Used 2006 Nissan Titan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$3,297 - $6,011

Used Titan for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Best truck I've owned

Lester Welshans, 03/16/2016
SE FFV 4dr King Cab SB (5.6L 8cyl 5A)
32 of 32 people found this review helpful

I would definitely own another. Still diving mine runs like new, no mechanical issues no warning lights and the truck is fixing to turn 322,xxx miles. I honestly have no complaints

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Rolling Thunder....

titanloving, 02/12/2012
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

My wife and I just purchased a 2006 crew cab LE Titan. Never really liked the styling of the domestic trucks and the Toyota's pricing steered me away. Even on a used Tundra with 100k miles people are asking $20 grand!! Ridiculous. A new truck being out of our price range I looked high and low for a used truck with the options I wanted with low miles and price that wasn't bad. We found it!! My truck has less than 39K miles and is fully loaded and we paid less than $20k! The captains chairs, sound system and interior styling is awesome. Truck rides great and has a little growl too with only stock exhaust. Love the chrome all around, especially the bold front. Driving is true enjoyment

Report Abuse

Best In Class

J-Dog, 02/03/2006
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I love this truck. The only complaint I have is of course the fuel economy, but it is par for all other full size trucks with a 8 cylinder motor. It has more than enough power, and the comfort is amazing. The standard motor is a top of the line upgrade for most truck makers. I used to be a diehard Dodge fan, but I couldn't go back to that after driving a Titan.

Report Abuse

bye bye chevy

Bobby, 09/13/2006
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

Well I was a chevy man for all of my 30 years until I sat behind the wheel of my new titan. By far the fastest truck I have ever owned. I see alot of mpg complaints but what would you expect from 5.6 V8. I added Cold Air induction and a few other bolt ons exhaust etc.. and am getting 13 city and 16 hwy. The Rockford sound is incredible, and my kids love the DVD. I am still finding stuff on this truck that I didn't know was there

Report Abuse

The great titan

J stevens, 11/22/2015
SE 4dr Crew Cab 4WD SB (5.6L 8cyl 5A)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

Bought my titan se 4x4 at 37000 miles it had several recalls, but no other repairs I drive 70 miles a day 6 days a week in mountainous terrain,I keep regular maintenance and have replaced brakes twice I'm at 160,000 miles now, looking at new vehicles to replace my titan nothing compares to the leg room , cargo space, power ,4x4 capability, I love my truck bed power plug in and cargo tie downs and the way my titan hugs corners .my all time favorite vehicle! I would purchase another if the gas milage was not an issue for me.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Sold on this baby!

NurseBuck, 02/19/2006
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have always driven a new Chevy 1500 series 4x4 Z71 for the last 14 years. My mother is a GM retiree, so trading truck every year was a breeze...until the last 2 years. I decided to look at the Titan, since I had nothing to loose except money on another Chevy. I was very impressed with the look and feel of the Titan. It sounds very commanding and will throw you back in your seat when you give it the gas. It's one of the most comfortable cabins I have every ridden or driven in. The shorter front end makes cornering and tight curves very nice. If you drive this truck, you will want one for sure. Yes, the MPG is less but it's a real truck..not a car.

Report Abuse

Bad Tranny

Biggy, 11/28/2006
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

We just bought this titan crew cab and it has less then 5000 miles on it and it slams into reverse. whats with that. but driving the tranny doesn't struggle at all. all its power is easily put to the tires. never had a bad shift when driving. just putting it into reverse. other than that it's a great vehicle.

Report Abuse

2006 king cab titan

neil bradford, 09/08/2006
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

I would like temperature in mirror, easier radio to understand, of course better mileage.

Report Abuse

an excellent truck!

driver1232, 08/27/2009
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

bought new. Been making me happy for years now. Comfortable, spacious, quiet on the inside. loads of power, great utility. I will buy another one without reservations. Best truck I've ever had.

Report Abuse

Nissan Built the Right Truck

estrellazero, 02/15/2006
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Titan's power is great and going 0 - 60 is just as fun as it is in a car. It rides smooth and handles like a car, and yet it's rugged enough to dig through a swamp or pull your 9500 lb. camping trailer. The interior and exterior are large and appealing. The Titan very practical as passenger, work, or playing vehicle!!

