Skip to main content
12

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

First Time New Lexus Owner

J Smith, 02/17/2022
2022 Lexus IS 500 F SPORT Performance Launch Edition 4dr Sedan w/Prod. End 01/22 (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

When I think of a car manufacturer using the word, "performance" with a car, terms like, "canyon carver, track missile, tire shredder" come to mind...that's not the case with this car. Lexus is using performance to distinguish it from the rest of its lineup. It's hard to compare the IS500 to another performance vehicle from a different brand, because it will fall short. High points of this car are reliability, nostalgia, and a pleasant driving experience. Low points are the transmission, suspension, and clunky infotainment system. The engine is a solid performer that sounds AMAZING! Loud enough during spirited driving but not enough to upset the neighbors during an early morning cold start. Acceleration is punchy if you keep the RPMs up but it feels like it was designed to cruise. Interior is a mixed bag; outdated and busy but has a lot of attention to detail and comfort. Visibility is great even though it has a small rear window. There's a plethora of safety features standard on this car if you’re into that. Overall, it’s a well-built car that will be underappreciated for a while. If you want looks (or AWD), you might be happy with an IS350, but if you want that with a V8, you can't go wrong with the IS500…unless you need AWD.

Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Amazing Noise and performance

PK, 04/08/2022
2022 Lexus IS 500 F SPORT Performance Launch Edition 4dr Sedan w/Prod. End 01/22 (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

In the era of electric, Lexus is offering a naturally aspirated V8 sedan. Its one of the best investments for the long term, as these things are going to be rare in the future to buy. Everything is amazing; touch screen and apple car play connection, etc. The only downside is they do not offer AWD and that is a problem in the North. Other then that, the best car to drive. With Lexus, you are pretty much maintenance free and can rely on that for million miles.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

1st Time Lexus Owner IS500 F Sport Perf. Premium

StillInSoCal42, 03/14/2022
2022 Lexus IS 500 F SPORT Performance Premium 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Been eyeing the RC and the IS models for a few years, decided and purchased the IS500 Iriduim color at the beginning of January 2022, slightly over priced, but worth every penny with that V8 Horsepower, love the sporty exterior and a fun weekend car. Interior could be a little upgraded, but am still very happy with it, think it will be worth it in the long run when considering upkeep and since I plan on keeping it for years.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

I love it!

_thejurb_, 12/23/2021
2022 Lexus IS 500 F SPORT Performance Launch Edition 4dr Sedan w/Prod. End 01/22 (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
15 of 18 people found this review helpful

Ok so first I’m not sure what other reviewer was talking about. Clearly he/she didn’t order the car and maybe just isn’t a true Lexus fan. I inquired about the Launch edition months ago with Hendrick Lexus in Charlotte NC. Due to the chip shortage and supply chain issue things got held up a bit. Did they ask for a deposit? Yes (and why wouldn’t they?) however I said if they could promise me a launch edition I would give them the money down. They said they couldn’t and would put me on the list to call if they could. About a month and a half later my phone rang…”we have a launch edition do you want to secure it?” Ummmm yes! I gave them 2500.00. Hendrick dealerships DO NOT charge above sticker. I paid sticker price for the limited edition trim plus the typical fees of course tint and the stuff they add to make a little extra. The car was 71k and change for one of 500 launches. The premium trim is in the low to mid 60k range and is almost the same but not limited. Considering what you are getting… N/A V8. Lexus quality. 1800 watt 17 speaker stereo that is amazing…. Well never mind. I don’t need to sell it to you. If you are buying something like this you should know what to expect. This is a Toyota/Lexus product. It is a swan song as V8s are going the way of the dodo bird. It is a premium product that lands you in a sweet spot between Mercedes’ and BMW. This car regardless of what trim you buy it in will appreciate in value and will have a enthusiast following. If you don’t believe me look at the ISF from 2007. This is the same engine people finely tuned for this car as well as the LC500 and the RCF. I could talk cars all day but I’ve owned quite a few in my day and I chose this one specifically because i know it will not only be reliable but also functional. Will it beat a new M3? No it won’t but there is a significant cost difference to get it nicely equipped and again Lexus reliability. This car will do 0-60 in 4.4 and will toss you back in your seat. I’m not a Lexus fan boy but a car enthusiast. I’m shocked they built this car but I’m glad they did and exterior to down one of the 500 launch editions. Do your research and buy what makes you happy!!! Also for those who don’t know. The IS500 was made only for America. If you think for one second Europeans won’t want this then think again. If you are even on the fence. Buy it… drive it a couple years and then toss it online.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

GET ONE IF YOU CAN!!

DLP Tony, 03/08/2022
2022 Lexus IS 500 F SPORT Performance Premium 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

I put down a deposit on February 24th, 2021 and finally picked up my IS 500 Premium on March 4th, 2022. This is my 5th Lexus and it is by far the best! It is kind of like my 2016 IS 350 FSport, just turned up. 1. The quickness is amazing. 2. At highway speeds the IS 500 returned 25mpg. My IS 350 returned 28mpg. 3. Do NOT pay over MSRP! Be patient.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12
Items per page: