Used 1992 Subaru SVX Coupe Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$776 - $1,805

Used SVX for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Svx....sweetest car ever made.

girlofthenorth, 09/15/2008
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This car is awesome, I live in an area of over 150,000 people and never see another one! People always stare and ask what it is... haha. I love this car, it's super fast, but bad tranny:( too bad they didn't make them 5 speed. Auto tranny is poor and expensive to fix. $1400 for a tranny overhaul at around 120k miles. Engine is quiet, never burns oil. Brakes seem a little weak even after replacing things, still squeak. Rear wheel bearings seem to be a common issue on all Subarus I've heard of. AWD is sweet as hell though. Don't want to get rid of this car ever!

Report Abuse

Fell in love at first sight

ron193, 03/26/2011
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Take off feels like an American luxury V8, except it's awd so no tires slip. You'll get complements "what kind of car is that" question. I love the asymmetric mag wheels (L/R are different) which adds to uniqueness. It's a heavy and wide car, slalom like bends gets the car leaning like a boat, but it still grips. Great city driver if you don't mind the 6cyl mileage, great hwy cruiser. Braking is mediocre for car of this weight and pwr. Only problems were creaky dashboard (known to Subaru) and weak Tranny, which died after I traded it in. I'd taken it on fishing trip & even minor offroad (by accident) stoped when tranny temp light turned on. I'd buy this car again if possible.

Report Abuse

great car except for tranny

ozzy1, 10/20/2004
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Loved to drive the car, but had to put in 4 transmissions in the 9 years I owned it (bought it new in '92) Yes 4 trannys. Two were under warantee, but the last two were my expense and at over $3K...yikes. Got rid when it went again. I did not drive it hard either. CV boots go every year as well and tough to keep in allignment. With all that said, I would still be driving it if it were not for the tranny, as this was a great car to drive.

Report Abuse

Definitely a different drive

Xodi-SVX, 06/06/2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased my Subaru SVX back in May of '04 and have never looked back. This car is completely different from every other car on the road. Its rare to see another one, and quite honestly, owning one is like having a membership into a cult of sorts. The 3.3 liter Boxer H-6 engine definitely puts out the power to the wheels, which happens to be all wheel drive. Coupled with independent ABS on each disc (Yes, four discs, not two discs and two drums), this car will get you up to speed and back to a halt in no time flat. And if you're not sold on it yet, here is another tidbit. When you floor it, a green light on the dash displays POWER. Such a rush to drive.

Report Abuse

Review of 1992 Subaru SVX

Bo Bowman, 03/01/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My SVX has been a relatively reliable and fun-to-drive sport car. I have always been particularly impressed with the "quiet and smooth powerfulness" of the engine. It has always ridden well. I continually get questions and compliments relative to its sleek and "split window" exterior design. I believe its weakest design feature is the transmission. I have had it rebuilt one time, and I have heard that this is not unusual for this car. Also, I have found that parts are very expensive, and gas mileage is not good. I would say that it is an excellent buy right now for someone who wants a luxury style sport car at a less than $3,000 price tag.

Report Abuse

Why it has grown on us!

Brigitte Javidara, 02/01/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

It is one of the most fun-cars to drive. I traded in my 1989 Corvette for this SVX and immediately became a stable and peaceful person. The smooth and in particular the quiet drive, even at speed, is a real driving experience. It's like sitting in an air plane, smooth and quiet. There never were any technical problems. Now that I am older however, it is a little harder for me to get in and out of the car.

Report Abuse

Great car, expensive to fix

ChrisP, 04/24/2003
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for almost 5 years now. Bought it with 80k. Tranny fixed under warantee, 24k later, tranny fixed again. Front rotors warped, got aftermarket 'low heat' pads when turned rotors and rotor live seems to have improved. Power steering hoses popped off twice.

Report Abuse

What more can you ask for

vollball81, 03/05/2004
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought this car with 180k on it and it runs perfect still. The interior is perfect. The tranny was rebuilt, and the car electronically works perfectly. This car I expect to go at least another 100k

Report Abuse

Great besides the transmission

SkubaSteevo, 07/07/2003
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought the car last year with about 78k and have put just over 8k miles on it. The only big problem has been the transmission, which needed to be rebuilt about 1/2 yr ago. Excelent car overall.

Report Abuse

Trouble Free is Me

Jazzy Min, 08/01/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Ten years and going strong. Unsurpassed all weather handling. Quality manufacturing and design, both interior and exterior. Superb reliability. If they sold it again, I would buy in a heartbeat. The WRX is great, but the SVX is incomparable.