Report Abuse

Unreliable

chuckles65, 03/20/2015
SE 4dr King Cab SB (5.6L 8cyl 5A)
14 of 17 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2006 used in 2011 with 75K miles. Since then it needed new e-brake lines, front coils (broken), front disks, new exhaust (not surprising), hesitated when cold, and repairs for rear hub gaskets, ball joints, etc. to the tune of 7K in repairs. Rarely got better than 10 MPG around town. I put less that 20K on this in 3 years. Good looking, well laid-out truck, but not reliable.

Report Abuse

Best Truck I Have Ever Bought

Roadturtle, 12/14/2006
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

POWER POWER POWER I love this Nissan Titan. It has everything you could possible want in a 4x4 truck. Nissan did everything right. I have owned all of the others. Hey Ford, Chevy, Dodge, and Toyota. You are falling way behind Copy this truck. It is the best. If you drive it You WILL buy it.

Report Abuse

Not reliable

john_jt, 07/11/2013
9 of 12 people found this review helpful

Owned this truck for 7 years and had many problems with it. There were also many recalls. Looks nice but not very tough. Nissan also did not help me out when needed. I was a Nissan owner for 20 years (Pathfinder & Exterra before the Titan) but because of Nissan not caring about my problems I have now switched to Toyota.

Report Abuse

good choice

SP60, 12/02/2006
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

i traded in an F-150 for my titan. many options on my titan were not even available on the 150. this truck has excellent power for towing an 8300 lb boat. great stereo system and tons of room in the back seat. best truck i have owned!

Report Abuse

Impressed

Impressed, 10/13/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my 06 Titan from the original owner who put 88,000 miles on it in 28 months. At first, I was hesitant to buy a high mileage 2 year old truck but after having it throughly inspected, I was more than confident in it's condition. Since day one of ownership, I have felt like a teenager with his first car. This truck is built with looks, reliability and POWER. I love the power rear window, dash, room and abundant storage. I recently added a 3 inch lift and dual exhaust. Grown men gather around my truck to gawk at it and listen to the roar of the engine. I plan on owning this truck forever. The engine is a little thirsty but with a V8, what do you expect? Buy this truck, it is worth it!

Report Abuse

Best Purchase Ever

mjdevries, 02/25/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My wife and I had been looking at the titans ever since their debut in 04. We finally found a great price on an 06 SE KC 4x2. All around fantastic performer. Comfortable ride quality. though the stock drivetrain is excellent, I decided to add an intake, exhaust, headers, throttle body spacer, and programmer and WOW!!! My truck eats HEMIs for breakfast! everyone knows when I am coming down the street. This truck looks as great as it runs. I tow occasionally and it does it with no problems at all. It is like there is nothing behind me. We were so impressed with Nissan for this truck that we decided to purchase an 08 pathfinder as well. Now I don't have to fight my wife to drive my truck

Report Abuse

This Truck Rocks!!!

Rob, 12/28/2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Flat out the best truck in its class. All of the goodies of a loaded truck with great styling and absolutely fun to drive.

Report Abuse

2006 Titan

nortini, 01/08/2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

We traded our 2003 Toyota Tundra for the Titan. While the dependability of the Tundra was excellent, the Titan has a more luxurious interior and the ride is much smoother. Not much mileage on the Titan a yet , but no problems to date.

Report Abuse

The Perfect Year of the TITAN

BRACEYOSELF777, 12/26/2006
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

I purchased the 2006 base XE model TITAN with the Big Tow package. By far, this truck has had no problems. The previous years-like 04 rotor warping, or first year bugs- were not found in this truck. 27,000 miles and counting, this truck has had zero problems! The acceleration, handling, and reliability show that Nissan did their homework on this truck and broke the barrier of the 1/2 ton rut the Big Three have traditionally made. Styling keeps the truck distinct, 5 speed tranny knows which gear to shift to, the 5.6L V8 with its underrated 305hp gives a Hemi a kick in the pants, and the simplicity inside the truck doesn't make the truck boring-but not over done.

Report Abuse

Best Truck

Rafal Zep, 08/12/2006
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Best Truck off and on road. Poor Hemi drivers have too smell my dust

Report Abuse

MIXED Feelings??

guyhazard, 05/31/2012
6 of 9 people found this review helpful

There are things about this Truck I love and things I hate. The performance as far as road handeling and power are Great, this truck moves when you put your foot in it! stability steering all good even at high speed. Off Road is very poor, Handeling is rough, I have had to replace sway bar mounts 5 times the last time with a beefed up aftermarket kit and instead of the joints breaking the whole sway bar broke off. multiple broken u joints, you might think im beating this truck to death, this is simple offroad washbed driving not trail running, jumping crazieness like I used to do in my Silverado. Paint is completely faded in roof, hood and wheel wells and ive hand waxed it 4 times a year .

