2007
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
12 of 14 people found this review helpful

I have bought new Cadillac Escalades, a new one every year starting in 02 . I live in the mountains of New Mexico and am not in good health so reliability and comfort are top of the list . I had never even consided a Lexus . Drove the GX 470 and that was all it took, I traded my 06 Cad. I am very hard to please and I am truly happy with this car. You feel safe in snow, mud and on the highway. Value, check on the new price then look at a used one . Lexus holds its value. The heating and cooling are just right. This is a 4x4 built for comfort and 20 mpg is great when you consider what American 4x4's get.

Report Abuse

Very Versatile SUV

L J , 01/07/2010
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Traded in an RX for an SUV with more room, comfort and performance. So far, this truck has not disappointed. Great looking without being flashy, lots of room for large items, very comfortable on long trips and can get up and go if you hit the gas on the freeway.

Report Abuse

9.5/10, just a few things to work on

Vincent, 01/02/2007
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is amazing. It has power and is full of torque. It has great pick up and the technology is fantastic. I'm very pleased with the comfort and the leg space, and the rear view camera is worth its weight in gold!

Report Abuse

Quiet, Powerful, Joy to Drive

moxielady, 09/30/2006
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

This is my 4th Lexus SUV, and by far my favorite. It's unbelievably quiet, and tows a 6x10 covered trailer like nobody's businesss. LOVE the audio-in port, in which I can play my iPod or anything else. Brakes are steady and strong, not grabby. The new nav is mind- boggling and easy to use, and the bluetooth phone interface blows me away. There's lots of room for pax and cargo, and my dog loves the ease of access to the way back. Best vehicle I've ever owned.

Report Abuse

Beast

link1235, 12/29/2010
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This thing is a beast when comes to snow. The miltary should pick this vehicle up. When it snows I feel like I can go any where. I wish it was a little bigger, of course i have the same complaint on most foreign automobiles. Third row seating is poor but it is a easy fix to take them out. i havent figured out this cassette thing is on the sound system. feel like I can go

Report Abuse

More Practical Interior Cabin Design

pkt0084, 02/21/2008
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Purchased it new in May 2007 with 4 miles on it (now has 4300+ miles). Traded in our Mercedes ML430 which was purchased new in June 1999. I drive my daughter everywhere in the Lexus & as a mom here are my 'annoyances': uncomfortable arm rest, not enough/poor center compartment design, unreachable CD-changer in glove compartment, shallow/poor location of front cup holder, inaccessible cup holders for rear seats when baby car seat is used in the center, rear seat A/C but not heat, swing open tailgate vs. lift-up, can only power on sound (not video) from front console for entertainment system - must use remote control to power on. No issues with technical & mechanical aspects whatsoever!

Report Abuse

Excellent decision

grmccoy, 10/11/2006
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my first Lexus and I am very pleased with my purchase. The ride is smooth and the technology updates are great. I was over 1k miles in no time.

Report Abuse

Truck in a Tuxedo

KB, 12/29/2006
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Just traded my 04 GX for an 07. Very reliable vehicle. Love the new generation NAV and Bluetooth. After shopping most of the lux brands, I still think the Lexus Nav is by far the best. I ski and the old GX was a great performer in the white powder of Tahoe. The drive is very comfortable and balanced no matter what the outside road conditions are.

Report Abuse

This is my dream car

rayandhol, 01/01/2007
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Absolutely L-O-V-E everything about my new Lexus. GORGEOUS to look at and wonderful to drive. I had a Toyota Sequoia before (which I also loved) but this is an SUV that drives like a car - so smooth! Everyday I thank my husband for my new toy!

Report Abuse

Great Lux Truck

Daniel, 11/09/2009
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is a great SUV. It has great off road ability and as such some of the on road ride/performance is sacrificed but if you take it off road or drive in weather you will appreciate it. If your primary use is on road and in clear road conditions, you may want to go with another option. But if you drive off road, in snow, heavy rain etc. this is a great choice. I also am evidently one of the few that like the swing out door. It makes loading heavy objects (luggage, mulch etc,) simpler because you don't have to reach over a lowered tailgate. I have encountered more issues with ceiling height (garage) interfering with flip up gates than the swing out. 30,000 miles, not one problem.

Report Abuse

If I knew then & Look Before You Leap

NJC, 12/08/2009
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
6 of 11 people found this review helpful

Service, build quality, and drive could not be more impressive but this is the first car I have not connected with. It just seems to have no soul if you know what I mean. It's personality is vanilla - unless u frequently drive off road. I loathe the navigation system. You can't do anything with it while u drive (including read song and artist names of music u are playing). No rear heat controls nor rear heated seats. 3rd row is a joke. My 5'1" wife cannot put the rear seats up or down... Terribly difficult. Not enough cabin storage for this size vehicle. Spend time with this car before you own it. This is a real SUV - Not a fun car to own just to carpool around town in.

Report Abuse

Poor Trade in Value

Dana, 08/19/2008
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Purchased my GX470 new in 2007. Very comfortable rise and fun to drive. Outstanding DVD and sound system. Multi-CD/DVD exchanger hard to reach. Arm rest on front seats are annoying as they keep locking in up positions. Poor gas MPG (18). Third row seating cramped. Worst complaint is depreciation value. Pd. $58,000+ new, 1 1/2 yrs later, trade in value is $27K - $31K. (27K - 31K lost in 1 1/2 yrs. Unbelievable!!)

Report Abuse

They Just Keep Getting Better

DMC, 03/13/2007
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is my 5th Lexus, and I have previously owned the LX 470. My GX has almost all the great amenities the LX did, but because it is a little smaller, much easier to manuever. Not to sound sexist, but this vehicle fits a man. My wife likes it, but prefers her RX 350 AWD. And that is just fine with me! I am averaging just over 18 MPG. From my frame of reference, that's decent. If I had wanted great mileage, I would have bought a Prius. The ride is great, the stereo surround sound is great, and it is very quiet. What else could one ask for?

Report Abuse

Now my old lady wants one too

gx470818, 11/11/2006
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is our 2nd Lexus but first Lexus SUV w/ a V8 eng. This baby's ride is so smooth and quiet it's amazing that it have a V8 under the hood. The acceleration is awesome especially when getting on freeway I have to learn not to step on the gas pedal too hard if there is car in front of me, otherwise I have to step on brake or I'm going to rear-end it. We both love to drive so much that my wife want one too.

Report Abuse

Great 2007 GX 470

david , 12/25/2006
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is an excellent vehicle!

Report Abuse

2007 Lexus GX 470

BC, 08/13/2007
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This handles and drives so much nicer than my Toyota Sequoia. The gas mileage averages about 18 combined city/hwy. This is a great luxury SUV that drives very smoothly down the road. It also performs very well in the snow and mud offroad.

Report Abuse

loving my gx470

nithu, 12/03/2007
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just bought my GX470. Its much roomier than my RX. Loving the car. The SUV hugs the road, drives great and Lexus's comfort is unmatchable to any other car.

Report Abuse

COMFORT.......QUIET.......RELIABLE.....LUXURY

Larry, 08/18/2018
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Greatest used vehicle that i've ever owned. Besides changing oil & refreshing fluids, replace battery is all i've done in 7 years!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Almost as Good as an AWD LS 460

Top Dog, 08/24/2008
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

We purchased this car when my Sequoia died and I was left with an LS with RWD. I compromised with the GX thinking to replace it when the LS came out with AWD. Now, I'm not so sure. The GX is almost as good. I'm 6'2" and at 285 lbs, having done more than my share of weight lifting, I need comfort for my frame and plenty of space. The GX does it. It goes anywhere if you keep it shod with good tires, and never ever breaks down. I travel a lot and need absolute reliability and this vehicle delivers. It draws positive attention without being obnoxious. Fuel economy, at an average of 18.9 is actually outstanding for a vehicle of this size. Would I buy another--Yes.

Report Abuse

My Great Lexus

Joe C, 10/08/2006
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is my 5th GX470 & my 15th New Lexus I just love them. They never break. Best vehicle on the road.

Report Abuse

Traded ours

Jane, 09/15/2007
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have always purchased BMWs, but decided to get a Lexus for a change. I just traded it in and went back to BMWs. The SUV is very well made, but is awful to drive. We actually felt unsafe in ours.

Report Abuse

2007 Lexus GX 470

CW5JB, 10/01/2006
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just turn 200 miles. Excellent vehicle, love to drive, handles well and the Gen 5 Nav is outstanding. Great LUV.

Report Abuse

Best Luxury SUV

Pete, 02/25/2007
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Love It! Ride quality is a 10. Build quality is a 10. Silky smooth from start to finish.

Report Abuse

Great truck

s kim, 05/30/2007
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Never liked SUV until I got into a GX 470. Doesn't feel like I'm in a SUV, more like a flagship Lexus sedan. Enough technology and features to stay updated for a long time.

Report Abuse

My first Lexus

saurin patel, 06/07/2007
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my first Lexus and I love it, superb driving and luxurious.

Report Abuse

Almost perfect

Lexus Loyalist, 09/07/2007
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After 4 RXs, I needed a change. Voila the GX. It is roomy, comfortable, sufficiently powerful, and beautifully finished. Only cars with the 3rd row seat were available, but I would rather skip that expense and get a cargo cover instead. The seats are stored, taking up room in my garage. After owning 10 Lexuses, I am surprised at some of the features missing from this car, e.g. HID swiveling headlamps and in-dash CD player. The RX is a much better equipped model for much less money.

Report Abuse

Nice Move

New GX470 Owner, 07/01/2007
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just drove my new GX 470 off the lot yesterday. So far, I am loving it! It has plenty of room. Very commanding on the road with the height of the vehicle. Quality fittings. Buy the ones with Nav. Very high quality. This is something I am going to keep for a while, a new one is worth the money.

Report Abuse

Money buys happiness!

David Ray, 10/28/2015
4dr SUV 4WD (4.7L 8cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Luxury and power. Built on a solid truck frame yet the ride control feature allows an adjustable ride. Able to tow 6500pounds. Currently tow a 3000 pound boat, mpg 13. Comfortable is all respects plus give the feeling of safety. Well thought design but should have a larger gas tank. Easily earns its consumer report outstanding "recommended buy" rating.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050