Used 1998 Chevrolet Venture Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,607 - $2,788

Used Venture for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Excellent Vehicle!!

Lori, 06/01/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Absolutely Excellent vehicle! Bought it with about 50,000 miles on and it now has 198,000 and drives just well as it did when I first bought it. I have beat the crud out of this van with three kids in hockey and multiple other activities. My job requires heavy loads to be transported here and there. Kids, now teenagers, have given it a beating, and it just keeps on going and going! Basic maintenance, other than the window motors going out on a couple of occasions. It runs out so smooth, can't even hear or feel when it's on. We're pushing for another 100k??!!!

Report Abuse

Chevy venture van

airplane, 09/06/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

this van i have had has been somewhat reliable but from now on i would not buy anything but honda or toyota unless they really made american cars more reliable.

Report Abuse

This has been my best car ever!

Lisa, 05/21/2016
LS 3dr Ext Minivan
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought this car used with 11,000 miles and it now has 198,000. Never used the AC after reading reviews about engine problems. The only repairs I have made are new brake shoes and pads (several times). Replaced the serpentine belt when a mechanic noticed it was starting to fray. Hit a deer two years ago and the police and mechanic said the van saved our life with its steel construction. Head light covers became foggy I found new ones on Amazon for $25! The window motors have gone out on both sides but they are like $50 at the auto parts store. Raised three kids in it and about to pass it off to the teenager getting her license. Wish they still made them! Average 20 MPG with mostly city driving. I am a merchandise vendor and have consistently carried hundreds and hundreds of pounds in the back of this van. Can't believe how lucky I've been with my Venture.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Van!

chuckyanne, 05/24/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We have three little kids (including a set of twins) and this van works great for us. We have four doors which is wonderful for getting them all in and out easily. We bought it used and with high miles, but we haven't had any problems with it. It's definitely Chevy quality!

Report Abuse

What a lemon

dadall1, 09/27/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've had nothing but expensive problems with this van ever since the warranty ran out at 36K miles (coincidence?). The service engine light was on for well over a year while my garage tried to find the cause. I paid for everything from new spark plugs/cables to an oxygen sensor to an ignition control switch (just to name a few things) while they performed exploratory surgery on my van and now at just over 73K miles, they are telling me the transmission is kaput. No wonder Ford's motto is "Quality is job 1" because it's obviously NOT GM's.

Report Abuse

Vanessa

Dragon, 11/26/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This was our first mini-van and it turned out to be great for our needs. We traveled all over USA, the seats came out for cargo, rode comfortably, the V-6 was powerful enough and never gave us any trouble until it hit 75,000 miles (had to replace a couple fuel injectors and battery.) We liked it so much, we bought another one in 2002, this time an LS ext. with 4 doors....but we are keeping the 1998 Venture until our kids need a "newer" car.

Report Abuse

Poor old beast kicked the can on NYE!

ventureman5, 01/05/2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My 98 Venture died driving home from Hampton Roads VA this past New Years Eve. The dreaded gasket failure problem with the heads. At 176K miles though I supposed I should count my blessings. Especially considering this is the 1st time it has needed any serious work. It still runs. I drove it today to trade it in for a used Windstar and it was still full of powr and running smooth and quiet as ever but I knew with each mile the crankcase was filling with coolant. It made its last drive without failure despite the serious problems. I will miss this vehicle very much even though it was just a baseline grocery getter. It earned my admiration after all these years of flawless performance.

Report Abuse

Gasket Problems!

Rob Barth, 02/27/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Venture does fine until the coolant mixes with the engine oil, sometimes requiring a new engine. This seems to happen anytime after 40,000 miles. GM is not always willing to help with the costs, which can cost $4,000! The same plastic compound gasket is still being used as a Chevy mechanic has told me.

Report Abuse

Just OK

TXEng, 06/12/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought the Venture new, fortunately with extended warranty, which paid for itself. Under warranty the AC compressor failed (defective from factory). I had the same intake gasket problem others have mentioned. The dash climate control failed and had to be replaced. There are indeed too many plastic parts and not solidly attached. Passenger side electric window is not working now. But have about 120,000 miles on it, and it is comfortable and roomy and otherwise served our family well.

Report Abuse

Let Down

Let Down, 06/12/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This was a demo vehicle when I purchased it, but I was the first owner. Its styling, spacious interior, and solid feel sold me on it. I loved this minivan. It started every time I turned the key. It was good on fuel and on long trips. It was just a very reliable minivan aside from having to replcd the brake pads annually. However, when the odometer turned to 50K then its radio died & I had to rplace the driver-side window regulator. After the odometer turned 60K the oil pump went, then the main bearing; thus, the motor is kaput. I am really disappointed in the piece of junk GM put under the hood. It is dead in the driveway. I currently have a 06 Uplander; it will be sold! Never again Chevy

Report Abuse

Sweet Van

drivetilldie, 11/20/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Not the coolest car for a guy in his early 20's but, I would buy another one. First off, the extended version is huge, able to fit a piece of plywood flat with the seats out. Second, I have put no money into this thing except a new tranny at 170K. I drive around with all the rear seats out and it get 20/26 almost as good as my Saturn. I've got 200K on her now and looking forward to rolling over 300. Because of this vehicle, I would buy another Chevy despite many problems friends have had.

Report Abuse

A Die Had Van!!

judgeman6691, 03/07/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my venture! After 11 years and 125,000 miles she is still going strong. The only thing I ever had to replace is the water pump which I did February 2009 and my right window motor. This truly is a good vehicle. It offers a quiet, smooth and comfortable ride, perfect for family outings. The ext wheel base version is larger than most vans and even today fits my mother, my grandbaby, my 17 year old, my 21 year old and my 23 year old all comfortably on our many trips across the vast state of Texas. I love my venture! Chevrolet is truly "like a rock"

Report Abuse

98 Venture

Englebert, 07/25/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've read the reviews on this vehicle and many mirrored our own experience! The headlight lens falling off, driver's window failing, electrical problems, gasket repair, etc. I think we've experienced an above- average amount of repairs on our 98 Venture... including a near-fatal water pump failure that almost doomed the car. Its still going at the 85K mark, but having owned a good mixture of foreign- made and domestic cars, this one is low on the quality.

Report Abuse

Solid Family Fun

TKDdad, 06/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After four years and over 50,000 miles with four kids in the family, it is still going strong. We have had no significant problems after the dealership took care of a few nuisance noises. Now the problem is keeping my wife from buying a new one with the video screen for the kids.

Report Abuse

Very Versatile

Young Student, 11/11/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am a college student, and I find the van very accommodating to my needs. I live 300 miles away from home, so long trips back are always emminent. The van is very comfortable to my long 'ventures' and allows me many options. I can remove many seats and haul with the capabilities of a pick up truck, but get the gas milege of a full size car. I'm also getting the height that I wanted from a SUV, but don't have to worry about the costly repairs 4 wheel drives require. I also can haul people that no other vehicle can compare to. I have had 9 prior cars trying to find the "perfect vehicle", and even though nothing is perfect, this is very close!!

Report Abuse

I'll drive this car 'til it falls apart!

jjones, 12/04/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought this car new and have never questioned our decision once. We love it in every way possible. The integrated car seats have been wonderful with our four kids. I want this to be the car my 8 year old learns to drive in! And the grill doesn't bother me at all!

Report Abuse

I Love my MV!!!

MURO, 12/28/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Venture rules!! I love this MV. I have test driven every van out there, and nothing handles or drives like the Venture. This van is tops for comfort, room, style, and power. As for reliability, my 1998 Venture has just hit the 79k mile mark, and the only repair has been a the replacement of the water pump. The only thing more reliable in life is my loving wife . . . get this van!!!!!

Report Abuse

Solid Venture

markusnow, 01/05/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Only standard maintenance items ever needed so far. Very reliable in our experience.

Report Abuse

Liked It!

JGERM30, 03/01/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We liked it enough that we traded it in for a 2002 model.

Report Abuse

Great family van

tjben, 02/20/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

On Consumer Reports, reliability for the Venture was listed as sub-par, but better than the most other American models. Since the legendary reliability of the Sienna and Odyssey comes with a hefty price tag, we opted for the Venture. Because of cross-country trips, we've put 5-6000 miles on this van since we bought it 4 months ago, and it runs and drives great. Our only concern was a check engine light for the tranny, which problem we cured with a few ATF changes to clean the fluid out.

Report Abuse

Very Disappointed

Poor sucker, 02/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought our van 2 years old with 38,000 miles and have had unbelievable problems. Headlight lens "fell off" driving on highway, cost to replace was $500. Also, nearly everything inside the vehicle is plastic and is falling apart, door latch on sliding door snapped off ($80 repair), rear taillight lens broke off, have replaced water pump, currently in shop for $2,000 engine repairs on blown head gasket. Will never own another GM product.

Report Abuse

Venture Sold!

Venture sold!, 08/15/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this van in 2000 at 24,000 miles, currently has almost 90,000 and still no rust. No major repairs except at 83,000 the intake gasket seal leaked (about $700). We live in snowy midwest and traction is better than other FWD's we've owned. Mileage is about 16/23. The flexible seating continues to be the best part of owning this van. Driver's seat is not comfortable on long trips if you need low back support. A recurring annoyance: having to grab cups over 16 oz. when cornering. Overall, I am sad to be saying good-bye to my old friend but I'll be test-driving the 2003-04 models before the weekend is over.

Report Abuse

Chevy Venture

TimiCJ, 08/04/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Up until it was 5 years old, this car has been very reliable. Now, we're having problems with the front end.

Report Abuse

Frustrated

Frustrated, 12/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This van is nice to look at from the outside and has loads of room on the inside; however, it has been nothing but a headache with problem after problem. Unfortunately, not enough to qualify as a 'lemon'. We needed a new transmission at 30,000 miles and have been dealing with computer issues and the check engine light for way too long. It is almost like a money trap. I am just waiting for the money to trade it in and buy something else.

Report Abuse

It's Worth It

big "T", 10/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my "certified used venture" in March of 2001 with 56,000 miles on it. I love the car, but must insist that the cheap plastic parts cause me some problems from time to time. Both of my headlight lenses fell off - each was $300 or so to replace. Also had problems twice with the passenger side sliding door - thankfully under warranty. The car now has 97,000 miles on it, and we put on about 20- 25,000 every year travelling and camping. Couldn't ask for a better camping companion.

Report Abuse

Mixed Bag

theseahawk, 07/07/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Good gas mileage, lots of acceleration and power, reliable drive, repair prone, convenient with dual sliding doors but pretty much an average van in the field of choices. I would not buy another one -- I would buy a different make.

Report Abuse

GREAT VAN

WILLIAM BUCKLEY, 03/04/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

IT HAS BEEN A VERY COMFORTABLE CAR TO DRIVE AND TAKE LONG TRIPS IN. IT IS EASY TO GET IN AND OUT OF. I HAVE BAD KNEES AND YOU DON'T HAVE TO BEEN LIKE YOU DO IN A CAR.

Report Abuse

Reliability challenged

Reliability Issues, 08/27/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

2 head gaskets and a transmission are a lot of expense. The rest of the car has held up well. We are switching to Mazda because everyone seems to have gone to longer vans, including Chevy.

Report Abuse

Venturous

La Popola, 09/28/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It was my first time buying a minivan and it was quite a good experience. I loved the room that came with it. Overall, this minivan is go for only a period of three years. After three years things don't feel the same. The brakes are a common problem when they start to squeak (something the really bother me). The electrical system was among small things that started breaking down, i.e, power locks, radio buttons (not due to abuse), power windows and back windshield wiper. The gas mileage was very poor if driving everyday. However, it was very reliable for the first three years until I went into my fourth year when things started breaking down. I would recommend it if you have kids...

Report Abuse

I like it!

T Bear, 11/19/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My Venture is a very good van. Except for the power side door I have NO complaints. I have 85,000 miles and it just passed smog with flying colors. It has never broken down. The power sliding door does not work anymore even thou about $2500 of work has gone into it. I have replaced the belt, brakes and battery and 1 relay to the driver door. And one hose to the AC. But most of it was under warranty. I even was hit by a school bus to the front of the van. And nothing happened! I bought a new Mazda MPV '04 and it performs better but lacks alot of features the Chevy has.

Report Abuse

Purchased New

cashe32, 12/08/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This van has taken the kids to school and made many trips to the grocery store as well as the yearly vacation. It serves it's purpose. It has never had anything major go wrong, HOWEVER it has been filled with small annoying little problems since it was a year old. The brakes squeal, the power door locks has failed, the headlight lens have fallen out, the battery has leaked, the rear power windows failed, the weatherstriping on the sliding door fell off, it has been recalled at least 5 times and the power slide door failed after 6 years (it was $2000 to repair, we opted to pull it shut). I'll go with Honda or Toyota next time, better build quality.

Report Abuse

Made it to 137,000. Time to move on.

Major Brock, 03/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

120,000 Headlight Lens fell off. 137,000 Replace in take and rear wiper does not operate. Wish it would have gone longer. All good things must come to an end.

Report Abuse

Problems Problems Problems

Kevin Dolan, 03/14/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ever since we bought our Venture (with approx. 17K miles), things are falling off. I agree with the comment above, lots of plastic parts, then the power windows not working, a blown headgasket, machineing of the heads to finally a blown engine with only 97,000 miles. This has been pouring good money after bad. My Nissan's have had over 180,000 miles with my first one over 350,000 miles. Never issues like this, not at only 97,000. What is it with american made cars, you pay them off then they die!!!!! What happened to quality that you can count on??

Report Abuse

Venture review 04/04

arcadoc, 04/05/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The biggest problem is with the front- wheel drive transaxle. My first one failed at 123,000 miles. After a NOS replacement, the transaxle slips randomly when accelerating from a standstill. I really have no complaints about this vehicle. In general, it has served me well. Great gas mileage! With a 25 gallon tank, it is not unusual for me to go 500 miles between refuelings. This Venture now has 200,000 miles on it and you can hear the looseness in the engine and transmission. I'm about ready to retire this one before it leaves me sitting on the side of the road. My next vehicle: Another Venture!

Report Abuse

I love my Venture

pandama, 09/07/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Original owner who will cry when it drives away with new owner. Touring suspension added and well worth the extra $. Good gas mileage for a minivan. Very reliable engine, power train. Minor complaints for electrical components, but I would definitely buy again if in the market for minivan (like when I have grandkids maybe?). Selling only because of long commute and high gas prices in Calif. Bought a Toyota Corolla and hope I love it as much as I love my Venture!

Report Abuse

Think twice about GM

GM...Phoey!, 07/17/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my first GM model and I'm disappointed in its value. After 71k miles, it needed a a new manifold head gasket for $950. Dealer said that they ALL failed around that mileage and the fix only will last 3-5 years until you need a new gasket. Friend's '98 Pontiac Grand Prix (same engine) died at 68K with the same problem. Brakes squeal all the time and can't keep it aligned at all. Only put on 5-6K miles a year so no "severe" driving involved. It was a good price when we got it in 2000 used, but not so sure now.

Report Abuse

One of the best vehicles I owned

candymoreno, 12/24/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I really liked the smooth rider and it is really quiet going down the road. I have never been strained by the van. I have had regular maintence to keep up on the worth of the van. Nothing out of the norm. I really like the design of it and I don't have the power doors. I like that I control the door opening and shutting.

Report Abuse

Nine Years and Still Going

jjsouth, 03/09/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new and feel like it's part of the family. There have been small things that go wrong. I had the intake gasket repair ($800) that all GM cars have. My headlight covers have fallen off ($150) and the power sliding door has gone through a few repairs ($400) and is now completely broken. However, given that over the 9 years, I've only paid about $3500-$4000 for non-maintanence repairs. My mechanic says he would buy this van from me if I ever decide to sell it. I love it. At 119,000, it's still going strong. I hope to have it for many more years.

Report Abuse

You'll have to steal it from me...

pandama, 04/20/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased brand new because husband had GM supplier discount. Would have picked another vehicle, but am so happy that I was "forced" to buy the Venture. After 90,000+ miles in 5 years of driving, there's been nothing significant to complain of. My '90 Dodge Caravan caused me nothing but megabucks to replace the tranny 3 times! I'll drive it til it drops!

Report Abuse

Satisfied Owner

Satisfied Owner, 10/20/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought this van at 72,000 miles. We now have 138,000 on it and it is still driving well. We are ready to dispose of it because we decided to buy an SUV. We are guessing it will drive for another 80,000 miles. We loved the Venture. We have travelled hundreds of miles each time from one state to another. We never had a breakdown. The only complaint is the driver side window gear failed. We would consider buying another Venture again in the future.

Report Abuse

We've Been Happy!

dondee, 06/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this van new after my 92 Mazda needed extensive engine work (for the 4th time!). The van is comfortable to drive and is roomy for my kids and their friends. We have had this van for almost 5 years and it has 72,000 miles on it and I plan to keep driving until it falls apart! Very reliable, no major repairs.

Report Abuse

Wife doesn't want to trade it in.....

wtm, 03/19/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We liked it so well we are trading it in on a 2002. Very versatile for my scoccer mom wife..... Really liked the versatility of modular seats. On long road trips we would fold the driver side middle seat down (folding the back down makes the back completely flat) and strap on a TV/VCR for the kids and head down the road. Mom & I would plug in the headphones and listen to books on tape. Worked great!! Only problem that we ever had in four years was that the power sliding door got out of sync once. The dealer unplugged the power and pluged it back in to re-set (no charge)..... and we were on our way.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050