Skip to main content

2023 Mercedes-Benz EQS Consumer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
18 reviews
MSRP Starting at
$104,400

Save as much as $18,159
Select your trim:
1

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2023 EQS, so we've included reviews for other years of the EQS since its last redesign.
5 out of 5 stars

Best Benz.....Ever

WisEd, 05/28/2022
updated 12/06/2022
2022 Mercedes-Benz EQS EQS 580 4MATIC 4dr Sedan AWD (electric DD)
23 of 24 people found this review helpful

The S class is always considered the "best" Benz, well this EQS in 580 form is better than its internal combustion counterpart in every way except one, as a limousine. Its faster, handles better, is quieter, and brakes significantly better. Its ride is as sublime as the gas model. Finally it aces its gas counterpart in the most important criteria of these vehicles, Its a better isolation chamber, the rest of the world around you disappears. All you hear is beautiful sounds from its excellent Burmester audio while wafting down the highway at any speed in utter comfort and safety. Its quite frankly a remarkable car in all respects, plus its an extraordinary EV as far as range, speed of charging and so on. It makes range anxiety an obsolete term.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Uh... Really worth the price

chcaviar, 12/14/2022
updated 12/04/2023
2022 Mercedes-Benz EQS EQS 450+ 4dr Sedan (electric DD)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

We have owned the 450+ for 6 months (took 6 mos to get) and love it. Beautifully finished, extraordinarily comfortable - the luxury sedan we wanted. Traded in our Lexus LS which was 10 years old (and had 25,000 miles!) as we wanted electric and Lexus wasn't ready. UPDATE: This is our “city” car and we don’t put many miles on it - 5000 a year. We keep the car for at least 8 years so we decided we might as well take the leap to electric. We are well past retirement age. We installed a charger in our garage and it is a convenient breeze to charge which, for us, is only once a month or so. Our last two cars were LS lexus. We wanted luxury and have gotten it in spades. It is a beautiful car to drive (even back wheels turn making u turns easy). Outside of the fact it is almost like driving a computer, we love it. It is, obviously, so quiet and refined. The “heads up” feature is great and very graphic. There have been 0 problems in the over a year we have had it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

EQS 580 - A Mixed Bag of Innovation and Glitches

buddhaweb, 10/18/2023
2023 Mercedes-Benz EQS EQS 580 4MATIC 4dr Sedan AWD (electric DD)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

Likes: Interior Excellence: The inside of the EQS 580 is nothing short of luxurious. The seats provide unmatched comfort, and the overall ambiance inside the car is calming. Comfortable Ride: The car rides very smoothly, providing a serene driving experience that's unparalleled. Ambient Lighting: One of the highlights is the ambient lighting. It's simply mesmerizing and enhances the driving experience. Stunning Exterior: The car's exterior design is a head-turner. I've received countless compliments from strangers, which is always a nice ego boost. Heads-Up Display with AR: The augmented reality heads-up display is state-of-the-art and offers a futuristic driving experience. Hyperscreen: The hyperscreen is simply amazing to look at and elevates the dashboard's appeal. Disappointments: MBUX Voice Assistant: This feature is a letdown. It's unreliable and feels more like a beta version than a polished final product. Regenerative Braking: Noticed a gradual decline in the braking strength over just a few months. Screen Functionality: While the screen's size is impressive, its utility for entertainment is questionable. Watching popular streaming services like Netflix or Hulu is a drag due to the sluggish internet browser. Lane Assist Issues: The lane change assist is hit or miss, working effectively only half the time. It struggles even in areas where lane markings are strong. Auto Steering: This feature can be jarring. It disengages unexpectedly, especially on curves or poorly marked areas of the freeway. It's particularly unreliable on winding roads. Gesture and Voice Control: Trying to showcase the gesture and voice control features can be more embarrassing than impressive, given their inconsistency. Auto Braking Flaw: The unexpected braking in situations with no apparent obstruction is deeply concerning. This glitch has occurred multiple times, posing a safety risk. Low Front Bumper: The car's design has its drawbacks. The low bumper often clashes with parking stops or sidewalks. Profile and Seat Adjustments: The lack of key fob profile association means manually adjusting seats every time there's a driver switch – a hassle in a premium luxury car. Retractable Door Handle Concern: The door handle's auto-retract feature has proven to be a safety hazard, especially with young kids. My toddler almost got her fingers caught, raising questions about its design foresight. Customer Service Experience: Reporting these issues to EQS customer service led to a visit to the dealership. Unfortunately, the expertise to troubleshoot some of these complex concerns seems lacking. Even after a firmware update, many of the issues persist.

Safety
2 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Best luxury EV on the market

AS, 02/16/2023
2022 Mercedes-Benz EQS EQS 450+ 4dr Sedan (electric DD)
13 of 16 people found this review helpful

Owned the model S and never liked the minimalistic ultra modern approach to $100k vehicle as well as was very unimpressed with the interior, paint and ride quality for the price. Needed a daily driver as have to drive 100 miles per day for business. Was a bit hesitant as it was a new concept for MB and those are known to have questionable reliability. The pros: amazing plush ride, impressive interior quality, better Wh/mile than wife’s much lighter and smaller Model 3, super useful trunk space and dropping rear seat if needed, adequate power and handling even though it is their “base” trim. Cons: laggy software/processor, a couple of interior rattles, can’t really think of anything else, just nitpicking. Breaks complaints are bogus. It is all about the regeneration settings. Change is to sport and test then. Huge disks and calipers, stops on the spot. Overall very satisfied and recommend to everyone to try before pulling the plug on the S-Class.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

2 years old and getting better

JNM, 07/13/2023
updated 01/19/2024
2022 Mercedes-Benz EQS EQS 450+ 4dr Sedan (electric DD)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Best all around city, highway and country road driver ever!! Quiet, exceptional ride, exceptional handling, exceptional in negotiating tight city spaces (rear wheel steering!!!). Did I mention acceleration - impressive, especially for a 3 ton car. Not a race course car, but much better in non-race course driving - better overall than my E550 Cabriolet (no slouch), and faster. Much less costly to refuel (recharge) than a gas guzzler - around $5-7 per charge. Range on an 80% charge is 340 miles +. Range on a 100% charge is 450+. What more could you ask for?

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1
Items per page:
5