Used 1995 Chevrolet Blazer Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$978 - $1,971

Used Blazer for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Chevrolet Blazer

Kie, 10/25/2010
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2008 because it was decently priced for a 4WD. I live in Montana where it snows half the year and I needed 4WD to be able to get out of my driveway every day to go to school. This was my first car and for about the first year it was good. The only problem I had with it was the alternator, which went bad. Its 4WD is awesome... I could get out of any drifts or ditches I was in. But then problems came at around 120,000 miles. My catalytic converter went out and I had that taken out, and my EGR valve has a build-up of carbon. Every week for the last month and a half I have been having to clean out the EGR valve. My Blazer got about 12 mpg... which is terrible.

Report Abuse

Reliable vehicle with few flaws

Kurt Anderson, 02/12/2006
2dr SUV 4WD
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I've owned my Blazer for 10 years now, original owner. The vehicle has proven to be very reliable, good off road, great towing, and nice on the highways. If I had to do it again, I would still buy this car. The car does have it's design problems: (1) every 40k I've had to pay $350 to get an emmissions valve replaced -- frustrating, (2) even though I have a heavy duty alternator package I've had to replace the battery 3 times -- again frustrating.

Report Abuse

Solid car

confused, 04/20/2009
LS 2dr SUV 4WD
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Had 100K on it when i bought it. I have had some minor issues with it but nothing major. It was the spare car for friends and family until i sold it to a friend. It now has 270K miles on it and still going strong. For 2 years it had no maintenance and was drove to hell and back. It has needed tires and spark plugs the typical. I had to replace the EGR valve (my dad did, if you do it correctly which most dont there are no more issues), the ac motor, and 4wd switch. Common it is 270K no suprise. I have spent maybe 750 for repairs in its life time. Never left me stranded even when it died from the egr valve started back up and got me home. I would buy another one and might actually.

Report Abuse

Blazer

chevy blazer, 11/17/2006
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought my Blazer for $1800 and put 10,000 miles on it. So far $850 for tranny rebuild. Fuel pump put on before I got it. 4wd works when it wants to. Shake the wires on transfer case sometimes works. EGR no good but you can buy a piece of screen wire from dealer for $16-20 that will reduce carbon build up. Gas mileage in city between 10 or 12 miles to gallon. Gets 17 or 18 mpg on highway. Brakes are no good. On slick surfaces they pulsate and make an awful racket. I guess it is a very poor ABS system. Not to mention I got truck for $1800 because tail lights would not work. Looks nice with $150 exhaust I had to put on because muffer rusted apart. Trim is starting to come off now.

Report Abuse

Chevy needs to improve blazers

Laredmun, 07/20/2003
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

i bought this 95 blazer LT with 123K i've only had to fix the brakes on it and replace two rotors the engine seems to lack power. the MPG is 16-17 ouch that hurts but other than that my blazer has performed well now it has 138K

Report Abuse

Great first vehicle

nlv007, 04/11/2005
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This was my first vehicle, and I have not been dissapointed one bit! Interior is nicely designed, it does great in the snow, and it has been very reliable. The only major repair I've had to make is replacing the gas tank after it rotted out from too many Ohio winters. My Blazer does everything I want, and takes me everywhere I need to go.

Report Abuse

Needs many improvements

kneebs, 09/23/2005
LS 2dr SUV
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have to put a lot of money in the car just go keep it in running condition. There always seems to be something wrong with it. I had to replace the transmission, the brakes a couple times, couple electrical problems. replace egr valve and fuel pump. I dont know what's gonna go wrong next.

Report Abuse

13+ years with one family owner

DonnaMarie, 08/22/2008
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehicle has no rust - either garaged or in Florida; I had very little mileage on it until 2005 - but now have about 195,000 miles on it (almost all highway miles). Put brakes on it (my driving?), a couple alternators and anything needed to care for a vehicle that has been dependable and took me anyplace I wanted to go. USA Chevy family!

Report Abuse

This car is absolute junk!

pvanaman, 10/31/2008
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the worst Chevy ever! Oil lines broke, destroying engine (there is no mention anywhere in owner's manual that the oil lines should be replaced at regular intervals) egr valve has to be replaced every 2 years. I replaced the fuel pump, fuel pump sending unit, nut kit, both handles that recline seats broke, windshield wipers work once in a while, brakes work so-so. 4x4 needs constant maintenance. Rust around rear wheels. I've owned Chevys for 40 years ands this will be my last one ever! No wonder they are losing market share to Japan.

