Used 2017 Volkswagen Tiguan Limited Consumer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
7 reviews
List Price Range
$15,900 - $23,064

Used Tiguan Limited for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV for the price

Albert, 03/03/2018
S 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
19 of 19 people found this review helpful

I looked quite a bit for a small SUV that is still roomy but not too big and bulky. The carried over 2017 Tiguan Limited into 2018 is just right. The price was lower than anyone else at less than $23,000. That included a lot of options, like 17" alloy wheels, a large 6.5" infotainment screen, Apple car play and Android Auto, roof rack, first aid kit, all weather rubber floor mats that snap in nicely, rear cargo area carpeted mat, large road kit with jumper cables, rain coat, gloves, universal combo type tool with plyers, another smaller first aid kit, foldable reflector triangle, etc. Also keyless entry with push button start. The back seats have lots of legroom and you can slide them forward or back. Really nice SUV for the price. I highly recommend this model before they are gone. The new model 2018 Tiguan is too big and more expensive.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Just what I was looking for...

P. Anderson, 06/26/2018
S 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

The car is solid. And powerful. I have to be careful when accelerating while making a turn from a stop. Road noise is minimal. Vehicle corners well. All of the tech works as advertised. Premium gas... you do what you have to do. Mileage seems slightly better than advertised. Love the premium package add-ons: car-play, key-less entry, push button start, etc. etc. Just enough stuff. Not too much. Recommend the 17" alloy wheel upgrade. Great pricing. All in all, just what I was looking for.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
2 out of 5 stars

What Happened To The VW Car-Net Option?

Jon K, 08/01/2018
S 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

When I purchased the 2017 VW Tiguan Limited 2.0T with 4 Motion the "sticker" on the car said it comes with the "VW Car-Net" option. After I got the car home I found out the option IS NOT included. I called the dealership who said Volkswagen of America made an error on all the "stickers" for this model and since the option is factory installed noting can be done about it. I contacted Volkswagen of America who said "in this case it is misleading" and said nothing can be done about it. I looked at the "sticker" on another VW car that actually has the option installed and the only difference is on the car "sticker" with the installed option it says "VW Car-Net (equiped)". In addition, the gas millage is very low and the car only can use Premium Fuel! Be very cautious when purchasing this car and ask questions! Update 2/3/2020: VW of America" is still misleading customers buy stating on the car sticker that the "VW Car- Net" option is included when it is NOT INCLUDED! Read and ask questions if you are buying a VW and the car sticker says this option is included - IT IS NOT INCLUDED! *****8/7/2021 UPDATE - The car now has 61,000 mile on the odometer. The engine now sounds like a lawn mower. VW cars used to be good for at least 100,000 miles before any real problems. Very disappointed. This is the 4th VW I have owned and will be the last. The myth of VW quality is long long gone!

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Interior
2 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
2 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Great Little Buggy

John, 01/13/2019
S 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I purchased the Tiguan in February 2017. Its price had been reduced to $21,500 from $26,800. Its fast and has very agile handling. Its tall and visability is great, fuel economy is so so. For its size the cargo space is sufficient, and its easy to park and manuver in town. The interior (black and tan). For the money, hard to beat.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Classy, comfy, and smooth and easy to drive

Strickland family , 09/12/2019
S 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

This car handles better than my former MDX. It gets about 20 miles to the gallon on gas. Cargo space is a little tight, but passenger roominess front and back is plentiful.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Size AWD SUV

jen1960, 04/28/2020
S 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

it gets up and goes. quiet smooth ride love it

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

The little SUV that can

Honus, 05/01/2021
S 4Motion 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought mine in 2017 and now have just under 30k miles on it. Wonderful car that is extremely practical and fun to drive. These late model PQ35 Tiguans are really solid cars- VW had all the bugs worked out of this 2nd gen chassis version by this model year. Has plenty of power, decent gas mileage (23 mpg around town and 30 mpg hwy), transmission shifts smooth. Drives extremely well in snow (especially with Nokian tires). Rear seat room is very good for a car this size (fits my large teenage sons no problem) and it's super easy to fold the rear seats flat. Best feature is the front passenger seat that folds forward flat- this allows you to carry some impressive cargo. I have carried five interior house doors (30"x 80") in this car, carried 68 8ft long deck boards and all kinds of lumber/building materials. There is no other car in this size category that can do that. Overall a very practical car that is sized just right, fun to drive, very solid feeling, and performs very well in poor weather. My only complaint is I wish the cloth seats were less prone to staining and I wish it had LED headlights. If you can find a used low mileage one with a Premium Package buy it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050