Used 2008 Volkswagen Eos Consumer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
84 reviews
List Price Estimate
$3,551 - $6,397

Used Eos for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Fun and economical ride

Endless Sky, 07/02/2016
VR6 2dr Convertible (3.2L 6cyl 6AM)
32 of 32 people found this review helpful

First off, why an EOS??? Year round SUN! Panomaric roof? YES! Sliding Sunroof? YES! Convertible? YES! NO OTHER CAR HAS ALL 3 COMBINATIONS!!! Owned a 2008 VR6 model for over 5 years. It did have a couple of annoying roof water leaks that I fixed. Thank goodness for vweosclub.com! No mechanical problems what so ever though. I did replace the battery(s). Note that the V6 model has 2 x 6V batteries in the trunk. To me, it's not a fast car off the line with the excessive torque and being front wheel drive. Beyond that, acceleration is decent, especially in sport mode. Fuel economy is great, as long as you're not in sport mode. The DSG transmission in normal drive mode likes to up shift too soon to help fuel economy. On the highway, that is fine with MPG averaging 25-28. For around town, I prefer to either put it in sport mode, or use the paddle shifters. Regardless, it's fun driving all year round. WIth the panoramic sunroof, I can have a warm car any time of the year. Too cold out? Keep the roof closed, and the sun will heat the car. Too hot out? Close the panoramic roof cover, and roll the windows down (or use AC). Temperature between 75-90? Put the top down! I love this car, and plan on enjoying for years to come... 7 year update: still loving this car. Did have usual issues with leaks, but figured out to to eliminate one by putting silicone between 2 overlapping seals in the back, and annually applying krytox to all seals. 75k miles and running like new. Aside from one major scheduled maint., only had to do oil changes and tire rotations. The most fun you'll have year round!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Got an oil burner engine.

Andy, 08/06/2015
Turbo 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
25 of 25 people found this review helpful

I have had multiple issues with the top, one of the boot lid covers gets stuck on the reams. It took two dealer visits and replacing a sensor for them to discover it’s just a maneuverable boot that needs to be moved by your hand. Then I had disconnected my battery to have the car stored for winter and I locked myself out of the CD player. So, I took it to the dealer again ... twice and they still didn’t fix it. I don’t trust the dealers here. Then the oil light case on around 60,000.... I only have 60k on the engine. I never have driven it hard. I always used 93 octane fuel and gotten fully synthetic oil changes. I found an oil additive that is supposed to help with oil burning and it seems to have slowed it down. It is such a nice car I don’t want to let it go. Plus the resale value is piss poor.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
2.25 out of 5 stars

Very Disappointed

dbrockner, 06/07/2013
Turbo 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
35 of 37 people found this review helpful

I can not believe that with all the scathing reviews of this car that it still has a four star overall rating. I bought an 2008 EOS lux 2.0 for my wife 2 years ago. I have lost track of how many times it has been in the shop. Multiple issues, many top leaks, and still leaking, I just have up. The top broke 2 times, it burns oil at more than a quart every 1000 miles, which VW says is acceptable. I bought the car with 32K miles it now has 44K miles two years later, we hate the car and are upside down on it so I can not trade out. The dealership, VW of South Charlotte, is horrid. The service writers will charge you to death if you do not watch carefully. The customer care is worse.

Report Abuse

3.38 out of 5 stars

turbo seals cause oil consumption

hipster1, 03/23/2011
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
43 of 46 people found this review helpful

All these reviews are right about the roof leaking. And the oil consumption is because the turbo seals are defective. They know about about it, but I guess not bad enough for a recall. And the oil light doesnt even come on when your engine is 31/2 qts low! If you wait 5000K miles u r screwed because there is no oil left. And they can never fix the leaks. Had the car in so many times I gave up.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Simply The Best

sapphirexae, 07/08/2010
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
23 of 26 people found this review helpful

I am so saddened by the negative reviews I see on here concerning the EOS. I have had nothing but 100% reliable service and miles of fun drives! Ok, it is a car that requires 'special' maintenance (ie: the roof seals) but it says that CLEARLY in the owner's manual! If you don't read the book, you shouldn't be surprised at these things. I lubricate my seals as per VW and have never had an issue! Basically, my EOS has never given us an once of trouble. I have never owned a hardtop car and have owned over 60 convertibles, this is by far the best thought out one I have ever seen / owned! If you are considering one, DO IT! You won't regret it!

