2014 Nissan Altima Sedan Review & Ratings | Edmunds
ADVERTISEMENT

2014 Nissan Altima Sedan Review

2014 Nissan Altima Sedan
Build and PriceTMV®?

Build your car and see the Edmunds True Market Value® (TMV®) - the average price paid for this car in your area.

Edmunds Summary Review of the 2014 Nissan Altima Sedan

  • A Edmunds Rating
  • Sophisticated driving dynamics, energetic engines and impressive fuel economy give the 2014 Nissan Altima a leg up on rival family sedans. It's an excellent choice in this segment.

  • Pros

    Satisfying acceleration and fuel economy from both engines; engaging handling; refined ride; comfortable front seats; user-friendly electronics; solid interior quality; top crash test scores.

  • Cons

    Not as much rear headroom as some other top sedans; CVT can be overeager during moderate acceleration, resulting in excess noise from four-cylinder engine.

  • What's New for 2014

    Nissan has discontinued the Altima coupe for 2014, but the remaining Altima sedan benefits from the introduction of NissanConnect Apps, a smartphone integration platform that includes Pandora and Facebook connectivity. Also, the 2.5 S trim gets a Sport Value package and a touchscreen-based Display Audio package as options, while the Technology package is now offered on both SV and SL trims.

Reviews from owners of the 2014 Nissan Altima Sedan

Average Consumer Rating (See all 40 reviews) Write a Review


Stay away please be safe not stupid like me

by on
Vehicle: 2014 Nissan Altima

ill be short and to the subject : on the highway the 14 altima is all over it slides side to side (if windy do not go more than 50 you will lose control easy) -when the RPM stays right on 2 the whole car vibrates like a washing machine (i am not joking try yours , it dont matter what the speed is just keep it at 2 on the dot ) -radio is peace of garbage who just blows out the speakers -back up camera turned pink and some lines dance up and down all over the screen -the engine makes a funny noise when u start it and stays forever -tires are garbage who let it me down in the middle of the winter storm jan 2016 -transmission also let it me down on the same day winter storm jan 2016 -road assistance dont care and they do nothing for you at all i had to wait 3 days for the towing truck to bring my car at the dealer and i had to remove the car from a dangerous spot where died and i hade to pay tow truck out of my wallet ... POOR SHAME ON YOU ROAD ASSISTANCE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SHAME ON YOU all - and now the miles start to go down from 23 mpg to like 19 mpg whats about that ??? it was 23 mpg for like 1 strait year




Great car, if it only ran

by on
Vehicle: 2014 Nissan Altima

From jerking violently while shifting/CVT to shuddering until it shuts off while idling at stop lights, turning, behind school busses, etc., shutting off each time the car is placed in reverse or drive to completely disengaging while driving down the road/highway leading to coasting while the gas pedal and engine stop "talking" to each other, my car has progressively become a death trap. This 2014 Altima appears to completely flummox the dealership's service folks. They can't seem to fix it. Corporate refuses to pay for or replace whatever is broken. Oh, to top it off, the same Nissan dealership said it is only worth $9k for trade in. Despite being very happy with the car for the first 18-months, this 4-time Nissan buyer is desperately searching for faith that this car's current issues are a fluke, can be fixed, and the car I worked so hard to buy will return to being the reliable, comfortable, and economic car I loved.



2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Rental car rides again

by on
Vehicle: 2014 Nissan Altima

I purchased this car with the intention of using it to drive for uber/lyft. I bought it from hertz car sales since their deals are about $5-$6k less than similar models I found nearby (and I searched for weeks). I figured that since I was going to put a million miles on it, having relatively high miles (50k) wasn't really an issue. The cvt transmission does take some getting used to, but since it is a main factor in my incredible gas mileage, it's still worth it. The Bluetooth works great, even skipping songs in Pandora. Phone connectivity works like a charm. The most comfortable front seats I've ever sat in and I've had numerous large luxury sedans (bmw 7's, lexus LS'S, ETC). My two complaints are the quality of paint (super thin) and the interior, while being nicely designed, is ultra low quality materials (styrofoam rear deck, really?) and the armrest feels like it's going to break off any day now. I haven't had any issues at all, at 6000 miles into ownership and 56k on the car.



6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Transmission, tech pkg

by on
Vehicle: 2014 Nissan Altima

I purchased a 2014 Nissan Altima 2.5 SL 4 cy on 8/4/2014. In November I experienced power outage/ shortage in tech system the radio, navigation, LED screen all went out. Everything there is a change in climate or when it gets cold I have these issues, sometimes lasting for hours. I then noticed my car riding ruff as if it wasn't shifting gears properly. Took it to the dealer and the bearings I. The transmission went out had to get a new transmission in May 2015. The dealer replaced free of charge and provided a rental. Now in November I am again experiencing a ruff ride, car smells like gas and a strong smell of burning something has come a loose from the front and side underneath the car. My tech package, LED screen and Navigation has went out again! The side blind spot indicators flash even when there's not a car on the side and in the rain the do not work properly! The interior is not durable at all! Leather is starting to peel. The car does not ride smooth anymore.




Transmission

by on
Vehicle: 2014 Nissan Altima

I own a 2015 Pathfinder and 2014 Altima 3.5SL loaded Two transmissions in altima and it's still has issues, jerks between 17-32 mph and 59-70 first transmission 30 days after purchase and multiple visits to dealer! Would stay away! I also own a 2012 and 2000 Altima both have 100k plus never a issue



3 of 3 people found this review helpful

..."surprisingly sporty"...

by on
Vehicle: 2014 Nissan Altima

I don't know what other shoppers should know about this car,it gets down to their personal needs and choices. For my-self I've had this Altima for three months now and am very pleased with it. I bought it used at 15 months of useage from a national car rental agency and saved $2700 compared to the going market price.On top of the balance of factory warranty the rental agency had their own 12month or 12 thousand mile warranty and a policy of replacing brakes and tires with more than 30% wear,so I got new tires and brakes for the price.I had concerns coming from a Maxima and a 6 cylinder engine but my fears were put to rest after finding out how fast the 4 cylinder engine can be.The front seats are very comfortable from the moment you sit on them and you can drive a long distance and arrive feeling as comfortable as when you started.Back seat leg room is excellent and the seats are as comfortable too.The handling is better than I expected with little lean during corners and the average lumps and bumps on urban roads rarely intrude into the cabin.The steering was a real pleasant surprise with a nice feel on the road and nicely weighted without being too soft or over assisted.The cvt does take some getting used to.Under normal loads it acts like a traditional automatic in its sound and feel;but under a heavy foot the engine races ahead and the rest of the car plays catch up.Hit the power button and the cvt drops out of its normal over drive mode and the car becomes surprisingly fast in acceleration.For my-self the only negative is the 'goose neck' trunk hinges.They're too intrusive and have the potential of being luggage crushers.The trunk is spacious but would benefit from the newer type hinges that are shaped like an X and don't go inside the trunk.My favourite feature is the fuel economy:..I'm averaging 33 miles per gallon tooling around town so am waiting to see how good the highway economy is.If the Altima is like other Japanese cars I've owned it will prove reliable with a cost effective ownership and again I'm tickled pink with the fuel economy...



ADVERTISEMENT

Full Expert Review: 2014 Nissan Altima

What's New for 2014

Nissan has discontinued the Altima coupe for 2014, but the remaining Altima sedan benefits from the introduction of NissanConnect Apps, a smartphone integration platform that includes Pandora and Facebook connectivity. Also, the 2.5 S trim gets a Sport Value package and a touchscreen-based Display Audio package as options, while the Technology package is now offered on both SV and SL trims.

Introduction

Nissan is known as something of a risk taker among major car companies, but the 2014 Nissan Altima is all about staying the course. Following a redesign last year that brought it more in line with the larger Maxima's sense of style, the Altima sedan stands pat, save for a few equipment changes. There is good reason to be conservative: the Altima is Nissan's top-selling sedan, and one of the best choices available for a midsize family sedan.