Report Abuse

Worst ever, do not buy!

Joseph, 11/13/2008
4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Replaced upper and lower ball joints twice in three years- EGR sticking- over heats after replacing radiator, clutch fan, thermostat 3 times, water pump- catalytic converter twice- spider assembly- Ujoints due to rusting- brakes 4 or 5 times- oil coolant lines- fuel filter 4+ times- driver side mirror housing fell off- power mirror control does not work- 4 wheel drive works sometimes- fuel pump- heater core- plugs and wires half dozen times- battery twice The VIN letter to look out for is X.

Report Abuse

Junk

Brandon, 12/23/2008
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this car with 80,000 miles on it when I was 15. Since then, I've replaced almost the whole engine + more. I think it started with the water pump. I've been through 3 of them. Changed the thermostat twice, replaced the egr valve and clean it yearly with carb spray due to carbon buildup. Changed the cap and rotor, spark plugs and wires, idle air control valve, pcv, fuel filter, swapped the whole rear axle with one from a junkyard, replaced the brake line reservoir and brake lines, muffler and catalytic converter, and the starter. Recently I replaced the whole cooling system,(radiator, heater core, water pump, hoses). These are just a few things that I had to fix.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

Jake, 12/31/2008
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck in 2008, for a little over 2000 dollars. It needed an egr valve that is relativly inexpensive to fix, and since I have had no problems and it has been very reliable and effecient. I drive in mostly backroads and almost no highway driving situations and it only cost about 20 bucks to fill each week, I would definitley reccommend this truck to anyone. It also has a great 4x4 stystem. I have driven with it in 6 inches of snow and have pulled a few Toyotas out of ditches in the rain and ice and I have no complaints on its power or ability.

Report Abuse

blazing glory

christie, 05/14/2002
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this is the best vehicle investment i have made it's fun reliable and great for the whole family.I actually look forward to driving to work now.

Report Abuse

'95 LT

scubawin, 05/24/2002
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I ordered it when the model year first came out. I have about 118,000 miles on it and have only had a few minor problems. The only thing that I felt like that went out prematurely was a high pressure oil hose at about 40,000 miles and it wasn't cheap. I have also had a hard time kepping moisture out of the center tail lamp. I have a friend who has had trouble with his transmission in his but I have had my transmission seals, anf filters replaced twice for routine maintenance and have had NO trouble.

Report Abuse

chevy a great looking and driving SUV

ho, 06/02/2002
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

a good feeling at driving, looks good, enough room for 5 but for often driving with family a van is better.

Report Abuse

300k Miles!

Bill, 09/22/2009
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought vehicle as a lease return in 1997. With regular maintenance have had very few problems. Original engine and transmission! Driven all over the US. Repairs include oil coolant lines (3), starter (2), freeze plugs (2). front brakes (many). Only issue are coolant lines and having to put new rotors on with almost every brake change. 19mpg combined. Starting to get expensive to repair. Last 3 months-Shocks, ball joints, alternator. Overall very happy with the vehicle.

Report Abuse

ok chevy

ok chevy, 11/12/2009
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

had a 92 chevy astro had to sell that piece of junk so my dad loaned me his winter beater it was good the first year beat the crap out of it, it still runs the 4.3 is underpowered with a full load by myself it hauls the leather seats are hard 5'10'' i fit perfectly in it if i was any taller i would be uncomfortable

Report Abuse

Reliable and Fun

Fasttac, 11/15/2009
LS 2dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car from my grandfather. He really never treated it well, but never drove it into the ground. He neglected the oil changes and annual services. I got it at 92,000 mi. It needs a new EGR valve and AC compressor but other than that it runs great. I have had to replace the basic stuff (plugs,wires,fuel filter, etc) but it is super reliable. I think mine is the same as the 98-newer ZR2 package. 4x4 is reliable. The dislikes i have is the EGR valve. Mine is failing and causing it to run extremely rich. I also don't like the fuel gauge. It is so stupid because it goes up and down when i press the gas and brake. It also needs a pair of coil springs in front. i'll buy the same one

Report Abuse

One of My Favorites

Venom274, 05/06/2010
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My Blazer isn't actually a 4x4, it's one of the few 95's with AWD. I absolutely Love this truck. its currently my project. I honestly think it's a lot more reliable than what people say it is for I haven't had that many problems with it. The few things that did go like a fuel pump or pcv valve is expected at 160k miles. Other than that I am a huge off-road/muddying enthusiast and the blazer withstands its abuse and handles great while also maintaining a great grip on the road in wet conditions. I can take corners in the rain like its dry weather. the blazers body stabilizers make the blazer what it is. I'm never getting rid of it.

Report Abuse

Buyer Beware!!!

Scarface, 07/18/2002
4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 1995 Chevy Blazer from a private seller and after over $3,000 in repairs later I am still having nothing but problems with the vehicle. So far I have had to replace the fuel injectors, the entire distributor system, numerous repairs on ball joints and universal joints, egr valve, and abs system, and I am told that the fuel pump is due (Another $800). Buyer Beware!!

Report Abuse

It's OK

peaeye1, 07/21/2002
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Transmission noisy since day 1. For the most part a reliable vehicle. Typical small SUV instability in wind and corners. Servicing the transmission is a pain!

Report Abuse

Too many recalls and repairs

Matt41053, 08/02/2002
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

There are to many recalls on this blazer. I think I've had about 4-5 done to it. I've also had to replace the 4 wheel drive servo, the control station(the 3 buttons on the dash) and the transfer case because it got stuck in 4 wheel drive. The armrest/compartment creaks and rattles pretty bad also and get VERY annoying. I'd stay away from this model if I were you....

Report Abuse

amazing suv

Chlowin826, 08/13/2002
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

As a first time driver and first time car owner, owning a chevy blazer has been a great experience. I feel completely a ease driving it and I know that I would be safe if I were to be in a accident. Even though my car has 101,000 miles on it is still runs as if it were new. It is a comfortable ride and the the back seat is ten times more spacious then my parents jeeps. Thr gas mileage is also better then my parents jeeps. Overall I love this car and would recomend that anyone invest in owning a Chevy Blazer.

Report Abuse

I'd get another...

Chevy Man, 08/22/2002
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great truck...sure some new model recalls came with it but people asked me constantly about my truck for the first 2 years I owned it! After 145,000 she still runs and looks great. No issues with the Transmission or engine (I only ran Mobil 1 5W-30 synthetic in her) . The Blazer was and is a GREAT Truck...I'd do it again.

Report Abuse

Broke faster than it could be fixed

Leroy R, 08/22/2002
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I loved my blazer but it never seemed to be defect free. I had to replace the entire braking system three times, the transmission, the entire cooling system, even the windsheild wiper system. The truck had problems that would stump mechanics. About once every 2 months I had to put another $1000 into the truck. I did all of the preventive maintance I could and I had the car checked out every 3000 miles, but it just kept falling apart. I calculated that if I had leased a car last year instead of owning my blazer, I could have leased a Porsche instead and had an extra $2500 left over for the insurance.

Report Abuse

Happy With Mine

ziplin, 08/25/2002
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Had this Blazer for a few weeks (got it used as a cream-puff) put a thousand miles on it so far and it is out performing my expectations. will report further as I have more time in it to do a better evaluation. Thanks for all the previous input.

Report Abuse

Junk!

nascarfan, 09/13/2002
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehicle ate batteries, ball joints fuel injecters and fuel pumps. Had to fix several oil leaks. It rides like a lumber truck, which makes the interor ratal and squeek and fall apart.

Report Abuse

No Problems

LoveGM, 09/13/2002
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Had this car from day one. Great riding car. We drive long trips every summer and have had nor problems. We now have 108,000 miles on it, and only have had to replace the water pump. The brakes still seem to be a problem for GM, but change them yourself and its not that bad. Went through two sets of rotors within the 15,000 miles. Once I started changing them myself found out that it would only cost me $100 a year for new pads and rotors. Interior is nice and comfortable, however the rattles and other noises can get on your nerves after a while.

Report Abuse

lots of problems

chevywoman77, 09/22/2002
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this 1995 blazer... within a month of the purchase, i spent over $2000 dollars on it.........first of all, the brakes where very soft, so i replaced the master cylinder, again same problem....then the water pump, then EGR valve,,,then the oxygene sensor,,,,then upper lower ball joints...god knows what is next, very unreliable vehicule,,,,,,i guess i bought a lemon :-(

Report Abuse

Great SUV

dan22000, 10/30/2002
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My father bought me a 1995 LT 4WD blazer, and i love it. Ive put about 8000 miles on it, and i have had no problems. The Vortec V6 is a great engine with so much power, the Delco sound system is also great. Off road it is a beast, but with a big engine the gas mileage is around 16-17 MPG, but other than that im am very happy with the SUV.