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Goodbye Sweet "Happy"

Ms. Revenew, 10/10/2015
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
48 of 58 people found this review helpful

When we first met you we were skeptical because we didnt believe you could be so cute, reliable, technically sound, fuel efficient, zippy and safe. We thought "surely there is a catch and why has this car had three owners in four years? What's going to fall apart on it?" We were looking for a good car for our teen and something fun for us parents to drive on the weekends. You had 35K miles and not a scratch on your candy apple red body. Your white interior was a bit weathered, but you matched our family. Do you remember that first test drive? We watched in awe as your German engineered top beautifully folded down into itself and tucked snugly in the trunk. Then we got on the road, just our little family. We turned on the radio and you started playing "because Im Happy, clap along if you know that happiness is the truth.". The truth is our family needed a little bit of happy. So, after discussion, we excitedly took you home. All of the neighbors oohed and ahhed. We took you everywhere and every time we got in, we were indeed Happy. Even in the winter, you held your own on Colorado roads. Your heated seats and heater worked great. Truthfully, though, you could have had brighter head beams, but we'll forgive you for that. You helped teach our daughter to drive and gave her a pal she was proud of and took beautiful care of. So, how cruel that only 18 months after you joined our family, a teen boy who was driving a Chevy Avalanche and texting rammed into the back of you at 20 miles an hour while you were stopped in traffic. He hit you with such force that you flew into the pick-up in front of you and you did exactly what you were built to do; you crunched up and took the impact in your front and protected the driving cage, never crushing into our teen daughter's body. She walked away with some bruised ribs from your straps and a bit of whiplash. You were pronounced totaled at the scene. But I'll never forget arriving at the scene and seeing those two huge pick-ups --one at your front and one at your rear-- with barely a scratch and our poor Happy in the middle -- crunched in front and dented in back taking the brunt of the impact for the 3-car accident...and our daughter, crying, but walking toward me. Thank you, Happy. RIP. We will always love you and miss you.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Great Car

timinwi, 12/28/2012
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
14 of 16 people found this review helpful

I traded my Buick LaCrosse for this car because I wanted a convertible; so it was quite the change for me but I've really enjoyed driving my EOS. It is not really a sporty car in the sense that it can take tight curves at high speed like say, a Mazda Miata, but more like a sporty cruiser. No mechanical issues to speak of yet, so maybe I have lucked out compared to some of the other reviews written here. I chose a mechanic who is independent and focuses totally on foreign cars and the car checked out well. I think this car is a great value for what you get especially the moving hardtop which are typically on higher priced vehicles.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

LOVE the EOS! Buy this CAR!

Alexa, 05/09/2017
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

2008 Eos I bought off an older couple 3 years ago. Their son owned it, garaged it and mostly dealer maintained it. I wanted this car when it first came out and love that its super rare to see on the road. I get asked about it overtime I am out. People compliment me on it daily, its a hot little car even at 9 years old! To think I almost didn't buy it because of all the bad reliability reviews. Luckily I owned a 1997 VR6 Jetta that I adored, and never had any serious issues with it. I sold him at 175k and that boy is still going strong!! So yes I know my way around VWs. Most of the complaints on here focus on leaks (seal it yearly, buy the epoxy on amazon) and oil consumption - even older Hondas burn oil, any older car you should be checking oil levels every few thousand especially in winter and with aggressive driving. German cars will run like butter if you maintain them properly. Don't wait on repairs and maintenance. I get my Eos oil changed twice a year, the dealer said it wasn't necessary but I like to take it to the dealer so they can do a thorough check on my almost 10 year old car. So far all I've had to do is the battery (it was original!) and fresh tires. not bad in 2 years and I paid 7k for the car. I even bought a cover before getting it in case it leaked. NO leaks yet! i saw from my car fax prior owner had that fixed awhile back. Make sure you buy one thats been taken care of. If I buy a used car I prefer to hear the owner has done a lot of work not - "oh it hasn't needed anything" any car will need work in 2-3 years, be it breaks tires or struts. I wouldn't buy a 2008 Honda that had nothing done either. Ask the owner if a mechanic can look the car over, if not run away! Keep tabs on oil and coolant, check the water pump when you buy it. I keep oil in my trunk but usually don't need. Top works perfectly knock on wood - people are fascinated when you operate it. NYC EOS LOVER!!!!

Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

Almost 10 years later...

the1lion, 02/17/2014
Turbo 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
11 of 13 people found this review helpful

At first we loved the car but there's been way too many build quality issues to be accepted - it's like we bought a first year Kia. We had to replace the passenger window motor, but in doing so the interior material starting coming up from the door and the dealer said it was due to the sun drying up the adhesive. Then we had another place look at it and they said when the door panel was put back on it was incorrect and pointed out the broken sections. We took it back to the dealer and they replaced it again saying the problem was the rail that held it in place became loose because the adhesive - again. Recently the sun visor came out on the drivers side - literally came out of the roof. The roof leaks on the driver side during heavy rains. The back "flap" on the drivers side that is supposed to lift up and out of the way when the roof is lowered is starting to stick and I have to reach back and tap it to make it pop out. Update '17: almost to the ten year mark. There's been no major issues thankfully. The door interior is peeling back even more on both doors. Drivers side roof still drips during rain. Its mainly a commuter car for us. For the most part keeping up the maintenance and garage kept so car hasn't needed any major work. Only about 49K miles as mentioned its been mainly a car to get me to the train station and back.

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
1 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3.63 out of 5 stars

dont buy an eos

apbtkid, 11/29/2010
Turbo 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought a brand new (08) EOS and all I've had is problems!!! I will never buy a VW ever again. VW's oil consumption standards are so low stating that it is "allowable" and "acceptable" for my EOS to burn through .5 quarts every 600 miles (4 qts per 4800) and until it exceeds that, VW and the dealer won't repair or address this issue. My car holds 4.9 quarts of oil, that means that if I were to wait the reccommended 5000 miles in between oil changes my car would be nearly out of oil. It has ran out of oil twice so far and unless I keep oil in the trunk and keep adding it it will continue to burn through oil like crazy. I Never buy a VW!

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

2008 VW EOS VR6

shivnarc, 08/10/2008
VR6 2dr Convertible (3.2L 6cyl 6AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Fun to drive, lots of standard features because with VR6, a lot of things are standard. using the DSG provides a fantastic driving experience. the in-dash 6 CD player is convenient as is the iPod adapter. remember this is a SPORTY car, not a SPORTS car, as long as you aware of that fact you will not be disappointed.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

It's been a very satisfactory vehicle.

richardb3, 09/16/2009
Turbo 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

After 17 months, this 2008 VW Eos has performed reliably and has been very satisfactory overall. The top has worked as promised, with but one instance of stalling in mid-operation. In that instance I was able to retract the top normally. The dealer lubricated the roof seals and the problem has not recurred. The fit and finish are great and the styling both inside and outside is pleasing. Engine performance has been fine. The car has plenty of zip in D mode and exceptional zip -- really like a sports car -- in Sport mode. I have had to add oil twice in addition to regular maintenance oil changes and that is disappointing. However, I actually get highway mileage greater than 36 mpg.

Report Abuse
1.63 out of 5 stars

Lemon of 2008

danny, 11/04/2010
Turbo 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My wife has an 2008 EOS and has had nothing but trouble with the car. We have taken it to two different dealerships to fix the problem and no one wants to do their job and fix it; it has been burning oil, the turbo is problematic, the brakes are squealing, and the top leaks whenever it rains. The mechanics at a VW dealer said bring it back every 500 miles to do oil comsuption test.The car is burning all the oil in less than 500 miles.These problems existed before the warrenty was up and the dealership said it was fixed, but they didnt fix the problems and now the warranty is expired. In my opinion I would never buy a VW again, unless you want to be stuck with a car that doesn't run & no help

Report Abuse
1.75 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY VW

minimono00, 12/13/2011
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
13 of 19 people found this review helpful

I bought the 2008 Lux Eos. I enjoyed driving my car for about three years until I started having rook leaking issues. At that time I started to deal with the dealer on a consistent basis and have never have such poor service with a car company before. I brought in my car a total of 4 times and i still had issues with leaking after that. I couldnt believe a 3 year old car would be so difficult for the dealer to fix. Additionally their corporate representatives were miserable to work with. They were not courteous or willing to help beyond telling me to continually bring my car back to the dealer. Its unfortunate that I spent so much on a vehicle and was treated so poorly. I had heard b