One important ingredient in the Altima's formula is its smartly tuned ride and handling. The Altima feels more focused and responsive than many rivals do, yet it doesn't beat you up over bumps. That's the sort of thing that stands out on a test-drive, and the same goes for the Altima's continuously variable transmission (CVT), which is a factor in the car's excellent fuel economy (31 mpg combined with the four-cylinder engine) and strong, seamless acceleration.

The Altima is also known for its pleasant interior furnishings, which can be augmented for 2014 with NissanConnect Apps, a new smartphone integration system that brings services like Pandora into the mix. As usual, every Altima offers high-quality cabin materials and an attractive, sporty dashboard. The only negative here -- and it's pretty minor -- is the relative lack of rear headroom, which could be an issue if you ferry tall adults around on a regular basis.

Of course, the Nissan Altima isn't the only sedan that's vying for your attention. Other top models to consider include the stylish Ford Fusion, the rejuvenated Honda Accord, the well-rounded Kia Optima the sporty Mazda 6 and the Euro-influenced Volkswagen Passat. But even in this stellar group the 2014 Nissan Altima is easily a favorite. It's a must-drive if you're shopping in this segment.

Body Styles, Trim Levels, and Options

The 2014 Nissan Altima is a midsize sedan available in seven trim levels: 2.5, 2.5 S, 3.5 S, 2.5 SV, 3.5 SV, 2.5 SL and 3.5 SL. The number denotes the selected engine (2.5-liter inline-4 or 3.5-liter V6).

The base 2.5 Altima sedan comes standard with 16-inch steel wheels, full power accessories, keyless ignition/entry, a height-adjustable driver seat, Bluetooth phone and audio connectivity, and a four-speaker sound system with a CD player.

Moving to the 2.5 S gets you automatic headlights, cruise control, a six-way power driver seat, more advanced functionality for the gauge-cluster LCD screen and a six-speaker sound system. The Sport Value package adds 16-inch alloy wheels, remote ignition and a trunk lid spoiler. The Display Audio package tacks on a 5.0-inch touchscreen display, a rearview camera, a USB port, satellite radio and smartphone app integration (NissanConnect Apps).

The V6-engined 3.5 S comes with all of those features (including the Display Audio package) plus 18-inch alloy wheels and steering-wheel-mounted paddle shifters.

Upgrading to the SV trim nets 17-inch alloy wheels (2.5), dual-zone automatic climate control, a leather-wrapped steering wheel, the contents of the Display Audio package and remote ignition. The Convenience package (optional on 2.5 SV) adds a sunroof, foglamps, rear air-conditioning vents and an auto-dimming rearview mirror.

The top-shelf Altima SL adds xenon headlights (3.5), LED taillights, the sunroof (3.5), leather upholstery, an eight-way power driver seat (with power lumbar adjustment), heated front seats, a heated steering wheel and a nine-speaker premium Bose sound system with an auxiliary audio jack. The Moonroof package adds a sunroof separately for the 2.5.

The Technology package for SV and SL models includes a 7-inch touchscreen, voice controls, a navigation system and electronic safety features such as blind-spot monitoring, rear cross-traffic alerts and a lane-departure warning system.

Powertrains and Performance

The 2014 Nissan Altima 2.5 sedan comes with a 2.5-liter four-cylinder engine that generates 182 horsepower and 180 pound-feet of torque. A CVT sends power to the front wheels. In Edmunds performance testing, this engine took the Altima from zero to 60 mph in 7.8 seconds, making the Altima one of the quickest four-cylinder family sedans. EPA-estimated fuel economy is 31 mpg combined (27 mpg city/38 mpg highway), an outstanding rating for a midsize sedan.

Altima 3.5 models have a 3.5-liter V6 good for 270 hp and 251 lb-ft of torque. The CVT is again standard. In Edmunds testing, an Altima 3.5 accelerated from zero to 60 mph in 6.2 seconds, which again puts it near the head of the pack. Fuel economy is strong for a V6 at 25 mpg combined (22 mpg city/31 mpg highway).

Safety

The 2014 Nissan Altima comes standard with antilock brakes, stability and traction control, front side airbags and side curtain airbags. A rearview camera comes standard on everything, except the base and S trim levels. Blind-spot monitoring, rear cross-traffic alerts and a lane-departure warning system are also optional.

In Edmunds testing, an Altima 2.5 SV sedan stopped from 60 mph in 130 feet, which is below average for midsize sedans. A 3.5 SL, however, stopped in a superb 114 feet, which is about 10 feet shorter than average.

In government crash testing, the Altima sedan received a perfect five stars for overall, frontal and side crash protection. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety gave the Altima its top "Good" rating in its moderate-overlap frontal-offset, side-impact and roof-strength crash tests. In the new small-overlap front test, the Altima earned an "Acceptable" rating (second best).

Interior Design and Special Features

The 2014 Altima's cabin has a markedly upscale look and feel, with visibly high-quality materials and tight construction. The gauge cluster is attractive, with a large, highly readable speedometer and tachometer on either side of the crisp-looking information screen. The newly available NissanConnect Apps system supports a handful of apps, such as Facebook and Pandora, with many more ownership-related apps projected to join the team at some point. If specified, the navigation system satisfies with its attractive graphics and straightforward user interface.

An ergonomic highlight is the specially engineered "zero gravity" front seats used in all Altimas. With help from NASA research, the seats were designed to relieve common pressure points and improve comfort for the long haul. It works, as the Altima's front seats are more comfortable and supportive than the norm from the moment you plop down.

While normal-sized adults will be comfortable in back as well, rear headroom is at a premium compared to other sedans in this class, and rear legroom is only average. Trunk space is similarly average at 15.4 cubic feet, although the opening is impressively wide.

Driving Impressions

The Nissan Altima has a reputation for being one of the more rewarding family sedans to drive, and the 2014 Altima carries the torch with enthusiasm. The 2.5-liter four-cylinder engine offers above-average performance for this class. It revs willingly and generates more than enough acceleration for everyday driving. The CVT helps to deliver excellent fuel mileage, although it's sometimes almost too responsive to power demands, resulting in higher engine rpm and a bit more noise than we'd like.

As for the available 3.5-liter V6, it provides some of the quickest acceleration in this class. It's a great choice if you really like to drive, and its fuel economy is still quite respectable.

Around turns, the Altima boasts quick, accurate steering and capable handling. Yet ride comfort remains very good, while wind and road noise are pleasantly subdued. For a combination of agile responses and long-distance tranquility, the Altima is one of the best family sedans available.

SPONSORED CONTENT
Edmunds Insurance Estimator

The Edmunds TCO® estimated monthly insurance payment for a 2014 Nissan Altima Sedan in VA is:

$75.50 per month*
*Disclaimer
ADVERTISEMENT

Talk About The 2014 Altima

2014 Nissan Altima Discussions See all Started By

Karen_CM
Karen_CM
01-02-2014
Looking to lease a 2014 Altima? Ask your questions here!...


geffenmi
geffenmi
02-15-2014
I just got a Nissan Altima 2014 on Friday and noticed today that theres some type of whistling or whirling noise it makes with the heat and fans off when you drive slowly and stop. Does anyone know if...


stever
stever
01-29-2014
Welcome to Edmunds discussion dedicated to 2014 Nissan Altima purchase experiences. If you have recently purchased a 2014 Altima please share your experience here....



Compare upfront prices, lock in the best deal, and bring your certificate to the dealer for a no-haggle purchase.

Build your car and see the Edmunds True Market Value® (TMV®) - the average price paid for this car in your area.

ADVERTISEMENT

Other Vehicles to Consider

ADVERTISEMENT

Featured Video

MyAppraise driven by Edmunds

How Much Is My Car Worth?

car outline

Get the most accurate price
for your car.
Appraise My Car
ADVERTISEMENT

New Car Resources

ADVERTISEMENT

New Car Buying Guides

See which cars and trucks our editors recommend