Report Abuse

Good when running, sucks when not!

CHEVYGIRL, 10/11/2002
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Since purchasing the vehicle in 1999 I have had nothing but problems, replacing the transmission (twice),O2 sensors, EGR values, fuel injectors, major repairs to the frontend ... It has caused many of headaces over the years...however when running it is great, rides nice, comfy, lots of room for passengers and parcels.....

Report Abuse

beware of this truck

Pinky, 10/01/2002
LT 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

if your buying a used blazer from a dealer take it else were to get it certified, the one that i bought (supposed to have been cerified) had next to no brakes.....changed the fuel pump, egr valve.oxygene sensor,now my abs is acting up.........i DO NOT trust this truck to go out of town with....but it looks good and that is it...so beware people.not a good investment.....

Report Abuse

not worth it

alb, 09/11/2002
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought the truck new. Loved the way it felt and road at first.Then things started to break. Had 5-7 recalls. Rear end went out at 60,000. Fuel injectors at 80,000. Cat. converter at 8500. Egr valve went out. I would get rid of it, but everytime I start to, something else breaks(water pump, alternator) and I fix it and keep it awhile longer.

Report Abuse

95 ST Blazer

timbo, 10/16/2002
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The truck still runs like new-very smooth and doesn't use oil, but it's loosing power and that's killing the gas milage. There were actually very few repairs until 140,000 miles and then several very major things went wrong. The egr valve which had been replaced one before, failed again. This time the dealer removed the intake and cleaned the cross over passage which was largly blocked. At the same time he noticed that the fuel regulator (or some related component) was leaking. The entire bill came to $900. ouch. We also had to replace the fuel pump. Twice. Luckly the dealer waranteed the pump the second time. $1,100. ouch.

Report Abuse

Unreliable SUV

NItia, 08/11/2002
LT 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck used in April 2001. Ever since, this truck has been nothing but TROUBLE! The EGR vavle went twice,the truck's main computer("brain") went,the fuel pump& tank went and needed to be replaced,all six fuses blew out,and those also needed to be replaced twice, plus I needed to add front and rear brakes amung MANY OTHER things that all failed in the matter of 1 year. I've put well over $2500 worth of work on this truck and now my transmission is going, the car won't go past 5 mpr and the speedometer does'nt work sometimes. I cant wait to pay this off and get a new truck. I will NEVER buy a blazer again! Think before you do!!!!

Report Abuse

asdfjkl;

dwr84, 05/08/2002
LS 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great vehicle has over a 100,000 miles and still done little to no work.

Report Abuse

Quality transportation

sperryrand, 10/12/2002
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I haven't had too many problems with my Blazer in the over two years I have had it. Purchased it from a dealer with 60,000 miles on the odometer, and now with 110,000 miles, I don't hesitate to take it anywhere. The fuel injector assembly failed shortly after purchase (a common failure on all the Vortec CPI/CMFI engines). Steering components on front tend to wear out somewhere before 100,000 miles and can be pricey to fix. I haven't had transmission problems with mine. Get transmission service records if you're looking at one. Be especially leery of one equipped with a trailer hitch; the 4L60E transmission doesn't seem to like heavy loads for extended periods.

Report Abuse

I love GM, But this is JUNK!

azdbackfan1, 10/14/2002
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned Chevy/GM products all my life. This SUV is ready for the junk heap. I bought this SUV thinking that it would last. I have replaced the Alt.,Water pump, Starter, Idler arm, ball joints and had major tranny work done and things do not seem to work right yet! I am just hoping that it lasts until I can trade IT IN!

Report Abuse

Good all around vechile

chevy dude, 12/26/2002
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this SUV used with 80,000+ on it. I also had to replace EGR water pump, A/C compressor. I have about 123,000 on it now. It is the wife's main transportation with 2 kids in car seats. I have used for everything from towing a utility trailer with 4,000 lbs.of sand, to pulling out small trees stump and all. To pulling cut trees with a chain to the back of the property. Have not had it stuck but have come close ( buried in mud up to the rim). It is picky about the fuel I use. Likes BP the best, premium. Ran much better with new plugs, wires, and K&N air filter.

