Used 2011 Toyota Highlander Limited 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 5A) Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$13,650 - $15,977

Used Highlander for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Satisfied

maringa, 05/16/2011
Limited 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Just received our new Toyota Highlander, Limited FWD last week. It has been a pleasure to drive, and since I bought it for my wife, I haven't had much of a chance to drive it myself. Extremely comfortable, quiet and easy on the road. First tank is showing about 18.8 mpg in mixed driving. Hoping that it goes up a little as we break it in. When on a flat highway, for about 30 miles, it showed 23 mpg. Car feels bigger than what it is. Plenty of leg room in the back and front. The test will be 6 month to 1 year into the purchase - will follow-up then.

Report Abuse

Great car...some quality issues...poor customer experience...

tjbss, 06/03/2014
Limited 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

The only negative regarding this car relates to quality issues (power windows and sun visor) and specifically the way the dealership and Toyota executed their customer service. Otherwise, the vehicle is a joy to drive and (so far) very reliable. The driver's sun visor has broken twice in less than three years. The dealership, Rice Toyota, and Toyota have, in the end replaced the sun visor at no charge, however Toyota corp's customer service has disappointed me due to failed follow up promises. The power window failed due to a nut that came off the window...a repair we paid for. These relatively "minor' repairs make me less positive toward the brand's quality and customer service.

Report Abuse

Stay away from the Pricy Nav System

hondaowner56, 04/23/2012
Limited 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

Good overall, but it doesn't mean competition is bad. If you're interested in the Nav, the only advantage you'll get for $2000 extra is the bigger backup camera screen. Nav is terrible for $2000. TOYOTA MUST GIVE AWAY this nav rather than sell it. It's very old tech. Many owners also get lost because they can't park the car just to make corrections. Voice command is very ancient and limited (only 3 entries shown at a time). Save the $2000, buy the high-end portable nav, and keep the difference. You'll get better and safer guidance. I drive with the screen always off because of the frustrating User interface.

Report Abuse

Love our 2011 Toyota Highlander

bossman8, 09/20/2011
Limited 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

This suv drives like a BMW. Have not found anything I would change.

Report Abuse

Great SUV

jjm_jr, 03/22/2011
Limited 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my Highlander about 1 month ago, and it's a dream to drive. I am running about 19 mpg, taking it easy on the throttle. On trips she is a dream. I previously drove a 08 FJ Cruiser and loved it, but had enough with the noise in the cabin. The Higjlander is a Fantastic SUV, as it feels more like a luxury car no more road noise either.

Report Abuse

"Warranty enhancement" --- not honored

Serena Gutierrez, 03/07/2019
Limited 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Took my 2011 Highlander into a local dealer when I received a letter from Toyota about a warranty enhancement on the back lift gate. Service personnel told me my car did not qualify for the "enhancement" ---- which was offered by Toyota free of charge. Several months later I traded my car in at the same dealership..... A sales rep told me that they were really working on the car --- that there was a warranty enhancement for the back lift gate and they were replacing and painting a lot of the back end. When I owned it = no warranty enhancement. When the dealership owned it = warranty enhancement. The moral of the story = check with more than one dealership about a warranty enhancement. It is apparently negotiable. By the way --loved my 2011.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love it !

M. Pickus, 10/21/2010
Limited 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
4 of 8 people found this review helpful

We purchased out Highlander Limited on 10/18/11 and love it. The build quality is fantastic, it drive and handles great. The integrated Navigation, Bluetooth and JBL sound system are fun to use. The power front seats are very comfortable. Deland Toyota did a great job on providing us a great SUV at a Great Price.

Report Abuse

I searched two years for this car!

moonlightbiker, 01/11/2011
Limited 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After a two year search I finally HAD to get a car when my engine blew. I have to admit I didn't like anything out there. I even disliked the Highlander at first glance but discovered it was the basic I saw. I forced myself to go back and look again after hearing a friend rave about theirs. Sure enough the molding on the side panel for the Limited made all the difference in the world, and when I opened the door... WOW! I was in love. This car feels like a Land Rover when you sit in it. It's more solid than anything else I tested, which was everything else. The interior can only be compared to the luxury of Lexus. It is whisper quiet to drive & amazingly comfortable. I love it!

Report Abuse

Love the 2011 Highlander

Tom Mims, 11/26/2010
Limited 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this car for my wife, both of us love it. It is responsive, low road noise, fun to drive and feels like a quality vehicle. With no problems noted in first 500 miles, not really sure about how to rate reliability other than my research on past model highlanders so I gave it a 9. This crossover SUV has just about every comfort feature one could want and its interior design is well thought out. We RV/ camp a lot, I pull the camper with my truck and my wife pulls my boat, so the ability to occasionally tow up to 5000 lbs with tow pkg prep and accessory options was part of purchase decision. Safety features and rating were also a consideration in our decision to purchase the Highlander.

Report Abuse

Smooth & Powerful Drivetrain. Gas Mileage disappoints

spottedone, 09/10/2011
Limited 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 5A)
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

I purchased this Highlander Limited early August and have about 2500 miles on it. I just completed a trip from Phoenix to San Diego. I bought the car for the smooth, quiet ride and performance and it has not disappointed. I had test drove an Infiniti SUV and the Acura MDX. Overall, I am happy with the car. The gas mileage has ranged from 19.4 to 22mpg. My Low fuel warning light is coming on too early with about 4.5 gal remaining in tank. This is around 322 miles which is very irritating. I think the Navigation system is too complicated as evidenced by the large instruction manual. Cargo cover installation is a pain. We really need ventilated seats in AZ.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050