Report Abuse

3 year update

Tiny, 08/11/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

It's coming up to 3 yrs since I bought my Titan. The cabin is very comfy, seats are soft, leg room all around is fantastic. Loads of power from the big V8, the truck is quiet with a decent sound system and has lots of fun toys like the bluetooth and an ipod connect. It rides very well for big a truck, easy over the bumps but feels very rugged at the same time. Definitely underrated in the truck segment. I just turned 50,000 miles with ZERO problems. I'm just now looking at purchasing new tires... GREAT TRUCK

Report Abuse

Small Mistakes, Are Big

Rey Vega, 01/12/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The windshield is a major small mistake. The wipers can not keep up with the snow and ice, plus they rip on icy windshield. The defroster is too small for the size of the windshield, and cannot keep the ice off. Also only the driver's side has a door key lock. This becomes a problem when there is a sheet of ice over the door, and only one door with a key lock. There is also a problem with all the door windows taking in water and/or ice and freezing, not to mention rusting from the inside out. Why are there metal air valve steams on the tires? They break! Other than that, mileage is not what is claimed.

Report Abuse

Still An Awesome Truck After 3 Years

Allan, 01/19/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Have used the truck for a variety of purposes including towing a travel trailer, offroading, commuting at times, traveling long highway distances, hauling building materials, etc. I haven't had any problems other than two factory recalls. One for the wiring harness at the back doors and the other for an A/C related component. The truck responds flawlessly to all of my needs and above all it feels like a truck, not a living room on wheels. Exactly what I wanted in this type of vehicle. Handling is very good and stable but need to be cautious around sharp curves because of higher 4x4 centre of gravity. Poor gas mileage. Don't drive it every day & can live with higher gas consumption.

Report Abuse

Love and Hate

Al P., 11/04/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Purchased the truck in April 2006 and since then have had a love/hate relationship with it. The power, towing and off-road capability are what I admire the most about this '06 Titan. There's plenty of room in the cab with seats supportive enough not to tire me out on 300+ mile drives. The quality of materials used inside have a cheap look and feel. Great fosgate sound system. Here's what I dislike about the truck. Factory tires wore out after one season, all brake components worn out after 10000 miles, can't replace relay switches singly: have to replace entire integrated power distribution module, alternator burned out at 28000 miles, some stitching coming undone on bucket seat.

Report Abuse

Pleased with the Titan

J CHASE, 05/22/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I did my background before buying. I'm happy with the vehicle. Great power. I' having better results with gas mileage that has been reported. Try synthetic oil, mobile1. I get 15.0 In town and 19.7 On the highway. This is with about 3600 miles on the truck. Quiet ride. I also have a fiber glass topper which helps with the mileage.

Report Abuse

I've owned the rest. now I got the BEST

smoke20, 07/26/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

When I went looking for a new truck, I decided I needed a crew cab because of my kids. Well being a die hard GMC person thats where I went 1st. Prices for a 2 wheel drive four door were crazy!!! To make a long story short I tried every full size truck on the market. I was about to purchase a 2006 dodge with a hemi, when a friend suggested nissan. I was not looking for a Japanese vehicle I told him. Well after he convinced me to test drive a TITAN I bought the truck the same day. My deep water blue TITAN is the best truck I have ever owned Nissan got this one right!

Report Abuse

Nissan Built Tough

Santa fe high Demons, 03/08/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This Truck is awesome it's reliable and very confortable, it's a tough truck for everything, it's fuel economy is great i got 26 gallons to a mile from the truck on the highway and it said i was only able to get 20 but i got 26. its good on gas and it's built like the old pick up trucks. Nissan is making a sprint to the top of trucks.

Report Abuse

I love my truck

kelly, 04/17/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We love our new Nissan Titan. It is the best purchase we made. Out of all the cars and trucks we have owned, this is the best.

Report Abuse

6 month review.