Report Abuse

no better ride

chevyrocks, 01/01/2003
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got my blzer in November of 2001 and I love it. Ive had very few problems with it. When I got it ithad 100,000 miles on it and now it has 240,000 miles on it. Itis great off road and in the ice and snow. Great car for a long road trip or someone who is going to college. lots of cargo room!

Report Abuse

Blazer

jrm, 02/04/2003
LT 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the blazer brand new and have put close to 260000 miles on it with relatively few problems. I have replaced the O2 sensor, water pump, and the alternator. Not to bad for that many miles.

Report Abuse

Our 1995 Blazer

Traci & Rob, 02/11/2003
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought our Blazer used with 72,000km on it and have had several major problems right from the begining. Transmission(shift kit), water pump, alternator, a/c condensor, brakes are spongey, universal joints. Starts off in 2nd gear since having the transmission fixed the first time. Alot of O2 sensors. All I can say is thank God for having an extended warranty.

Report Abuse

very powerful

blazin212002, 02/12/2003
LS 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i use my blazer for my security company.If a guard needs my help i'm there as fast as i can. The truck is very powerful good i turns acceleration beats every other suv of the same class. Ofcourse every alt,gaspump,waterpump,and many other AC DELCO parts go bad after 100,000 miles. but look at Fords and Jeeps not even 40,000 miles the engine blows {i've had a couple new ones}.Ihave 160,000 miles!!

Report Abuse

Worst Chevy Ever Owned

Ken Harper, 02/15/2003
LT 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I'm on my-no less than-5th EGR valve! And 4 or 5 other problems related to carbon build-up. Talks with GM determined that they just don't care that they produced a lemon. They extended warr on egr to 75,000 miles, but won't solve the cause of the problem. Bought new and babied. Wish some good lawyer would file suit against Chevy and GM. re:EGR problem!!!

Report Abuse

Traded it in for a Honda

BecRN, 02/18/2003
LS 2dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Blazer looked great. Performance was always dependable in snow. But always something needing repair or replacement. And a very thirsty SUV. Rear visabilty obstructed with spare tire on back. I traded my Blazer in with 56,000 miles after 7 years and it was falling apart for no reason. It was cheaper to carry a new car payment then to upkeep the Blazer.

Report Abuse

Like a Rock........Not a chance

leecirocco, 06/10/2003
2dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Wow.....I thought this car was a great deal but so far it has only been a great expense. We purchased it with only 50,000 miles and in excellent condition. In one year we have had to replace the muffler, the fuel pump (this repair took two attempts) the fuel sending unit, A/C compressor, Heater core, thermostat, clutch fan, rear window shocks...I think that's all! Currently we have an overheating problem that the shop can not seem to identify.

Report Abuse

It has been a good vehicle

mgates, 07/09/2003
LT 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought new,still like its looks; not big,dark back windows,nice wheels. Excellent paint,red/tan leather,attractive.ERG valve problems twice.Freeze plug leaked coolant.Replaced the fuel pump.The brakes have fadded several times after alot of stopping with a full load of people.Bigger brakes are needed. The ride is much better than an Explorer or other SUVs available in 95. I like the tail gate. Good for sitting on to put on golf shoes,carrying long items. It has excellent capicity in the rear for tennis bags, golf bags, building materials, gardening materials. Since narrow 68", it fits in smaller garages and parking spaces.

Report Abuse

Dont Ever Think About Buying One

Big Bad Bob, 09/02/2003
4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ive reploaced the engine twice plus 1 transmission, 1 AC compressor, 1 rad, 1 water pump, ball joints, 1 catalytic converter, o2 sensor. Now all I need to fix is the brakes the funny clonking noise the interior rattle and the noisy fuel pump and it should be OK! I cant believe GM ever thought it was acceptable to sell it.

Report Abuse

love my Blazer

mfree, 08/11/2003
LS 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is great in snow and has been very dependable. It has required minimal maintenance and has not rusted in with all these salty roads.

Report Abuse

I wouldnt buy one if I were you.

Never buy one, 09/04/2003
4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Blazer has cost twice as much to fix it as we paid for it. 2 motors, 1 tranny, AC compressor, catalytic converter, O2 sensor, water pump, ball joints, radiator, various electrical faults and much much more. It needs constant attention every time you fix something it breaks somewhere else. To make it worse the trim shakes rattles and squeaks over every bump.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050