Used 2005 GMC Canyon Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,796 - $4,965

Used Canyon for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...7

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Long term review

Andy L., 01/09/2010
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck new in Oct 2004. My review from Jan 06 remains true. This truck has been outstanding. The fit and finish on the interior is fine, the exterior has held up perfectly. It is very well powered, and a pleasure to drive. Does great in Michigan winters. Even better with new Dick Cepek FC-II tires. I've hauled many loads of wood, pulled a small boat, traveled with family of five and never been let down. The only two issues have been the theft deterance went out (minor), and the drivers window regulater died ($300) I have 86k miles and plan to put on many more.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

Matt, 05/05/2010
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Great truck for doing things you need to do, without the gas of a full size. Great family car to take to the beach, worth every bit of money.

Report Abuse

Engine /electrical problems

marc, 10/23/2008
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

After purchase it was noted to have bad water leakage on the passager side under the dash that shorted out the OnStar system and caused the computer to error. Problem was found to be a bad lead seam over the windshield. Computer error causes one of the cylinders to runs rich, crack in exhaust manifold, now getting only 11 mpg. Remote failure also, attempted to open the door with key and found that the tumblers in the door and back gate had been missed keyed. Lots of problems with remote entry system and electrical connectors under vehicle rusting loss of plate lights and other exterior lights. Vehicle only 18 month old and GM providing little help.

Report Abuse

Still going strong

sullylang, 08/04/2012
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

Coming up on 8 years owning this truck. It still runs great, drives great, very reliable, and good efficiency (18mpg city / 22 mpg hwy). Gas mileage was better with regular hwy tires. Dick Cepek FC-II tires took about 1 mpg off the fuel economy. Just did 120k service on vehicle. I wrecked my brakes, but they would have needed rotors and drums at 120k either way. Only issue that's odd is the rough, or low idle from a dirty throttle body. Very simple to clean, and now runs perfect again. Very satisfied with this truck. The experts have their blinders on when giving it poor performance ratings. Power is great and it tows very well.

Report Abuse

Great Little Pickup!

05CanyonOwner, 11/19/2018
4dr Crew Cab Z71 SLE Rwd SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this Canyon new in 04/2005 and it’s still going strong in 11/2018. There are now so few smaller/mini pickups out there that some people confuse my cherry 2005 Canyon as a 2019 model, and want to know where they can get one for themselves. Consumer Reports trashed this vehicle back in the mid-2000’s in so many ways… I know after 14 years of owning one, I am so glad I got this pickup. My 2005 Canyon has never let me down and it gets its recommended servicing per owners manual when due. It has always gotten about 20 MPG combined mileage since new. It’s nothing fancy or classy in any way – it is just reliable, bullet-proof small pickup transportation. If you can find one for sale that has been cared for, you’ll be most rewarded with loyal transportation.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Sweet 5 Cylinder-GMC Pickup Truck

angelballs, 02/09/2014
4dr Crew Cab Z71 SLE 4WD SB (3.5L 5cyl 4A)
27 of 43 people found this review helpful

Bought my truck new in October 2004, This sweet 5 cylinder pickup has served me well on long 1100 mile runs from Florida to Maryland and back as well as 5 and 6 mile trips to buy heavy materials such as sod and mulch, as well as lumber from big box stores. The paint quality is exceptional and day after day in Florida sunshine it is still beautiful after all these years. A dream to drive, it still stirs my soul when I see it sitting in solemn eloquence. My Canyon will be Thirteen years old this October, I have 66,000 miles on her and the Silver Birch paint is still beautiful, (I wax once per year). I drive it 4 or 5 times a week, First truck I ever had a seven year original battery in. Just replaced the second battery with a 5 year one. Like I said when I saw her on the dealers lot, "That sure is a pretty truck", she still looks like a million bucks to me and I drive her 4 to 5 times a week. Just paid $1700 dollars to replace hoses, plugs, and front end work. Now she is "good as new" to me. I can send you a photo if needed.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Stone

Pete Stone, 08/07/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have a 2005 Canyon with off road package and 3.5/5 cyl. eng. I have 46,000 mi on it and it has been a great truck. It rides smooth and has good power. I have a K&N air filter on it, a bed cover and I run full synthectic oil in it. I get 24-26 mpg if I keep it at 70 MPH. I drove it at 65 MPH and got 27.6 which is great. I think for the money it is the best mid size truck out there and I've driven them all. With the V8 option in 2009 no other mid-size truck will be able to touch it. I reccomend the Canyon especially with the Off Road package.

Report Abuse

Love It

Zach, 09/08/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This truck can do a quarter of a miles in 13.267(average) I love it it burns out fast and the the I5 has 246 hp and its perfect i would love to get the 5.3 v8 but i got it for a great price.

Report Abuse

great truck

w biello, 01/16/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

truck has preformed very well - handles great- 21 to 25 mpg.no problems- dealer mastria buick gmc best dealer i have ever dealt with - service dept great-

Report Abuse

Perfect small truck

Andy, 01/06/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have taken this truck across the US twice going from Florida, to Maine, back to Florida, and then to Michigan. I've gotten as much as 24 MPG at 75 MPH with 5 people, and luggage. I hauled a 3000lb trailer from Florida to Michigan with no problems, and got 17 MPG while doing it. No problems on climbing steep hills in Tennesee, or with braking. I love this truck. It is perfectly powered for a small truck. It has also performed excellant during the Michigan winter with it's traction control, even in my steep driveway with snow.

Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page:
51050