Report Abuse

best sport for the funds

cargamer03, 10/24/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

very good car. great performance that pulls you in your seat but also holds like your mother when you were a kid. only prob that i have found is that there are literally no factory made modification that you can find. other than that if you just want a car this is the one that will get looks. beat all the four bangers and save you gas money. subaru made a great one this time

Report Abuse

Svxiness in San Diego

dgranet, 03/29/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car was and still is ahead of its time. Worried about safety in a small car? Not in this incredibly solid vehicle. All wheel drive with excellent power and handling completes the package. And its different! Don't forget this car competed with the BMW (and for me won). With only 14000 in the US it is becoming a collector's item.

Report Abuse

Favorite thus-far

lots-o-cars, 09/12/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car all-around. I bought it at 114k miles, and have driven it for about 15k miles. The only thing I've replaced is the water pump. AWD so it corners amazingly. Very comfortable. more-so than my Infiniti. people try to race me every time i drive it. And i usually win. But always get a thumbs up or something. Very sturdy. This car was hit in a parking lot by an H2 hummer (and repaired) prior to me buying it. Then less than 2 weeks after I bought it, it was hit on the same corner (front right) by a big White work van. I bent the fender off of the tire and the car drove perfectly straight. I also hit a rock big enough to break my rim on the same front right tire. No real damage.

Report Abuse

SVX under-rated

love subies, 10/12/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got my SVX 3 years ago with a new transmission because the original owner towed it by the front tires forgetting it is awd. The tranny was $4800 but i only paid $3200 for it! I have since put in new ignition, fuel system, harmonic balancer, head gaskets, door locks, antenna motor, spark plugs and wires, rack and pinion, and more. Talk about not cheap. One of the upper glass pieces on the doors was over $300 dollars new, but I went to a junk yard and got it for $75 but was $80 to install. What can I say I love this car, and have been looking for the chip and supercharger I want. Soon I will have my Superu

Report Abuse

'92 Subaru SVX AWD

PhoenixSVX, 09/29/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I 'inherited' this car with 86K miles on it from a family member who had purchased it new and treated it very kindly. The transmission [the weak link in the chain] had been rebuilt at 73K miles. I immediately installed the largest external transmission cooler that could fit. The vehicle consistently gets 19-20 mpg in town and I've seen 30 mpg on the highway and is very comfortable. I found a local mechanic that loves the cars and, other than for routine maintenance, the car is never in the shop and has never let me down. It's an absolute blast to drive through curving mountain roads. It's neat to pull up to a stoplight and not see three other ones there with you like some other makes.

Report Abuse

'92 Subaru SVX LS 'Touring'

Roy Corley, 11/30/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I 'inherited' the car in March of 2009 from my sister-in-law who bought it new in Tucson. The car had 86K miles and the transmission had been rebuilt around 75K. The car had led a very sheltered life and was in exceptional condition for its age. Within a week, it received a complement at a stoplight from a Ferrari driver. I drove the car on a 3700 mile loop through Texas and New Mexico in July. It never missed a beat and averaged 28 mpg for the trip. It's an absolute blast to drive through mountain twisties. The car has never let me down, but finding a quality mechanic is of utmost importance. Fortunately, I found one here in Scottsdale that loves the car and is honest as the day is long.

Report Abuse

owner

chuckP, 03/05/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

very good

Report Abuse

Space Car!

ww111, 03/12/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fantastic Car! Great in Summer, Winter, and Nobody knows what it is.

Report Abuse

Great car, expensive to fix

Chrisp, 04/24/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had this car for almost 5 years now. Bought it with 80k. Tranny fixed under warantee, 24k later, tranny fixed again. Front rotors warped, got aftermarket 'low heat' pads when turned rotors and rotor live seems to have improved. Power steering hoses popped off twice.

Report Abuse

experiences with 1992 SVX

jstav, 03/30/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent auto-bot it new and car is wonderful enough that I kept it for 10 years. Prior this car I had a new car once a year it seems, including 9 mercedes,infiniti,etc. Car needs some work and has a small dent in L front fender, but still one the most powerful and responsive cars I have ever driven.

Report Abuse

Unique and wickedly quick

Alan, 05/29/2017
LS 2dr Coupe AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Despite abundant glass sight lines are challenging. Care and attention is required to drive the car safely.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Check the Tranny

SVX Guy, 10/12/2018
LS 2dr Coupe AWD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the car in 2012 from 1st owner who maintained it very well, had only 20,000 miles on it, and now it has 41,000 miles. I have loved the design, the power, the handling, etc. The tranny is the weak point, which I knew from SVX forums, so I immediately put on a tranny filter and cooler, and have used synthetic fluid, and have had no problems with it at all. By 1994-95 Subaru had fixed the problem. If you are thinking to buy a 1992-93, check for the filter, have tranny checked by trusted mechanic. I love the car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050