Skip to main content

Used 2019 Volkswagen Golf SportWagen Consumer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
31 reviews
1...

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2019 Golf SportWagen, so we've included reviews for other years of the Golf SportWagen since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

A great buy at ANY price!

Sue from Georgia, 07/18/2019
updated 07/21/2023
2019 Volkswagen Golf SportWagen 1.4T S 4dr Wagon (1.4L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
21 of 21 people found this review helpful

This is a LOT of car for the money, and with VW's generous incentives, I paid considerably less than you would think. I can drive it all day with ease and comfort, fantastic visibility, loads of cargo room, nicely-designed driver's cockpit make this an exceptional car for the money. I like the cloth seats better than the simulated leather, as they seem to be cooler on hot days. I do miss is a built-in on-board GPS. If you don't have a smartphone, you're in trouble. Back seat passenger space can be a little lacking, but I didn't buy this to haul around other adults. For a small car, cargo area is massive. Nice fit and finish -- and I'm pretty picky. When you close the door, it thumps like a Mercedes, it doesn't ping like some other imports. Fun to drive, great handling, quiet, I just can't say enough good things about this automobile. 8 MONTH UPDATE: I've got 10k miles on the car now, and I still love it. It has been bulletproof reliable, no problems. One recall for a micro-switch was quickly and easily addressed at the first (complimentary) oil change visit. The hauling capacity has been impressive. Twice I have hauled a full-size 6-foot door with no problems -- and with the rear hatch closed all the way! Driving it is still fun and sportscar-like. I put a tow hitch on it and am able to haul around my SeaDoo pwc, (front-wheel drive makes launching and retrieving from water a breeze), and occasionally I haul a utility trailer. I do miss having a built-in c.d. player and gps, though, and will be purchasing a windshield-mount gps for this car, as many areas where I live have no cell reception, so no gps on the phone, either. Visibility whilst driving is great, with absolutely NO blind spots. Acceleration is also impressive. When you put your foot down and that turbo engages, it pops off like a rocket. Great mpg (38) and generous-sized gas tank means the range on this car is longer than any car I've owned. The cruise control works as smoothly and seamlessly as the one in my Jaguar. After getting a flat tire in middle of Atlanta traffic, I do wish that it had a full-size spare instead of those ridiculous "donut" spares. The compact size makes parking in small spaces a breeze, and the resolution on the back-up camera is excellent. Definitely highly recommend this fine automobile! 4-YEAR UPDATE: Heading into 45,000 miles now. Still loving this car and its sports-car-like handling. It's comfortable for regular 8-hour-plus drives to Florida. I now carry two folding e-bikes in the generous cargo compartment, which has allowed me to get rid of a cumbersome fat tire bicycle rack. This is the BEST car I have ever owned! (And I've owned a lot!)

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

LOTS of BANG for the BUCK!

Sean, 07/22/2018
2018 Volkswagen Golf SportWagen TSI S 4Motion 4dr Wagon AWD (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

I’ve come to VW after 15 years with Volvo, out of financial necessity— as well as styling. My new VW 4Motion Sportwagen checks all the boxes— I’m now calling it The Poor Man’s Volvo! I honestly can’t believe VW can build this car for under $30K— thats WAY under $30K! A little internet searching lead me to a smoking deal at a dealer outside Boston. Well worth the drive from Connecticut, for a deal $5200off sticker!!! This car is awesome beyond words— yes, it’s the base wagon, with 4motion— which is all I honestly wanted. It’s truly a chic little wagon, looks like tens of thousands more than it costs, and I can’t beleive I’m thinking this: I can’t wait for snow! It’s my first all-wheel-drive and I finally will have confidence to be out and about when the snow flies. If you’re looking for something so much more in every way than a Subaru— for thousands less— take a look at the new Golf Sportwagen. No one can beleive how little I paid for it— a friend thought it was the small BMW wagon.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

VW Golf Sportwagon 4 Motion

Jeff, 05/28/2019
updated 12/08/2023
2019 Volkswagen Golf SportWagen 1.8T S 4MOTION 4dr Wagon AWD (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6M)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

The VW Golf Sportwagon 4 Motion & Alltrack fills an automotive niche, nimble, fun to drive & handy station wagon - not an SUV. Five year in, zero complaints or automotive issues - reliable and 32mpg. Unfortunately, new Golf Sportwagons & All Tracks are no longer available in North America though they exist in other markets including sporty R version. Let’s hope VW returns the Sportwagon/ ‘Estate Wagon’ in some format to North America in the future.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Driver Found 4(E)motion! 70k miles and going!...

Marusik, 10/29/2018
updated 11/13/2023
2018 Volkswagen Golf SportWagen TSI S 4Motion 4dr Wagon AWD (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6AM)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

Best value for a compact vehicle. Perfect combination of drivability and practicality. The DSG/4Motion combination is a huge plus. Not to mention the 7 year or 72k manufacturer's warranty... After 15k miles of mixed driving, long haul and short trips, my enjoyment remains high. I love driving this car in any weather and road condition. The 4Motion is pretty reliable in snowed roads, and it holds amazingly in tight curves. 25 MPG combined remains pretty decent. Up to 35 when cruising on the highway at 70-75 mph. The extra cargo space in the wagon is another big plus, which can accommodate for a wide range of loads, including the occasional trip to IKEA. So far my only visits to the dealer were for a 10k basic service and more recently for a minor recall related to a "micro switch" on the steering wheel. After having reached the 30k mark without any issues, I continue to love the versatility and drivability of this vehicle. It behaves accordingly to any driving condition, rain or shine, and the extra cargo space is always a big plus for the occasional family road and camping trips. 60k miles later and a new set of tires. After upgrading to Bridgestone Turanza the ride comfort and quietness got noticeable better. The vehicle has been served at the local VW dealer for its scheduled maintenance. Being the most costly one so far the DSG oil change ($500 every 40K). (Fun fact: few months ago I discovered that "launch control" can be activated by switching off "traction control" and pressing the brake and gas pedal simultaneously. Obviously this feature was not included in the owner's manual :) 70k miles update: This vehicle is both, my working and pleasure horse. After having reached the 70K miles mark, driving in all kinds roads and driving conditions, I haven't experienced any issues at all. After the last service I was told that the front brakes might need replacement soon. Not too bad after 70k miles of spirited driving ;) All in all, looking forward to many more miles of driving enjoyment!

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Drivers car

IM, 07/25/2018
updated 02/01/2019
2018 Volkswagen Golf SportWagen TSI SEL 4dr Wagon (1.8L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

My wife needed a new car. I gave her an option of Honda CRV or the Sportwagen and she chose the latter, perceiving CRV as old woman's car. I chose SEL for adaptive cruise control and we got it for $5k below list price. My wife likes keyless entry (and closing), button start, automatic lights and wipers, dual climate control, navigation system that can be easily set without a phone, 12 way seat adjustment with 2D lumbar controls and automatically dimming rear mirror. She likes the car stability when it is glued to the road. She likes that everything works well. She even liked the sunroof when driving through the mountains. I like the adaptive cruise control and that the acceleration is effortless with minimal (and pleasant) engine noise. A bit concern is some road noise on bad surfaces, probably due to Cinturato P7 (not Plus) tires but it is not worse than the CRV or Volvo V60. Updated Jan, 2019 This car is OK at lower speeds but becomes magic over 70 mph. Changing lanes takes a fraction of energy compared to other cars and is pure fun instead of struggle. Glorious inside lighting entering. The only minus so far is road noise on bad surfaces.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1...
Items per page:
5