Used 2001 Suzuki XL-7 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,300 - $2,515

Used XL-7 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Suzuki XL-7 4X4 still running

pcabral, 07/04/2014
Plus 4WD 4dr SUV (2.7L 6cyl 5M)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

Aside from the breaks, exhaust, tires, tie rods,balljoints and wear and tear items this rig has pulled a 3000 lbs. boat w/trailer and transported our family around for 254000 with original transmission and rear end. The engine was replaced due to a mishap with the "fast oil change place"not tightening down the oil plug, so My replacement engine has 50,000 less than the body and purrs like a cat.Self-adjusting timimg chain and all. Love this beast, and 22 mpg with 4x4 capable is an awesome value for reliable and capable travel. Keep an eye on the rust especially the frame and treat it early due to salt and sodium chloride on the roads . This rig is a one owner (16 years) and I don't look forward to getting rid of it. Tough to beat and grossly underrated.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

You can't find any other car for this price and performance during 2001.

srk2040, 02/20/2013
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Had the car from dealer's lot brand new. Few facts about this car: 1) the engine bay has a flex bar across it 2) the frame is liquid filled to reduce vibration 3) came with direct electronic ignition as opposed to plugs and wires. 4) has third row of seat. 5) OEM tires are exact same as Lexus RX300, Dueler HT. The front brake wears out lot quicker than what I'm used to. Amazingly, the rear drum brake has never been changed and it always passes the inspection. It's on 170,000 mile now. Comes with lot of upgrade if you really into it. I installed rear catch net, rear door net storage, window rain deflector. Overall, you can not find any other car like this even today 2013 that is true 4x4

Report Abuse

Shotty Air Conditioner Over and Over

Disappointed, 07/30/2009
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I love my car, except that each year the air conditioner goes out. This year I am told the cost is $1,000+ just for the part condenser or compressor?? And it had to have a dual air conditioner. :-( The car is probably not even worth that much. Too bad that the dealer were so bad on fixing this one problem. Other than that, the car has been perfect. Love the fact that the gasoline door is on the passenger side. It's fully loaded and got what I paid for . .no repairs other than regular maintenance-not bad for an 8yr old car. Body and interior in perfect condition still.

Report Abuse

Handles like my sports car!

Jim, 07/07/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought this based on test drive and 3rd seat. First experience with 4WD. Had the over-size wheel/tire (option?). This XL-7 has been awesome. Dealer repairs VERY expensive. Driver seat back torn out due to years of toddler abuse (LoL). Car still drives like new. Fast steering - handles very similar to my Miata in fact - may give some used to the GM slush boxes some fun in the wind at highway speeds. Only problem was aluminum chips in early production A/C compressors caused a lot of failures in 01 02 XL-7s; and replacement / system flush averaged between $2000 and $2500 at the dealers.

Report Abuse

Nice Truck/Terrible Manufacturer Support

grangt, 02/20/2002
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Dropped truck off on 01/30 for a 4-hour job. It's now 02/20 and still no truck because the shop can't get the parts delivered. Szuki has not established any method to get parts to shops quickly. Obviously, Suzuki is not interested in making sure their few customers are happy after purchase. Unless you have a fleet of cars for back-ups in case your Suzuki needs work, DO NOT buy one. Suzuki has a decent product, but needing transportation on a daily basis, will never purchase another Suzuki.

Report Abuse

Best Buy for the Money

Skidney, 04/28/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle new in 2001 and I have had no problems with it. It is the absolute best buy in the class. It has real 4x4, 3,000 lbs. towing, dual A/C, and third row seating for the same price of a CR-V or a RAV4. I have towed a 2,800 lb. camper with success (mountains were a little stressful).

Report Abuse

Hate It

chris, 03/31/2006
0 of 4 people found this review helpful

I can't stand my Suzuki XL-7. I have had so many problems with it and the dealer refuses to fix any of them. I wish that I never bought it. I will never buy any other vehicle from Suzuki in my life and will tell all my friends not to either.

Report Abuse

MY 2001 XL-7 Limited

Paul.Fritz1, 04/08/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased this with 5K on it from the dealer's owner's wife who was also my sales person. Has been dead on reliable. No rattles except the emergency kit under the back floor. MPG is about 22 and runs just fine on regular. I actually have the limited but there is no limited mentioned in the list above. Really good in the Snow and just overall very nice.

Report Abuse

Keeps Going and Going

Glenn, 06/03/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After 155,000 (40% off road) this is a little tank! I have not had one major thing go wrong after almost 5 years of abuse. Its comfortable on the road and plenty of room for 6. It can be towed 4 wheels down with ease. Its funny to see the surprize looks when leave people at a light after pushing the power button. For the price you just can't beat it.

