Used 2010 Volkswagen Touareg Consumer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
24 reviews
List Price Estimate
$7,004 - $10,145

Used Touareg for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

My working beast

Chris, 08/04/2015
V6 TDI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
56 of 58 people found this review helpful

*Update* After 200,000+ miles towing three different campers, hunting trips, business trips and daily driving, I finally retired the TReg. It hurt doing it. After owning over two dozen cars in my lifetime, the TReg was my favorite. I did eventually did a DEF/EGR delete, and the truck became a beast. I loved that machine. But, it couldn't pull a 5th wheel. Bottom line, I have over 145,000 miles on my Touareg and it is still going strong. Before purchasing my T-Reg, I laid out my needs for a car. I wanted diesel, as are all my cars (Jetta SW and Q7). I needed something that fit my family comfortably if we didn’t take my wife’s Q7. It needed to tow the camper (5,000 lbs) and all other smaller implements. It needed to have 4 wheel drive. It needed a good sound system (for all my hours in the left seat). It needed to look like a man’s vehicle (men, you know what I mean). This left me mostly with ¾ ton or larger trucks. However, after living in Germany for a long time, I already had an affinity for the VW, except the last time I saw one for sale, the price started at about my yearly income. Over time, my income has increased, and if I looked at all the other vehicles that fit my requirements, the prices were the same. I test drove every vehicle that fit my requirements, to include my wife’s Q7…which she said I could have when she is dead and gone. The end result is that I could purchase an 8,800 pound ¾ ton truck with highway mileage in the teens, or the 5,500 pound T-Reg with 25 MPG on the highway with the same interior options. So the T-Reg is the way I went. And I am very happy with my lease return purchase 140,000 miles later. A few things to consider though. I was already VW savvy through the ownership of the Audi and Jetta. Therefore many of the new owner pains had already been felt as I read through the owner’s manual, as one should. They are very particular about fluids and servicing, but if followed to the letter, major maintenance is absolutely unheard of. Between the three vehicles, I spend less than $250 a month on maintenance (this includes oil, brakes, wipers, AdBlue, washing and all other things except tires) on vehicles that spend a ton of time on the road. Yes, I have three vehicles (2009, 2010, 2011) with over 100,00 miles on them and have no doubt that any of them can drive across the country without issue. As of writing this, I have just returned from a 5,000 mile cross country trip towing our camper. As a towing rig, I have been completely impressed. There is zero trailer sag (that condition where it seems the butt of the truck is dragging on the ground) and tows like there is nothing behind it. Yes, a family of four, all their stuff packed in, on (via the Thule on the top) and behind it in the camper we still managed to have a trip fuel mileage average of 16.6 MPG (hand calculated) on a trip that did hit speeds up to 90 MPH (in states where that is perfectly legalish). Although, I did have to purchase mirror extensions so I could see around the camper, the T-Reg is otherwise perfectly prepared to tow. When driving sans trailer, I set the cruise and drive effortless for hours. Driving across country is a joy, as is driving through the city. Step on the go pedal and hang on! I also use this vehicle to hunt. While I received some raised eyebrows the first time I took this off road to get to our site, I made it easily after pulling the most vocal “anti SUV” guy out of a mud pit I had just traversed. It allowed me a moment of smug suburban former Jeep guy glee to do it. The interior appointments I have found to be timeless and un-cumbersome. Nothing is fading, cracking, wearing, or getting “old” looking. People still ask me if it is new, and are shocked when I tell them it is nearly 5 years old with 145,000 miles on it. Things just hold up well. No rattle, shake or squeak. The interface with the stereo and GPS is so much easier than my wife’s Q7 (don’t tell her I said that), and is just intuitive. There are cons to this truck. Driving for eight hours straight before needing fuel tests the limits of a bladder. Crying the first time the paint was scratched. That annoying alarm that goes off once and a while when I lock the doors. Paying over $300 for a GPS update on my $60,000+ vehicle (VAG really needs to fix this, I was very angry when it came up and the disc was different across all three of my cars). The onboard hard drive only plays MP3, so I had to reformat all my WMA music. The SD reader only reads a 2 GIG card, taking me nearly three days to load my music to the hard drive…only to discover half my music couldn’t be played because it was in the wrong format. There are times that the computer is a bit slow, meaning that the touch screen won’t activate stuff as quickly as I wished. However, the same can be true of me, so I deal with it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

