Used 1998 GMC Envoy Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,510 - $3,042

Used Envoy for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Never Again.!!!!

confused, 04/25/2002
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This vehicle had been a finacial nightmare for this family.Within one week the Cat covert. had to be replaced.Now the Valve Body in the Trans has gone bad.!!40,000 miles.!! Make sure you are aware of any problems before you get out your check book. We have had this SUV for less then 6months.......Beware.!!!!!

Report Abuse

don't buy this car

nperry, 10/23/2003
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

i will never buy a gmc again replaced 1 headlight 900.00 new starter 300 new flywheel 150 new altenator 300 driver side wheel beering 300.00 new brakes and rotors 300.00 i've owned for 2 years seems like it's in the shop atleast once a month for something.

Report Abuse

Loaded SUV

marl8y, 06/27/2005
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

A great SUV for family trips. Night time visibility is superb with the high intesity headlamps. I love the interior and Bose sound system! It plows through the snow in 4 wheel drive with no problems. Gas mileage is around 15 in the city and 20-22 on the highway. No mechanical problems so far with 78,000 on the odometer.

Report Abuse

Too expensive to fix

frank, 08/04/2006
4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My Envoy just burned up -- fuel leak. Previously had transmission problem (went dry), but it was covered out-of- warranty because the dealer had just serviced it, and they probably didn't fill it right or left the plug loose. Right headlight went out 3 years ago. Two part light, $375 per part but not sold seperately. Got a junk yard (only one of two in the country at the time) for $500 plus an hour of labor. GM did not help, dealer or corporate. When burned, the left headlight was out, not available in junkyards at the time. I also lost the third brakelight, costing ~$500 and not properly repaired.

Report Abuse

1998 envoy

TEX, 09/17/2003
4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Was very disappointed to find it takes $700.00 to replace a headlight, you MUST replace bulb, ballast, everything. Interior molding is very cheap for this vehicle, held on with velcro, and it doesn't do a good job at all. Several pieces off, and won't stay on before 30,000 miles. Passenger seat adjuster broke right off on letting the seat back, thank goodness it was in the upright position already. Everything I've replace on this vehicle has been high dollar. Nice, pretty, but not well designed. No wonder they didn't make this style very long.

Report Abuse

Awesome Vehicle!!

horseygirl, 03/14/2003
4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This Envoy has been one very nice vehicle. Very versatile, nice lines, high intensity headlamps are awesome! The vehicle is loaded with many fine features. Programmable buttons for the garage door and security gate are a nice extra. All leather interior is standard and there are lots of plugins for all sorts of gadgets (cell phone charger, fuzz buster, etc), air compressor in the rear is also very convenient. I would definitely buy another!! This vehicle comes equipped with every feature imaginable and that's standard!

Report Abuse

It's fair for the price

willie, 11/18/2006
4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got it on the 23rd of Dec. So far so good. Handles great. A little transmission problem but changed to oil. Also in the summer mounths it shifts really hard, but not in the cold months

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050