Report Abuse

Best SUV for the Price

Euclid Oh, 01/02/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We were looking for a midsized SUV to replace a Caravan. The Suzuki actually did better than we ever expected. The truck came with full power and rear AC as well as seats 7. The engine is very peppy for its engine size, but is kind of fuel thirsty. Ours now has 60k, but actually 48k. If you have a Suzuki, the trip odometer may not be accurate. Other than this, this was one of the best vehicle purchases that I made, in a list that includes Mercedes, BMW, Jaguar, and others that I have owned.

Report Abuse

my suzuki

pforstie, 06/27/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

it's fun to drive

Report Abuse

Suzuki Grand Vitara XL-7 "worth a look!"

qwag, 06/29/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I went from a Suburban to the Suzuki, so there was an obvious "change". But the mileage, steady secure ride & handling, accleration (w/V6) vision, extra 3rd row of rear seats, are all VERY good. This IS NOT a "luxury" SUV, but a great mid-sized SUV, that's modestly appointed. Especially, when you consider that I went from a $40K vehicle to one costing $20K. I am very pleased with this vehicle..and 1/2 the payment & gas reqirement!

Report Abuse

so far so good

guyver53402, 07/03/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

feels solid, had no problems in snowy,slippery conditions with 4wd engaged. gas mileage i have been averaging is 21 mpg. i love the high beam s, they really light things up

Report Abuse

XL7

wolf6275, 07/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We have had some trouble with the keyless entry system 2 times and the door alignment. The biggest problem was the tires are already toast. They didnt last long. Other than that smooth sailing.

Report Abuse

Great all-around, do-everything vehicle

schnabster, 07/12/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a "do-everything" vehicle. Made for true off-road, while able to haul multi-kids in 3 (tight) rows of seats...hauls lots of gear, too. The six cyl. is a bit under-powered, but fine for everyday around-town and highway, too. Seats are very uncomfortable for long distance driving.

Report Abuse

"A RICH MAN'S POOR MIDSIZE SUV "

GIFFO, 07/12/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I CAN NOT BE NEGATIVE REGARDING MY PURCHASE OF THIS PARTICULAR SUV. I HAVE HAD IT FOR OVER ONE YEAR; AND MY ONLY COMPLAINT ARE THE TIRES THAT CAME STANDARD WITH THIS VEHICLE. I CALL THEM THE " DEATH TIRES " ( FIRESTONE / BRIDGESTONE. ) THEY COMPLETELY WORE DOWN BELOW STATE INSPECTION REQUIREMENTD BY 7000 MILES. SUZUKI SHOUL CHANGE ITS AGREEMENT RE. TIRES.

Report Abuse

A nice surprise

tetra, 09/14/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased used with 16000 miles. Very pleased with interior comfort and storage. Good power from the V6 and automatic. Ours is 4 wheel drive. Runs smooth and quiet. Seats are comfortable quiet interior. Versatel 3rd seat, rear air cond. Good looks. Solid and good build quality. A vehicle to review when purchasing another vehicle.

Report Abuse

Honest review after 16 monthsof use.

Al Davis, 09/28/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

If you are looking for comfortable four wheel drive, with good fuel economy. This vehicle is not the one! Also the third row seating is a joke. Any child under fifty pounds is ok. Any larger they will have no leg room. This is a well built vehicle just not practicle for seven people.

Report Abuse

XL7 touring

collie, 10/18/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Nice ride and very attractive. A bit hard on the legs on long drives. More hip room would be a dream. Love the handling for its size you can get into SPEED tourble if your lead-footed.

Report Abuse

My Suz

jlukas, 10/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

As an engineer, there is only a minimal changes I would do for the interior; add LED lights to all instruments (heat control) and add 1 to 2 inch width to the front seating

Report Abuse

Nice Ride

markcarpenter34, 11/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Really nice looking vehicle. Priced with the RAV4, but looks and feels more like a 4Runner. The interior could have used a little more thought. The radio is mounted low on the dash, and the third row should just be folded down, because no one could sit back there. Excellent service on vehicle so far.

Report Abuse

Love My XL7

irelandives, 11/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Only complaint about the vehicle is the cupholders are inconvienient. Runs like a dream has gone everywhere without difficulty. The dealership, Bob Lewis in San Jose, ripped me off big time with the lease and have been a really awful dealership in many respects... don't go there, get it somewhere else.

