Used 2006 Volkswagen Rabbit Consumer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
51 reviews
List Price Estimate
$2,299 - $4,627

Used Rabbit for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...6

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

The All German Rabbit

Vanessa, 08/09/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I really like the fact that Volkswagen is building the Rabbit models in Germany. This is one of the major reasons I bought it. I previously owned a 1996 Volkswagen Golf that was built in Mexico and found the quality to be quite poor. And I know alot of people that had Jettas built in Mexico that traded their cars in within the first 5 years because they were constantly having problems with them. My father owns a 1989 and 1991 Volkwagen Jetta, in which it was built in Germany and it's still on the road with 250,000+. I am glad they are sticking with the German roots and not building them in Mexico, sometimes cheaper labor doesn't always profit in the long run.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Fun to Drive!

Igloo, 08/01/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I shopped around and drove everything. I compared the Mazda3, Chevy Cobalt SS, Honda Civic, Chrysler 300, Ford Fusion, Subaru Legacy...you name it. Finally, I tried the Rabbit. It's such a fun car to drive! The stereo is excellent. The handling is incredibly precise (you feel like you could drive around cones all day!), they offer you tons of features. It even has heated cloth seats and heated side mirrors! Plus it has A/C vents for the rear seats (very cool) and traction control! I am shocked that our new Rabbit (150hp) is even faster than out V6 Ford Escape (220hp V6). This is a huge improvement over the Golf. If you're considering a Mazda3 or a Civic, give this a try, you won't regret it!

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Great Car

liu, 07/26/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought the Rabbit about two weeks ago and I love it more and more. I've always been a Japanese car fan in the past but this car definitely changed my perception about European car makers. The 2.5 V5 engine definitely gives you more power than you will need especially if you live in a big city. The first day I got it I took it up to high speeds on the highway and it's SMOOTH, thanks to it's great power to weight ratio. This is only an entry level European car, I can only imagine what the top of the line car will drive like. Great car, GET IT!!!

Report Abuse

3 out of 5 stars

Very Disappointed!

Paige, 07/28/2010
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

First 3 years, I loved the car! It has 127K miles on it now & I have to have the transmission rebuilt. I am very disappointed in VW. I would have continued to purchase VW and drive them for the rest of my lift until now. There is absolutely no reason I should have to have the transmission rebuilt yet. It should last me to 250K or more with the proper service and believe me I have had it all done. I loved everything about the car but this has totally changed my mind on VW and Audi for that matter or probably anything foreign except Honda & Subaru. Such a huge disappointment. And on top of it all VW wanted to rebuild it for $5150.00. Didn't go that route, no way!

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Gotta love that 5 Cylinder!

tay272, 10/09/2010
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car alittle over a year ago and still havent had any mechanical problems with it and I don't see anything going wrong for a long time. Reliabilty issues aren't too much of a concern with newer Vws like this one. This engine is bulletproof and will deffinately last a long time. The car is a blast to drive and with a few mods, becomes much more fun. I just wanna step on it whenever I'm in the car just to hear that 5 cylinder engine opening up. No complaints with this car yet!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

I Like It a Lot

kjonim32, 08/02/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Well, this is my wife's car who used to drive an SUV. So, when I offered her to test drive a Rabbit she got really mad. But 15 minutes into the test drive she told me that we were getting it. Well, now we have it and we LOVE it. I'm trying to talk her in to switching cars for a week, but so far I've had no luck. I do have a nice car by the way, a Chrysler Crossfire.

Report Abuse
2.75 out of 5 stars

Mixed Bag

takaouna, 08/12/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
4 of 10 people found this review helpful

This car's pros include its nice Interior, 6 speed auto transmission with Tiptronic and S mode, how it is loaded with options for a base model, its safety features - SAB/SC, ABS, traction control standard, its good torque, and how it is a new model. Its cons include its dreadful fuel economy for this class of car (19-20 mpg), how its 5-cyl. engine is rough for its size, its rattles, concerns about interior build quality, its weight for car of this class, its lack of acceleration, poor VW sales and service experience, and VW's poor reliability history.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Silver Rabbit

Rabbit Fan, 07/05/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Have 500 miles on my Rabbit. Have owned it for two week and like it more and more. My last car was an '02 Passat, but I feel the Rabbit has more pep and is more fun to drive. I decided on the Rabbit after test driving the Honda Civic, Dodge Caliber, Chevrolet HHR, Mazda3, and Toyota Matrix...and picked it because it was quicker, had confortable seats, had a quiet interior, safety features, build quality and better visibility and I liked its good looks. I did not give the Rabbit total 10 because the gas milage is rated lower, but did get 28.36 on my first tank of mixed driving and it will improve after first 3,000 miles.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Fun Bunny

EJ, 07/21/2006
PZEV 4dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We bought this car for our daughter. We looked at the Matrix, the Vibe, the Caliber and other similar cars. The Rabbit is by far the best overall value. The price is great, the list of options is long, the car is well put together (I am a longtime Benz owner, so I am picky about cars) and it is just PLAIN FUN TO DRIVE. I think that VW has hit a homerun with return of the Rabbit. Incidentally, some dealers are trying to charge a "market adjustment" premium over sticker price. DON'T pay a premium over sticker, shop around and you will find a good deal.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

GREAT Rabbit

Jim, 11/25/2006
2dr Hatchback (2.5L 5cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the most fun I've had driving a car in years. Nothing else I took for a test drive came close. The price of the 2 door is really hard to believe considering everything that comes standard. The only problem I have seen is access to the back seat in the 2 door, I wouldn't recommend it, if you have to get kids in and out pay the extra and get the 4 door. Try it, you'll love it.

Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page:
51050