Spider8408, 07/18/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Most people review a vehicle right after they buy it. I decided to wait until 6 month time period. I have 9,000 miles on her. Absolutely love it. Gas is what I expected, high 15 average. This truck has plenty of power to spare, head-turning good looks, and the ride is great. It has to be the most comfortable vehicle for long trips. I regularly pull a 5,500lb boat that you can't even tell is there. I've only had to see the dealer once and that was for a tire rotation and a passenger seat squeak. Other than that this truck has been solid, reliable and everything that I expected when I bought it. Thanks to edmunds I got a great deal on it. Sticker 33,6 bought 27,7 after TMV + rebates

Report Abuse

Just buy it!

Brian, 09/06/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I drive 36,000 miles a year. I go through vehicles every couple of years. After wasting countless time and money on the other guys, I decided to go with a foreign truck for the first time. I couldn't be happier. The reliability, performance, handling, quality, and dependability are insane. I am on the road all day for business, and I sometimes haul and tow to capacity, and the Titan has never let me down. And it's never needed to go in for warranty. That's something I've NEVER experienced with my American vehicles. I buy USA first, but after buying USA first with several USA vehicles I had to trade loyalty for quality.

Report Abuse

Awesome truck!

Shawn, 04/09/2010
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I love my truck! Yes the gas is an issue but the power that this monster has makes you forget that! I did have an issue with the radio but got it taken care of pretty cheap. This thing is huge. The parking sensors definitely come in Handy. My wife loves driving it too as you feel like King of the road, no one will cut you off ever!

Report Abuse

I like it!

Ron Parker, 02/22/2006
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Great fun to drive, leaving Hemi's in the dust! Corners like a sports coupe. Five speed transmission is perfect. Load or trailer doesn't even change anything. Lots of room inside.

Report Abuse

Depends.

sucks, 12/11/2010
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Got this car brand new from a dealer in 2006 here is a list of all problems i had exhaust leak at 32 km axle seal leak at 55 km breaks wore out every 12 to 15 km emergency breaks still doesn't works (dealer said it's normal) very weak to haul heavy loads! what i do like about it that it is comfortable inside for a longer trips. Interior design is very simple and easy. average on mixed driving maybe 13.5 mpg.

Report Abuse

Great truck

Steve K, 10/19/2009
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck new in 2006, and have loved it ever since. Had to replace the front rotors and brakes under warranty, so I'll be watching that, but otherwise, no problems. We drive it every day, but have tried to keep the overall miles low. This vehicle does it all - SUV, car, truck all in one with TONS of power. Gas mileage isn't great, but isn't much worse than many smaller SUVS. Blows the Chevy's, Fords, and Toyota's away in every category.

Report Abuse

way cool

super titan, 12/15/2009
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

this truck is totally way cool, and very strong.this truck will beat the socks off the new ford , chevy , dodge, and toyota.trucks yes the 2010 domestics, my truck has a d.f. 10 single chamber racing muffler and it can be heard a block away, and it increased h.p by 23 and tq, by 11 ft.lbs the paint is very clean, the workmanship of this truck is 2nd to none period.

Report Abuse

Sharp looking and fun to drive

Rob, 09/20/2006
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is my first import and so far I am very impressed with the style and ride of the titan. The small features like the tail gate, back compartment and large driver controled real window with the fantastic sound system are great touches. The speed of response with the engine is very good and it sounds great.

Report Abuse

Awesome

Baldbudman8, 11/22/2006
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I just bought my 2006 Titan and all I can say is...WOW!!!! This truck has all the bells and whistles that Ford and Chevy has but with a lower ticket price. It handles like a dream and is the most comfortable truck i have owned. This truck and me will be around for many years to come.

Report Abuse

Trucks Aren't Just For Boys

candy miller, 06/03/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am a mom and grandma of 3 and always wanted a truck and finally got one and I am so happy with this truck. It is so roomy and 6 of us can fit into it very easily. The gas is pretty brutal though. And I have one of Nissan's tailgate extenders and once you lose one of the knobs they are irreplaceable, so whatever you do, don't lose one. This truck is so powerful and fun to drive and my sons love it too. My grandsons love the entertainment system. I love all the exterior chrome on the outside. You really feel like you're in a big, safe vehicle.

Report Abuse

2006 Nissan Titan

Happy Owner, 08/19/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Coming straight from an 01 F150 supercrew with the 5.4L Titan, there is no comparison! Hands down this truck is the pinnacle of power, acceleration and comfort. I quickly found that people who only get 12~16 mpg are heavy on the throttle! It's got power, but jumping into that power from a stand still is costly. It's fun to drive because of the power.. but if you use that power (all the time), you'll pay for it at the pump. With normal driving, I can average 17~19.5 mpg. Hey..it's a truck. If I wanted 30 mpg, I would have purchased a car. This truck is a solid performer and I love it.