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

This car is really fun

herb, 08/18/2007
Turbo 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have only had my new '08 VW Eos for 3 weeks now but it has been a blast!! The 200 hp turbo is powerful, the 6 sp auto trans is smooth, can not feel the shifts, and of course, the top. What fun it is to open or close the top and watch everyone around the car just stare.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic, sporty little car!

jules, 06/06/2008
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I adore this car. It's so fun to drive! And obviously the hard top is GREAT! It's like watching a transformer!! I would highly recommend this car to anyone. I live in the Northeast, and it did really well in the snow this past winter, and we got tons of it! It's got a lot of pep, and it looks so sleek... I get a ton of compliments on the car. Surprisingly you can fit quite a bit in the trunk. I have had this car for 9 months now, and it's the best car. I'm on my 7th VW, but this is the sportiest and most fun!

Report Abuse
3.38 out of 5 stars

STOP AND READ BEFORE YOU BUY!

Karen from CT, 01/05/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

There are several issues with this car. 1. When the key is removed from the ignition, the front windows drop slightly, thus when it is raining you get poured on. You get soaked inside the car whenever it is raining. 2. The radio antenna is in the trunk. The reception for FM and Satellite radio does not hold. While you drive the radio stations fade in and out. 3. The EOS is horrible in snow. We had to add sand bags to the trunk to allow traction when driving. In addition, when it is below 32 degrees the trunk freezes up. I now have to prepare myself when bad weather is approaching and put my snow scrapper in the back seat. Please read this before you buy your EOS, I wish I knew this stuff.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

About the roof seals

eoslover, 02/14/2009
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I hate to see all the bad reviews about the roof leaks. Since Edmunds doesn't allow posting links in reviews if you google "solve eos roof seal leaks" you will find an excellent article on keeping this car from leaking. I did a lot of research on this car before I purchased it and bought it once I read this article and knew the roof would likely not be a problem. Unfortunately, most VW dealers don't seem to stock the Krytox or know anything about this process. That said, overall this car has been great and fun for 12,000 miles. I get a solid 27 mpg with 50/50 highway/city driving. Highway yields over 30 mpg. Drove 2 hours through wicked slippery icy snow as well as can be expected for 2WD.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Great Experience with my Eos!

Jane, 06/15/2010
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I was so disappointed to see how many people have had issues with their Eos's - my experience has been fantastic! I love my car so much! I've had it for 2 years, 30,000 miles, and no repairs needed yet. Retractable roof still works like a dream, and still makes me smile every time I use it. Car is quite speedy, and zips when you need it. The engine is perhaps a bit louder now than it was when it was brand new, but that's to be expected. When the top is up, I feel like I'm riding in a luxury sports car - you would never know it was a convertible. No leaking or noise issues here! I get compliments all the time, it was an excellent buy for me.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

AWESOME CAR

Lisa Estabrook, 02/01/2020
Turbo 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I drive a 2008 VW Eos 2.0T which I bought used in 2012. I drive it year round in Northern Alberta, Canada and have NEVER had a significant problem with this vehicle. It has been so reliable and we enjoy the convertible so much that I'm going to semi-retire her now, put her on the road now and then and watch heads turn and say "WHAT AN AWESOME CAR". And mine will be but a handful left in 20 years when the collectors come calling. Win/win.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

No longer have this car

John Campbell, 01/06/2016
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bright this car new in 2008 sold this car a few months ago. Time was right.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

great then ok then bad

beth, 11/09/2015
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
6 of 10 people found this review helpful

the car was great in the beginning! it was wonderful. one thing that I didn't like that was not a big deal, it always leaked when it rained or washed my car. the windshield always fogged up really bad at night. It would often jump because the ignition coils went bad really often. and just the other day, my whole front of my car caught fire and now it is totaled

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Rolled Mine Not a Scratch

Rolled and alive, 05/06/2016
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Owning a convertible you always worry about rolling the car....what if??? Well my husband did and he is alive and well without a scratch! The roll over protection is AWESOME! OK that being said I did have issues with the top sticking when closing and the turbo gaskets needed repaired around 90k Miles. There was an electrical issue that caused the windows to spaz when it rained but the car was also 8 years old! I would take it back in a hot minute!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
2.75 out of 5 stars

Don't buy this car!

Sotouboy, 08/26/2008
VR6 2dr Convertible (3.2L 6cyl 6AM)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Anyone who reads any reviews about this car would NEVER buy one! We had two, both leaked within hours of my bringing them home. The only good part was that my dealer stood behind their 100% satisfaction guarantee and gave me my money back. It's one of the coolest, quickest cars I've driven. Unfortunately, no one wants to buy a car that leaks, all the time, even when brand new. Pass on this one and wait until they figure it out.

Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

What a disappointment!

grinchy, 12/14/2012
Turbo 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This was my dream car, which quickly became a nightmare. The convertible operation would freeze mid transition, I take it in for service and of course they "can not duplicate the problem". The very next day I take pictures proving that it is stuck, then they miraculously they can find the problem and fix it. Now, it leaks. It burns oil- im told this is normal, and i have to add 1qt per 100 miles. Really?! My transmission was not smooth, or shifting properly, as well- this is normal. After 3 visits, they finally duplicate the problem, AFTER they crash it on a road test. My car was in service for 1 month, and the issues still persist.

Report Abuse
2.88 out of 5 stars

18 Times and still counting

texlittlebear, 03/22/2011
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

So the public will know my 2008 Eos has been in the shop 18 times and I did buy it new. This is not encluding the 2 times the dealership wrecked my car. VWOA will do nothing and in your hand bood it tells you to go through the BBB so that is what I am doing. I love my car but this is just to much for me. I think if you are having problem with your Eos let it be heard.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

New EOS Owner

Sharon davenport, 04/22/2016
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Owned it a month, In the shop three time for minor repairs.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
2 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Hope to keep mine for a long time

EOS for MEOS, 06/18/2008
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I agree with the positive reviews seen below, so I'll just add my 2 cents to their comments :-) Like others, I'd never even heard of this car until I started shopping around. Before, I was going to own either a Sky/Solstice. I drove the Solstice and it was quick and throaty but in the 'bang for your buck' category, the EOS has no peer, IMHO. I'm getting 26-27 mpg around town, but be warned, heavy footed drivers (like my WIFE!) will get 4-5 less mpg. The shifting in this automatic 6 speed is so smooth that you don't notice unless you watch the tach. There are so many features on the "trip computer" that you may not use half (and I'm a geek!). Save yourself some time and test drive this first!

Report Abuse
3.25 out of 5 stars

Leaks and radio problems

docbob, 12/02/2008
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Absolutely do not buy this car. There are at least two inherent design flaws that will make the car unacceptable. 1. When you remove your key from the ignition the window drops slightly to let you out. When it is raining the rain follows the track of the roof into the car along the seal and actually POURS into your lap before you can move. You get rained on in the car! 2. The radio antenna is in the trunk. Not on top of the trunk or up front but inside so radio stations do not hold, satellite reception comes and goes abruptly and am is an almost total wash out of static. I addressed both these issues and some others with the dealership and was informed there is nothing they can do.

Report Abuse
1.75 out of 5 stars

Don't Buy One

Eos, 12/30/2008
Turbo 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had my eos since jan 2007 and have had a lot of problems that the dealer has not been able to fix. The first was a leaky drivers side window. Which still leaks but not as much as it use to. Then it was the car bucking on acceleration, still have that problem. Everyone that gets in my car feels whip lash and tell me to get my money back if the dealer says they can not fix it. Now winter problems are Frost on the inside of the front and back windshield.. Yes inside the car... And if it not cold enough for Frost I will get condensation on the same front and back windshield. I have to take a credit card to scrap the inside Windows on a brand new car.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Buy It

kenbar, 01/10/2008
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Only have it a short time. Fuel economy is excellent. 2.0 T engine performs well. This car is fun to drive that turns a lot of heads. Recommended.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Fun and high quality

Coastal, 01/17/2008
Turbo 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After four months and 5,000 miles I'm delighted with the Eos. It's quick and tight and I get 30+ mpg on the highway. It's exactly what I was looking for. The seats are comfortable and every feature seems well-thought out. The six-speed manual shifts crisply.

