Skip to main content

Used 2020 Nissan LEAF Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$26,015 - $35,590

Used LEAF for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

A Solid Alternative to Tesla Nation Etc.

EV Guy in CA , 09/30/2020
updated 10/04/2021
2020 Nissan LEAF SL PLUS 4dr Hatchback (electric DD)
34 of 36 people found this review helpful

One year of ownership on the books - and the Leaf has officially become a welcome member of the household. It has done this by providing a fun and reasonably quick driving experience, perfect reliability, delivering its 225 mile range as advertised, and just having a cheeky presence on the road. I'm a former Tesla owner, so there's no need to explain how the Leaf can't touch the 0-to-60 figures of anything from the Tesla stable. The SL model has plenty of oomph to zip around town, merge onto the freeway, and cruise along at the typical 75-to-80 mph range on the California highways. Innovation is swell, but it's also pleasant it is to own a car with a traditional dealer network standing behind it. Service appointments are quick and painless, and accessories (extra floor mats etc) are easily attainable. Over the air updates are not part of the equation. But when the car needed a software update for the audio system, I was OK having a Latte for an hour while the dealership did its thing. If you're a heavy road-tripper, the Leaf likely isn't your best choice. But if you have a 240V fast-charge in the garage, the Leaf fits the bill as a perfect commuter option, with enough range to head to the wineries, lakes, golf courses (yeah - this is Northern CA) for your typical day trip. There are a few de-merits out there. After a year of tweaking and playing with the audio system, it's still not very impressive for a Bose branded system. Bass and depth are limited, more in line with what I would expect for a "base" audio option. It's still annoying that Nissan cheaped out and didn't include a power passenger seat. And there's some work to do with brake feel. It feels a bit more golf cart than sporty sedan. On the other hand, single pedal driving is easy and intuitive when the car is in the "Eco-Drive" mode. The intuitive cruise control works like a charm, and I love the 360-camera view option. Balance it all out, and the Leaf impresses as an EV with that ingrained reliability and careful fit and finish we have come to expect from the Japanese automakers. If you need extended range, this obviously isn't your best choice. But for a price around 30K (purchase price after discounts and Federal / CA incentives), we're quite pleased, and would definitely consider another Nissan EV down the line.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Great EV, just don't pay MSRP/Tesla prices

Tori, 06/02/2021
2020 Nissan LEAF SL PLUS 4dr Hatchback (electric DD)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

Nissan is currently (June 2021) giving thousands of dollars in incentives, plus state and federal credits that can bring a fully-loaded Leaf Plus down to ~$25,000 or less. At a $42k+ sticker price, it doesn't impress compared to a Model 3, but at $25k after incentives and tax credits, it's a fantastic value with 200+ mile range and lots of great features. Things I love: Cheapest car on the market with ProPilot's capabilities Cheapest 200+ mile EV Single-pedal driving feels great in stop and go Very spacious trunk (coming from a Prius Prime this is wonderful) Surprisingly powerful motor on the Plus trims (equivalent to the Bolt) Android auto Physical controls for climate control (as opposed to on the touch screen) Things I don't love that you'll have to evaluate to see if they're deal breakers: Center console sticks into the legroom more than I'd like, but seats are otherwise comfortable Visibility around the A-pillar is so-so No option to automatically stop charging at a certain percentage Touch screen can feel unresponsive at times

Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

still the best car I ever have

Jim Yeh, 11/24/2020
updated 05/26/2022
2020 Nissan LEAF S PLUS 4dr Hatchback (electric DD)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

after driving this car more than 1.5 yrs, I still like it very much: almost 0 maintenance, extremely low running cost; handles very well, accelerates very well. The list goes on and on. But I will say a few things that I think could use some improvements: no day-time running light, Nissan should not save on safety related things. when I turn off the car, the information about battery charge level disappears. this should be an easy fix, as the charging timer is set after the car is turned off, so I have to remember the current charge level. Also, instead of setting a charging time, maybe also a level so that I do not over charge? do not know if Nissan has a channel to hear customers' feedback. ah, the car radio unit failed and that's under warranty. i take it a rare incident, just back luck, not an indication of the quality of the car. other than this, no other issues at all.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

The future is here, with reliability!

Swright, 12/31/2020
2020 Nissan LEAF SL PLUS 4dr Hatchback (electric DD)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought my first 2012 Leaf in 2015 from a local used car lot at a great price. After 5 years, I still love to drive it, but the battery technology has advanced so much, I was ready to upgrade. Shopped around, considered a Tesla, but couldn't beat the quality at the price I got with a 2020 SL Plus. With 3 times the range, and all the new tech, I expect to enjoy this vehicle for years to come. Once you drive an EV, you never want to go back. The driving experience is just more refined. After, ICE vehicles just feel like antiques.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Does what it promises

Stu!, 02/23/2021
2020 Nissan LEAF SV PLUS 4dr Hatchback (electric DD)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Nothing fancy, but delivers as promised. Drives great and has all the safety and tech features needed. With the incentives can't beat the price, great way to dip your toes in the EV pool.

Report Abuse
Items per page: