Used 2007 Suzuki Reno Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,865 - $5,611

Used Reno for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

I Love It

James, 10/26/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I love it. The Reno is everything that I need and nothing that I don't. It is spacious for such a small vehicle. The base level is what I went with and with such an affordable price tag who could pass it up?

Report Abuse

Lousy car

hikaru_n, 07/29/2014
4dr Hatchback w/ABS (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

This car is riddled with electrical and sensor problems. Had to get them to replace the headlights. Very bad acceleration and shifting. Probably the worst car I've ever had. It's my fault I didn't do enough research on this car. It was inexpensive and fun to drive but now I'm already really wanting to trade this piece of crap in for a mazda 3 hatchback. Which I should have bought in the first place. TRUST ME DO NOT BUY THIS CAR YOU WILL NOT DRIVE IT!

Report Abuse

Awesome Small Car

shintaro, 10/16/2008
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I had this car for almost 6 motnhs and never had a problem with it. I enjoy driving it and not bad on gas mileage, actually I bought the car to save gas even if I was looking for Chevy Cobalt. The dealer gave me this because the cobalt was a little bit expensive and I have another loan that's why they didn't gave me the Cobalt. Anyway, I didn't regret having this car. And it can fit up to 5 people including driver and you can park anywhere (easy to park) and as most everyone's saying. I did expect to get more than 31+ miles per gallon but I'm only getting 31 on highway and 24 city. And I compared the back seat to a Chevy Impala SS and the Reno was bigger. I like this car

Report Abuse

Reno-Divorce

anti_suzuki, 10/18/2011
4dr Hatchback w/Convenience Package (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

My quarrel is not with the car, which is built in Korea by Daewoo, but with the service and treatment of the Suzuki dealers. I have only had two issues with this car in 45,000 miles, but the last one was the last straw. I was charged $278 to fix a defective $45 electronic sensor. I watched the mechanic take 15 minutes, but they charged me 45 minutes labor. I told them what was wrong, internet supported common problem, and they charged me an additional $100 to diagnose it. I am trying to unload the car now and I would caution EVERYONE away from Suzuki cars. They dowble talk you with big warranties for which you still have to pay if the engine or trans do not fail completely. Stay Away!

Report Abuse

Should have had recalls

clover5, 01/11/2013
4dr Hatchback w/ABS (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought mine new and have always had an issue with it having gaps in acceleration. Dealer said nothing wrong. Clutch worn very fast 35 k or so. Dealer said I had to replace I still have not 142 k. My major problem is it has always had poor gas mileage and codes it is not running effiecient. I have replaced the throttle body and sensor since you can't get just the sensor, O2 sensors, plugs wires etc. It has had all normal and regular maintenence. The "gaps" are getting worse and it is not an automatic. The automatic ones just shift gears at any time. No problems with these have ever been a recall. I owned a KIA before and never had any issues. I can see why these cars are gone !

Report Abuse

Good Little Car

Glenn, 01/12/2007
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

So far my Reno has been a good solid car. I have the manual transmission. Its power is OK for a car in this class. The interior is a little uncomfortable, but with an 8-way adjusting driver seat and plenty of front leg room, it's OK. It sounds good, I haven't noticed excessive wind noise yet. Backing up is a little troublesome. Coming from a Ford Ranger with a very open rear view, it feels a bit claustrophobic looking out the rear window. Overall, at the price I bought it, I'm very satisfied.

Report Abuse

Love My Reno

devbot , 09/16/2008
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased my Reno as a birthday present to myself. I love my car, and how it hasn't broken down yet. I've owned mine for about six months now. The interior is very roomy, and the instrument panel is very simple and logical. Styling is very European, and there's plenty of space in the trunk. My only real complaint about it, is that I wish there were a more powerful engine option. I know this is an economy car, but I really wish that it had like the SX-4 engine option. The suspension could be a little stiffer, I mean it handles well, but I'd like less body roll. Again I know this is an economy car, but sometimes you may have to do some avoidance maneuver.

Report Abuse

great car

comgetsum, 09/04/2009
4dr Hatchback w/ABS (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
3 of 6 people found this review helpful

I bought my car in April of 07 when I got it it was bone stock I got the blue metallic I've since added 18'wheels intake, exhaust, chip, bigger injectors and ported and polished the intake. Have not had one issue with this car and im a abid street racer I keep up with evos and sti's this is awesome grand stock its very slow but for the money u get lots of standard features **** the Ford Focus there base modek car has crank handles to roll up the Windows. To bad they they dont make the Reno or forenza anymore I think Suzuki was dumb for recalling them.

Report Abuse

Pleasantly Surprised

jpcommute, 03/16/2009
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I recently purchased a 5spd Reno (46K) for a commuter. I drive 90 miles round trip to work, about 90% interstate. The car is better than expected. The editor reviews seem to be a bit harsh. The ride is good, pretty quiet, handling is OK, peppy engine with the 5 spd, no problems merging etc.The standard features are way above the economy class norm. The mpg has been close to advertised, I have ranged between 26-28.5 mpg with an average 25% city 75% hwy driving. Hwy speeds between 70-77 mph. If you are looking for max mpg, look elsewhere, the Reno offers a pretty good package at the current used prices, shop around and get one at trade-in value and you will have a good 1st car or commuter.

Report Abuse

Great Car, Great Value

jperez, 01/31/2007
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love it the Reno. It is small sleek, stylish, has power everything, and costs less than $15,000. Enough said.

Report Abuse

Extremely Well Thought Out

Charley Reno, 03/08/2007
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Suzuki Reno is a superb value. Up and coming Suzuki delivers with just the right formula. It has unique and attractive styling, in and out. It also has lots of standard features, pretty darn good stereo CD with four 2-way speakers and four 1" tweeters (all 8 are door-mounted). I like its smooth acceleration and seamless shifting. It has nice 15" tires with full wheel covers. I also like the 8-way driver seat plus 3-position lumbar support. It's no hot rod, but for less than $14,000 there's a DOHC 2.0 liter 4-cylinder GM-designed engine that is more than adequate (made in Australia). Obviously, the gas mileage will not be 33/38 like the tin cans out there get, but 22/30 ain't bad. Plus, you're getting a lot more car for almost the same price. Definitely check this one out.

Report Abuse

manual transmission

Ellen, 09/10/2009
4dr Hatchback w/ABS (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I am not happy at all with the transmission in this car. I am already repairing the clutch. the transmission has too much play and is very finicky with RPM to get a shift at the right time for "economy" I have always driven stick shifts. I have 48,000 on the car right now, as I commute a good distance to work. Would not be my choice again. I miss my KIA !!!!

Report Abuse

Same Problems As the '06

Cris, 10/13/2006
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
4 of 17 people found this review helpful

I was put into a '07 Suzuki Reno after I had “hard start” issues with the 2006 model after having the car for just five days. The ’07 model developed hard start issues, again after just five days. The dealer put me back in the ’06, which he claims is fixed. This issue first became apparent in the ‘06 last Spring, although the company has yet to develop a permanent fix. Suzuki claims (through the dealer) that the hard start problem is limited to the ’06 and the ’07 I got was a fluke. If I could get Suzuki to void my contract, I would and I would never again buy a Suzuki or recommend one to anyone, even my worst enemy. Don’t even consider this car!

Report Abuse

A Good buy Even Better

SportDog, 01/19/2007
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Reno has a lot more get up an go than I had expected. On my trip home from the dealer I had stopped for a traffic signal and pulled out when the light changed and was up to 35 mph when I realized I was still in 5th gear. I got 29 mpg on the trip home from the dealer. I decided to drive from home to the top of Whitetop mountain (1,600 ft to 3,100 ft altitude). It went up the mountain at 40 mph in 5th gear with no feeling of strain or handling problems on the 25 mph curves. When the pavement gave way to gravel and 4 inches of snow I down shifted to 4th gear and slowed down to 35 mpg and zipped past several 4 wheel drive vehicles sitting in the ditches. Mu 49 mpg on the trip was excellent.

Report Abuse

My Reno

Dewalt, 09/23/2007
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

First off, let me tell you that I am one of those guys that races every car I buy. I am a mechanic as well so I do all my own engine work. I have modified my Reno with minor modifications and I do pretty well at the track with it. Because of the type of car that it is no one ever sees it coming and they underestimate it. It does great on a drag strip but the handling leaves a lot to be desired. I bought the car for a work vehicle initially but then my curiosity got the better of me and now that I have raced it I am thoroughly impressed with it.

Report Abuse

Great bang for the buck

blu5092, 05/22/2008
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have this car less than a year and have no issues so far. It is comfortable, quick and good on gas. If you floor it, only then do you suffer poor gas mileage. Sometimes I can't help it since I am so impressed by this small motor. For a 2.0 this car is very fast. For anyone who doesn't want to hurt their wallet, this car beats any toyota that's similar in size.

Report Abuse

Horrible car

Never again. Don’t make my mistake in buying this car, 04/20/2018
4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Take your money and throw it out the window. Everything breaks very easily.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice Looking Car, but Keep Looking

Jack H, 01/27/2007
4dr Hatchback w/ABS (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the Reno because I desperately needed a car. I should have done more research. My car has had starting problems many times. It also gets terrible gas mileage for a compact car. I average about 21 mpg with city and highway driving. A friend has an '06 Impala that gets 30 mpg with a V6 engine. The seats are a little uncomfortable and the manual transmission is terrible. How much would a decent linkage cost Suzuki to put in. The engine is also underpowered. I am considering trading in the car for a Cobalt since the reviews that I have read about it are quite good.

Report Abuse

Billie's Review

billie, 04/07/2007
4dr Hatchback w/Convenience Package (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A fun vehicle to own. Not only can I go when I want with the quality travel I want, but it is very versatile for a family of 3 (me, my wife and my 12 month old son).

Report Abuse

Great value

revtomax, 10/18/2007
4dr Hatchback w/Convenience Package (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just purchased one and I love it. Great looks, great paint, fun to drive. The options it comes with are great am, fm, cd player front and rear wipers, easy controls. Just a lot for a little. I have owned a Focus in the past and there is a lot in this car that the Focus didn't have for the price. And the warranty, well that itself almost sold me the car.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050