Report Abuse
2.88 out of 5 stars

BUYER BEWARE

PJ, 09/13/2009
Turbo 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I was very excited when first purchasing this car.That changed quickly.This car has always burned 3 quarts of oil between changes.Volks says "that is normal".I have had the ac condenser and compressor replaced.The typical water leak issues are insane.The ac still can not be used because the air has a horrible smell to it.I have had the car towed 2x due to the car shaking and shutting down.This is supposed to be a luxury vehicle.I have had nothing but aggravation.I will be trading this vehicle,selling private is not an option.I will accept my loss and be happy to be rid of it.Very disappointing.

Report Abuse
1.38 out of 5 stars

Faulty Engine and Transmission

Tallihessn, 10/19/2009
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Buyer beware, the EOS is a faulty model. The 2008 EOS has engine and transmission problems, and VW is hush hush about the problems, with internal bulletins that they do not share with the customer until many "tests" and until the consumer brings it in again and again. This car has serious issues, do not get it. I have had five rental cars since June 09. The problems started with evaporating oil and bringing it in for early oil changes. Then, jumping gears. New seals and the mechatronic repairs did not work. Needs a New engine and who knows what else. BEWARE

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Very Happy Customer

Stubman, 02/06/2010
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Style, reliability, great mileage and a top that disappears under 30 seconds without leaving the car are just a few reasons I love my EOS. Getting 33 mpg on the highway was a pleasant surprise. Press the gas and this beauty will fly. When the top is down people are always questioning me on what kind of car I drive. One elderly man told me it did not look like the VW's we was use to in the 60's. Even in the dead of winter I stay toasty warm and dry. This car is tight. Nothing seems to ever go wrong. My main problem is I find myself looking for an excuse to "go out for a spin". Very high quality throughout. Thank You VW.

Report Abuse
3.63 out of 5 stars

Problems, Problems

Bonnie, 04/25/2010
Turbo 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Shortly after buying the car it had accelleration problems, it would hesitate and the jump in causing you to be pushed forward in your seat. It was fixed by garage but after it was done the gas mileage was drastically reduced. This has not been fixed.I have leak in trunk which has not been fixed and dealership where I live is not cooperating to fix. With this water leak my vehicle is worthless. I have poblem with trunk release, condenastion or ice on inside windows and the top is rubbing on something becasue paint has been rubbed off. I have squeal in breaks and was told it is normal- really I have had many cars but none had this unless there was abreak problem.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

Simply The Best

sapphirexae, 07/02/2010
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I sure have read my fair share of scathing EOS reviews here. I am happy to report that for three years, my EOS hasn't had one single issue! No oil issues, no power window issues, not one leak. It has been flawless! It is dead quiet (no rattles or squeaks). The design is stunning and the interior trumps my BMW! Every day my love grows and grows for this amazing car. I don't even know if the word "car" is appropriate. Perhaps 'heaven on wheels' works better.

Report Abuse
2.25 out of 5 stars

Too many issues

Cheryl K., 08/12/2010
Turbo 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My car is in the shop as I type this. I've had it in 3 or 4 times now for leaks on passenger and drivers' side. The door panels are bubbled up on both sides, my sunroof closure on the inside is separating and my back passengers' side window has a problem and MY BRAKES also squeak. How many times does it take on the same repair to fall under the "Lemon Law"? Very disappointed customer.

Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

Sadly Disappointed

KZigg, 12/14/2008
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have a 2008 2Turbo Eos for just over 1 year I had to bring into the dealership for service a few times: hard top would not go down, coolant system leak. My car would run low on oil not long after a scheduled maintenance oil change. I was told that I must frequently check the oil in- between recommended oil changes because the car will burn oil fast. This should not be with a "high line car" just over one year old. A recall was recently done "What"? The trunk latch would close back soon after unlocking. Too many problems.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Love the car but lots of issues

Greg, 02/24/2010
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2008 Eos and it has really been an enjoyable car to drive, when it is not at the dealership. So far I have taken it in at least 4 times, 3 of which for the same issues. Small leakage in the drivers window during a heavy rain, auto roll up windows do not always go back up, and breaks squeal despite the dealership telling me they are fine, it is just the way VW made them. The other issue I had recently was the battery needing to be replaced at about 30K miles (this was causing the trunk latch in the car to not pop the trunk completely open).

Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

it's all in the roof

ripped off, 11/25/2008
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Volkswagen put all of their dollars in the roof and put almost nothing in interior finish. My car listed at $34,000 and the leather in the seat ends at the piping on the side of the seat. I'm not even sure it's leather! The passenger seat has NO electronic controls. And there is no place to put my sunglasses. It's just poorly thought out. I can see paying a premium for the hardtop convertible roof, but give me some place to store my sunglasses. I should have paid attention to the things I thought a 'great car' would offer as standard.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

AWESOME

khuckabee, 07/02/2011
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

We have been looking at these cars for quite some time. I recently bought an 09 with low miles. The car lot gave me the story that some little old lady drove the car and just traded it in on a new one. I believe they tell that story to all buyers. I found an old insurance card in the car and found a number for the name on the card. When I called, it was an old lady and she was very nice. She loved the car and the only reason to get rid of it was she traded in on a brand new one that was the exact same model and color. She said no problems with leaks or oil and it was very dependable. I bought the car for my 17 year old daughter and I really like it.

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

awesome first car

ianm1997, 12/22/2014
Turbo 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

i purchased this used this year as my first car. before this i as driving my moms 2011 toyota highlander. the reason i bought this is because my best friend's mom owns one and she let me test drive it. it is defiantly a head turner. it goes fast, is pretty good on gas, and so much fun to drive. my only complaint is that it doesn't have a touch screen radio.

Report Abuse
3.13 out of 5 stars

Love driving the car but would not buy another

sordway, 10/23/2012
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car brand new & have had to many problems to list.I used to own VW's and always loved them along with the service. Their service and reliability is nothing like it used to be.I have taken my car to 2 different dealers and both gave horrible service. My car has been in the shop so many times I should be able to call it a lemon, but because they would take to long to find the issues that never happened. This month alone it has been in the shop 3 times and they cannot figure out the electrical issues or a clunking noise. I have had to take it in for leaks 5 times so far. Wish I had more room to tell all problems roof,electrical,stereo, trunk,tranmission, etc

Report Abuse
4.75 out of 5 stars

It looks fun

MISHMISH, 12/22/2007
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my 9th VW. Traded my 04 R32 for my 08 Eos. My R32 was top of the line, 4motion with a V6. No other VW compares to it. I think thats why I'm having a hard time falling in love with it. But with that aside, it is a great car. It's peppy for a four cylinder since it has a turbo (mine is a manual). It's a little light in windy conditions though. Oh, and did I mention it has a terrible blind spot! It's handling great in the snow. The sound system is great. The seats are comfy. I just adore the look. And when putting the roof down, all eyes on me. What a show!! Great car for the price!! A step up from the Cabrio of my past! I'm learning to love it more every day.

Report Abuse
2.5 out of 5 stars

Transmission Nightmare!

R Ives, 08/31/2009
Lux 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I loved this car when I first purchased it. At about 500 miles, the transmission started to buck and loose power accelerating into traffic. Dealer could not find the problem. The problems started getting worse until it was jerking an shaking when backing or proceeding slowly. After numerous complaints they finally replaced the Mechtronic unit. That fixed it for about another 100 miles. Now it's starting all over again. I've had 3 situations where the car lost transmission power while proceeding into traffic. I wouldn't recommend the automatic to anyone.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Vw EOS Feeling the wind in my hair!

Gary Gladwell, 12/30/2015
Turbo 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

So much fun! Convertible opens & closes with ease, at the push of a button! Heated seats and satellite radio were both unexpected pleasures!

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Dream Machine

Alan, 05/04/2008
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

What a Car! Style, Quality, Performance at a good price. Consumer Reports 'Top Pick'. Compared to BMW, Audi, Volvo convertibles (Eos has more options for less money). 0-60 mpg, 7.9 seconds. Good safety & reliability ratings. Spoke to several EOS owners and ALL say they love their car. Pick up is quick, maneuvers great on bends, very little wind noise even with top down. Trunk space small but ample room for groceries. Back seat definitely not for those with small children in car seats. No question that you will get stares if you put the top down at a red light. Not something I normally would do but I just couldn't resist. The guy in the BMW convertible behind me almost cried. Have Fun.

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Cabrio

Angeliko Teretzis, 05/23/2017
VR6 2dr Convertible (3.2L 6cyl 6AM)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Always check for leaks

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Love this car

kristin, 06/19/2008
Komfort 2dr Convertible (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I absolutely love this car!! It is so fun to drive and I get tons of compliments on it. I love the way people get so excited when they see it go from hard top to convertible. Everyone starts to hum the Transformers tune!

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050