Used 2008 GMC Envoy Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$4,775 - $7,486

Used Envoy for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2008 Envoy Winter Driver

phoenixiv, 02/25/2015
SLE 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
36 of 36 people found this review helpful

Just bought the wife a winter driver because the Toyota Corolla Sport can't even make it out of the driveway if it has 2 inches of snow or more. The Envoy is stable, dependable and with automatic or full time 4 wheel drive it plows through snow and ice covered roads well. Most of the time it turns around in the drive with 5-6 inches of fresh snow without 4 wheel drive engaged. The vehicle has a smooth heavy feel on the highway more like a 1/2 ton truck which we both like but it has a softer ride. Great leg room for me for a change which fits my 6' 1" frame better than most of the smaller crossovers or SUVs. The 4.2L inline six has good power and torque at both low and high speeds.

Report Abuse

ENVOY SLT Solid as Stone Mountain

Bill Poindexter, 07/08/2015
SLE 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
43 of 45 people found this review helpful

We purchased our 2008 GMC Envoy SLT with 10,000 miles on it and one year old. Now we have over 250,000 on it and would not trade it for anything new and free. The best way to describe the old school, body on frame, straight six SUV is SOLID. For work I have the opportunity to rent many vehicles and nothing comes close to the solid feel and stump pulling power of GM's Envoy and Trail blazer twin. My brother in law is a master mechanic and shop owner and rather than purchase a new vehicle (which he could easily afford) he chose a well cared for Trail Blazer. He is highly impressed with the bullet proof power train rugged body on frame design. I can attest it feels like you are driving a SUBSTANTIAL vehicle. The mass of power available at the slightest touch of the gas verifies what I read. The truck engine in these SUVs were over built by GM. The solid axle always stays put and signals when you are adrift in the lane resulting in a reassuring ride and stable tracking regardless of the highway condition. Newer vehicle designs may give you more storage pockets and cup holders but I value solid construction and indestructible power train as more important for getting you from A to B. Comfort is exceptionable and everything is quiet and solid inside the car. Repairs have been limited to a cracked exhaust manifold and wires chewed up by a demented squirrel. I would strongly lean toward buying a well cared for Envoy over a new vehicle just because they simply don't build them like this any more. UPDATE AS OF 1-13-17---- Our Envoy has now 250000 miles on it. Everything still works. Have not had to fix or replace anything, (no lie). Still has the original muffler, shocks, A/C freon. I change the oil and have had all other fluids changed as advised by GM. A great great car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my new Used Envoy

flyer1977, 07/26/2013
SLT 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

Just a couple days old, I bought this 2008 Envoy with 65000 miles on it. I went to purchase a 2009 Chevy Equinox. Ironically both sat side by side and were the same price, yet the envoy had 20000 less miles. From the exterior, the GMC looked to be more solid of a vehicle, it doesnt have that plastic look to it like the Equinox. Test drive the transmission shifts smooth and no fear of passing on the highway. Equinox was otherwise. Gas mileage better than I expected. Last night did a 115 mile drive on the highway at 65-70 mph, got 22mpg with the air condition on. I was expecting a SUV of this size to be in the teens, its a truck no one should expect 30 mpg. So far I love it

Report Abuse

Own. Purchased with 3K miles in 2008 at dealer.

Stonebank, 10/09/2016
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Maintaining this vehicle is not cheap, but doing the preventive maintenance is a lot cheaper. Having a four wheel drive vehicle gives you two differentials to maintain instead of one plus the transfer case. I have run nothing but Mobil I oil in it, and perform the recommended mechanical work earlier than recommended using the best material possible. My vehicle looks new, and runs like a well tuned watch even with 157,000 miles. I have my own maintenance schedule that has kept every car I have owned in great shape for many years with hardly a breakdown (which I blame on ethanol). Change hoses every three years with a coolant flush, change the battery every three years with the best you can buy, replace any potential defective wiring as noticed, and change oil every 5-7000 miles running only synthetic regardless of climate. Replace all brakes before damaging rotors, and ensure the rotors are the best duty you can keep on the car, rotate tires with every oil change, and put the best tires on the vehicle possible. A few extra bucks here can save thousands. Update mechanicals as noted by a GOOD mechanic. I use a high quality dealership, and the repair prices are not really any higher, and the mechanics are well trained and supervised. My only real comfort negative is short seats which is common in most cars these days. I have long legs and lack of proper thigh support creates a painful butt and hamstrings on longer rides. My car has performed pretty much flawlessly.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

IT'S NEW AGAIN EVERYDAY

Dan Smith, 04/10/2016
Denali 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

206,000 miles later, 8 years of ownership and every time I get behind the wheel I fall in love all over again. She is an absolute sweetheart - the Envoy Denali is a great road-suv...hugs the road - runs down the road at 80 mph - 2,000 rpm - 20 miles per gallon - comfort and just plain FUN TO DRIVE. This is my 7th GMC product and I am just now ordering a new GMC Acadia Denali - 2017 - I just hope the new one is 1/5 the suv this 2008 sweetheart is.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Good Vehicle hate to see it go

dnt, 10/25/2010
SLT 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

The SUV has been great, it has got us through many long road trips. Monthly payment was getting to much so had to downsize to a small car again, but looking forward to being back in a FORD Focus again. Anyone who has mentioned the seats don't fold down flat, WELL THEY DO. We didn't think so at first either until my husband went out one day and figured it out, reading the manual really helped too.

Report Abuse

Nice Ride

Mrs. T, 04/28/2008
SLE 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

I know I am not the norm, I had my previous car for 12 years. Yes, 12 years. I only had 106,000 and cried like a baby when I sold it to a friend of mine. I have looked at the Envoy since 2004 and decided this was the year to buy it. (Also the last year they are making them) I love my Silver Mist color, have had many a compliment when out driving. I have a sunroof and the nice stereo. I just put 1000 miles on it this weekend. I am kinda disapointed in the gas mileage but I guess it is to be expected with an SUV. I love the staightline 6 I have, it has a lot of get-up-and-go. So in short, love it!!!

Report Abuse

Love the Denali but not the Mileage

vallywally, 11/09/2009
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Hwy mpg is OK but city mpg is very poor. The seat belt cuts into my neck and needs to be repositioned. Denali exterior is an eye turner but the plastic "woodgrain" console looks cheap and tacky. Seats are comfortable but would prefer a softer leather. When I'm stopped for a light, after 10+ seconds there's a thud-like jolt & sound from under the car. Dealer has no idea what is causing this but has heard others complain about it.

Report Abuse

why don't they build this anymore?

russ weaver, 04/25/2016
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is a mid size suv on a solid full frame. Handles rough terrain and freeway speeds equally well. I'd buy a new one if I could.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

NIce vehicle for the price

mph33, 06/11/2008
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is the second Envoy we bought. My wife is the primary driver. The last one we had was the 4 wheel drive SLT. Very pleased with the pricing and is an excellent family SUV. The 8 cylinder gives it more power and does not really effect the gas mileage. Much better than the 6 cylinder in our last one.

Report Abuse

Awesome SUV

John J, 11/12/2019
SLT 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I love my SUV. I bought it Used with 143,000 +. service Engine Light was on for Secondary Air Injection Pump. I read up on that part and found out about condensation in hose under the truck. I pulled he hose off and got a little over a pint of water. I ordered and replaced that part for 56.00. Not $700 as I saw in 1 post. As far as gas mileage it's not as bad as what everyone is posting. Local driving isn't the best but what car really is driving short distance with stop & go traffic. On the highway using Sunoco gas I can get 325 to 360 miles on a tank of gas because I always use the cruise control and keep my distance from other vehicles by going 5 miles slower so I don't have to keep hitting the brakes. I LOVE this SUV. It's an 04 with 159,350 miles on it. Rides just as good as a new Cadillic or other fancy cars. GMC should start building these again with the Inline 6.. I don't know what gas the others are using in their.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Poor Quality compared to other brands

ahess77, 11/08/2010
SLE 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 11 people found this review helpful

This SUV has had more than it's share of problems, dealer has not correctly fixed half of them. 1. driver window extremely slow (dealer said it's normal operation); 2. 4WD service light, dealer changed a sensor; 3. speaker buzzing, dealer changed rear speaker; 4. Stabilitrack service light, dealer changed a sensor; 5. occasional loud Bumping/growling noise at RF wheel, dealer said normal operation; 5. speaker buzzing (out of warranty), Non-dealer replaced rear HVAC control; 6. Check engine light, secondary air injection system, ECM replaced ($700!) 7. Service Stabilitrack, steering wheel sensor ($95!). It's not a Yugo, but what a piece of crap.

Report Abuse

Good power but that's where the good end

Milez5858, 10/21/2009
SLT 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought the Envoy as the most powerful 6 cylendar for towing. I turns out I get better milage with an 8 cylendar truck. The air shocks were constantly pumping up, the fans for the climate control extremely loud, there is no vent setting so it was either blowing hot or cold air, wind noise was excessive, the gas tank is configured such that it always spilled over when filling no matter what gas station I went to. Passing gear was great but taking of from stopped was very slow for a 280 hp engine.

Report Abuse

Love my GMC Envoy..but not the gas..

bellasarah, 12/15/2007
SLE 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my Envoy, but want to just say that I filled it up to full just two days ago and only put 120 miles on it and am already on a half tank. I just bought this SUV and I knew that the gas wasnt that great, but at this rate I am going to be filling up probably every week just to get to work and back. If GMC came out with a hyrbid Envoy that would be awesome.

Report Abuse

2008 Envoy Denali

hiflier, 05/07/2008
Denali 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I got the Nav Package. In contrast to another review, I think it works great! Yes, there is a learning curve, but once you are proficient it works fine! Save for the XM traffic report - it does not have. I have owned previous Nav systems with this feature and it is great! We get comments all the time on how wonderful the vehicle looks - it looks like GM hit the mark on this vehicle. My wife drives is the primary driver and she absolutely loves this car over the Saturn ION we traded for it. Yes, the gas mileage went down with the trade, but the ride and the sense of feeling safe in a larger vehicle was worth the trade-off!

Report Abuse

I love the hell out are this suv

Willie Ringstaff, 10/10/2019
Denali 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Buy this SUV it a great ride

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my 2008 GMC

mmchis, 03/30/2008
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

It rides very smooth. I enjoy the comfortable seats. I like all the extras! The wood grain center console and steering wheel are beautiful. I would like more storage available in the center console. I like that the vehicle uses 4 cylinders, until it needs the full 8. It helps with gas mileage.

Report Abuse

2008 envoy

alc13, 07/22/2009
SLE 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

Not sure if I have the SLE or SLT. I rated the gas milage poor because it is extremely inconsistant. I travel 6 hrs interstate/highway time per week and I go the same speed every time. Some trips I go through a little over a 1/4 and sometimes I go through a whole tank. Thats a huge difference! Also, it should get better milage than a truck 17mpg just doesn't cut it for its size. I rated the interior design poorly also because there is only one cup holder, back seats don't really fold down, console is tiny, and the computer system randomly turns on and off the change oil light. As far as build quality stuff I had to have the powertrain completely replaced when I first bought it.

Report Abuse

Fixer upper

Mary kay, 10/10/2018
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Not great cant read the codes computer reading error. Like its been wet. Speedometer went out.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Don't get the Nav

Don't get the NAV, 12/17/2007
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Spent the extra money on a NAV system only to find out that to use the nav system a dvd has to be in your cd player anytime that you are using it. In other words FM or XM only while navigating. I have used many different portable navigation devices that are so much more user friendly than this one. It is all that I can do to figure this thing out, my wife gave up after several very frusterating attempts. Save the money and buy a garmin! Also cup holders are a joke in this thing.The money I saved still outweighs these setbacks. GM blew away competitors prices! If I had to do over again I would buy the same vehicle without the nav,We would miss the touch screen FM/XM that comes with the nav.

Report Abuse

My Envoy

Smokey, 08/28/2008
SLE 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I traded in a 2007 Chevy Silverado crew cab that got 24 to 26 miles per gallon. My Envoy gets terrible gas mileage which is a bummer. Steering is hard to get used to, my truck was much smoother. Envoy is quiet as was my truck. I guess if you want something that is quiet, smooth, and gets good mileage buy a Silverado crew cab. Costs less than the Envoy and has much more room inside.

Report Abuse

My favorite in the price range

choppers70, 04/22/2008
SLE 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I drove just about everything I thought I could get off the lot in the low $20K's. Everything felt like plastic junk. When I got in the Envoy I knew it was the one I wanted. Felt like luxury but in my price range. So far so good. Some minor issues with rattling noises that need fixed but other than that I'm pretty happy with it.

Report Abuse

Never Thought I Would Buy A GM Car

Glenn, 08/19/2008
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Never thought I would buy American let alone a GMC car. Drove the Envoy and it knocked my socks off. I'm hooked. OnStar is a winner and the car is fantastic. Only problem, I understand it goes away next year. The Arcadia is the replacement and a car I would never buy.

Report Abuse

Envoy Denali

woodbine, 09/10/2008
Denali 4dr SUV (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I find the Envoy Denali to be a very wonderful product from GM. I recently had a 04 Trailblazer and the Envoy has a better ride style and the Denali package is excellent.

Report Abuse

Nice Value SUV

bigb4334, 11/18/2008
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love the power that the V8 offers in this size of an SUV. I would agree with some that turning is very soft with this vehicle, but some like the smoothness that it gives you. I have yet to tow something with it, but can't wait. Bose stereo is great, and OnStar turn by turn is also great. With the pricing that they have for these vehicles right now, there isn't a better deal.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

215Denali, 03/09/2008
Denali 4dr SUV 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

An excellent truck for the price. The Denali trim level looks great, we get compliments all the time. Great looking interior, we have the black leather with wood grain.

Report Abuse

Smooth & Quiet

WD, 03/24/2008
SLT 4dr SUV 4WD (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I previously owned other SUVs which road like trucks and were noisy on long rides. The Envoy has great power and better than the sticker fuel economy, 18 average, 20 or better on a trip. Seating is comfortable and OnStar works well.

Report Abuse

180,500 GOING STRONG

ben, 06/25/2018
SLE 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I GOT THIS AT AN AUCTION, FOR HIGH MILEAGE ITS RUNNING GREAT

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Towing/gas mileage

Tim, 08/25/2018
SLE 4dr SUV (4.2L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Uses 3 x the gas when touring my 3500# camper. Lags when towing up Hills. Rated for 5200# towing capacity. Runs great when not towing.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050