30+ MPG at 70 MPH

Dean, 11/04/2010
V6 TDI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

Bought the Touareg for work related driving. Smooth, powerfull, and fun to drive. Handles very well for an SUV. Routinely getting 29-31 mpg with the diesel. Tows our sailboat effortlessly. No problems the first 20k miles

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

DO consider the TDI Touareg!

aokvw, 07/23/2011
V6 TDI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Overabundant torque completely satisfies all overtaking needs. Having owned a 2004 V8 Touareg previously (18 mpg tops), I hardly miss its full throttle induction roar, instead embracing the low-revving oomph of the turbo-diesel, while averaging 27+ mpg.

Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Certified T-Reg

Kimball Dempsey, 08/29/2015
V6 TDI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
18 of 21 people found this review helpful

I've scouted these diesel SUV's for several years and really like the older body style over the new style started in '11. But, I found the TDI's to be expensive so I've been patient. I found a Black T-Reg diesel advertised as a Certified Preowned with 63k miles at a local VW Dealer. The vehicle was in excellent physical condition and all of its meticulous service records were available at the dealer where the only previous owner always had it serviced. I didn't even dicker on price. Unfortunately, less than 24 hours after purchase the check engine light and warning graphics came on. It ended up being an oil sensor that was replaced under warranty. A week or so later, I noticed the Nav system would blink off inexplicably but would always reboot and come back on. I needed to take the vehicle back to the dealer to have the right rear window fixed (dropped down and wouldn't go back up). The service manager told me VW had a service bulletin on the Nav and it required reprogramming to work out the bug. They did this and fixed the window under the CPO warranty. That was about a month ago and after a rather auspicious start with this T-Reg, it seems to be operating well. The only other issue I've had, and it was a one-time thing, is the rear hatch wouldn't open one day either with the power assist or manually. But after driving it a few miles and trying it again it worked fine. Weird, but I hope its not a precursor to another failure and trip to the dealer. The things I like most: I'm 6'4" and the seating position is excellent and I like the front bucket seat comfort much better than in my wife's newer Lexus RX. The ride around town is harsh but on the highway its a dream. This vehicle has great acceleration and doesn't suffer major turbo lag like other turbo diesels I've owned. The gas mileage is reasonable (21-22 around town and about 26 on the highway so far). The sound system is very good and I've found the Nav system easy to use and decently intuitive for a 6 year old technology. The things I like least: Slight rattle in dash somewhere at lower speed, but with the radio at normal volume its hardly noticable. Rear cargo room is very limited and the rear seats don't completely fold flat. Harshness of ride on bumpy roads around town. Lacks rear LED tail lights and for a vehicle in its price range when new this should've have been a standard as should have been front seat presets. Overall: I really like the vehicle and although it is 6 years old by model year and I understand it will have service issues from time to time, I'm hoping the initial quirky gremlins are behind me. I well understand the love for and cult following T-Reg's have gained over the years.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Touareg Nightmare

Nightmare, 07/15/2010
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
11 of 13 people found this review helpful

I drive a lot of miles each year, and I liked this car when it was under about 30,000 miles. I'm guessing that most of the people who are writing these reviews don't have 54,000 miles on a car this new. This car was great when I first owned it, but once I put quite a few miles on it, it turned into a nightmare. First of all this car goes through head and taillights like crazy. I've had 3 headlights and 1 taillight replaced, and every so often the check headlight warning goes on when there is no headlight out. Gas mileage could be much better. Brakes squeal constantly & they've already been replaced once (Not covered under warranty). Back seats take forever to fold down. Continued Below.

Report Abuse
3.75 out of 5 stars

Very Poor GPS System

deh2, 02/13/2013
V6 TDI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have had problems with my GPS since I purchased the vehicle. It often will have you exit & do a U turn only to bring you down the same road,do this a few times in rush hour and see how you feel!! I reported it to the dealer I purchased it from in Georgetown,TX & was told there was no fix yet. I have since moved to Houston,TX took my Toureg in before the warranty went out. They told me that they have heard this numerous times before & could fix it for $200.00 new software. I called the Volkswagen customer service and was told the same thing. 50K vehicle and won't fix the problem that it came with, that way of doing business does not work for me folks!! Imagine a big problem, eh!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

2010- My first Touareg and it won't be my last!

Cassie, 03/13/2017
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have looked for a Touareg for nearly a year before buying. I wanted a newer one ( a 2013-2014) but decided not to go that high price for my first one. I had driven a 2015 and loved it, so the search was on! I lucked out and found a one owner, low mileage 2010 that felt right. I went from a GMC Yukon to the VW and haven't regretted it one bit. I had almost given up finding one and started looking at the GMC Acadia, Chevy Traverse, Volvo XC 90, and a few other mid sized SUV's and all had issues that I just couldn't overlook. They just didn't have the handling, interior or feel of the VW. I have two parents in their 80's that live with my husband and me and we all fit very comfortably in the VW. My father is tall and has trouble bending his hips/legs but can get in and out of the back seat with no problem. He was never able to get in and out of the rear seat with the Yukon. One thing we noticed in car shopping is the flat floorboard of the VW. There is no foot well (if that's what you call it) so my father was not having to lift his feet up over a lip to get in and out. I have been on two long trips with it over the last six months and it rides and handles beautifully. I put new Parelli tires on it (they are made for the Porsche, Audi and Touareg) and they are really wide and stable. The gas mileage isn't as bad as I expected, average is around 18 in the city. There are a couple things that I am missing and will have on my next Touareg; the auxiliary jack for the stereo and the panoramic sunroof (This one is small). Unexpected loves on this is the heated steering wheel, seats that recline fully, interior lighting is great, and the legroom is fantastic (I am 5'10"). So far I am really happy that I bought it. It's a fun ride, great handling and I feel safe in it. This isn't the first VW I have owned (several turbo Beetles--LOVED them!!!) so I am a VW fan over-all.

Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Road Trip From California to Montana

Fred Christian, 10/26/2010
V6 TDI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

Flew from NW Montana to California to buy this hard to find TDI Touareg.Quiet and comfortable interior for all day driving.Factory Bluetooth is so helpful!Passing effortless with the diesel with a ride like a cloud.Set the auto climate control and had total comfort in 105 degree heat.Got 25.5 MPG on a 1100 mile trip. Have been getting 21.5 MPG in town driving.This is a beautiful machine!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Power and fuel economy

Return to VW, 05/21/2010
V6 TDI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is one fine highway cruiser that is getting 29-30 mpg while gliding down the super-slab at the speed limit. We traded in an 08 ML320 CDI and the Touareg is a far better riding SUV, plus it is quieter. You do not hear the diesel engine but you do feel its power. We pulled a 5000 lb trailer with power to spare and excellent control. This is no SUV wannabe, this is the real thing with > 8 inches of ground clearance and great visibility. This is a keeper.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Love It!

cgf, 05/21/2010
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Just got my new 2010 Touareg. Shopped Mercedes ML350, Lexus 350, Volvo CX90 - best deal and standard features. This ride is very solid. I think this is my favorite car so far. Had VW in the past '79 Bug, '84 Golf.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Pleased so far, but remains to be seen...

sabotva, 09/04/2013
V6 TDI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Love this SUV. Purchased at 38k miles and have driven to 41k. Have NOT towed much, and that is a large part of why i purchased this car. 7700lb capacity is impressive. My list of praises is nearly endless. I'm focusing on gripes to inform the consumer. Consider everything else perfect.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

8 Years of Driving Enjoyment - Minimal Issues

George, 12/30/2017
V6 TDI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
5 of 9 people found this review helpful

In 8 years, there have been only a few minor issues with my Touareg TDI. One side turning light bulb and one rear taillight light bulb needed replacement. There was also a minor electrical issue that was repaired under factory warranty when the Touareg was new. Otherwise, there have been zero significant mechanical / electrical problems. A ruggedly handsome SUV that is fun to drive with more than ample acceleration (thanks to the 406 pound feet of torque / 7,700 lbs. of pulling capacity). In addition, there is minimal or no noticeable body roll when negotiating corners/curves at speed. Amazing road holding performance and immediate power delivery. When driving the Touareg TDI, you feel like you are driving a serious, purpose-built rugged duty SUV with sedan-like handling. The fit and finish and interior materials are world-class and so far, I have no squeaks or rattles. I find that the standard stereo system is more than suitable and the navigation system is excellent. It barrels down the highway or off-road with authority and I will keep my Touareg and drive it until the wheels fall off.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

German tank safety with GTI performance

Val, 05/21/2010
V6 TDI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I was an Audi Q7 3.6 FSI owner. Even Audi was very elegant, the mileage was bad, averaging 16 mpg overall. I always wanted to buy the Touareg in first place, but only the TDI version, for its superior torque, fun to drive and stellar gas mileage. I bought the vehicle with almost all the possible options, air suspension, xenon, navigation, rear view camera, etc. The car is very safe and fun to drive, excellent acceleration and passing power for such heavy vehicle.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Awesome SUV

HMB, 06/11/2010
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

It's more than what I expected in an SUV. I've owned GM all of my life, 4 to be fact, and I will never return to GM ever. This vehicle has so much power hidden under it's hood. I purchased with the 19" Wheels in December and never worried about getting stuck in the snow, in fact it seemed that I had total command of the road driving in 6" of slush and never once loss control. I looked at the Arcadia, Q7, Cheyenne and CX90 and my VW has them beat hands down in Price, Performance and Fuel Economy. 28 to 34 MPG on the highway, but only 12 in the city. After 12,000 miles in just under 6 months the gas I've saved while on the road has made a Huge impression on my GM Buddies.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Amazing SUV

TEB, 07/09/2010
V6 TDI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Coming off of a 2007 AWD Cadillac SRX, I thought this SUV would be similar. Boy was I wrong. Comfort, drivability, and fuel economy put this vehicle in a class by itself. We have driven 2600 miles including one long trip of 1300 miles 27 MPG highway and 23 in a mix. It feels like your floating down the road, yet with real precise road feel. When climbing gradual inclines transmission works well, not like the SRX. It is also very easy to park with its short turn radius. Vehicle we purchased was standard with Luxury Package that includes leather seating, 19" wheels, and heated steering wheel, which was a must for my wife.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Great Buy

stanleys, 07/16/2010
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Traded a Toyota 4 Runner for the Touareg. Best luxury SUV, I found for the money. Reliability and VW customer service seems to be improving.

Report Abuse
3.38 out of 5 stars

Toureg Tough on Kids

McDonald NC, 09/07/2010
V6 TDI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've had the Toureg for 7 months. Great for an individual or for a couple. But, the back seats are very erect and my kids wont get in the car unless we're traveling less that an hour. Just not comfortable in the back seat. Also, when I lock the car with the key fob the alarm goes off about 50% of the time -- very frustrating especially when with a customer. Lastly, I am forced to use Flow Volkswagen for service-- Unbelievlably bad service. In summary, a great ride but my kids avoid it, no trunk space, and the local dealer is a nightmare. Will be selling or trading soon.

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

And they make the gas version because...

Fresno Vicary, 09/20/2010
V6 TDI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Traded in a 2006 Expedition for this midsize SUV and we aren't looking back. The Touareg is just the right size for our family of 5 (kids range 3- 9yrs.). It doesn't have the interior space of the Expedition, but it's not a big lumbering beast either. This is a fun to drive SUV with plenty of power at a great price point. Early results on mpg indicates it should more than cover the EPA ratings. My only hope is that we didn't get one of the unreliable ones. I only rated reliability "5" because we haven't had the car long enough to rate.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great Diesel

Don, 09/24/2010
V6 TDI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is an excellent SUV diesel which has exceeded my high demands and expectations in every respect: Power, comfort, style and reliability. I have 20,500 miles and virtually no problems have surfaced. Eventually I will probably buy the newer model, but I plan to keep this for many more years because it is so well-executed and realized. Dealership support for the routine service has been exemplary. It is superior in most respects to my former BMW X5 and is more evocative of the Sahara than Wilshire Blvd--a good rugged simple feel with less "look at me!!" attitude than the BMW.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Excellent SUV

krands, 10/13/2010
VR6 FSI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great ride and handling both on and off road. Decent fuel economy for vehicle capable of towing 7000 lbs.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

2500 mile review but great so far!

San Diego Touareg, 10/24/2010
V6 TDI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Have had the SUV for only 2500 miles so far. My "dream vehicle", thanks sweetie! So my 2500 mile review: great ride with comfort, style and plenty of power! Bought the TDI for it's towing capacity and gas mileage. Currenlty avg. 21 MPG for both city/highway driving. Bought the luxury and technology package and haven't looked back. Ride is exceptional on highway. Great in the mountains! This is a ski mobile!! Took it up to Big Bear in S. California and was great. As with other reviews don't know why it doesn't have memory seating?? Very luxurious inside. Nicest vehicle we've owned by far. Inside is small as well as back seat. Don't think it will be a problem for family of 4.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Not Perfect but so good I don't care

GD, 11/29/2010
V6 TDI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We've had it now for one year and it has lived up to everything we could have hoped for. It's an incredibly smooth ride with pretty decent pickup especially considering its a 5000 pound beast. I feel very safe driving and feel as if I'm surrounded by luxury - though there are a few things to be desired. The nav system, like most factory navs, is mostly accurate but has out of date store/gas registries. The system takes about 10 seconds to start up which means if i need the cam., I have to wait. We got the air package and combined without the low gear case it moves effortlessly in 18" of untouched (or compacted) snow. I recommend at least the tech package - it makes the car feel "cool"

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle we've ever owned, way better then the new model PERIOD! if you want a real truck and not a car.

utadvrider, 08/07/2012
V6 TDI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Best vehicle we've ever owned, we are a large family and got rid of our 2007 LTZ LOADED Suburban. Gas milage savings alone has paid for the car payment, we save about $4-500 per month with the driving my wife does. Not to mention that the VW tow's more then the Suburban, the Chevy only towed 7K and the smaller VW tow's 8k! Besides the towing, it drives great, same as the Porsche for the most part, really the only differences are: Diesel, interior and wheel options, which the interior of the VW is way nicer then the Porsche. It fast (torque) and handles great, on & off road! It's a Real Truck, not a car thats lifted like most SUV's, body on frame like a PU, Land Cruiser of Land Rover.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Super SUV

AP, 02/09/2010
V6 TDI 4dr SUV 4WD (3.0L 6cyl Turbodiesel 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've been an Audi owner for years, but opted for the VW this go 'round because I didn't care for the Q7 exterior and I liked the air suspension option on the Touareg. It is by far my favorite automobile to date! Even though I got a fully loaded edition, there are a few luxury items noticeably absent (no memory feature on the driver's seat?!). And it is not without its electronic bugs: the alarm goes off sometimes when locking the vehicle with the key fob or exterior keyless button...it is a VW after all. But, honestly, it is one fine vehicle and if all goes well beyond these first 3K miles, I hope to have it for 300K + (this from someone who generally trades every 2 years with < 30K.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050