Report Abuse

XL7 a deal

Maniac, 12/12/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Originaly I did not find much info when I purchased my XL7 in 2001 so here goes. I would purchase another for the same reasons. My four children and Spouse are able to go anywhere the larger SUV's tread, yet we find parking not a problem due to the layout and size. Economy could get a boost yet, I pulled a 2000lb trailer with ease and yes, all four children and Mom were present. If you want a rugged and refined SUV that delivers towing capacity and looks great at the theater which fits in a parking lot, than go buy one. 0% financing was a fabulous bonus. You won't regret passing up the Blazer for it. Ask for the Fuel warning light, I still can't locate mine.

Report Abuse

Great SUV with lots of features

rl, 12/11/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It has air-conditioning on the back, day-time running light, automatically turn on the light when it is dark, very good gas mileage for a 7-seater. (21 mile per gallon) The best part is the 0% interest on car loan. All new 2002 has 7 year 70,000 miles warranty A great SUV that I highly recommended. 94% of the parts are made in Japan! Very well-built car. I never need to do any repair on this SUV yet

Report Abuse

It just... runs

WiseOne, 01/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle b/c I needed a good, reliable one for work travel. I also needed to carry up to 7 people (mostly kids) from time to time. The XL- 7 has delivered on all counts. It's large enough to carry what I need, but not too large to make it hard to park or killer on the gas mileage.

Report Abuse

My thoughts after 20 months of ownership

Ms MD, 02/09/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My husband purchased this XL7 For me new on 5-01 Price was my original strong motivation to buy. For twenty thousand it is a good deal.Only small details have been noticed. Such as the lack of useable arm rests,seeing and using the radio are not always easy. My husband is an aircraft enginieer. He on the other hand found other small problems that i never noticed. He advised me that the tires are shot after only 16000 miles. This is after two tire rotations. Also the defroster funtion is inadaqute when the vehicle is filled with passengers.Overall, Fully loaded four wheel drive still can't beat it for the price!

Report Abuse

Good Review

Paulie D, 02/10/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

All around good midsize SUV

Report Abuse

Over 70K & Still Going

rjconde, 07/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My XL7 has carried me many miles through storms and ice, great shift on the fly 4WD and lots of pep. My husband keeps wanting me to get a newer more powerful SUV, but my XL7 has all the power I need. It is reliable,economically efficient and affordably priced.

Report Abuse

Good value for the price

gibby12, 08/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I'm also a Honda devotee who wanted more features for the money this time around - we have a CRV and wanted something similar but with a V-6 b/c of how dangerous it is to drive I-35 down here. You have to be able to punch it and MOVE! For the most part, we're happy with this lil' SUV.

Report Abuse

DON'T LOVE MY SUZUKI !!!

tpiantedosi, 11/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I BOUGHT MY SUZUKI FOR THE SAME REASON AS MOST - IT COST LESS THE THE OTHERS. I HAVE FOUND THOUGH YOU DO GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. I HAVE HAD MANY PROBLEMS W/ MINE. THE DOOR LOCKS WHERE FALLING OUT, (THE SCREWS WHERE NOT SECURED), I HAD A TRANSMISSON OIL LEAK (THEY DID REPAIR IT ) THERE IS NO GAS LIGHT (I RAN OUT OF GAS 4 TIMES). i HAD OWNED A TOYOTA RAV 4 BEFORE I PURCHASED THIS & I LOVE IT. I DRIVE A STANDARD SIFT, AND THIS ONE IS SO MUCH HARDER TO DRIVE. THE TIRES ARE SHOT AFTER 20,000 MILES, THERE IS NO HAPPY MEDIUM WITH THE HEAT - EITHER YOUR FACE IS ON FIRE OR YOUR FREEZING AND YOUR FEET NEVER GET WARM EVEN WHEN IT ON FEET ONLY.

Report Abuse

can't wait til i get rid of it!!

tpiantedosi, 05/03/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I own a 2001 XL7. I have had many problems from day one. Within the 1st few weeks I had a transmition leak. Which the dealer fixed. After only 2 years and 24000 miles the tires were bald. Though was told that it was not a suzuki problem. (though it is known that the tires are horrible on the XL7). I recently lost the gas door cover because the clamp inside rotted. Though again not the dealers problem. The 3rd row seat is unusable. Children barely fit never mind and adult. And the gas mileage is horrible. The inside is cheap looking. But it does have many cup holders and a light in the ashtray. I would not recommend this SUV. Instead get a Toyato Rav 4. Had that before.

Report Abuse

# Yera Synopsis

mjconde, 01/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Extremely reliable vehicle, No major repairs needed outside of routine maintenance for 86,000 miles driven so far.

Report Abuse

Reliable Suzuki XL-7

Linda F. Burgos, 10/21/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My 2001 Suzuki XL-7 is a good vehicle for taking kids from Point A to Point B. I have never had a single mechanical problem. The four wheel drive is excellent. And, I like the versatility of the third row seat. However, better quality interior materials would be nice to consider as a future improvement. My son frequently rested his feet on the rear passenger seat when he was a toddler so that the pocket on the back seat ripped open. In my opinion, for a car that is marketed to moms with kids, the seat ripped a little too easily. And, the plastic trim around the sunroof has an annoying habit of coming loose. Despite these minor issues, it is a solid car.

Report Abuse

Disappointed

Rosebud1955, 01/16/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This was a good car for the money. The dealership was very accommodating. I haven't had any major problems and found it very reliable. Low trade-in value.

Report Abuse

Best Value SUV

Perry Armstrong, 01/06/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have not had one problem with my XL-7. It rides nice and smooth like a car and it I love the "power switch." It's like a James Bond SUV (used for passing or for getting a jump start). I don't have any complaints. It's a great value buy. This is why we purchased it.

Report Abuse

satisified

mamabare, 03/15/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Good gas milage, just the right size for my family of 4. Handles well.

Report Abuse

liked it

Brian L (NY), 06/06/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had this truck through all kinds of weather, on the beach & road. I can tell you the 4 wheel drive system is excellent. Its a nice smooth truck with decent power & good handling. Enjoy!

Report Abuse

sturdy,fun suv

paula k, 06/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this is a sturdy, well equipped VERY comfortable SUV. Drives like a car, but very Safe feeling on highway. Good gas mileage for a heavy truck. Most comfortable seats (I have a bad back)I have found anywhere. Can't find a better deal for the money anywhere.

Report Abuse

A Great SUV

Pefbear, 06/19/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A Great SUV.....Surprise Surprise, Suzuki has done it with this SUV. All the options with a price second to none.Bertera in West Springfield hooked me up BIG. I can't wait for the 2005 to come out so I can buy a new one....GREAT JOB SUZUKI!!

Report Abuse

Suzuki

pferraro, 07/17/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Decent vehicle with good reliablty. Retained value over time is very poor however. Plan on keeping this vehicle, even if you acquired it for well under list price, as it's trade in value is very low.

Report Abuse

2001 XL-7 Review

JENNIFER, 02/11/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Suzuki XL-7 is visually cute on the outside. However, the interior is small and compact in all roows of seating. The dash organization is poorly done. The radio is on the bottom of the dash and hard to reach and see, which I think makes it a danger to change stations when driving. As far as the driving of the vechicle, it's okay on a perfect day with NO wind. With even the slightest wind, it's nearly impossible to handle, for male and especially female adults. We've even been told we look like drunk drivers and believe me it's the car, not our skills.

Report Abuse

My Suzuki

Rhonda Gordon, 04/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I needed an a new automobile to recieve high mileage and to be able to use on trips or just every life for a running family.

Report Abuse

My baby

jentomko, 03/02/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I owned this vehicle for about 2 years, and I didn't realize just what a wonderful suv I had until I sold it. I have been searching for another suv ever since then, and nothing compares. I just can't find ANYTHING that even begins to compare to the this vehicle. I am serious. I never realized just how much I truly loved it until it was gone.

Report Abuse

2001 Suzuki XL-7

STAY AWAY, 09/07/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I loved this car when I bought. However, the tires do wear out soon. The major problem is the timing chain tensioner. It is a bad design. Suzuki is not offering any help with this. This repair costs around $1600.00.

Report Abuse

Zuki for 6

patman, 01/10/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought this as an alternative to a minivan and large SUV's. We have been very happy with it. We use it to run around town with our 4 kids, friends, and all their stuff, and it works great. We have also taken it on trips, and it travels better than we expected.

Report Abuse

One tough SUV

playinmachine, 05/25/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The best part of this SUV is the build quality. I have 20,000 miles on my XL7 and no rattles. This is one stout SUV.

Report Abuse

Love my XL-7

Love My XL-7, 06/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had my XL-7 2 years now. I bought it to give me more room for hauling things, or for camping, etc. I was unsure about leaving my nice and reliable Honda Accord behind. But, I have been impressed and pleased overall with this vehicle. It is versatile, comfortable, and gives good overall performance. It is a great value for the money given all the standard features. And, it is nice to have a vehicle that isn't like every other one on the road. I consistently get better fuel economy than posted-- about 21mpg mixed/24mpg highway. It may be utilitarian and simple for some people, but that's why I like it.

Report Abuse

I'm deep PURPLE NOT DARK RED

Jodi, 01/15/2019
Plus 4WD 4dr SUV (2.7L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Still no rust on me

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Awesome!

MartinRDH, 01/06/2020
4WD 4dr SUV (2.7L 6cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought it new and other than regular maintenance it’s never let me down or given me a bit of trouble. 260000 km and going strong. I’m

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050