Skip to main content

Used 2011 Hyundai Elantra Touring Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$13,590 - $14,998

Used Elantra Touring for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.75 out of 5 stars

Practical and Sensible Car

bradjan69, 07/31/2011
2011 Hyundai Elantra Touring SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

This is our second Hyundai in 10 years. We traded our 01 Elantra in on a 2011 Malibu and hated it. We decided to trade it in on another car. We looked at all cars in its class and decided on the Elantra touring SE The test drive went pretty good. The 2.0L 4 cylinder had adequate execration and was very quite. The car provided good feed back to the driver while going through turns. Road noise in the cabin was quite as well. The controls are very easy to use and set up to accommodate the driver. Seats are comfortable and there is plenty of storage within the cabin area. Overall value of this car is unbeatable. For long trips the Crew Cab pickup will stay home we are taking the wagon!

Report Abuse

4.5 out of 5 stars

hard core touring

bassman26, 10/20/2011
2011 Hyundai Elantra Touring SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
21 of 22 people found this review helpful

Hi, update after 20,000 miles in my 2011 elantra touring se model. Right to the point; could use more top end horsepower for higher speed interstate travel, it doesn't really like to average over 80, especially up hills of any consequence. Off the line response is excellent, making easy work of around town driving. Better than many cars I've driven like a turbo VW or small mercedes; they are built for the high speed cruising at some expense of around town response. Perfectly reliable thru 20k miles. Drove through the 100 year storm last winter across tennessee, arkansas and oklahoma. I mounted Conti DWS tires, as the stock tires couldn't get me out of my snow covered driveway in Nashville!

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Better and less expensive than an SUV

grbgmncmth, 02/24/2014
updated 02/24/2016
2011 Hyundai Elantra Touring GLS 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

'Does everything very well; truly great in several areas: driver/passenger comfort & cargo space w/compact exterior size, both low and hi-speed handling, ease of parking and maneuvering in heavy-traffic, braking distance, driver-visibility, fun-factor & winter-weather driveability (with 5-speed manual tranny), reliability, ease of service, and a long list of standard features. All that and an expectation of good long-term reliability for 19G including tax and title? I'm pretty happy. UPDATE: In February 2015, I rear-ended an SUV that had suddenly stopped on a merge ramp. 'Totalled my poor baby, but it protected me. No incursion of damage into the passenger compartment. I'm very, very sorry to see this car go bye-bye; it was terrific.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.38 out of 5 stars

SE model has European feel

obx2003, 11/08/2014
2011 Hyundai Elantra Touring SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 4A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I bought this car when it was 33 months old with 31K miles from a Honda dealer. After a year I can say I'm quite happy with the car. Sporty handling and a decent combo of power and economy. I'm a DIYer so I was happy to see oil & filter changes are a breeze. Engine uses no oil between oil changes. The hatchback practicality is great. A golf club bag fits neatly across the back. I had narrowed my decision down to this car or a Toyota Matrix. I'm happy with my selection. I average over 30 mpg in mixed driving and about 34 highway mpg

Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Still going strong

Luis, 09/22/2019
updated 04/26/2021
2011 Hyundai Elantra Touring SE 4dr Hatchback (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Bought this car with 96000 mi., I am about to hit 216000 mi., mostly of highway driving as I was a long distance medical courier. Oil changes at about 5000 mi. and timing belt at 150000 mi. Let's talk about the bad: As someone mentioned, it has problems with the sway bar end links which produces a clacking noise, easy repair, $20.00 part on ebay and $50.00 labor at local mechanic (avoid dealers), one alternator which didn't abandon me totally, was about 200 mi. away from home but made it safely (all accessories off, radio, AC, etc,) of course following day didn't start, about $300.00 repair. Replaced clutch at 200000 mi. and throw out bearing, a couple of tire rod ends and one wheel bearing.Things that need repair but don't affect performance: tire pressure sensor need to be replaced as batteries are dead and light stays on, cruise controls disconnects shortly after engages (3 to 5 mi.), road and wind noise saturates cabin, you'll feel every bump on this car as it has a stiff suspension The good: hugs the road nicely at 80 mph, even on rain and wind I feel safe at 60 mph, had a blown rear tire doing 75 mph and I didn't think it was me as it has low profile tires that are about 4" (no sudden pulls or feeling of lost control) from the ground. The 2.0 liter engine with manual transmission is strong enough to merge into highways, transmission shifts with no effort and precisely,no oil burning between changes, don't need to add antifreeze, AC cools nicely at highway speeds at any temperature, in city driving it struggles at 90 degrees. Very happy with it!!! UPDATE: 309K miles, 1. fixed cruise control (brake switch), bought part on eBay (7.00 USD) and friend installed, 2. Tire Pressure Sensors, never fixed them as it required going to the dealer, yeah right!!! 3. Burning 1/4 oil every 2K miles or so @ 309k?, not complaining 4. One strut is leaking according to mechanic, I still feel safe on the road, won't change it! 5. Noises started to develop in cabin on bad roads, just normal wear and tear

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
3 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Items per page: