Used 2009 Chevrolet Avalanche Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$14,425 - $16,300

Used Avalanche for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great Truck

LTZ owner, 11/15/2010
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Great truck does everything I ask from hauling my boat and landscape materials such as rocks, yet is good looking enough to hang with the Mercedes and Lexus at high end restaurants. The only cheapness I've found is the plastic door handles which look and feel like chrome both inside and out, tend to break and fall apart in the FL. heat, as well as some failures in some of the electronic sensors over time. The plastic wings behind the windows also turn from black to light gray if you don't constantly maintain them with a protectant.

Report Abuse

My second Avalanche

Avalanche Lover, 08/13/2009
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

My 2009 Avalanche is my second one. I had a 2003 Avalanche that was the most reliable and cheapest to maintain truck that I have ever owned. I traded it at 148,000 miles and never even put brakes on it. I love my new 2009 Avalanche also. It is more comfortable and roomier than my 2003. Fuel economy appears to be better and improving. it is a pleasure to drive and passengers enjoy the room and comfort. I will always drive a Avalanche as long as they are in production. they are great trucks very reliable the quality and durability is outstanding making ownership affordable by not having additional unexpected breakdowns or maintenance issues keeping current on Preventative Maintenance is key.

Report Abuse

Never again

Bradley, 08/31/2017
LTZ 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

Paid for LTZ 4WD model 4 years ago. Been in the shop 2 times since purchasing. Folding mirrors stopped working almost immediately, cruise control randomly goes out (especially during colder months), I've had all 4 door handles worked on (very cheaply made), lumbar support has stopped functioning properly, small oil leak & radio/AC buttons peeling and cracking. This has not been a quality purchase for me and I am very disappointed in my Chevy. I will never again purchase from this manufacturer.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

best truck ive had

Hugh, 05/30/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I traded in my 2006 Dodge ram 1500 crew cab, and this is a lot better than the Dodge the design interior and exterior is great, everything fits together great, the power on the 5.3l is great, I usually tow between 5000-7000 pounds, and I can tow that easily in this truck, love the mid gate for when I take out my atv, the interior looks and feels better than my wife's Mercedes e-class, this has to be the best truck I've ever had

Report Abuse

Midgate Leaks

lancher4life , 09/28/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Looked for 3 yrs prior to buying, really wanted an Avalanche. Looked as if the leaks had been fixed. Bought a brand new one but the midgate leaks when I wash it - leaks both into the cab and the bed (on both sides of the midgate). Going back a 3rd time to the dealer. Seems like mine is a lemon, some leaks on prior years but thought the leak issue was addressed. Take a hose & check yours before you buy....HOPEFULLY they can fix it, as really do otherwise love it.

Report Abuse

Great SUV/Truck combo

San Jose, CA, 01/07/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We bought our 2009 Avalanche to replace a 92 Chevy Blazer & 97 Chevy truck. The AV was a perfect fit for us with 4 full size doors, cargo capacity and towing. The AV's 5.3 liter engine has more power/torque than the 5.7 liter engine in my old 97 truck and gets better overall gas mileage. We tow 5,000(+) lbs of boat/trailer/gear and the AV has no problems handling the steep Sunol and Altamont pass grades in the S.F. Bay Area. The ride is more SUV-like than truck, and while the AV looks top heavy it actually handles the corners pretty well for its size. But if you're not used to driving SUV/trucks the AV's large turning radius can be scary/frustrating in tight parking situations.

Report Abuse

One great SUT. Nothing better anywhere.

ReelLove, 02/22/2010
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

2009 is my 3rd Avalanche (LT2-Z71). Ride is stiffer than the '05 Z71. If you do not go off road think 2x @ Z71 pkg. Much quieter than '05. Lots of leg room everywhere. This vehicle feels bigger than the 05. Improved gas mileage & performance from '05. Interior redesign is luxurious but I miss being able to put my hat on the dashboard and it staying put. Handling is very good, with little to no body roll. This is still the greatest, most versatile vehicle on the road today. I have 5 cars, & the Avalanche is always my 1st choice to drive. Quality is first class, cabin is A-#1, durability is never an issue. If you are looking for a large vehicle, put this one on the top of your list.

Report Abuse

My Avalanche

Robert Deevey, 06/09/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I owned an 04 avalanche, and found it to be the most useful vehicle I had ever owned. Took advantage of the GM situation and purchased an 09. Moving from a larger metro area to the country setting I have found that the avalanche has proven to be useful not only as a full size truck hauling materials, and its comfort can not be matched. With almost 100K mile on the 04, I never experienced any problems with the vehicle. I expect the same for the 09. The vehicle has a first-class appearance, which adds to the fun of driving it. My friends like when we use the Avalanche for long trips, because of its comfort.

Report Abuse

Great Truck

PC, 08/31/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my 2nd avalanche. I have owned a 2001 Dodge Ram and a 2004 Ford F150 and a 2006 Avlanche. This one is waaayyy better than all of them. I had a few issues (electrical) with the 2006 but so far nothing wrong with this one. Interior and exterior are much better and the suspension and engine are much smoother. Overall this is a great truck.

Report Abuse

Buy American

B, 09/18/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My first American vehicle in about 15 years. I bought Toyota in the past and was hard pressed to pass one up this time. Buying the Avalanche was the best move I could have made. In my opinion the quality is better than the Toyota and the interior design is far better than the Tundra. You are making a mistake if you do not look at Chevy. They have won me over.

Report Abuse

Great Riding All Purpose Truck

Scott, 09/16/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am a car nut and trade often..this is by far best riding truck I have owned. My wife has 07 Escalade ESV, my AV. has better ride and more comfortable front seats. In fact My AV. has almost identical options to the fully optioned Escalade including heated/cooled seats. I really like the blue tooth integrated with my cell phone. It automatically pairs with my cell when I enter truck, I make a call using voice recognition and cell still in my pocket and it will use cell unless there is no signal, then switches to "on-star" and gives me an option to complete the call. Love On- Star and the security it gives us. This vehicle is a "jack of all trades, with a great ride for two people.

Report Abuse

Like driving an aircraft carrier!!

Scott, 02/22/2018
LTZ 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

The Avalanche is huge!! The most comfortable ride of almost any truck I've ever been in. Vision to the rear can be challenging depending on your seat position. The fuel economy is decent, I'm averaging about 15mpg combined with mostly city driving. On the highway, figure about a solid 20+mpg. The tranny is silky smooth and shifts without effort. The seats are VERY comfortable and supportive. The instruments, while dated are very functional and easy to read. Yes the plastic trim on the dash seems cheap, but actually very solid. My dash has a crack that I will repair/replace, this is very common for Chevy 2007-2013. I will actually just buy another dashboard (300.00 online from GM). The navagation system is also outdated but does the job just fine (it's dvd based). I bought the vehicle used with 150K on the speedo. Not one rattle at all. Still rides like new and the cabin is totally quiet with no road noise at all. I have updated all bulbs to led including the headlights and they work perfectly. I might upgrade the Nav system in the future, but there is no rush since the factory system performs so well. In total, I love the Avalanche. It has adequate power and can be found for a lot less money than newer designs like the Ram Hemi, and Ford EcoBoost.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

New Owner Loves His Avalanche

johnnymmmm, 06/04/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Solid multi-use vehicle, all the bells and whistles, amazing ride, technology heaven, love the active fuel management and comfort of the interior design

Report Abuse

A long Time Honda Man tries a Chevy

Rick, 09/24/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the first Chevy I have purchased in nearly 30 years as I am a die hard Honda fan. It was time to buy a new truck and it came down to the Ridgeline and the Avalanche and I stepped out on a limb and bought the Avalanche. My honest opinion is the Avalanche wins from an exterior appeal and available 'bells and whistles" standpoint but the Honda wins on the interior quality, cargo space and clearly thought through and efficient space utilization. It is like the Chevy folks focused on what the truck looks like going down the road and curb appeal and the Honda folks focused on the interior " living quarters" area. Avalanche is a great vehicle but needs a little interior help!

Report Abuse

Blows Ridgeline Away

Nothing Better, 10/17/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

WOW Love my Avalanche. Use it to drive clients around as well as hauling things around and you could not find a more versatile truck. Every time a client gets into the Avy they comment on the interior quality and are always impressed. We had 2 Suburbans prior to the Avalanche and loved them as well but the Avy is more functional w/the midgate especially since we no longer need the 8 seats

Report Abuse

2009 Chevy Avalanche LT2 4WD

Bulldog, 12/31/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We had been looking at a new truck/SUV to replace our 92 Blazer & 97 Chevy truck. The Avalanche was the best match for us, with 4 full size doors, hauling capacity and able to tow 5000 lbs of boat and gear. We got it on sale Labor day and have been having fun with it ever since. The ride is very good even with 4 big guys in it. Plenty of power for towing even up the steep Sunol and Altamont grades in the Bay Area. The 2009's exterior is much better looking now that Chevy got rid of all the plastic side panels and when back to matching deep painted metal on all sides.

Report Abuse

LTZ owner

Roy, 05/13/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my second avalanche going from a 2002 to a 2009. More bells and whistles but the performance is better in the 02.Some short changes on the 09 are sun visors 02 had 2 on each side,09 has one per side. No extenders on the 09,two on 02. Only one light in bed area, 02 had one on each side. 09 is air tight when doors are closed radio and nav are excellent. 02 still in family only different driver. Now has 90,000 miles on 02 and never been back to the dealer. Hope the 09 proves this good.

Report Abuse

Luxurious avalanche

Ayden James, 08/09/2017
LT2 4dr Crew Cab SB (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got a 2009 blacked out avalanche the other day I have been wanting one for awhile now and I finally got it I appsolutely love it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Truck without the truck

Jim, 03/14/2019
LTZ 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great vehicle truck ability without the normal truck looks Comfortable driving great towing. Not real quick to start at green light but it’s a heavy vehicle

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Absolute best buy!

Jmwsmith, 02/28/2020
LT1 4dr Crew Cab SB (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's not just a sport utility truck, rather it's the best that Chevrolet could offer in ways that remind you of the El Caminos. Just love this truck. My 3rd Avalanche.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050