Report Abuse

Great truck!

Gary, 09/08/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this from original owner in Jan. of '08 with 22k. It's got 37k on it and it's been a great ride so far. No squeaks, solid as a rock, FAST, handsome and just plain fun. I get 16 mpg in town and 18-19 on the road. It's my daily driver, handles small truck tasks (hauling stuff, etc.) and the king cab works great to take my wife and daughter on trips. I have step rails and a bed cap - highly recommended. Put your luggage in the back and you're off!

Report Abuse

like the mean look and power

joel29m, 11/02/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I'm a Chevy man, but that Titan changed my thoughts. I got an 06 Titan, and can't wait to get up the next day to ride in style. I bought it in sept. 08 with 39,000 miles and could not leave it hanging. God blessed me with this truck because I thought I would never get one. I love the body style and engine performance. One main thing I love about it is that it sounds like it has dual exhaust when it doesn't. It's a gas drinker, but gas mileage is 99% better than my old 97 Chevy Tahoe!

Report Abuse

Great Truck!

Marc, 12/03/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought this (XE Crewcab) w/11000 miles on it. Had an 05 Impala and wanted a truck. Looked at the other trucks, but once I drove this I was hooked! It's a fun truck to drive and own. Looks good, sounds good, and with the power available, it's FAST (love the acceleration, when you need it). The whole family fits in it comfortably and whats more, safely! I thought the bed might be too small, but with the tailgate down and the bed extension down I've hauled a queen size mattress set with no problem. A little hard on the gas, but as others have said "It's a truck", if I was concerned about gas I would have purchased another car. Overall, an excellent vehicle!

Report Abuse

Everything I want, just excellent!

Adroita, 12/02/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Very satisfied with this truck after almost 3 years. Great power, smooth acceleration, reliable. Solid vehicle with a great ride and good road feedback. Suspension is excellent. Feels like a German car in truck form. I love it.

Report Abuse

Titan Exterior Paint

jmc, 12/10/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I like the truck overall, but hate the paint finish. I have experience circles of paint that randomly fall of the vehicle down to the primer. I showed the dealer these circles on the tailgate and they said it was rock chips. How do you get rock chips on a tailgate? When I use touch-up paint it eventually comes off again, so there is something wrong with the prep prior to painting. I had a Sherwin- Williams automotive paint specialist look at these and he agreed that the viods were not due to rock chips. This is a weakness in the vehicle that can hurt resale value.

Report Abuse

Excellent import 1/2 ton pick up

ANTHONY LOZA, 12/31/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This truck has a lot to offer a tough powerful v8 engine, nice styling inside and out. It's big and bold from the door handles to its frame and spacious interior.

Report Abuse

I love this truck

Kjf, 01/07/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the best truck ever. We have had it for a little over a year. I don't get to drive it often because I bought it for my husband. We got the no fear package on it. Looks great and even with it being raised it drives really smooth. It doesn't make tight turns at all with the no fear package. Which only matters in small parking spots and don't even think about dong u turns. We don't drive it much these days with cali gas prices.

Report Abuse

Smooth Ride w/Power Cheap Features

SunDevil, 01/27/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Overall truck does ride smoothly. Power and concept is good. Features and trim are cheaply built. Two weeks new embroidered "TITAN" on floor mats unglued. Since then, edging interior and exterior along rear window, front windshield, and other areas pops up and has to be resecured. Front captains chair shifts like it is not locked into place. Mileage is terrible but it is a truck and new that going in. Power is fun. Truck does ride well and interior room is nice versus tundra.

Report Abuse

Awesome

Roger, 10/29/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Nissan Titan LE Crew Cab 4x4 rides high and smooth. The interior is well organized for a comfortable ride with plenty of luxury and room. The exterior is sharp. This is a solid full size truck with all extras standard including bed sprayed liner. There is plenty of horsepower. The only negative, there is just one, is that gas prices are $2.80/USgallon. The LE Crew 4x4 gets 10-14 mpg.

Report Abuse

Love My Titan

NateM, 11/05/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I recently traded in my 1997 F-150 and purchased a 2006 Titan SE Crew Cab. It is the best truck I have ever owned. The power is superb, and it handles better than I expected. The only area I would improve would be the mpg, I am getting about 16 mpg. In my opinion this vehicle really stands above the rest!

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050